Coconut Malorie Resort

Coconut Malorie Resort

Traveler (267)
Room & Suite (86)
couch dining room
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#5 of 6 resorts in Ocean City
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
3.1
Service
3.3
Value
3.1
If you’re searching for a fun vacation destination, look no further than Ocean City, Maryland. The area is known for its free attractions and boardwalk- packed with shops, restaurants, arcades, and live music. No matter what time of year you travel, spending time outside is a must. In Ocean City, you’ll find 10 miles of sand and surf, some of the most challenging golf courses in the mid-Atlantic, delicious local seafood, and over 58 acres of walking trails, playgrounds, and sports fields. The Coconut Malorie Resort is a bay-front property, minutes from the Ocean City attractions. Eighty-five suites can comfortably sleep up to four and include kitchenettes or kitchens, fully equipped for preparing a family meal. Each unit also features a private balcony, the perfect place to enjoy Ocean City’s gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. An abundance of resort-style amenities includes a heated outdoor pool (open from May to October), fitness facilities, and a billiards room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Vending machine
Game room
Billiards
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

200 59th Street on the Bay, Ocean City, MD 21842
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 71 out of 100
71
Wicomico County Airport
24.1 mi
See all flights
Baltimore-Washington Intl Airport
102.3 mi
See all flights
3.0
3.0 of 5 bubbles552 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Coconut Malorie Resort garners mixed feedback, with guests commending its friendly staff yet expressing concerns over maintenance and sluggish response times. While the location is favored for its proximity to the beach and scenic spots, opinions on value are less favorable, highlighting outdated amenities and extra charges. The atmosphere and cleanliness receive varied comments, some appreciating the cleanliness and recent updates, while others encounter worn furnishings and inadequate housekeeping. Room reviews are also split, with mentions of both spaciousness and issues with upkeep.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
552Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 84
  • 120
  • 107
  • 107
  • 134
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Amber S wrote a review Aug 2021
Milford, Connecticut2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all the room had sand all over the floor when we got there which I just swept up myself (there is a broom and dustpan in the closet) as it was just easier then calling for someone and waiting. Then I go to the supposed full kitchen,but it did not have an oven or dishwasher as promised and had 0 counter space. I had to use the toaster on one of the stove burners. I have leg and feet issues and asked for a handicapped room which I was told they did not have one.. i think this goes against ada policies! This made getting in and out of there jetted tub of over a foot high nearly impossible and I was afraid I was going to fall. Also the tub/shower was full of mold/mildew. The focets would turn on if you pushed them back to far. On night one I called because our remote for the TV was not working, on day 3 after numerous complaints I finally got it fixed only for it to stop working again on day 4 . We were supposed to have 4 pool towels upon arrival in the room or face 25.00 per towel fee and we never had these towels and had to explain over and over to several people. At day of checkout we were loading the car and 1 hour before checkout our room keys were turned off. The front desk which has been and is still advertised as 24 hours is now closed between 11pm and 7am and this began with a paper sign hung up in the lobby in the middle of the trip which was a mess when our room key got shut off at 9am and there was no one still at the front desk because they were just running a little late which is unacceptable as well for a so called professional place. I am extremely disappointed in a Ramada and expected so much better and barely got so much as an I'm sorry from anyone in the hotel. The only nice thing I can say about the hotel is the views of the bay were stunning and we had wonderful sunset views as well!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie L wrote a review Jul 2020
Temple, Pennsylvania7 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were first put in a one bedroom suite on the third floor. The floor was visibly dirty, there was dirt on the bed, an old, used washcloth was in the shower, and there was a cup full of old cigarette butts on the balcony and the entire room smelled like food that had previously been heated in the microwave. We requested to move to a different room because this one did not feel like it was cleaned very well at all. The second room was a bit better, it smelled cleaner and there didn’t seem to be any dirt anywhere. Although I will say that everything in the room felt damp the entire time-it was very musty. However, the biggest thing that bothered us was that there were signs all over the hotel that stated that “guests are required to wear masks when in the hotel”. But EVERY hotel employee we saw was not wearing a mask-most did not even have a mask with them. Several times we got in an elevator with a hotel employee and they did not have masks on. If you are going to put up signs requiring your guests to wear masks (which I agree with), your staff should ALSO wear masks when inside.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C Lomas, Owner at Coconut Malorie Resort
Responded Jul 13, 2020
Dear k6279swkatiel- Thank you for being a recent guest with our establishment. I am sorry our property did not meet your expectations and you were checked into a room with multiple housekeeping issues. This was addressed with the housekeeping manager to prevent any future similar issues. I do understand your frustration with employees walking around without masks on. Face coverings are required by our staff and I have addressed this issue with all department managers. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
nursep96 wrote a review Oct 2020
Baltimore, Maryland16 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently booked and spent almost a week at this time share, I was so disappointed that we left early. The bathroom had black mold in the grout, and at the edges of the ceiling tiles, which led me to believe that it continued above them. The room was not cleaned properly, the floor corners had dirt, dust and other peoples hair, there was dirt and food under the furniture, the sofa was threadbare, and lacked support. In the kitchenette the microwave was severely rusted out on the inside, I didn't feel safe using it. The top bedspread looked like it had just been flipped over as there was lint and other people's hair on the underside of it. The front desk people only put their masks on when they saw me coming, and said nothing to other guests not wearing a mask. This is all really too bad because the view is spectacular !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C Lomas, Owner at Coconut Malorie Resort
