We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Charlie's Motel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Charlie\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Clean and well maintained rooms. Great price and location to the Great Allegheny Passage for biking. They totally respected my privacy when I took ill one evening and didn't wake me the next day.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Gave me great advice for a restaurant up the street and after a long day of driving it was nice to have a beer at the "Hurry Back" Looking forward to a return visit with my family. Next time I visit, I will book the room directly from the motel's website which would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marten E
John S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review. We try to make everyone happy and enjoy their visit. Hope you found the cicadas you were looking for. Anything we can do when you come back thru let us know. Again thanks. John More 

Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016

We stayed here during the annual shamrock shuffle. We wanted a location right in town and didn't want to spend a lot since we just needed a place to sleep. This is a small family owned motel. The owner was awesome and friendly. Can't beat the price at 45.00 per night! 😂 Our room was very clean, the bed was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jody H
John S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our motel.We try to make everyone comfortable. We are working on changes a little at a time, hopefully will have that done by next year. If you insist we will even try to make the weather a little warmer next year for your kilts. Thanks again and hope to... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely lovely rustic old fashion hotel !! Owner is such a joy to know. Has everything you need at a great price ! Located just down from downtown where there's cute stores and a wonderful book store

Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review. We work hard to try and make sure everyone enjoys their stay. Glad we were able to make you stay so enjoyable. Tanks again John More 

Kansas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Located more or less in the middle of Frostburg, this motel is a little unusual. It's basically an old motel with a new front put on, about 6 or 8 feet in front of the old motel. Creates a corridor, which you enter, then walk a few feet down the corridor, to your door. The newer front quiets the sounds... More 

Helpful?
Thank keith_in_ks
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Sorry that your stay with us wan"t better. Yes we are an older motel and are convined in certain areas. We are always working and trying to find ways to update and make our motel more modern. We will take your concerns and see which ones we can work on to make other peoples stay better. Thanks for noticing that... More 

Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

I was in the market for a cheap place to stay when I drove up to take my fiancee' on the train ride and tour the C&O Canal museum. It was your normal budget motel, situated behind a bar and smelling only slightly of weed. We weren't particularly impressed, and we had a sneaking suspicion the room hadn't been seriously... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry if the room was not cleaned or could have been cleaned better. I wish you had brought this to our attention so that we could have taken care of it right away or moved you to another room. We try to make sure every body enjoys their stay here and that includes a clean smelling and... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

cheap clean with bar how can you beat lt. you can eat cheap or go big at steak house just steps away. stayed there 5 different times was never disappointed. it was a nice suprise to be able to watch the buccos this summer on their cable tv. plan on returning real soon. i

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you keep returning here during your travels. Hopefully we do not disappoint and keep making your stay here enjoyable. Next time will have to treat you to a cold beer on the house. Thanks again and let us know if there is anything we can do to get better. John More 

Macon, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

For $45.00 there were no surprises. Room had 2 double beds, we ended up using both beds as we normally sleep in a queen bed. bathroom small but that is what we expected. All in all a great value. It was a short walk to Sand Springs restaurant where we had a great meal. Did have to wait about 30... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janetkay94
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good meal at Sand Springs. If you stop this way again we hope you stay again. All ways open to any improvements we can make to make your next stay better. Thanks again John More 

Gap, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

My husband I stayed here with our dog Oct 1st & 2nd with our dog. Place was just what we hoped for. It was clean, quiet and close enough to walk to town. John at the front desk was friendly and present. We had a great breakfast at the Princess Restaurant and a nice dinner at the Steakhouse up the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Goneforgood2013
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a nice review of our motel, local restaurants and town. We try to make each person enjoys themselves while here. Wish you best of luck with your new dog and his training. Thanks again and we hope to see you again next year. John More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

I have stayed at Charlie's Motel several nights for work out of town. We have more days out of town over the next several months that we will be booking at Charlie's Motel. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. He went out of his way several times to work with our ever-changing schedule and even upgraded our rooms. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank kmz80
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. We try to work with everyone and understand that plans change. We are glad that our motel fits your needs for your job up here. Thanks again. John More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
0.7 mi away
Failinger's Hotel Gunter
Failinger's Hotel Gunter
#3 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
9.5 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Frostburg
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
11.7 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Charlie's Motel

Address: 220 West Main Street, Frostburg, MD 21532
Location: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Price Range: $50 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Charlie's Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Charlie's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay