We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Yough Valley Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Yough Valley Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Yough Valley Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 28: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Yough Valley Motel overnight after a Saturday of hiking in the area with our two kids and dog. I made the reservation here over other area motels based on what I'd read on TripAdvisor and the reviews were not wrong. This motel is very basic but very clean, inexpensive, and for a nominal additional fee allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jennifer W
Fairmont, West Virginia, United States
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had reservations at nearby Wisp resort for Sunday-Tuesday. We drove to the area a day early thinking we might be able to find a place to stay for the night. This was the only hotel within 30 miles that had a room available and it was only 67.00 per night. We had very low expectations and were pleasantly surprised....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Josh S
LOGAN
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I escort oversize loads and this is an excellent placed to stop if you're headed to Dundalk Maryland very nice motel in a verynice couple. gasoline is available at the marathon with other items there is a little grocery store in town the day roll up the sidewalks

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank king45502
pittsburgh
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We wanted a weekend away with our dogs and this place was perfect. It was clean and affordable, especially with three dogs, and Tina was great. We would definitely go back! Thanks for making dog travel so worry free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdb22
Tina G, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you and your dogs enjoyed your stay. We hope you can visit us in the future. Thank you, Tina

Ohio
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We came down to go white water rafting at Precision Rafting. This Motel is within walking distance to it and cost was around $80. some main things i look for are clean sheets, pillows, beds, floors and towels. It provided all these things. For the cost it is a nice place to stay. I would stay here again overnight.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jamaica2011ohio
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Heather for your nice review. Being a family owned business, we take pride in our motel. Cleanliness is our top priority. Hope to see you again. Tina

Sudlersville
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We called the Yough Valley Motel in desperate need of a clean place to sleep after a local home we had rented turned out to be filthy. Tina was sympathetic to our situation and told us to come right over and they would take care of us. She graciously allowed us to view the rooms to put our minds at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review

Hello Heather, I'm so glad I was able to help save your vacation. I always try to treat people the way I'd like to be treated, funny I was raised that way. It's always so nice to have someone appreciate the effort and then help spread the word. Thank you and I hope to see you soon. Tina

Punta Gorda, Florida, United States
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were to attend a family reunion in the area, and could not find local accomodations that was "Pet" friendly so that my Daughter's dog could stay with us. My Daughter happened across the "Yough Valley Motel" and we made a reservation. The price was economical. We had clean, quiet, comfortable accomodations and the dog was also welcome and happy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha H
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review

Thank you McKenzie family for your great review of our motel. We realize we're not fancy, but keep the motel as clean and accomodating as possible. Thank you, Tina Glotfelty

Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewed July 7, 2012

the car broke down just off exit 4 and the people where so nice they offered us help and when our car could not be fixed they showed us the best place to stay (yough valley motel) the lady was so courtious she heald our room for us, and when we got the bad news that the car could not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tyrone C
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review

I'm glad we could be there for you. Do come and see us again, you haven't seen all the beauty that Garrett County has to offer. Thank you, Tina

Joliet, Illinois
Reviewed May 28, 2012

we loved the porch and the room was clean enough.no bugs.best part was we could have our dog.was the only reason we stayed.lots of privacy.like the feel of the night.however; bed was crappola hard .and shower was out of hand concerning temperature control. people are nice but they wonder why kayakers only use freindsville as a take out for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed J
Plantation, Florida
Reviewed March 19, 2012

When we were looking for a place to stay for our weekend trip to Western, MD, we noticed that many places don't allow dogs, and those that do were pricey. This one was different. They welcomed us with our dogs, and was within our price range. The rooms were clean, and had everything we needed. Plus, after a long day...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angela L
tigertina, Owner at Yough Valley Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Angela for taking the time to review our motel. I believe having these honest reviews are key to our business. How can we help on the sleeping conditions? We hope to see you and your family again, when you visit our area. Tina Glotfelty

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendsville
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
8.2 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
13.7 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
102 reviews
12.1 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
282 reviews
7.8 mi away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pet-friendly 11 room motel with microwaves,refrigerators,coffee pots, free wi-fi, cable-tv with 150 channels, and heat/ac. Our motel is American owned and operated, as well as family owned and operated.We provide clean,quiet comfortable rooms for a reasonable price. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yough Valley Motel

Address: 138 Walnut St, Po Box 123, Friendsville, MD 21531-2136
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Friendsville
Price Range: $60 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Yough Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Yough Valley Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“book somewhere in deep creek or 7 springs well in advance...”
 of 5 bubbles 475edj, May 28, 2012 | Read review
“Any room here is a good room .”
 of 5 bubbles blueyedmeeny, Nov 25, 2011 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay