We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Monte Carlo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Monte Carlo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 405: English reviews
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was in a great location just one block from the boardwalk with a roof top pool. The check in process was less than favorable. We did arrive early and our room was not ready but they said they would call if it was ready sooner. Well we did not receive a call and went back at 4 pm... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sportsnut33
Tom Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay but were surprised to read your comments regarding our front desk staff. Your experience certainly wasn't typical so that makes it all the more important to follow up with them. Check-in time starts at 4pm... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very clean. Staff was very helpful and responsive. Great location close to all boardwalk activities. Rooftop pool was nice. Indoor pool was a bit small. Only one elevator; so may be an issue when hotel is crowded. When we were there, the hotel was not fully booked. Parking spots were tight for an SUV.

Helpful?
Thank ANTHONY B
Tom Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thank you, Anthony, for staying with us. We are pleased that you found our staff "helpful and responsive". Please come back and stay with us again soon. More 

Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed in rooms. Smelly, musty odor and felt sticky in rooms. Door bolt broken. Fire alarm went off 4am in morning. One Elevator so extremely slow. Free parking provided was nearly impossible to fit in so had to pay extra for a spacier reserved spot. Only good points was right next to beach and outdoor pool on roof although only... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tanjil78
Tom Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations with us. Each deserves a response. We're sure you can appreciate that fire alarms happen but here is some perspective on other things you mentioned. Our elevator suffices 90% of the time. Perhaps you here when we were at 100% occupancy? The number and size of our parking spots is... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this "hotel" for a bachelorette weekend with my girls. I thought it would be nice because of the pictures, and it was about 3-4 stars on TripAdvisor. First things first, parking is a pain. The lots are small and tight. The front desk is tighter than the parking lot. There is only one elevator which is slow. Now... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matos M
Tom Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

I'm sorry your stay didn't measure up to your expectations - or ours. We take criticism like yours very seriously so I called but wasn't able to connect with you. Please listen to my message. I look forward to your call. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The most disappointing stay we have ever experienced. Blood on our pillow case, roof top bar that never opened all week, roof top pool broke, water in the shower operated backwards(scorched me on cold), the overall conditions were disgusting we didn't even dare us the jacuzzi.

Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas C
Owings, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Got what I expected (thanks to TripAdvisor!) - great location and clean room. Not much of a view (expected) and AC would only go to a certain level - would have preferred a bit cooler. Roof top pool was nice with a pool bar!

Helpful?
Thank Rose B
Tom Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Monte Carlo for your recent stay in Ocean City. We are pleased you found your room clean - that's our aim with every guest! Also, good to see you enjoyed our new pool bar - quite a view up there. As for the AC, when it's very hot and humid, as it was during... More 

Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

First impression is you arrive at their tiny on site parking lot, likely having to double park, to go in and register and get a parking permit for either across the street or down the block. The hotel is a short easy walk to the beach & boardwalk but if you’re keeping beach chairs, umbrellas, etc in your car, be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank barbc1111
Thomas Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

I read your review with great interest and then, because it was so surprising, I had every member of our housekeeping department read it too. We know we are better than that so when we read the shortcomings you related, it reminded us that we can never rest, never do less than our best. I checked all our notes in... More 

Aldie, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016

My boyfriend and I were really excited about this hotel when we saw the pictures online. Even though we read a couple bad reviews, we decided to remain optimistic and went ahead and planned a three night stay. This hotel is convenient, being right by the boardwalk. A “grab and go” breakfast is also provided and it consists of muffins,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank FriedOreos
Tom Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

I was so disappointed to read about your experience with us. I hope you can appreciate that it's certainly not typical. Our guests don't stay with us because of our great location alone, as you have described. They also appreciate how our associates strive to avoid exactly the sorts of things you have cited. That's why we're so anxious to... More 

State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016

I booked this hotel for my parents to stay at with the grandchildren. There is an indoor and a rooftop pool. Subway located beside lobby. The bus stop is right outside. Dough roller is on the corner. Short walk to boardwalk, very short. Small kitchenette in room. Breakfast provided. Grill for guest use. Rooms are clean. View of both bay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cuda7
Tom Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience here. All of our associates work hard to ensure we provide a clean, well maintained environment to allow our guests to concentrate on the wonderful benefits of staying at the Hotel Monte Carlo, many of which, you have noted in your review - convenience, amenities, and a great view from... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

We stayed in this hotel because of the location and proximity to the beach and boardwalk. Check in was not until 4pm but we were allowed to park our vehicle prior to check in so we could hit the beach before check in. Jen and Paula at the front desk were awesome, their customer service was great. The parking area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayde B
Thomas Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. They were a delight to read. Jenn and Paula are valuable contributors and our guests appreciate it the things they do for them. I read your comments about the WiFi with great interest because, in response to our guests' requests, we have just upgraded performance (again) and now it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#16 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#75 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#84 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#55 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceanside all efficiency hotel built in 2000, located just steps to beach, boardwalk and Atlantic surf. Hotel offers seasonal rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, scenic rooftop sundeck, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi rooms, deluxe pillowtop bedding, cardio fitness room, Subway restaurant, guest laundry services. All efficiencies offer small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO, alarm clock radios, daily housekeeping service, elevator, handicap accessible rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Address: 216 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4021
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range: $85 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Hotel
Monte Carlo Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay