Parsonage Inn

Parsonage Inn

This is what the website shows for this room. I would have loved it, but it looked nothing like this. 
From their website
Traveler (124)
Dr. Joseph Seth Master Bedroom. Opens to Deck
Room & Suite (28)
Dining Room
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 6 B&Bs in St. Michaels
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.4
The Parsonage Inn (1883) provides a striking example of the late Victorian era with its unique brick inlays and center tower with steeple. What makes us unique? First, we NEVER charge resort fees! The little things! Log burning and gas fireplaces, coffee, tea and water available 24 hours a day, ice for your drinks, wine glasses and a corkscrew, great bikes, freshly baked sweets, a truly amazing, breakfast and we cater to all types of dietary needs. Then there are the big things that aren't readily visible; Cleanliness, attention to detail, extremely comfortable bed, lovely linens, expert knowledge of the area and restaurants, and our very friendly staff. These are just a few of the many, many things that our guests love and why they come back - frequently!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Canoeing offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Internet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

210 N Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2102
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Baltimore-Washington Intl Airport
35.9 mi
See all flights
Ronald Reagan National Airport
44.1 mi
See all flights
502Reviews5Q+A96Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 367
  • 84
  • 33
  • 10
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Linda S wrote a review Sep 2020
West Chester, Pennsylvania
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Dodson King Suite
Pros: Location is perfect (walkable to everything), excellent breakfast, room was spacious, bikes available for use; Innkeeper Melissa made dinner reservations for us and was a gracious host. Common areas clean and a nice front porch. We also had access to the pool at the owner's other B&B about a mile down the road.
Cons: Although it is historic and that is part of its charm, it definitely needs a makeover. The main part of the rooms was fine but bathroom was pretty dated and individual soap/shampoo was not provided (and instead a refillable wall mounted "shampoo/body wash reminiscent of a gym) Also, a 2 course breakfast was kind of forced on us in the morning. It seemed wasteful because we didn't really want sweets/cake and then a giant frittata 2 days in a row I would have preferred if she asked if we wanted it. We would have been fine with coffee and fruit but felt bad saying so.
Overall a lovely stay
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rolles Range LLC, General Manager at Parsonage Inn
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Thank you posting a review of our inn and Melissa, the innkeeper, when you visited St. Michaels in September. The soap/shampoo dispenser in the bathroom shower is part of the "Green Certification" to eliminate all of the plastic bottles and other waste. This approach conserves these chemicals and reduces what is flushed down the drain to be treated by the sewage plant before returning the water to the Miles River. If you want a small bar of soap, please ask the innkeeper. The innkeeper prepares a full breakfast for all of our guests UNLESS they advise otherwise. Don't be so timid . . if you only want a light breakfast, please advise the innkeeper the day before or when you check-in, or even when you make the reservation. We are not trying to force you to eat a full breakfast - but that is what most of our guests expect us to serve. On the bathroom decor, the use of mosaic tile, Victorian shell sink or light fixture - it is in keeping with the circa 1883 building. The tiled shower is a nod to modern life (we could have used old claw-footed cast iron tubs), and along with 40" flat screen TV's in the bedrooms, is a departure from the more authentic Victorian inns. Will Workman, Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jackthehatrack wrote a review Jan 2020
Ellicott City, Maryland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely stay at the Parsonage. We had the upstairs King Bed room with the Bell Tower Bathroom. The room is set up for the comfort of guests with coffees, teas, coffee/tea pot, mugs, wine glasses, wine opener, mini-fridge, TV, door to the outside with deck seating for lovely evenings. The Bell Tower bath is very well appointed and spotless! Our breakfast was amazing with freshly squeezed juices, pressed coffee, and delicious taste treats including a "breakfast dessert"!
The B & B is located right on the main street in St. Michaels so it is well located for dining and shopping in the town's lovely shops.
We were there during the Christmas season and the place and town were beautifully decorated. Loved our stay and hope to go back!
We most certainly recommend a stay at the Parsonage in St. Michaels.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Call the Parsonage to speak with the owner, Miss Sally. She will provide descriptions about the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robb H wrote a review Nov 2020
New York City, New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 2 nights in Martha’s Morning room which had 3 windows and plenty of light, but there was noise from the road until 11P. I think we probably would opt for the rooms at the back of the property next time. There was a ceiling fan. There may have been central A/C, but it was not operating since it was late October.

The bathroom was very small (4’x7’) with limited horizontal surfaces for toiletries.

It’s an old building and the walls are thin so you will hear sounds from adjoining rooms. Rooms 3 & 4 (ours was 3) share a hallway with a fire door that is quite noisy when opened.

There’s plenty of on-premise parking. The inn is located right on Talbot Avenue and wis within easy walking distance to many restaurants and to the Maritime Museum.

Breakfasts both mornings were tasty and the seating arrangements honored the social distancing rules.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room in front are noisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
elizajane47 wrote a review Mar 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped at the Parsonage on our way south for one night. As advertised, it is very Victorian in style with some modern conveniences added for today’s travelers. The location on Talbot Street is perfect for exploring St. Michaels, as it is directly across from the Maritime Museum. The shower provides plenty of hot water and there are flat screen TVs in the rooms. Liz, the innkeeper, was very friendly and gave us a great suggestion for eating dinner at Limoncello where the food was delicious. A tip for light sleepers—choose a room near the back as this is the main road through town and there is traffic all night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juanita S wrote a review May 2021
Maryland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I were looking for a quiet place to celebrate our 42nd anniversary. This was our first stay in St. Michaels and the Parsonage Inn B&B exceeded our expectations. It was the off-season time of year, so the streets were not crowded with people.
The Innkeeper, Anna gave outstanding service. Her breakfasts were delicious and she made sure all guests had enough to eat. When we told Anna we’re prediabetic, she paid special attention to our dietary needs by preparing food for us that was low in sugar.
Shout out to Julia who helped Anna in the kitchen. If you get a chance to meet Will (the owner of Parsonage Inn), ask him to tell you the story about “the unofficial mayor of St. Michaels who sat in the saloon” and other Parsonage Inn history.
We stayed in Room #5 (in the rear) and did not have to carry luggage far because the car could be parked right in front of the door. Room was cozy with a working fireplace, TV, and private bathroom /shower. The queen-size brass bed was comfortable. WiFi service is available. There were Makeup Remover towelettes in the bathroom. Thanks to reading an earlier trip advisor review, we knew to bring bar soap.
So that guests can have a contactless stay, the housekeeper does not go into occupied rooms.
We love the elegant look of the Parsonage Inn and liked the feeling of being a guest in someone’s home. Our three-night stay in St. Michaels was memorable. We highly recommend the Parsonage Inn and plan to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Workman, Owner at Parsonage Inn
Responded May 19, 2021
The Parsonage Inn was built or restored n 1985 when my Dad retired and moved from the Philadelphia suburbs to St. Michaels. He wanted something to do . . and the builder suggested we convert the residence of the Methodist Parson to a Bed and Breakfast Inn. The rest they say . . . is history. The interior of the building was completed rebuilt with new electrical, plumbing and zoned heat pumps. We tried to keep the historic character of the building by carefully removing the wood trim and pocket doors and restoring them. We are pleased to see that this guest and many others find the results pleasing to the eye. If you want a comfortable inn . . not too fancy . . and with real historic character, the Parsonage Inn may be your best choice. And as this review and other recent reviews points out, our new innkeeper, Anna, is really making guest stays something special.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James C wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here for a short three day getaway from OC Md. and what a great place. Anna the innkeeper is the best, down to earth individual with an outstanding personality. Stayed in the back room just off the parking lot 1str floor, very clean and comfortable, and road noise from the front is kept to a minimize level.
Walking distance is short to everything from this location yet this inn is my itself on the main drag. Would not hesitate to stay here again, when you want hospitality, this is where you stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DAGTucson wrote a review Jan 2020
Tucson, Arizona
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Parsonage is well-located, convenient to downtown Annapolis and across the street from the entrance to the Maritime Museum. Rooms are comfortable and well-appointed, some with fireplaces. The quality and variety of the hearty breakfasts are superior; the innkeeper will do he best to accommodate special needs of vegetarian or vegans.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace if traveling in cold weather
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David P wrote a review Aug 2020
Bel Air, Maryland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Delightful B&B. Perfect location in St. Michaels, MD. Melissa was a great host and created a unique and tasty breakfast for us each morning (we stayed two nights). This was a perfect location for walking the town and finding cute shops, eateries, and the two wineries in town (plus the brewery). Definitely a good find and highly recommended. Dave & Debbie P., Bel Air, MD
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had a room in the rear off the parking lot which was very nice and quite convenient.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Voyager745259 wrote a review Jul 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently spent 2 nights at the Parsonage Inn with my husband for my birthday. The location of the Inn cannot be beat, with an easy walk to shops and restaurants and plenty of on-site parking. The outside of the Inn is quite lovely with a pretty front porch and a lovely outdoor garden area. The inside of the Inn however is very small and cluttered with mis-matched furniture, tired carpet and cheap art work. Our room, #4 was tiny with just enough room for a bed, 1 chair and a night stand, the bathroom needed updating, the shower reminded me of a YMCA shower stall with a soap dispenser stuck to the wall. Let me say that the Inn Keeper Liz, was charming and friendly and her breakfasts were delicious. But aside from a small table in the parlor with a plate of cookies and some candy, there were NO extras to speak of, no little touches of hospitality. If there was an afternoon tea, it wasn't mentioned, no mini fridge in our room, no extra towels, toiletries, etc. Very basic accommodations but a great location for touring St Michaels.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room 4 had a private(ish) deck outside the room but otherwise very very small bedroom.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Workman, Owner at Parsonage Inn
Responded Aug 2, 2022
This is a guest that would prefer a modern hotel over a charming circa 1883 Victorian. Old houses are not for everyone, the furniture is different in each room (unlike a motel or most hotels), and we just replaced the carpet in the guest rooms. The art work is not cheap - in some rooms the framed prints ran $500 - $700 each 36 years ago. The bathrooms have Victorian era pedestal sinks with mosaic tile floors with custom tiled showers (modern soap an shampoo pump dispensers meet "Green" standards) - something that reflects the late Victorian era. Clearly this guest should stay at a modern hotel - the Parsonage Inn is just too "vintage" or lacking in the size of rooms and amenities this guest enjoys in a modern hotel or motel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
afcok wrote a review Jul 18
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Based on our 2 night stay we feel other reviewer ratings are generous. Our average mark reflects several significant shortcomings - most importantly the lack of toilet privacy, also a dreadful tv/wifi signal and morning traffic noise. Overall not good value at $300 per night compared with other less expensive historic B&Bs or any of our accommodation in an 11 stop road trip.

The Parsonage Inn is externally attractive, well located opposite the must see Maritime Museum and a short stroll to the pretty town’s cafes and restaurants. There is ample free parking behind the inn. Breakfast served at 8am or 9.15am was fine and served by the friendly ‘temporary inn-sitters’.

Our second floor bedroom, number 2, was ok in itself. Adequate in size, clean, cool, with a large comfy although somewhat creaky bed. Our room had a tv which was almost unwatchably stop/start and a woeful WiFi signal. There was some traffic noise which was disturbing in the early morning. We had a deck with a sunshade which would have been a bonus had it not been almost 100 degrees.

The small shower room was only separated by a thin half-length net curtain from the bedroom. The worst aspect was that the toilet itself was not separate or private, astonishingly ‘open plan’! Of the countless hotels, motels, B&Bs, Airbnbs or even hostels we’ve visited in over 100 countries (some very deprived and poor) we have never had a toilet without a door even in much older buildings than this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willard Workman, Owner at Parsonage Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Tony, thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed our conversations with you. I wish you had let us know that you were not satisfied with your room. We would have been happy to move you to another room. We were happy, however, to hear that your room was comfortably cool on such hot days! While room 2 is the only room we have that does not have a bathroom door, the bathroom itself is angled in such a way, back in the bell tower, that it is impossible to see into it from the bedroom. It is just these angles that have prevented us from finding a way to add a door. We will continue to look for the solution. This is a project we look forward to working on in the coming low season.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Sallie Cwik
Wittman, Maryland24 contributions19 helpful votes
Not as far as the room goes, we do not allow animals in the guest rooms in the house. However we have pets in residence who do go through the lower part of the house. I have never had a complaint from anyone with a cat or dog allergy. But I do want you to be aware that we do have pets. Sallie
Answer from Sallie Cwik
Wittman, Maryland24 contributions19 helpful votes
I am so sorry, I just saw this. Yes we can do this with no problem at all. Sallie
David R asked a question Oct 2015
Water Mill, New York26 contributions6 helpful votes
? pet friendly
Answer from WillWorkman
St. Michaels, Maryland32 contributions21 helpful votes
We are pet friendly - room # 7 at the Parsonage Inn and room # 1 at our other inn - the George Brooks House. You can book online or call us. One time pet cleaning fee of $25 would apply.
Answer from Sallie Cwik
Wittman, Maryland24 contributions19 helpful votes
Yes, you can use our bike rack and lock them up there, either with your own locks, or with ours. Sallei Cwik Innkeeper
P7367RUrichardw wrote a tip Jun 2024
Fairfax Station, Virginia141 contributions45 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upstairs Room 3 is small and accessible by narrow steep stairway. Bathroom small with no counter space. High Queen-size mattress."
Read full review
Val W wrote a tip Sep 2023
Abingdon, Maryland22 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the host to send current pictures of the room you choose!"
Read full review
Jeffrey B wrote a tip Sep 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unless changes are made I would stay elsewhere."
Read full review
chris g wrote a tip Dec 2022
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in one of the private entrance rooms."
Read full review
Maria wrote a tip Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We love the fact that our room had a deck off of our room. Room # 2"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Michaels area.
PRICE RANGE
$253 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
parsonage hotel st. michaels
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandTalbot CountySt. Michaels
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PARSONAGE INN - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Parsonage Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Parsonage Inn?
Nearby attractions include Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum (0.3 miles), 1879 Hooper Strait Lighthouse (0.1 miles), and Olivins (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Parsonage Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Parsonage Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Parsonage Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Parsonage Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Parsonage Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Justine's Ice Cream Parlor, Limoncello Italian Restaurant & Wine Bar, and Carpenter Street Saloon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Parsonage Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Is Parsonage Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of St. Michaels.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Parsonage Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Parsonage Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Third Haven Friends Meeting House (8.2 miles) and Custom House (7.1 miles).
Does Parsonage Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All St. Michaels HotelsSt. Michaels Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. MichaelsHotels near Parsonage Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars