We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Beach Bum Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Beach Bum Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This place was exactly what we needed for a short little vacation, our room was spacious and clean, could of brought another couple with us to use the pull out couch, lots of room, great location to the boardwalk and bay and they also have a great pool to swim at, just what we needed!!!

Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here the past few years but will never return after this year. It's no frills, but I go to the beach for the beach so that doesn't bother me. However, when I am paying over $100 a night for a place to sleep, I'd like to be able to sleep. The people in the room beside us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole N
BeachBummet, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Dear Nicole, I am sorry for the inconvenience that you had while staying at the Beach Bum Motel, and would like to apologize on behalf of the staff and the guests that were disrupting your stay. I hope that you will reconsider staying with us as you have for the past 4 years. Sincerely, AJ More 

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whoever gave this hotel good reviews should experience a decent hotel. The front desk consists of one teenager. The hotel is old and rundown. The pool is tiny and there isn't a decent view to be had from anywhere. If you're coming here to drink and party, passing out here would be ok, but to stay here on vacation is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
BeachBummet, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Dear Alexander, We appreciate your comments, but our staff is 19-26 years old because of the seasonal help that comes to Ocean City. Our pool is average size for a motel of this size anywhere in Ocean City. Unfortunately like you said our Motel does not offer any type of view and nor do we advertise one. We wish that... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

ok there's this little manager dude who walks around and yells at everyone for no reason. if you're one minute past 10 he makes you sign an eviction notice. do not stay here they just tryna make money, place blows and they don't give you towels!

Helpful?
Thank Alexis G
BeachBummet, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Dear Alexis, Sorry about anything that made you unhappy with our establishment, but we are very strict during the month of June because of previous problems that all of Ocean City has gone through with High school seniors. More 

Clarksville, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

My boyfriend, our daughter and I stayed in a "studio" room for 3 nights. I was looking for something with a full kitchen, this room had it. It's old, it's a motel. For $59 a night, I wasn't expecting the Ritz. It was clean and had a lot more room than I was expecting. Our room was in the back... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Crishultz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

What can I say about this motel? The rooms are damp and smelly...a mix of stale cigarette smoke and mildew. We had to move rooms because of the smell. There were no duvets, only weird velour blankets with crusty and threadbare spots on them, no drinking glasses, no telephones (weird), and the tiniest bathroom ever (the sink was a huge... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary T
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

Its an ok old place to stay. I think the rates should have been cheaper. Rooms are pretty nice. Great outdoor pool. Outside room doors need to be replaced. We had to move to another room because there was a big gap in the door so others could see inside the room. Upgrades very much needed at this place. Staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank michele y
woodbridge, va
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

Actually I would give it 2 1/2 stars for the half job they did to update the rooms. The walls are painted, beds were comfortable and thank God no bedspreads, but the bathrooms were not good, toilet stained and didn't flush, bathtub/shower needs replaced as well as tile. We travel budget motels alot but as long as the older rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank cant25
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

I have to admit I was scared to give the motel a try. This was going to be my sons first trip to the beach and I wanted to make it special. We picked Beach Bum because it stated it was just a short walk to the beach. It really was!! Just cross 1 main road and you are at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tabitha S
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE, IT'S AWFUL! The bed was duct taped together, there were holes in the walls, tar like substance on the room fixtures, the ceiling was atrocious, and the bathroom was moldy. It was misrepresented on booking.com as being on the boardwalk it is not. I took pictures of the room it's that bad! Staff were liars as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pittsburghgirl26
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.3 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#18 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,380 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#78 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#31 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Beach Bum Motel

Address: 203 9th St, Ocean City, MD 21842-3705
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range: $80 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Bum Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay