We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
18th Street & Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-0519
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (142)
Room & Suite (255)
Pool & Beach (88)

About

#15 of 118 in Ocean City
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
The Spinnaker has all full efficiency units that sleep to six people per unit. Each unit includes two double beds a pull out sleep sofa double bed, private balcony, fully equipped kitchenette, full bath and private balcony. All units are NON Smoking. All rooms have free WIFI
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
485Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 222
  • 192
  • 49
  • 9
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Terri A wrote a review Jun 18
1 contribution
The Spinnaker is an icon in OC with its flags flying and its neon waves! I had never stayed here before but their rates were just right for a quick 2 night getaway on June 14-16. I was pleasantly surprised by how clean the room was! It is an older place but the staff takes pride in what they do! Carpet needed a shampoo but who walks on hotel carpet with bare feet anyway...not this gal. Drains were slow in the shower but when you are at the beach that is to be expected with all the sand that goes down. Great view of ocean and bay from 5th floor. Large sun deck and crystal clear pool too. Would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Ward, General Manager at The Spinnaker
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you so much for the lovely review!!! We hope to see you again in the future and remember to book early for the best rate
Read more
Tina M wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This is the second time staying here. Both times have been very comfortable but even better this time. Clean room and nice side view for the price. Basically on the boardwalk. Plenty of parking. Friendly staff. Would stay again for a short stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
D W wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The front desk were amazing . They answer all my questions. The location was perfect , since some family were not at the same hotel. Having a restaurant connected to the hotel was a bonus. The food was delicious. The staff was very friendly. Our room was clean. Would definitely stay at The Spinnaker again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Savannahsma0401 wrote a review Aug 2021
New York103 contributions27 helpful votes
This was mine and my family’s first visit to ocean city, MD and we found the spinnaker hotel on a last minute find online. When we arrived at the hotel, the spots to park to “check-in” were a little sparse (wish they had designated spots for people checking in) The lady at check in was very nice, & explained everything throughly. Once we were checked in , we went into the hotels parking lot to find a spot to park , parking in the front row by malias cafe is a little tight , but other then that parking and finding a spot was fine. Our room was nice, beds were clean , mattress on sofa bed was thin and floppy but my kids didn’t seem to mind. (They could be upgraded) Hotel room was not “Covid cleaned”. Their was a 1/4 cup of all ready brewed coffee sitting in the coffee pot , their was a bag of sour patch kids candy in the cabinet over the stove . We wiped all surfaces and hard floors with disinfecting wipes and they were black (which indicates, nothing was throughly cleaned) Outside balcony was nice. It had 2 plastic chairs and a small plastic table. Balcony area was swept. The only negative of the hotel room was the cleanliness and the clearance of the front main door when you enter or exit the room , there is absolutely no space , so you basically have to walk into the bathroom or push the door all the way back and walk in one by one. The space In the kitchen in veryyyy narrow. Bathroom was decent size . Shower was nice . Liked the vanity mirror that moved all Over. Liked the bath and body works toiletries. Anytime I called for fresh towels or anything else I never had a problem. Housekeeping was very responsive. The biggest perk for this hotel is the LOCATION YOU CAN NOT BEAT THIS LOCATION. Super close to the boardwalk, gift shops, bike rentals , the beach, Starbucks, cvs, and more! The location was phenomenal! Malias cafe downstairs of the hotel was good. Prices are normal, food was very good. But the workers are super busy every minute , so when you call to place an order , you’ll definitely hear the “rushing” in their voice . Other then that it was a nice little eatery. The pool at the hotel was nice , it was small, but nice. There’s a seating area behind a white fence with tons of tables and chairs with umbrellas. I would give the spinnaker a 8/10 . I’d go back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Ward, General Manager at The Spinnaker
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Thank you for the feedback we will work hard to do improvements over the next year. We apologize about any issues you may have had and we are happy to learn your overall stay was great.
Read more
cjsmommy2013 wrote a review Jul 2021
York, Pennsylvania3 contributions
We booked a 5 night stay at The Spinnaker and we left after a few hours of arriving and found a different hotel. The staff in the lobby was very friendly and helpful. Other than that, the time we were there was awful. We had an extremely hard time getting our luggage into the room. The walkways are so narrow that we couldn't get past the housekeeping cart with the luggage cart. By the time we finally made it to the elevator, the luggage cart just barely fit into the elevator. When we got to the room, I had to disinfect the entire room. The carpet looked like it hasn't been replaced since 1990 and the room smelled awful. The sofa was torn and the traffic and people talking outside was echoing into the room. The bathroom appeared to have been somewhat "remodeled" but it was still dirty. My husband washed his hands with the soap provided and his hands were left sticky. We felt so dirty we didn't even unload our luggage from the cart before deciding we had to find a different place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Ward, General Manager at The Spinnaker
Responded Jul 26, 2021
I apologize if you were dissatissfied with The Spinnaker, however if you checked out I hope management was able to help process a refund for you.
Read more
travelinteach80 wrote a review Jul 2021
Maryland53 contributions16 helpful votes
We stayed here during the air show. Wonderful location! We were able to watch the practice Friday evening from our balcony, and on Saturday were able to walk out, set up our chairs, and come back in time for the air show. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Melanie wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
My daughter and I stayed this past weekend as her birthday gift ..the beach was good and boardwalk other then a ton of people out there on it were smoking weed pretty bad..then we thought let's sit on our balcony well that was fir like 10 mins at a time as well Cuz once again down below us were people smoking more weed ...so between this and my picture I took Cuz I opened this microwave to make something and this is what I found they never cleaned it how nasty
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Ward, General Manager at The Spinnaker
Responded May 25, 2021
I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay. The Spinnaker is a NON SMOKING property and we will impose a monetary fine or evict people that break the rules. We were not informed of anyone smoking on the balcony. I truly apologize that you were not satisfied with the room and the microwave being in bad condition. If we would have been informed we would have tried to correct the problems or have moved you to another room. Please contact the Management at The Spinnaker to discuss these issues. We do appreciate your feedback.
Read more
cynthialoliver wrote a review Oct 2020
Sallisaw, Oklahoma2 contributions
Resort nice but they sale you something but deliver something else never get what you pay for purchase two bedroom get two one bedrooms, Purchase vacation packages with two stay told only one presentation required. Go to book find out they were mistaken told you wrong two presentations required nothing they can do about it. Book the date but shoe tickets get call saying made a mistake all booked that day have to come in a day after non refundable tickets purchased for. Promised one location after specifically tell them needed room with twin beds placed at different location told mistake all sold out there. If you deal with these people take lubricant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Ward, General Manager at The Spinnaker
Responded Oct 9, 2020
Hello this review I believe is for The Spinnaker Resorts. We are The Spinnaker a family owned and operated Hotel with efficiency units in OCEAN CITY, Maryland. I do not believe you were a guest with us. All of our units are efficiencies not one or two bedroom units and we do not sell vacation packages either. Also we are located in a resort town, however The Spinnaker is not a resort.
Read more
Elaine K wrote a review Sep 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Very nice hotel. Room was a bit musty smelling (totally expected), We had spray and it worked nicely. room was very comfortable and had all the things we needed for a weeks stay. Very clean and service was very attentive of anything we needed. Nice balcony with views of the ocean. Can't wait to go again...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms had ocean views, love two double beds and a pull out sofa (not the most comfortable)...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Alisha wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions
The receptionists at the front office was great and friendly along with the cleaning staff due to COVID-19 great location easy access to boardwalk and beach beds are little uncomfortable will definitely come back due to receptionists and friendliness of the staff
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
spinnaker motel ocean city, spinnaker ocean city md, spinnaker hotel ocean city
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandOcean City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Spinnaker
Which popular attractions are close to The Spinnaker?
Nearby attractions include Embers Island Miniature Golf (0.3 miles), T.C. Studios Arts & Entertainment (0.2 miles), and Paradise Cove Mini Golf (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spinnaker?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Spinnaker?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Spinnaker?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Spinnaker?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Spinnaker?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sahara Cafe, Malia's Cafe, and Layton's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Spinnaker?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Spinnaker?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Main Street Berlin (7.9 miles), Transpeninsular Marker (7.3 miles), and Calvin B. Taylor House Museum (7.9 miles).
Does The Spinnaker have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Spinnaker accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.