We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Monte Carlo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Monte Carlo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 400: English reviews
Owings, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Got what I expected (thanks to TripAdvisor!) - great location and clean room. Not much of a view (expected) and AC would only go to a certain level - would have preferred a bit cooler. Roof top pool was nice with a pool bar!

Helpful?
Thank Rose B
Tom Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Monte Carlo for your recent stay in Ocean City. We are pleased you found your room clean - that's our aim with every guest! Also, good to see you enjoyed our new pool bar - quite a view up there. As for the AC, when it's very hot and humid, as it was during... More 

Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First impression is you arrive at their tiny on site parking lot, likely having to double park, to go in and register and get a parking permit for either across the street or down the block. The hotel is a short easy walk to the beach & boardwalk but if you’re keeping beach chairs, umbrellas, etc in your car, be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank barbc1111
Thomas Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

I read your review with great interest and then, because it was so surprising, I had every member of our housekeeping department read it too. We know we are better than that so when we read the shortcomings you related, it reminded us that we can never rest, never do less than our best. I checked all our notes in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Aldie, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I were really excited about this hotel when we saw the pictures online. Even though we read a couple bad reviews, we decided to remain optimistic and went ahead and planned a three night stay. This hotel is convenient, being right by the boardwalk. A “grab and go” breakfast is also provided and it consists of muffins,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FriedOreos
Tom Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

I was so disappointed to read about your experience with us. I hope you can appreciate that it's certainly not typical. Our guests don't stay with us because of our great location alone, as you have described. They also appreciate how our associates strive to avoid exactly the sorts of things you have cited. That's why we're so anxious to... More 

State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for my parents to stay at with the grandchildren. There is an indoor and a rooftop pool. Subway located beside lobby. The bus stop is right outside. Dough roller is on the corner. Short walk to boardwalk, very short. Small kitchenette in room. Breakfast provided. Grill for guest use. Rooms are clean. View of both bay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cuda7
Tom Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience here. All of our associates work hard to ensure we provide a clean, well maintained environment to allow our guests to concentrate on the wonderful benefits of staying at the Hotel Monte Carlo, many of which, you have noted in your review - convenience, amenities, and a great view from... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel because of the location and proximity to the beach and boardwalk. Check in was not until 4pm but we were allowed to park our vehicle prior to check in so we could hit the beach before check in. Jen and Paula at the front desk were awesome, their customer service was great. The parking area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayde B
Thomas Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. They were a delight to read. Jenn and Paula are valuable contributors and our guests appreciate it the things they do for them. I read your comments about the WiFi with great interest because, in response to our guests' requests, we have just upgraded performance (again) and now it... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I woke yesterday morning & wanted something special to do with my girlfriend. So as a surprised I googled Ocean city, MD. A few hotels came up but what caught my eye was the Hotel Monte Carlo. I called & got Jen on the line. She hit me a great price with my AARP & let me hold the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Big_meno
Thomas Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts. Jenn, Jessica, and Mariyland do a great job for us and it makes us all smile when our guests recognize their contribution like you have. Glad you enjoyed the king bed, Jacuzzi, and balcony. Those rooms are perfect for a seashore getaway! We'll look forward to seeing... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from another wonderful stay at this little gem of a hotel.The rooftop pool alone is worth every penny! Perfect location, lovely rooms, and wonderful pleasant staff. Patty, who runs the front desk, and has been there for years is like family. The epitome of professionalism coupled with a genuine concern for the guests at the hotel. Time after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Thomas Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Linda. We appreciate your comments. We especially take to heart your praise for Patty - she deserves it. We want all of our guests to feel like family ... like the Hotel Monte Carlo is their "home away from home" whenever they visit Ocean City. We'll all look forward to seeing you again next... More 

Newark, Delaware
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in the king room with the jacuzzi tub and the city view balcony for 5 nights. The room and hotel was small but clean and had hot water and the air conditioning was great which was a plus but the water pressure in the shower wasn't the best and the toilets flushed very slow. Walls were thin so... More 

Helpful?
Thank rarossetti321
Thomas Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

We appreciate that you took time to give us feedback on your experience here at the Hotel Montel Carlo. We're pleased you found your room clean, well air conditioned, close to the boardwalk and that, overall, it was a "good stay" although you felt the room was a bit small for you. We hope in the future, our strength in... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

I have never been more disappointed in a hotel than this. We stayed four nights, not once was the room cleaned. The rooms were filthy dirty. We paid 1500$/per room for four nights was not worth $5.00!!! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone other than teenagers or college aged partying crowd. I was traveling with 4 adults and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
Thomas Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

I was extremely disappointed to read your review. The visit you described is so different than what our guests experience, I would appreciate it if you would call me personally to discuss your complaint that your room was never cleaned during your stay. That's breathtaking. Our managers always check rooms after they are cleaned by our housekeepers. I would be... More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

I've been staying at the Monte Carlo for years but it had been a few years before our most recent stay. The hotel is beautifully updated. The front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating with an early check in. The indoor pool was fantastic and never crowded. The location is perfect for quick walks to the boardwalk and inlet... More 

Helpful?
Thank LandJR
Tom Q, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again this year. We appreciate your business and kind remarks. We look forward to your next visit to Ocean City. As I am new here at the Monte Carlo, I value any comments from our guests. I promise our team will work hard to continuously improve the guest experience we offer to all who... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#84 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#63 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#70 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceanside all efficiency hotel built in 2000, located just steps to beach, boardwalk and Atlantic surf. Hotel offers seasonal rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, scenic rooftop sundeck, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi rooms, deluxe pillowtop bedding, cardio fitness room, Subway restaurant, guest laundry services. All efficiencies offer small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO, alarm clock radios, daily housekeeping service, elevator, handicap accessible rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Address: 216 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4021
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range: $114 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Hotel
Monte Carlo Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay