We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Ambassador Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Ambassador Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

The only nice thing about this place is that it is walking distance to the beach! Aside from the room having a strange odor to it, there were flies everywhere-inside and out! The beds were so uncomfortable and my husband kept catching his ankle on the frame that was bigger than the actual bed. When taking a shower, the water... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nifinjer
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We sincerely apologize for the substandard condition of your room and safety. We take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. On behalf of our entire staff here at The Ambassador Inn we... More 

Catasauqua, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

We were told check in at 2 so we waited from 11 to 2 then told they gave all the clean rooms away and we had to wait 20minutes. We sat in the tiny lobby with the broken bathroom and after twenty minutes we weren't told anything. We had to go up and ask the rude girl if it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank agrah171
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. However, bedbugs is something that gets brought into the hotel by other guests. We do the best we can to find them before we check any of our guests into the room. Once again, I am sorry... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

I landed this hotel through Hotwire and after reading reviews on it, I was terrified to stay here. After arriving at the hotel I quickly learned that it was not nearly as bad as I was expecting. The room was very small but it was clean and there was no sign of bed bugs. The shower came out in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank SCT5150
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. I appreciate you giving us a chance even after reading some- not go great reviews. We are always updating and finding ways to make our hotel a better experience for our guests. We thank you for your review and we look forward to having you... More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

We were visiting for 3 nights. We just needed a room to sleep. Were given a room on the 3rd floor. One parking spot was adequate. Its an 80 yr old building so we understood it has personality. Very close to boardwalk. Like the location! Simple key and door knob on the room doors. Would have liked a better safety... More 

Helpful?
Thank phamy76
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

One of the worse experiences I have had in over 30 years of traveling. What was suppose to be a fun celebration between family and friends for my son's 25th birthday turned into a nightmare. Warning this is a lengthy review the bottom line is do not stay here. We rented 2 two bedroom apartments D & J. Apartment D:... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank b_stanley85
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

A family member paying for accommodations booked this hotel. It would not have been my choice given the reviews. And, after staying here, I would only recommend this for someone on a strict budget and ok with a slightly lower than average expectation. The hotel is very small, old and a little dingy. We stayed two nights in room “I”... More 

Helpful?
Thank TTH1
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. However, thank you for taking the time to write a review, we only want to be better. Happy customers makes us happy. We are in a prime location to most of everything you could need in Ocean City. Our hotel is perfect for beach goers. The problems... More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

This place definitely wasn't the best place I've ever stayed. We couldn't get two parking passes which was inconvenient, there was an old coffee bag in the maker, and the light for the bathroom is on the outside. But it was clean and quiet as far as guests goes. However wifi didn't work on 3rd floor but we only stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Taylor S
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately the way that the building and our surround buildings are placed, we are extremely limited with parking spaces which is why we only offer one parking pass. However, there is no excuse for the coffee maker issue and I will be sure to bring... More 

Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

After reading the other reviews I was REALLY nervous about staying here. Is it a 5 star hotel...absolutely not. Is it ok? Yup. We stayed for 2 nights with a group of 11 people. We had rooms J and K which were on complete opposite sides of the facility but not a big deal. The deck while slanted and has... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank allsunnedup
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

We first wanted to thank you for taking the time to review the Ambassador Inn. The hotel is now managed by the Carousel Group as of January 1st, 2016. The Ambassador Inn is a great hotel for guests looking to come to the beach without breaking the bank. With it's great downtown location, it's close to many popular restaurants and... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

The shower was covered with mold and didn't train. We had to use the plunger in the room. The water pressure was so poor and the shower head was very low on the wall. The water temperature went from warm to scolding hot and you had to either shower cold or be burned. Our room was never cleaned and we... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank xnatalie87
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for your less than stellar stay, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st, 2016, the Ambassador Inn became the newest member of the Carousel Group. The Ambassador Inn is located in a great location just a block away from the boardwalk which makes it the perfect... More 

New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

If you get room 20 just don't even check in. This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. For the price we paid for two nights, sleeping outside would have been better. We were in between the staircase and someone's balcony and al we heard all night was people slamming doors, running around and obnoxious laughing. We couldn't... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ambiepetey
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory due to the lack of service. We couldn't be more upset that we weren't able to accommodate you. With that said, we are proud to announce that effective January 1st, 2016, the Ambassador Inn became the newest member of the Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group Team... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#16 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#79 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Ambassador Inn

Address: 5th Street and Philadelphia Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range: $90 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Ambassador Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Ambassador Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambassador Hotel Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay