We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ambassador Inn

5th Street and Philadelphia Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Ambassador Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

After reading the other reviews I was REALLY nervous about staying here. Is it a 5 star hotel...absolutely not. Is it ok? Yup. We stayed for 2 nights with a group of 11 people. We had rooms J and K which were on complete opposite sides of the facility but not a big deal. The deck while slanted and has... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank allsunnedup
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

We first wanted to thank you for taking the time to review the Ambassador Inn. The hotel is now managed by the Carousel Group as of January 1st, 2016. The Ambassador Inn is a great hotel for guests looking to come to the beach without breaking the bank. With it's great downtown location, it's close to many popular restaurants and... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

The shower was covered with mold and didn't train. We had to use the plunger in the room. The water pressure was so poor and the shower head was very low on the wall. The water temperature went from warm to scolding hot and you had to either shower cold or be burned. Our room was never cleaned and we... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank xnatalie87
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for your less than stellar stay, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st, 2016, the Ambassador Inn became the newest member of the Carousel Group. The Ambassador Inn is located in a great location just a block away from the boardwalk which makes it the perfect... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

If you get room 20 just don't even check in. This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. For the price we paid for two nights, sleeping outside would have been better. We were in between the staircase and someone's balcony and al we heard all night was people slamming doors, running around and obnoxious laughing. We couldn't... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ambiepetey
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory due to the lack of service. We couldn't be more upset that we weren't able to accommodate you. With that said, we are proud to announce that effective January 1st, 2016, the Ambassador Inn became the newest member of the Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group Team... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

Just stayed at Ambassador Inn. By far the most disgusting hotel I've ever stayed in. Terrible check-in staff, barely spoke English. False advertising...No wifi on 3rd floor, no hair dryer. The bathroom had no sink! It was next to the bed in the other room. Bathroom was filthy, hallway smelled like beer, alcohol, & vomit! Was awoken at 3am. Hundreds... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Shirley K
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st,2016, the Ambassador Inn became the newest member of the Carousel Group. We apologize that your WiFi was not working during your stay and we want to visit this issue in the off-season. Our Carousel Group... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

1. It's frat party central with drunk, disrespectful kids running around at all hours of the night. You can't get sleep. 2. The family we vacationed with were in Apt H and had a leak through the ceiling from the 3rd floor. The front desk was rude and told them to just put a towel over it. There's no manager... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

The Carousel Group wants you to know that as of January 1st, 2016, the Ambassador Inn became our newest member. We are a company that wants our guests to know that we care and that we really do appreciate their business. We apologize that you had issues with the other guests, but we want you to know that this will... More 

North East, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

The only way I would stay here again is if we were placed in apartment k. It was perfect for our group and had its own back steps to quickly get in and out without seeing other guests. The apartment was clean. The only thing I would complain about would be the clogged drain in the bathroom, and the lack... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank HanAndCharTravel
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Ambassador Inn. The hotel will be joining the Carousel Group team and we can assure you to expect nothing less than the great service you received while staying at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in beautiful Ocean... More 

Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

We were not happy about this hotel selection. Dirty and smelled like a skunk was roaming the hall. Not what I had expected by the pictures it showed on the site. Ended up staying at The Tidelands instead.

Helpful?
7 Thank sheenamarie1987
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the hotel, we want to apologize that our customer service was less than par. With that said we do want to announce that the Ambassador Inn will be the newest addition to the Carousel Group. The Carousel Group's mission is to provide excellent customer service and to make sure our guests know that we care. We take... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Room j apartment bed sheets stains dirty shower clogged and burnt sink mark broken toilet seat. Door knob lock didn't function. Needs better management. 1 shower tub got clogged. Waited on maintenance to repair never came.

Helpful?
3 Thank minka1234
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st 2016, The Ambassador Inn became the Newest Member of The Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group Team is very excited about this hotel Hotel with it's great downtown location. While we understand your last visit was... More 

Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

After reading the previous reviews, I guess it was a blessing that we did not end up staying here; we arrived to check in at the Ambassador Inn on Saturday night and they had misbooked us for the next weekend instead! After sending us to their "sister" hotel, where they told us that both places had no vacancy, they apologized... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Kristen S
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to hear that your experience was less than stellar with the hotel, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st, 2016, the Ambassador Inn became the newest member of the Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group team is very excited about this beautiful hotel with it's downtown location. While we understand your last visit... More 

Burnham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We arrived on a Thursday and stayed through Sunday. When we arrived to check in, the front desk was closed and we had to walk over to the Tidelands property (a street back) to check in and get our keys. We were on the second floor with the balcony. The 2 bedroom apartment looked neat and clean. It all went... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank leagueofchambord
carouselresort, General Manager at The Ambassador Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to hear that your visit in 2015 was not satisfactory, however, we do want you to know that effective January 1st 2016, The Ambassador Inn became the Newest Member of The Carousel Group. Our Carousel Group Team is very excited about this hotel with great downtown location location. While we understand your last visit was not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#13 of 109 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 109 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel
Dunes Manor Hotel
#2 of 109 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#37 of 109 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#43 of 109 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#66 of 109 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay