We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Knoxville
Post
Inbox
Search

The Hillside Hotel

Save
19105 Keep Tryst Rd, Knoxville, MD 21758-1316
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$80
Orbitz.com$80
Travelocity$80
Expedia.com$80
Hotels.com$80
Agoda.com$80
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (33)
Room & Suite (10)
Family and Play Areas (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Appalachians beckon - well-located hotel with beautiful mountain views. Enjoy beautiful views when you stay at our hotel. Located at the borders of Virginia and West Virginia in Washington County, we are tucked at the foot of a majestic Appalachian Mountain range and we offer essential amenities in a unique setting. Enjoy Everyday Essentials Free WiFi, free continental breakfast, and country charm. Must-see attractions near Harpers Ferry National Historic Park and Hollywood Casino. Visit Harpers Ferry National Historic Park, roll the dice at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races, or take in the sights and sounds of the past in history. Our hotel features three cottage-style buildings which house our guest rooms, while our central building is where you will find our helpful front desk associates and your free daily continental breakfast. Guest rooms feature hardwood floors, microwave, mini-refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and free WiFi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
254Reviews4Q+A35Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 123
  • 85
  • 24
  • 13
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
The Room and bathroom were clean. However, the bathroom had some noticeable stains. Not a big deal, but the interior has a dated and faded look in material. Their were some larger marks and scraps on the wall and on furniture The bed was ok, a bit squeaky and not the most comfortable. Breakfast was a light continental, to be expected with the price. The staff were friendly and helpful in all things. They gave us some water bottles for the road.
Read more
Response from JatinThakkar, Manager at The Hillside Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Zephyr We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Read more
The desk manager (Abi) was very kind and exceedingly helpful and went out of his way to make sure I had everything I needed and felt safe and comfortable. The service was outstanding and could not have been better. The room and bathroom were clean, quiet, and comfortable, although this is not a fancy place and it is an older motel. Nothing luxurious, but everything you need and a great value. Basic, cozy, very affordable. The breakfast was toast, apples & bananas, yogurt, toaster waffles, hard boiled eggs, bagels, microwavable sausage links--not a lot of fresh or hot items, but basically a continental breakfast with packaged food you could eat there or take to go and a few microwavable items. Fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room, as well. Excellent restaurant right across the street. Close to the C&O canal towpath trail. Staff very concerned with hospitality and comfort, always looking to see what else he could do to make the guests feel welcome and comfortable, very knowledgeable about the area and great recommendations--quite the concierge. I have stayed here twice and am definitely staying here again.
Read more
Response from JatinThakkar, Manager at The Hillside Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Read more
The place was pretty clean. Bed was hard, furniture was falling apart, couldn't turn off the fan in the bathroom due to a bad smell. Front desk was helpful but then told us there was food for purchase when it was supposed to be a continental breakfast. Unfortunately, not many places to stay in the area. Not really believing all the positive reviews.
Read more
Response from JatinThakkar, Manager at The Hillside Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We want to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our customers. So, we hope you will give us an opportunity. We value our customer’s opinions and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Read more
Sure, it's dated, but holy cow is it clean! And the staff-so friendly! Breakfast was great for a "continental" but you should not expect fancy. It's not needed though. What you get is plenty. Hubby's biggest complaint was that the waffles had blueberries. Me-I would have liked some milk (although there is no cereal). Good nights sleep, surprisingly quiet. VERY close to Harpers Ferry, WV. One description said there was room service, but that is actually dominoes delivery. I recommended to the manager that they provide more (or better) towels. We were two in a king room with only two towels and that really wasn't enough-see photos. Ask about the Blair Witch movie!
Read more
Response from JatinThakkar, Manager at The Hillside Hotel
Responded Sep 25, 2019
Dear Robin We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Read more
This hotel is in a great location for Harper’s Ferry. You can walk along the C&O / AT trail in just over a half hour if you’re feeling energetic. The selling point of this hotel is it’s lovely owner/manager, who is welcoming an informative, and. Seems to be there all the time. The downside: this really a motel. It is clean, but it needs some money spent to make it good, at its current rates, for travelers. Bathroom door didn’t close: it just wasn’t a place you could sit down and relax. I was disappointed by this room
Read more
Response from JatinThakkar, Manager at The Hillside Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We want to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our customers. So, we hope you will give us an opportunity. We value our customer’s opinions and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$89 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandKnoxville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hillside Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Hillside Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Harpers Ferry National Historical Park (3.1 miles), The Point (1.6 miles), and Jefferson Rock (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hillside Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Hillside Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Hillside Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hillside Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hillside Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Country Cafe, Beans in the Belfry, and White Horse Tavern.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hillside Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hillside Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Harpers Ferry National Historical Park (3.1 miles), The Point (1.6 miles), and John Brown's Fort (1.9 miles).