We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1301 Atlantic Ave 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-7348
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (234)
360
Panoramas (29)
Videos (1)

About

#61 of 115 hotels in Ocean City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping. The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk.
Read more
Room & Suite (144)144
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Vending machine
Mini golf
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Great View
599Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 181
  • 150
  • 113
  • 75
  • 80
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
beachbella1018 wrote a review Sep 2020
Hollywood, Maryland20 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed at the Beach Plaza hotel for a get-away weekend in room 305. After reading the reviews, we were afraid what we were getting ourselves into. The hotel is very old and run down but our room was clean considering. The first thing we did when we got up to the room was check the bed sheets to make sure it was clean. Reading the other reviews, people have commented that there were hair and stains on their bed at check in. Ours was perfectly clean with fresh linens. The bathroom is tiny and the drains were draining slow, but there were plenty of clean towels. The room was not dusty nor did it smell moldy, and my husband and I both have bad allergies and we didn’t have any kind of reaction staying in the room. It’s definitely not the Hilton but for the price and location, you can’t beat it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at Beach Plaza Hotel
Responded Sep 14, 2020
Thank you very much for the kind review. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful weekend getaway at the Beach Plaza Hotel. It is also a pleasure to know you and your husband loved your clean and comfortable accommodations and that you considered us a great value. We hope you make it back soon as we would love the opportunity to host you both again! Yours in Service, Mike McVay General Manager
Read more
Alicia wrote a review Sep 2020
6 contributions
+1
My boyfriend and I stayed here for the first time over Labor Day weekend. We checked in and got to our room. Bed was clean and so was the room, but the bathroom was not. The bathroom had not been touched. There were towels still on the floor, sand in the tub, wash rags on the shower rod, and who knows what on the sink. We told the front desk and were told that there was nothing they could do until morning. I told them we were not going to wait until morning to use our bathroom and that it should have been cleaned. We literally had to CLEAN THE BATHROOM OURSELVES! She gave us cleaning supplies but no gloves or anything to protect ourselves from COVID. Did not expect to start off my vacation being told we had to clean our bathroom ourselves if we wanted it clean. We talked to management in the morning and they gave us a free night. I would stay here again if it was the only option left. Other than that, I’ll be going somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at Beach Plaza Hotel
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our hotel. We are truly sorry your bathroom was not in the spotless condition it should have been when you arrived. We take cleanliness very seriously, so what you experienced is not typical for us. Our staff is committed to providing fresh, clean accommodations for all of our guests, and we are sorry this was not the case for you. We are already taking steps to ensure oversights such as this do not happen again. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance the next time you are in our area. Yours in Service, Mike McVay General Manager
Read more
kdavis wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Very disappointed. Pictures deceiving. Felt like we were at haunted mansion/tower of terror. Place should in my option be condemned. Moldy, mildew with attempt to cover up smell with air freshener . Dirty, Hair all over the room bedsheets, towels , tub, toilet. Would not recommend and would not stay again. Came in town for a weekend get away with husband.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Agency / Consultant at Beach Plaza Hotel
Responded Aug 28, 2020
It was disheartening to read your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies, as we never mean to disappoint our guests in any way. We can assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable by our standards, and we will be taking the proper action to ensure a more wonderful experience for every guest entering our doors. Thank you again for your candid feedback as this helps us to improve the experience for future guests, and we encourage you to try us again as we are confident you will have a better experience. Yours in Service, Mike McVay General Manager
Read more
darkgable21 wrote a review Aug 2020
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania56 contributions17 helpful votes
My wife an I took a one day trip to Ocean City to relax. The Beach Plaza was not what we expected as it pertained to the room. Due to being late we did not make a fuss but was disappointed. The porch and the view was beautiful we ate dinner and lunch there. I spoke with management and the reached out and said they will work on improving and will take my detailed suggestions into account and will meet with their team. The general manager assure me this will happen and I truly believe him. I am open to try them again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Beach Plaza Hotel
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are sorry for not providing the exceptional experience you deserve, and we are grateful for your patience. I will make sure to communicate your feedback to my team as we are continually growing and improving from our guest's opinions. On a positive note, we are happy you enjoyed your meal along with the fantastic ocean views from our hotel. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to making your next stay with us perfect in every way. Yours in Service, Mike McVay General Manager
Read more
James T wrote a review Aug 2020
24 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
I stayed there with my family. I should have known that I was in store for a bad time when I realized there was a left over pair of woman’s bikini bottoms on the lamp shade when I walked in. I ignored it and didn’t complain cuz it’s not what I do. Standard size rooms with two double beds. Beds are atrocious, worse than any bed I ever slept in in the military. HVAC system was constantly dripping water so carpet in room was consistently damp. MOLD!!! All over the bathroom. Any metal that wasn’t painted was covered in rust. Bottom of door falling apart and it takes a linebacker to shove it closed. Walls very thin! Had the joy of my kid waking up at 2am when the drunk 20 year olds returned and began fighting🙄. No hot water during normal shower times. That’s right. NO HOT WATER when you want to shower. Plan your showers for off hours. I’ve stayed here in the past and it wasn’t as bad but it’s now clear they do zero maintenance. Location is the best part and only good thing for this place
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Beach Plaza Hotel
Responded Aug 9, 2020
Thank you for returning to our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the difficulties you encountered in your room. We do have procedures in place to prevent these types of mistakes. We have shared your feedback with our housekeeping and maintenance teams, and we are working with them to fix all the problems you mentioned. We are also sorry for the noise you experienced from the nearby guests. We wish we had the opportunity to address the issue while you were here as we would have done our best to ensure you were comfortable. Please consider giving us another chance to provide you with the exceptional experience you deserve. Yours in Service, Mike McVay General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$79 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel phillips beach plaza, phillips beach plaza ocean city, phillips beach plaza hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandOcean City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Beach Plaza Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Beach Plaza Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Brass Balls Saloon (0.1 miles), Funcade (0.2 miles), and T.C. Studios Arts & Entertainment (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Beach Plaza Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Beach Plaza Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Beach Plaza Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beach Plaza Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Layton's, Anthony's Carryout, and Brass Balls Saloon.
Are there any historical sites close to Beach Plaza Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Main Street Berlin (7.7 miles), Calvin B. Taylor House Museum (7.8 miles), and Transpeninsular Marker (7.6 miles).
Does Beach Plaza Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Beach Plaza Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.