Responded Nov 12, 2020
Dear nursep96, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear the rooms weren't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. I have personally addressed this with our housekeeping staff to ensure this won't happen again. Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mskay757 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is horrible. The only nice part is the view from the room. The place is full of mold dirty nasty and unclean. The elevator buttons never cleaned when asked the staff they say they will get housekeeping to clean it but never happen and was there for 7 days same nasty finger prints. The Archie Bunker sofa so old it had me in shock like really. The whole place needs to knocked down and built over and a new staff hired.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C Lomas, Owner at Coconut Malorie Resort
Responded Aug 29, 2020
Dear mskay757- Thank you for taking your time to give feedback regarding your recent stay. As our rooms do hold an older element of decor, we focus on guest satisfaction and making sure all of your needs are met during your stay. I apologize that your room was not cleaned the way it should have been. This will be addressed. Your comments and review are both greatly appreciated.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nfrierson24 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room had a pile of dirt outside the door in which should’ve been a warning to us. The tub had a ring and mold on the tile( needs to be replaced) the toiled paper was on the roll from the previous guests, toilet had pubic hair on it. Fridge and freezer was visibly dirty with food spilled in it, kitchen floor was visibly dirty, the sofa bed had crumbs in it which shows the lines inside were not changed or cleaned. The location was great, the view was awesome but having to purchase cleaning supplies and gloves to scrub and clean a room before our stay is not my idea of a vacation. Please beware. Housekeeping laughed in our faces , told us he’s tired and half cleaned the room. I did see the manager upon checkout she was nice and helpful, and apologetic. I wish I could post these photos
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
damascus253 wrote a review Feb 2020
Damascus, MD4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
enjoyed our stay this past weekend. Resort was clean and comfortable. Was disappointed that the resort charged us a $35 cleaning fee and our room was not cleaned. Called the front desk to complain and the phone did not work. Went down to the front desk and was told that was an RCI charge. When I called RCI I was told it was the resort that charged. Checked out on Monday 2/17 was happy once I explained the situation to the manager on duty she refunded my fee.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cheryl Lomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Coconut Malorie Resort
Responded Mar 23, 2020
damascus253, Unfortunately all RCI reservations less than a week are charged the $35. fee at the resort. This covers the cleaning fee after your departure. I am sorry there was a misunderstanding about the fee and what it covered. Our goal is to make sure our guests are taken care of and enjoy their stay. I am glad we could be of utmost service to you and get you your money back due to the situation. We hope to see you back again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wave 🌊 Reviews wrote a review Aug 2022
United States5 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival to room I smelled a bear smell by bed. Also noticed dirty filthy floor throughout. Was told rooms get cleaned after every check out .. Welp they must have just changed sheets and towels because everything else was dirty! They don’t come clean up during stay due to covid . If u want fresh towels you gave to sit them outside your door and hope that you get a new set before the next day ! You take your own trash out to dumpster !! The thermostat was broken ,called to front desk and maintenance came up and said it’s ok don’t worry about it . He was nice but didn’t fix the issue and stated the building hasn’t had a new system out in since the 70,s?!!! This place has great location but they really need to do better . I have read previous reviews and most all say same for over a year now ( Rooms Dirty ) Maybe the new GM Jessica can help with cleaning since the responses she gave seem to be auto generated and has an un bothered attitude by the feed back given by guests that have stayed at this location! I’m sure no one working at this location would accept a dirty filthy room on their family vacations !!!!!!Needless to say I cleaned the entire room after i went and purchased cleaning products. I cannot feel comfortable in beer smelling dirty room. Please DO BETTER when cleaning rooms !!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Domingo M wrote a review Oct 2020
Oceanside, California22 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
For the Coconut Malorie Management :
It would help to clean the rooms a little more thoroughly. The rooms reeked of a mixture of cleaning solution, mold and damp filth. The elevators too need a sanitary wipe down. What made the stay impossible was that this property had the heat turned on on a warm night, and there was no way to control it. We had to sleep with the "patio" sliding door open just to get a few minutes of sleep. It was horrible. I spent the night looking for a hotel , which I found an moved my family out in the morning . This was the worst Time Share / Hotel experience ever. I reported it to the front desk. I spoke to John who said that the management would do something, but no action was ever taken .

There was no A/C. The front dest said that they were on winter footing and had turned to heat regardless of whether it was needed or not , all the corridors were baking, and the room was just roasting, The bathroom and kitchen fixture looked unclean and not very well maintained. Some of the ceiling tiles had discoloration suggestive of mold, or a serious dirt problem. The room just felt filthy, you did not want any part of it or the furnishings touching your body.
Everything needs to be cleaned properly, its is like the floors were moped with dirty water and the same water was used to wipe down the fixtures.

Though the exterior looked better than the interior, but it is just a show. Really watch out for the paint that was used on the check in driveway. It is not sanded and when it rains it is very slippery. I actually did have a fall, but luckily, I did not get hurt. Someone need to take care of that as it will only get worse when things freeze over.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Just avoid it until they quit milking it and choose to invest in some cleaning and updates. a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C Lomas, Owner at Coconut Malorie Resort
Responded Nov 12, 2020
Dear DomingoM_13, Thank you for providing us with feedback. Although, we wish you had a better stay it is feedback such as this that gives us the opportunity to improve. I'm sorry to hear the rooms weren't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. I have personally addressed this with our housekeeping staff to ensure this won't happen again. We will be looking into the issue with the driveway.Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacie J wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed 3 nights - on the first night the AC to the ENTIRE building shut down. It was not fixed until the next morning, using a rental AC unit that was in the parking lot. Temperatures were in the 90s that day. In addition, our room wasn't fully cleaned before our arrival. Sand and dirt were all over the floor, to the point our feet were black after walking on them. The furniture and the entire room smelled strange and musty. The jets in the bathtub didn't work. Lights broke during our stay. The pool also shut down. The overall appearance was very outdated and the tiles on the floor were uneven. Mold in the bathroom, along with several cracked/broken tiles. There is no extra security latch at the top of the doors, entry door or the inside door separating the rooms. And on our last day, they shut off our key before we checked out, so we couldn't return to our room after breakfast to pack our car. For the price we paid - $250/night - I expected much better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teedoc20 wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a 1 bedroom. Room has no oven and tiny sink with barely any counter space or cabinets to store your food. Balcony so small you can not sit out on it with a chair. Room was dirty!! Pull out sofa bed. Very small if more then 3 people in your party!! Good location to beach and right at Fagers Island. Peggy at front desk was wonderful and VERY helpful. Katrina on the other hand very rude and made it clear that certain things are “not her job.” Asked for a manager and none on site.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C Lomas, Owner at Coconut Malorie Resort
Responded Jul 27, 2020
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry our property did not meet your satisfaction. We try hard as a team and resort to make our guests stay as welcoming and relaxing as possible. Your comments and suggestions will be passed on to the appropriate managers so we can continue to make the necessary changes to improve our property. Again, I thank you for taking your time to provide feedback regarding your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BoardingPass690765 asked a question Mar 2022
Charles Town, West Virginia21 contributions17 helpful votes
Are there any smoking areas?
Answer from jwilson2
Ocean City, Maryland
You are allowed to smoke on the balcony.
chrispyk12345 asked a question Aug 2016
Potomac Falls, Virginia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Just wondering; do you remember which room you stayed in?Want to avoid that in the future..thanks.
Answer from jenheat
Glen Rock, Pennsylvania7 contributions9 helpful votes
We were on the 3rd floor bayside - maybe 309. But the room across the hall was left wide open for 2 days - so I think the mold problem is pervasive throughout the hotel.
Answer from Robert F
Ocean City, Maryland
Sorry it has taken a few days to respond, I was out of the office. The A/C is typically turned on late spring. Due to unseasonably cooler weather, we actually didn't turn the A/C on until middle part of May. We typically turn over to heat the middle to latter part of October or First part of November, depending on weather. I hope this answers your question concerning the A/C and heat system.
shupdog asked a question Feb 2015
Morganton, North Carolina
all pet friendly and all part of timeshare with festiva adventure
Answer from Terry K
Millsboro, Delaware10 contributions2 helpful votes
No dogs are allowed at the resort other than service dogs. A hefty cleaning fee and removal of the pet are noted in their rules and regs. Yes, it is Festiva.but also public hotel.
Tina H wrote a tip May 12
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool table was nice, too early. Happy Jack's is great for breakfast, if you want to go to bad monkey, call a day ahead for reservation"
Read full review
izzy g wrote a tip Dec 2023
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania33 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go some where else. One time we did not have hot water for over 30 hours, During a visit off season we had no heat last day."
Read full review
nataliev0128 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Ormond Beach, Florida14 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here"
Read full review
Peggy M wrote a tip Nov 2023
Fresno, California, United States2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Jacuzzi closed"
Read full review
Deborah E wrote a tip Oct 2023
North Fork, Idaho8 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice game room and work-out areas"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ocean City area.
PRICE RANGE
$112 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
coconut malorie ocean city
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandOcean City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COCONUT MALORIE RESORT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Coconut Malorie Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Coconut Malorie Resort?
Nearby attractions include Fager's Island Bar (0.05 miles), Nick's Maui Golf (0.2 miles), and Speedworld (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Coconut Malorie Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Coconut Malorie Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Coconut Malorie Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coconut Malorie Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rosenfeld's Jewish Delicatessen, Fager's Island, and Bad Monkey.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coconut Malorie Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Coconut Malorie Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Ocean City.
Are there any historical sites close to Coconut Malorie Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Transpeninsular Marker (4.8 miles).
Does Coconut Malorie Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.
All Ocean City HotelsOcean City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ocean CityHotels near Coconut Malorie Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars