We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Charlie's Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Charlie\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed August 20, 2016

Low price with dingy and small room. Small bath as well. Plenty of hot water but would not stay here again. Fairly quiet with enclosed front hallway which had strong cigarette smell. On busy road but quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frugalyankee
John S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Mr. Frugal...sorry you felt our motel was dingy. We are an older motel and cannot make our rooms any bigger. We try to make up for that by working on keeping them clean and quiet. We try to keep the rooms a nice color and new tv's. We will look and see if there is anything else we can do...

Ocean City, Maryland
Reviewed August 14, 2016

Staff were great and friendly. Room was very clean and had that old time charm!I would definitely stay here again. Close to everything and did int have to drive far to get anywhere also a pet friendly hotel which made it great also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy1364
John S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We try to make everyone feel comfortable and enjoy their stay. We will keep trying to make everyones stay as nice as yours. Hope to see you again. Thanks John

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed July 21, 2016

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Clean and well maintained rooms. Great price and location to the Great Allegheny Passage for biking. They totally respected my privacy when I took ill one evening and didn't wake me the next day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
John S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Know you will not forget your stay between getting sick and getting lost on the trail...or was that just exploring. Hope if you decide t ride the trail again you will stay with us again. Thanks John

Reviewed June 16, 2016

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Gave me great advice for a restaurant up the street and after a long day of driving it was nice to have a beer at the "Hurry Back" Looking forward to a return visit with my family. Next time I visit, I will book the room directly from the motel's website which would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marten E
John S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review. We try to make everyone happy and enjoy their visit. Hope you found the cicadas you were looking for. Anything we can do when you come back thru let us know. Again thanks. John

Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania
Reviewed March 20, 2016

We stayed here during the annual shamrock shuffle. We wanted a location right in town and didn't want to spend a lot since we just needed a place to sleep. This is a small family owned motel. The owner was awesome and friendly. Can't beat the price at 45.00 per night! 😂 Our room was very clean, the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jody H
John S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our motel.We try to make everyone comfortable. We are working on changes a little at a time, hopefully will have that done by next year. If you insist we will even try to make the weather a little warmer next year for your kilts. Thanks again and hope to...

Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely lovely rustic old fashion hotel !! Owner is such a joy to know. Has everything you need at a great price ! Located just down from downtown where there's cute stores and a wonderful book store

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review. We work hard to try and make sure everyone enjoys their stay. Glad we were able to make you stay so enjoyable. Tanks again John

Kansas
Reviewed January 3, 2016

Located more or less in the middle of Frostburg, this motel is a little unusual. It's basically an old motel with a new front put on, about 6 or 8 feet in front of the old motel. Creates a corridor, which you enter, then walk a few feet down the corridor, to your door. The newer front quiets the sounds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keith_in_ks
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Sorry that your stay with us wan"t better. Yes we are an older motel and are convined in certain areas. We are always working and trying to find ways to update and make our motel more modern. We will take your concerns and see which ones we can work on to make other peoples stay better. Thanks for noticing that...

Reviewed December 20, 2015

I was in the market for a cheap place to stay when I drove up to take my fiancee' on the train ride and tour the C&O Canal museum. It was your normal budget motel, situated behind a bar and smelling only slightly of weed. We weren't particularly impressed, and we had a sneaking suspicion the room hadn't been seriously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry if the room was not cleaned or could have been cleaned better. I wish you had brought this to our attention so that we could have taken care of it right away or moved you to another room. We try to make sure every body enjoys their stay here and that includes a clean smelling and...

Reviewed October 17, 2015

cheap clean with bar how can you beat lt. you can eat cheap or go big at steak house just steps away. stayed there 5 different times was never disappointed. it was a nice suprise to be able to watch the buccos this summer on their cable tv. plan on returning real soon. i

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you keep returning here during your travels. Hopefully we do not disappoint and keep making your stay here enjoyable. Next time will have to treat you to a cold beer on the house. Thanks again and let us know if there is anything we can do to get better. John

Macon, Missouri
Reviewed October 11, 2015

For $45.00 there were no surprises. Room had 2 double beds, we ended up using both beds as we normally sleep in a queen bed. bathroom small but that is what we expected. All in all a great value. It was a short walk to Sand Springs restaurant where we had a great meal. Did have to wait about 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janetkay94
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good meal at Sand Springs. If you stop this way again we hope you stay again. All ways open to any improvements we can make to make your next stay better. Thanks again John

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
0.7 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#3 of 6 in Frostburg
62 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
417 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 5 in LaVale
78 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Frostburg
11.7 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Charlie's Motel

Address: 220 W Main St, Frostburg, MD 21532-1501
Location: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Price Range: $50 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Charlie's Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Charlie's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Charlie's Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“rooms had great access”
 of 5 bubbles Sandy1364, Aug 14, 2016 | Read review
“If the temps are high, you may wish to call ahead and have them turn the A/C on in your room”
 of 5 bubbles patriciamG4811OV, Jul 21, 2016 | Read review
“Had a great meal at Sand Springs restaurant which is a short walk from motel.”
 of 5 bubbles Janetkay94, Oct 11, 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in #10. Two comfy double beds. I'm sure the rooms are all pretty much the same quality-wise.”
 of 5 bubbles ticotimer, Sep 15, 2014 | Read review
“My guess is that there isn't much difference between the various rooms at Charlies, except that rooms with two beds are $10 more per night than rooms with only one bed. I spluged and coughed up the extra 10 bucks.”
 of 5 bubbles somerssalt, Sep 5, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay