We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

We have stayed here several times and have not been disappointed. Easy access too!! It is easy to get the casino. We are staying there again later in the year too. I recommend reservations, they fill up fast!

Helpful?
Thank pisan49
Tara D, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for you comment, we will continue to do the best we can. I'm glad to hear we will be seeing you again! More 

Bowie
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

I hesitated between awarding a two or a three until I realized the title...no frills. If you are just sleeping, don't want coffee in the morning, don't need shampoo or soap, not looking any assistance, then this place is for you. It is cheap, real cheap, used mainly by construction workers whose company is, well, cheap. Cleanliness was adequate, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jdcoastie
Tara D, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you were not happy, I will look into my morning staff to see why we didn't have any coffee over in our breakfast room at all times. I'll look into putting more soap and shampoo in the rooms even making sure we place it in the bathroom instead of the sink area. Thank you for letting us... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

We came here on a construction job, my husband and I. We stayed with our group and this is the place they always choose..unfortunately. Most of the employees are pleasant and nice; however, there is no presentation standards here apparently. We were greeted on the 5th night or so by a woman hanging out of her leopard print bra that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tobi P
Tara D, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you had to deal with that issue you had with our front desk staff I will be looking into this matter and taking care of it so it does not happen again. As you stated some of the things are out of our control, but doesn't mean we cant keep a better eye out for such things... More 

Travelers are raving about these LaVale hotels

Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

The front desk staff was very friendly. The room was clean, beds were comfortable. I loved that I could open the window for fresh mountain air. Great water pressure in the shower. The interior of the hotel needed painting and the hallway floor felt weird, like the center board needed to be tacked down. We chose to eat out for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
Tara D, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to take our survey. I'm very glad to hear you had a nice stay, I will inform the staff to keep up the good work. I'll get with the owner to see about getting the outside of the building done and getting someone to come in and check the flooring More 

Hudson, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2016

I had a third floor room and was very quiet. The room itself was very clean and looked to be recently updated. I heard no hallway noise and no sounds from either of the neighboring rooms. The bed was soft and nice and overall the room was very clean. When I arrived the hotel professional that greeted me was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debi C
Tara D, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to take our survey. I'll be letting our housekeeping staff to keep up the good work and to continue to work hard. I'll let the front desk know that they did a very good job and use this to make sure all other staff knows what needs to be done to make our guest... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

In dire need of updating. Carpets feel greasy and the beds are old. I couldn't find the TV remote control which is negligent on part of management. I guess the price was fair but that doesn't mean abusing standards. Econo Lodge should monitor their hotels more.

Helpful?
Thank Bader A
Tara D, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry that you were displeased with your stay. We will look into getting carpets professionally cleaned. Will get on our housekeepers to make sure they are checking every room for remotes. Will let the owner know that we need to start replacing beds. Tanks so much for you feedback More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

If I could rate this place a zero I would!When we made our reservations we were told that there was only 2 rooms left. My family and I have traveled 6 hours to visit family over the holiday. My fiancé had went outside to make sure his keycard worked and found out that all he had to do was push... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tasha L
Tara D, asst. manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I'm so very sorry for your very bad stay. We are sorry for the locks but they are shipped out to be fixed, we are just waiting on their return. I will be looking into the housekeeping staff, we may need to do some new hiring to fix our housekeeping issue. We have never had toilet seat covers but that... More 

Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

The location of the hotel is good. The hotel is way past its prime and really needs updating. The security lock on the side door is broken, and was taped over. It felt like there were holes in the 2nd floor hallway- that were carpeted over. It was a serious trip hazard. The room had a really dirty feel to... More 

Helpful?
Thank bikeva
Tara D, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The locks have been sent away to be fixed that is why they are taped over. Thank you for letting me know about the carpets we will be calling to get those cleaned. More 

Conyers, GA
Level Contributor
271 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

I tend to go to cheap hotels. So I opted to drive five miles outside Cumberland for this property. It looks a little dirty on the outside, but it is what is on the inside that counts. The door to the office sticks. They don't bother to put a sign up, so it appears that the door is locked when... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank travelwriter52
Tara D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to take our online survery. Sorry that the front door seemed like it was look I will make sure we have a sign to put up so guest know we r open. I will also look into the side door to make sure that gets taking care of. thanks for letting us know your... More 

Norfolk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We have stay here several times before because it was worth paying $55.86. Every other time I said that the rooms are ok for the price and just a place to lay your head..This time I would have sleep on the floor if the carpert was cleaner..The beds in this room was so bad I didn't sleep good at all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
Tara D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guest. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
4.5 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 6 miles from the charming Victorian town of Cumberland, with its dozens of shops, cafes, art galleries and historic sites, Red Roof LaVale-Cumberland has something for everyone! Country Club Mall is just ½ mile away, while the Fairgrounds, George Washington’s Headquarters, Memorial Hospital, Allegany County Museum, Evergreen Mansion/Museum, Allegany Art Gallery, Allegany College of Maryland, Sacred Heart Hospital, Western Maryland Scenic Railroad, Bell Towers, Frostburg State University, and Rocky Gap Golf Resort are all within 10 minutes of this hotel! For swimming and rafting fans, Deep Creek Lake and River Adventures are just ½ hour away New Renovations are underway! Stop back to see us! New Breakfast items are now here! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 12310 Winchester Rd SW, I-68, Exit 40, LaVale, MD 21502-6546 (Formerly Red Roof Inn La Vale)
Location: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Price Range: $48 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavale Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Lavale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay