We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

511 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 510: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Michael at the front desk was very helpful during my stay. I lost my only pair of car keys in the elevator gap and Michael went through a lot of trouble to get it back for me. My whole family had an enjoyable time.

Helpful?
Thank eden G
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites. I am glad that Michael was able to find your key for you! We always want to go above and beyond to make sure guests are happy. Thank you again, and we look forward to having you back. More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I originally booked this hotel for four nights for me and my 2 teenagers. The reviews I read didn't seem too bad.. Thank God another option became available and I had cancelled the remaining 3 nights. First of all the parking situation is terrible. There are cars everywhere double parked, people trying to carefully get out of spots. They have... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce K
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I am very sorry to hear that your time was not what was expected. However, we do the best we can with parking. In Ocean City parking is very hard to come about. I will let the appropriate departments know about the issues you faced while staying... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Not what it seems. Check in time is 4pm, they really stick to that time. We tried to check in at 3pm but it was clear that it was not goung to happen. Ive nevered had an issue at any other hotel. Check in line eas out the door with one employee on duty. Printer wasnt working. Lobbies and hallways... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria G
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We do the best we can when it comes to check in time. When a room is ready we like to let our guest know so they can check in early. However, not all situations happen like that. We are constantly making updates on different... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Clean & tidy, but not pristine. Old & worn, but not shoddy. For some reason the male staff was very helpful while the females seemed to believe they were doing me a favor letting me breathe the same air as them. Especially the housekeeping supervisor. We had the audacity to ask for more towels & her scowl was epic. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John W
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Tidelands. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you had a few bad run-ins with certain employees. I will approach the appropriate departments about these issues. I am glad that Flo was able to help make your trip... More 

Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Given the fact that we did chose this because it is near the Boardwalk and close when traveling with children. It is not a safe environment with no key passes on elevators or pool entry, when we were there was a family from an adjoining hotel that had no pool and they kept reminding their children not to tell anyone... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cindy j
harrisburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Please do not waste your money here. This dump is rated 91 out of 107 hotels in OCMD for a reason. It's a dump. It deserves a negative rating. I stayed a few years ago and it was a dump, for some reason I gave it another shot because of the great location and I figured it had to improve... More 

Helpful?
Thank rstair36
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our suite had 2 rooms, each with a king size bed (one room had a pull out sofa). This was the only place I found that had a king rather than a queen. Anyway it worked for us! We had 2 adults in each room and 2 kids on the sofa bed. It is a block from the boardwalk and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edlyn C
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I am glad to hear that overall you had a good experience with us. I am glad the set-up of the room worked for you and your family. We hope that you come back for another visit. More 

Highland, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by saying our room was very comfortable and clean! The hallways on the other hand all need a lot of updating! The smells out side the rooms were horrific. We stayed here 3 years prior, and it has definitely gone down hill. They have a bar out by the pool, with an outside door leading up to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. We want to hear everything about your trip so that we can make our hotel a more enjoyable place. We are sorry that your experience with us was not what was expected. I will let the appropriate departments know about your complaints. I hope that you will... More 

Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a nice stay here last week. The room was very spacious and clean, although other reviews complained about the air, our room was very cold and we had to turn the temp up to 74 and it was comfortable. We needed extra blankets and pillows and they were brought up right away and we had a nice balcony... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay G
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay. It is so nice to hear that you had a nice visit and that you would stay with us again. I am sorry to hear that the ice machine was broken during your stay. However, being a beach hotel the floors tend to have sand... More 

Baldwin, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel despite the numerous negative reviews as its location was exactly what we wanted for the end-of-summer trip with our college aged children. It was so much more than we expected! We booked a king sized suite. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel while, yes, older was clean and well maintained. I did take note... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Penny S
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for the kind reviews. We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy one last family trip before your kids went off to school, we know how important that is. Thank you for pointing out what makes Tidelands special and what helps us stand out. Thank you again and we hope to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (131)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#32 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#69 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#54 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#63 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#70 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tidelands is centrally located on 5th Street on the Boardwalk in Ocean City, Maryland featuring 133 beautifully decorated oceanfront, oceanview & oceanblock rooms & 2-room suites. We offer deluxe, spacious accommodations with a kitchen, as well as two pools, including rooftop pool with pool bar plus free wireless internet. As part of The Carousel Group Hotels, we offer Carousel Vacation Packages and extras with all stays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites

Address: 409 Atlantic Ave, 5th Street on the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-4180
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range: $121 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidelands Caribbean Hotel Ocean City
Tidelands Caribbean Ocean City
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay