We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Beach Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
Panoramas (29)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beach Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 488: English reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2016

The idea of this hotel is awesome. However, it is very outdated. None of the outlets worked in any rooms other than the kitchen. So 5 girls having to get ready in a kitchen was not fun. The Floors seemed very dirty and unkept. The Location is great. But they could definitely update the rooms a little bit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
Fremont, New Hampshire
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Hotel is old and very run down. It could be a great art-deco hotel, but it is not maintained well. Front desk people were very nice. However, in spite of a small bathroom, that was 'yukky', it had an amazing shower head and the pressure was heavenly. Compact Room; our room had two full size beds, each toughing the wall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZiggyMoondust
Sewell, New Jersey
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

Arrived in Friday September 16th for a family weekend away. Our plan was to stay in one of the 3 bedroom apts. Boy what a mistake!!! The entire apt reeked of bleach as though they were trying very hard to cover something up or quickly clean/eliminate something. The entire place was so old and outdated which I could understand and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melsmom3344
Reviewed October 3, 2016

We decided to leave the city for a quick OC getaway before the cold front came in and the Beach Plaza Hotel was the best selection for a good value hotel, by the boardwalk, and also with great deco. We will be booking again :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArcturusZimbo
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you found the Beach Plaza to be a good value and that you enjoyed our great location and charming decor. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again at the beach.

Pikesville, Maryland
Reviewed September 30, 2016

This is the second year I've stayed in this hotel. I loved ny room--Direct Ocean Front w/2 Double Beds-- for the second year in a row. I could look out to the Ocean and gaze at the Boardwalk activity. The location of the Hotel is perfect. Bike rental and restaurants were nearby. Weather was perfect for this time of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 643monicay
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Plaza Hotel. The Beach Plaza's oceanfront rooms provide a great view of the beach and boardwalk, and as you mentioned, the central boardwalk location is perfect. Thank you for noting how clean you found your room, and that the Beach Plaza's staff was so accommodating. Thank you again for your...

Cambridge, Maryland
Reviewed September 28, 2016

Best night ever with my wife. Stayed here the night before we got married years ago and this stay was reminded of that night. Same room. The service was wonderful. Check in and check out was a breeze.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morgan624
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay on your return trip to the Beach Plaza. We pride ourselves on providing great service and we are happy you decided to return. Thank you again for your review of the Beach Plaza Hotel, and we hope to see you again in...

Belcamp, Maryland
Reviewed September 25, 2016

great location. staff was very friendly and courtious. loved the court yard and beach front building. it was very fun riding our bikes everyday on the boardwalk with the easy access to the boardwalk. loved our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 981kim
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm glad to hear you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed the Beach Plaza's oceanfront location. September is a great time of year in Ocean City, especially on the boardwalk. Thank you again for your review of the Beach Plaza Hotel and I hope you can stay with us in...

Centreville, Maryland
Reviewed September 24, 2016

The only negative about our stay was we were put in an adjoining room and we heard the other residents talking till late and their TV was on almost all night! Horrible for sleeping. Also, the bathroom door would stick and couldn't be closed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ksmith_134917
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Beach Plaza Hotel. I apologize that you had an issue with noise. If you would like to contact me at the hotel I would appreciate knowing what room you were stay in so that any issue with the bathroom door can be addressed for future guests. Thank you again for your review and...

Maryland
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

This is a great little hotel for a great value! We had a ocean front room, I could open the screened in window and stare directly at the ocean and listen to the waves crash, which I love! The bed is right next to the window, so it was the next best thing to having a balcony. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KidnurseMaryland
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Beach Plaza Hotel and I'm glad you enjoyed your oceanfront room. The Beach Plaza's central boardwalk location is ideal and our oceanfront porch is a great place to relax and watch the ocean. Thank you for noting our friendly staff here at the Beach Plaza and we will see you again next time you are...

Essex, Maryland
Reviewed September 22, 2016

Loved staying here. It was a last-minute trip and the staff were very accommodating, and especially helpful to my wheelchair bound husband. The location is ideal, the building itself has such historic charm and ambience. Rooms are small but that goes to the age of the hotel and did NOT affect our stay or comfort. There were two adults, two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. While the Beach Plaza is an older property, we keep it well maintained and it's unique history really adds to it's charm. The Beach Plaza's oceanfront porch with rocking chairs is an especially popular feature...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

378 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (177)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
RM207 Standard Queen Room (21)
Viewed
RM210 Ocean Front Standard (18)
Viewed
RM415 Apartment ocean Front (33)
Viewed
RM421 Efficiency Ocean Front (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#25 of 108 in Ocean City
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#17 of 108 in Ocean City
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#76 of 108 in Ocean City
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#28 of 108 in Ocean City
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping.The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1301 Atlantic Ave, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-7348
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range: $97 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phillips Beach Plaza
Phillips Beach Plaza Ocean City
Phillips Beach Plaza Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Beach Plaza Hotel staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Baltimore
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Beach Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the rooms are small but okay”
 of 5 bubbles Z3729SCjamesn, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“check your bathroom first, then ask for another room!”
 of 5 bubbles 157donnae, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“We love the oceanfront rooms we also love the back corner room because on the 3rd floor you can have a view of the ocean and of the sunset on the bay.every day while we're there we get up early go for a bike ride or a walk on the boardwalk and then lay out on the beach the rest of the day! In the evening we go to one of the many numerous restaurants within walking distance and enjoy a great dinner and end the day by sitting on the porch with a glass of wine people watching chatting with our friends and laughing best vacation ever!”
 of 5 bubbles julianC8798IY, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“Request Ocean View. Room 110 is over the restaurant and can be noisy.”
  • Dusty
  • Security of the door was questionable for me.
  • It doesn't matter how old the hotel is, there is no excuse for this...
  • Shower
 of 5 bubbles ZiggyMoondust, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
“It has a kitchen connected to it.”
 of 5 bubbles ArcturusZimbo, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay