We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandaway Suites & Beach

Save
Share
103 West Strand Rd, Oxford, MD 21654
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (351)
Room & Suite (79)
Pool & Beach (21)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 02/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sandaway Suites & Beach
Updated 02/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 5 in Oxford
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Book your Chesapeake Bay boutique hotel stay or vacation rental at Sandaway Suites & Beach. Sandaway has been providing over 51 years of exceptional Chesapeake Bay getaways! Book with confidence with Sandaway's enhanced safety measures and free, no worry cancellation. Many suites are in their own free-standing buildings and have separate outside entrances. Our private sandy beach and waterfront lawn have ample space to spread out and relax to enjoy your Oxford, MD vacation. Sandaway also offers spacious vacation rental suites. Whether you are looking for a girls' getaway, couples road trip, family reunion, or friends retreat, you can choose our Eastern Shore vacation rental spaces for 2 or 4 adults.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Adults only
Baggage storage
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Boating
Canoeing
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
494Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 358
  • 105
  • 19
  • 10
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Louisa G wrote a review Apr 2022
Easton, Maryland2 contributions2 helpful votes
Views for miles, lovely grounds, and a great nights sleep! Highly recommend a visit and stay. Thoughtful amenities in the room and on the grounds. Very quiet, peaceful and restorative. The town of Oxford charms and delights around every turn.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Gibson, General Manager at Sandaway Suites & Beach
Responded Apr 7, 2022
We are so pleased you had such a wonderful stay at Sandaway and enjoyed charming Oxford, Maryland! Thank you for sharing about your travel experience and we hope to see you again in the future. Safe travels, Ben Gibson - Innkeeper
Read more
Carol J wrote a review Nov 2021
Silver Spring, United States2 contributions
The room was super comfy with a delightful shower and a standalone bath! The porch was great for sitting in, reading, and enjoying the view of the river (day and night). So relaxing! Walking around the area was great with many cafes nearby. Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Gibson, General Manager at Sandaway Suites & Beach
Responded Nov 7, 2021
That's wonderful you had a relaxing and luxurious getaway with the best view! We really appreciate you sharing your five star experience at Sandaway Suites & Beach. Yes, our location in Oxford's historic district makes it easy to walk to several nice restaurants and cafes. So happy you loved it all and we hope to see you again! Safe travels, Ben Gibson - Innkeeper
Read more
Rachel N wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We had a lovely time staying here! The porch was amazing, parking was easy, and the room was comfy, lovely, and very clean. We even got cute welcome bags, which we loved! It was right near Robert Morris Inn Restaurant, which was also wonderful!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Gibson, General Manager at Sandaway Suites & Beach
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy you had a five star experience! Our goal each day is to provide an exceptional guest experience. So glad you liked the welcome bags with the few surprises we put in them plus additional information, besides what we email ahead. We just load you up so you can make the best plans for your stay in Oxford and the St. Michaels area. Thanks for complimenting us on cleanliness. Our Team has decades of experience and our pandemic treatment is of the highest priority! Yes, we are very fortunate to have have wonderful restaurants within walking distance! We hope to see you again and safe travels. Best, Ben Gibson - Innkeeper
Read more
Ramsey M wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We were thrilled to discover the colonial town of Oxford MD (est. 1683) and the Sandaway Suites, just 2 hours drive from our home. The experience of being in both goes together. Our stay at the Sandaway was delightful. Our lower floor room was spacious and comfortable. The views and sunset were breathtaking, unobstructed even from our bed. The owners (Wendy and Ken and son Ben) were friendly and helpful. We ate at almost every place in town, all were great. We particularly enjoyed Pope's tavern with Chef Scott and his wife Jeanne and son who served an exquisite menu and, on short notice, customized the most delicious cheesecake for my wife's birthday. If you are looking for a Club Med experience, go to St Michaels; if you are looking for a relaxing time in a friendly, peaceful, waterfront, rich historical town, got to Oxford and stay at the Sandaway. Ramsey and Rita M.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Gibson, General Manager at Sandaway Suites & Beach
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Hi Ramsey and Rita we will never forget you! You were SO Happy to find Sandaway and surprise your wife for her birthday which you did with flying colors! It was fun for us to make sure you had plenty of good tips for places to eat and things to do. You were a real Plus for us to have as guests because you made us feel special also. We plan to see you again next year in your now favorite suite. Thank you and safe travels, Wendy, Ken and Ben
Read more
Dilip P wrote a review Oct 2021
Ellicott city57 contributions16 helpful votes
I with 10 other family friends decided to get together at the Sandaway beach a bed and breakfast, located on the eastern shores of Maryland. Right from the calling for the booking, the owner Wendy Gibson was very helpful and enthusiastic about making special arrangements for us. WE arrived at the Facility which is situated across from a beautiful beach. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with all the usual room amenities you see in chain hotels. Mr. Gibson greeted us as we arrived and gave us a tour of the facility. Wendy Gibson provided us with exclusive use of the parlor room which came in handy when we wanted to meet as a group. The outdoor lawn, beach chairs made our stay very enjoyable. We would go to this resort again thanks to Wendy and Mr. Gibson for keeping this property so inviting and making our two night stay most enjoyable
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: book well in advance since there are limited rooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Gibson, General Manager at Sandaway Suites & Beach
Responded Oct 30, 2021
It was so nice to read your review today! Both Ken and I enjoyed meeting you and making it as special for you as we could. It is wonderful to hear all that you liked about your stay and took the time to share it. Now that we all know each other we should do this again. Stay healthy and safe. In appreciation, Wendy and Ken Gibson owners
Read more
Ashok S wrote a review Oct 2021
Ellicott City, Maryland2 contributions
We were part of a group of 11 who spent three days at the Sandaway in mid October. We were impressed by the beauty of the water front as soon as we stepped out of our car. We had a room with its own screened in porch facing the river. We enjoyed having our morning tea sitting on the porch. Sandaway is not a regular hotel with a lounge or a restaurant on site. The décor is cozy old English style and could stand refurbishing. The Robert Morris Inn is within five minutes walk. Oxford itself is a small town. We made a day trip to St. Michaels which is close by. If you are looking for a quiet getaway to a place offering water views and natural beauty this is the place. The Covid-19 restrictions imposed some limitations to the service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones with a water view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Gibson, General Manager at Sandaway Suites & Beach
Responded Oct 30, 2021
It was a pleasure to have you and your friends at Sandaway! The weather was great as I remember you all gathered together near the beach having a lovely time. Yes, going to St Michaels is always a favorite for guests. We certainly hope to see you all again. Thank you and safe travels, Wendy Gibson - owner
Read more
Deborah A D wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
Sandaway was the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway. Our room was spotless and was an eclectic mix of comfortable old and new furniture with every modern convenience. We had a private screened porch right on the water. Gorgeous sunsets. Helpful proprietors are on site. Sandaway is truly ideal for a peaceful retreat.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Gibson, General Manager at Sandaway Suites & Beach
Responded Oct 30, 2021
Thanks so much for sharing your stay at Sandaway! It is nice to know that our guests appreciate and enjoy our efforts to create a great Eastern Shore Experience. We close for the season Nov. 1st till April 1, 2022. However, reservations will be able to be made online for 3 night stays for early booking. We truly value your review. Safe travels, Wendy Gibson - Owner
Read more
Coastal79023 wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
We originally booked a stay over the summer but had to leave early due to a family emergency - I reached out to the owners to see if they would be willing to accommodate a refund. Even if they didn't have to do this, Wendy responded so graciously, and mailed us a gift certificate to rebook with a personal note. Their son, Ben, the inn keeper was very responsive as well when I asked for activity recommendations once we finally rebooked and made our trip happen in the fall. I appreciate how close to the city this is for a quick getaway. The views were the highlight - I enjoyed being able to watch the sunset with a bottle of wine. There wasn't much to do in Oxford but St. Michael's was an easy drive away. It was a perfect trip to just unwind over the weekend. My only complaint was that the room we ended up staying in had a bit of a moldy smell. The original room we checked into didn't so I'm hoping it was just a fluke! Although a bit pricey, we truly appreciate the personal accommodations and customer service that was extended to us. It was great to explore a different part of Maryland!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Gibson, General Manager at Sandaway Suites & Beach
Responded Sep 30, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to let other know about the great customer service and beautiful views found at Sandaway Suites & Beach. It was our pleasure to help with your sudden change of travel plans and glad you could return this fall. Yes, watching the sunset with a bottle of wine is a popular activity to do at Sandaway. There are many nice businesses in Oxford to take care of most vacationers needs including several restaurants, shops, and a market. But we are lucky like you said to be close to St. Michaels that offers more tourist attractions like the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum. Oh, if you ever have an unusual smell in your room, please alert us right away. I am sorry that happened to you, and all rooms are having enhanced cleanings before arrival, so not sure what it was other than a fluke like you said. We hope to see you again next year and stay safe. Wendy sends her best. Thank you, Ben Gibson - Innkeeper
Read more
cruisingpanda wrote a review Sep 2021
Lanham, United States7 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes, the house is old, but what can one expect if it was built in 1875? My husband and I had a great time at the Sandaway. The views are magnificent. We are thinking about making this an annual trip. It was quiet and very peaceful. The rooms are very, very old, but for two nights it worked for us. We walked around the area and it appears that Sandaway had one of the better outdoor spaces and better view. I highly recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get a balcony...so worth it!!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Gibson, General Manager at Sandaway Suites & Beach
Responded Sep 15, 2021
Thank you for letting others know you had such a great time at Sandaway Suites & Beach! We are so fortunate to be able to share our magnificent views from our beautifully renovated rooms and suites. The lodge does date back to 1875, but the owners love keeping the property restored and in top condition for our guests. There are also some newer deluxe suites built next to the lodge you could try. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again in Oxford, Maryland. Safe travels, Ben Gibson - Innkeeper
Read more
Joe B wrote a review Sep 2021
Sewell12 contributions10 helpful votes
( Cant wait for the Sandaway Spin ) ..Bed was fine. View was very Nice. Thats where the niceness ends . Room had a humidifier that was constantly running and needed to be emptied by yours truly a few times a day, Staff??? What Staff?? Your on your own here folks. I should be compensated for emptying the humidifier 6 times. Room smelled like mold and my wife got up several times during the night. Finally gave up opened the door and shut off the humidifier. Do not visit Oxford on a Tues or Wed, They pull up the sidewalks and there is only 1 Overpriced restaurant open. Latitudes . Paid 28.00 for 1 stinkin small crab cake. Ouch! This is not worth 618 for 2 nights. Should have received a refund
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Gibson, General Manager at Sandaway Suites & Beach
Responded Sep 11, 2021
We appreciate your feedback and glad you enjoyed the view, along with your bed. I am very sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with your stay only through this review. I don't need to spin anything and will just go over the facts. I wish you had reported your issues and reached out to us during your stay. Your welcome letter provides owners, management, and housekeeping phone numbers. As part of our response to the pandemic we always have a back up room with a king bed and could have easily moved you. Part of what makes Sandaway special is our ability to respond to most requests within a few minutes. We are always available to answer any questions you may have after reading the welcome information provided to you to help with your stay. The dehumidifier in your room is only intended to be used while you are out of the room, if you are inclined to use it. If you ever encounter any smells please report them at once. Your room had enhanced cleaning before your arrival for your safety. Unfortunately, crabs are scarce this year, causing the market price for crab cakes higher than an average year. Oxford has several shops and restaurants open on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Sandaway provides links to the Oxford Business Association to help with your trip planning. We don't provide refunds from reviews. If you ever are dissatisfied during your stay it should be reported immediately so we can make things right. This is a family run business for over 51 years and we care deeply about every guest experience. We hope you give Oxford and Sandaway a second chance. Please ask for me when making a future booking. Safe travels, Ben Gibson - Innkeeper
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$164 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sandaway waterfront lodging hotel oxford
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandTalbot CountyOxford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sandaway Suites & Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Sandaway Suites & Beach?
Nearby attractions include The Treasure Chest (0.3 miles), The Oxford Museum (0.3 miles), and Custom House (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandaway Suites & Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Sandaway Suites & Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sandaway Suites & Beach?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea, free instant coffee, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandaway Suites & Beach?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandaway Suites & Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Scottish Highland Creamery, The Robert Morris Inn, and t at the General Store.
Is Sandaway Suites & Beach located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Oxford.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandaway Suites & Beach?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Custom House (0.07 miles).
Does Sandaway Suites & Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Sandaway Suites & Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.