We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
369 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$429
View deal
Hotels.com$429
Travelocity$429
Booking.com$429
Priceline$429
Agoda.com$429
Orbitz.com$429
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (409)
Room & Suite (564)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 8 in Chatham
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
A most distinctive Cape Cod bed and breakfast, the Captain's House Inn is regarded by many respected lodging reviewers as perhaps "The Cape's" finest small inn. This four-diamond sea captain's estate on two acres in Chatham, Massachusetts is the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or a peaceful retreat from the workaday world. Adults only.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1511Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,379
  • 104
  • 15
  • 10
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LindaD. wrote a review Jun 24
Long Island, New York11 contributions
My family and I have stayed at this inn before, and the new owners extended a warm welcome to us in June 2022 as well. We love this inn and highly recommend it. It is less than a mile from Chatham Center which is the perfect location to stay on the Cape and not be too far from any town you want to visit. The inn's grounds are beautiful, they have a variety of rooms to choose from, they serve a wonderful breakfast and even offer high tea. There are snacks in your room and you can enjoy some fresh baked cookies from the kitchen in the evening. There is a casual elegance to the inn and it is quiet, peaceful, and comfortable to be there. We have already made our reservations for 2023! We are very glad to have found such a wonderful place to stay when we are on Cape Cod!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Most rooms have very comfortable chairs; a real plus! Beds very comfortable. Great photos online.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Captains House Inn Drew McMullen, Owner at Captain's House Inn
Responded today
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your feedback! We love to hear when our guests have enjoyed their visits and we are delighted to welcome you back in 2023...it can't come soon enough!
Read more
Lovet2TravelQuan wrote a review Jul 2020
Cary, North Carolina16 contributions20 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
My husband & I loved everything about Captain's House Inn!! Beautiful grounds & location. Staff were wonderful (Lauren & Mary) greeted us at check in, so welcoming & personable. We stayed in Lady Hope and I was beyond pleased, it was so quaint and has all the necessary toiletries. We were served tea & scones in the back patio, it brought me back in time as if we were in a London garden. Breakfast was even better, made to order omelet with pesto & mozzarella cheese. I'm drooling thinking about it!! I am so happy knowing this kind of old fashion Inn accommodation and service still exist, that delivers special attention and create beautiful memories. We will definitely stay again if I'm fortunate enough to return, I'll make sure we'll stay multiple nights this time :))
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Captains House Inn Staff, Owner at Captain's House Inn
Responded Jul 21, 2020
Wow!! Thank you so much for taking to time to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed everything about your stay. We strive to be able to provide the perfect getaway for guests, so it makes us incredibly happy we were able to do this. We hope to welcome you back to the inn again in the future!
Read more
Stuart F wrote a review May 2022
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom22 contributions25 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel because it was so highly rated. It’s a pretty colonial house outside of Chatham. Our room was the garden room, a small room outside of the main house. For the price it’s is not unreasonable to expect some luxury and refinement , expect to be disappointed. The WiFi worked intermittently and was slow. The TV worked on one channel. This is a glorified guest house so there are no hotel services, at night a number is available to call assistance. On arriving the young manager explained that we should expect a great breakfast served in the conservatory, Again expect to be underwhelmed. The room is functional not stylish. The breakfast is served by untrained people from a menu that is less than special. On our last day it took an hour for breakfast to served and it was poorly cooked and presented. The staff seemed overwhelmed by five tables. Our bill for three days was nearly $1000. Allowing for this being an expensive part of the world this is poor value. The atmosphere is amateurish and more about charm than service and value for money. This place is overpriced and overrated.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: There are better hotels in Chatham.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Captains House Inn Drew McMullen, Owner at Captain's House Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
We're sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations. Had the staff been aware of the inconveniences you experienced, we would have done our best to correct those before your departure. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Read more
OurDenverFamily wrote a review May 2022
Centennial, Colorado224 contributions107 helpful votes
What a delightful place! Spacious rooms (we stayed in #9), nicely and comfortably furnished. Bed was very comfy! Loved the gas fire place and warm homey feeling. Staff were great, especially Stephanie who is super attentive and tirelessly going out of her way to do extra things for the guests. Breakfasts were delicious and cookies/coffee/tea in afternoon/evening as well as the complimentary port and sherry was nice. Grounds looked great, wish we where there in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Captains House Inn Staff, Owner at Captain's House Inn
Responded May 6, 2022
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly hope to see you in the future!
Read more
Susan B wrote a review Jan 2022
Avon1 contribution1 helpful vote
My husband and I went away this past weekend to just get away and escape reality. We arrived on Saturday afternoon the Inn was charming. The main house was so cozy with the afternoon tea by the fire on a cold winter’s day. Because it was the dead of winter it was pretty quiet, which we loved. The Innkeeper/staff was wonderful and breakfast was delicious in morning. Our room was spacious and had all the amenities we wanted. Jacuzzi tub was heaven and the fire place was very warm for a gas fireplace. My only complaint was the comfort of the bed, it was the most uncomfortable bed I’ve ever stayed on and we struggled getting comfortable. Left early on Monday both with back aches. I would not return because of this reason, which is too bad, because we did love the Inn and location. Susan and Rik
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Captains House Inn Staff, Owner at Captain's House Inn
Responded Jan 12, 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are glad you overall enjoyed your stay and the amenities we love to provide! We are sorry to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable. We wish you had made us aware that the bed was not comfortable for you, and we would have been happy to rectify the situation. Apart from that, we are happy you enjoyed your stay, and please feel free to reach out to us if you have any further comments.
Read more
Louise M wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This pains me but must be said - we’ve been coming here for over 12 years. Very disappointed, always provided a fruit plate in our room with a thank you. No outside lights AT ALL and no one available to report to after 8pm. WiFi non existent - only non secure guest WiFi offered, which was useless. I could not access anything. This is a small inn - no e cuss for the non existent WiFi especially when you are paying $300 plus a night. Not to mention that the outlets were too loose, power cords wouldn’t stay in. Hair in sink, remote batteries dead. Definitely not up to par, not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Captains House Inn Staff, Owner at Captain's House Inn
Responded Nov 8, 2021
We are sorry you were disappointed with your most recent stay with us. Unless you ordered and paid for a fruit plate - we do not provide this to all guests. Like the rest of the world, we are extremely short-staffed, which is why there is only a member of staff on site until 8. We do provide contact information in case you need to reach anyone after those hours. We are not sure why you were having issues with the Wifi. We would have been happy to try and resolve the issue if we had known about it. Again, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please feel free to reach out to us to discuss your stay with us further.
Read more
Fairndtenderlady wrote a review Oct 2021
Carmel Valley, CA19 contributions24 helpful votes
Gracious hospitality, lovely rooms, generosity in all aspects, but the icing on the cake is their food! Breakfasts are a treat and then add their cream teas in the afternoon and nighttime cookies! All around a memorable experience. The courtesy of their staff is unparalleled. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Captains House Inn Staff, Owner at Captain's House Inn
Responded Oct 18, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular, the breakfast! Chef Claude has been with us for 20 years and she does a fantastic job. We hope you stay with us again in the future!
Read more
booklover45 wrote a review Aug 2021
Larchmont, New York7 contributions10 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here for four nights in mid-August 2021. On the positive side, the breakfasts were very good, the staff was accommodating and the grounds were spacious and well maintained. HOWEVER, our room, the Whirlwind, was terrible. It was dark, musty and did not have proper HVAC. They had installed a noisy temporary AC unit because the usual AC was out. The toilet did not work very well, paint all over the room was chipped and there was no closet for our hanging clothes only a small armoire, the door to which kept crashing into some of the random used furniture every time we opened it. The room was cluttered with unusable Salvation Army furniture and in the middle of the room were two huge chairs which took up most of the space. These chairs were totally different from the smaller ones shown on the website. Finally, the mattress was very soft and my wife found it very difficult to sleep on. The Inn should be embarrassed about charging $390 a night for this room. On our way home we stayed at a Hampton Inn, hardly a top of the line hotel, but it had much better amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not book the Whirlwind Room
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Captains House Inn Staff, Owner at Captain's House Inn
Responded Aug 24, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your room. Many guests have previously stayed in the Whirlwind room and have been overwhelmingly happy with their stay. We apologize for the temporary AC unit, we are in the process of getting the original replaced. The Whirlwind room, along with all other 16 rooms, contains more 'antique' furnishings which adds to the 1800 charm of the place. While it may be easy to compare the inn to a hotel or a resort, that is simply not what we are. It is disheartening for us that at no point during your stay did you express any concern to us that you were not happy with your room. If you had communicated your concerns with us, we would have been more than happy to resolve the situation by offering you another room we had available. We always encourage guests to let us know if anything during their stay is unsatisfactory so that we can do our best to resolve the issue.
Read more
elizajane47 wrote a review Jul 2021
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania65 contributions42 helpful votes
We stayed here for several nights while on a visit to Cape Cod. From check in to check out we felt very pampered. The Elizajane Suite is cozy but felt plenty spacious enough for my husband and me . The bathroom is huge! Breakfasts are cooked to order from a large menu of choices and a delicious afternoon tea is served as well. The grounds are lovely and offer many places to sit and relax. But the very best part of this lovely inn is the staff who all go out of their way to make each guest feel welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Captains House Inn Staff, Owner at Captain's House Inn
Responded Jul 9, 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed the extra touches including afternoon tea! we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
Bos2traveler wrote a review Jun 2021
Boston, Massachusetts160 contributions68 helpful votes
Everyone from the manager to wait staff were wonderful and interested in the best experience for the guests. We were greeted by the manager and showed the layout of the facilities. They truly seem to care for their guests. Some nice touches include fresh baked cookies in the evening if you skipped dessert at dinner. We did take advantage of this. In the morning, they offer a full breakfast. We are familiar with the area but listened as the waitress gave other, out of state visitors, ideas on where to spend the day. She was spot on with her recommendations. The breakfast was individually prepared and perfectly presented. Our room reservation was changed several times due to issues at the inn. Each time we were offered our choice of available rooms and were offered an "extra" and chose a cheese plate in return for the changes. We ended up in the Captain Hiram Harding Room. The room was massive with a king size bed, two recliners and a couch and room to move around. The bed and linens were very comfortable and the room was quiet. The only negative to our whole visit was that the room smelled musty. It needed a good airing out. The windows opened but only stayed open with a stick. I would love to give the Inn a five star rating. It may be that the room had not been used in some time due to Covid,
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Captains House Inn Staff, Owner at Captain's House Inn
Responded Jun 28, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we truly appreciate the kind comments about our staff! We are very sorry you found the Hiram Harding room musty. Unfortunately, as much as we clean it and air it out, it does tend to get that way. The Hiram Harding room is part of the original 1839 building, and with it being such an old building, sometimes that musty smell can occur. We appreciate the feedback and will look into other ways we can approve this issue with the room. We hope you stay with us again one day!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$378 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
captain`s house hotel chatham
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsCape CodChatham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Captain's House Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Captain's House Inn?
Nearby attractions include Chatham Pier and Fish Market (0.2 miles), Shark Center (0.4 miles), and Monomoy Theatre (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Captain's House Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Captain's House Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Captain's House Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Captain's House Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Captain's House Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chatham Pier Fish Market, Chatham Bars Inn Resort - Dining, and Red Nun Bar & Grill.
Is Captain's House Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Chatham.
Are there any historical sites close to Captain's House Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Atwood Museum (1.4 miles), Chatham Marconi Maritime Center (1.5 miles), and Chatham's Godfrey Windmill (1.1 miles).