We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive

ExtendedStay$100*
View Deal
#11 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive
See the most recent reviews
Showing 62: English reviews
Front Royal, Virginia
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

Room was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. AC was almost useless (had to open window to cool room), bed was hard, curtains wouldn't stay closed, hallways smelled of cigarette smoke (despite the use of plugin air fresheners), kitchen faucet leaked, bedside lamp didn't work, pull out sofa bed was beyond not comfortable. Certainly not our worst hotel experience,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am so disappointed to hear about the maintenance issues you experienced. Please accept my apology. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will make sure we are thoroughly inspecting our rooms and hallways to ensure your experience is not repeated. Still, I am pleased to read that our...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed May 15, 2016

Room very clean & simple bathroom & kitchen spotless safe area corporate offices surrounded extended my stay a night definitely returning staff pleasant rate excellent would recommend to family and friends all over only downside need to offer hot breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmontgog
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that our staff exceed your expectations and provided you with a home away from home experience! I truly appreciate your kind comments about our reasonable rates, fully equipped kitchens, and our spacious rooms. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us....

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed April 21, 2016

I booked this Extended Stay America (ESA) site because the other ESA site in Columbia had poor ratings. The location has good proximity to the Mall in Columbia. I checked into a room with a nice layout. After being in the room for less than an hour, I began having allergic reactions (sneezing, watering eyes, runny nose). I mentioned my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2020Bob
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed April 20, 2016

We were in Columbia for a single night, and decided to go cheaper. I regret the decision. Desk staff was nice enough, but the hotel is a disaster. It's dirty, old and the rooms are simply unusable - a single chair in a queen room, rather than a sofa. I've never before stayed in a hotel where I was actually...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank derring_do
Greenwood, South Carolina
Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

My family and I have had an excellent stay here. The front desk clerk, Alethea, is very friendly and helpful in anything we may need. All the staff here makes you feel right at home. The facility is quiet, clean, and well kept. I would recommend this Extended Stay to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaygood
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience and exceptional customer service! The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in...

Reviewed January 12, 2016 via mobile

I must say that I've had a great stay they have a great staff.. my favorite staff member will have to be mrs *Alethea she's was very helpful... I really enjoyed staying at this extended stay I plan to go back very soon... Great job to all the staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra V
Bay Shore, New York
Reviewed November 30, 2015

awful place to stay, the rooms were not clean, we booked a suite which had a kitchen but anything you needed to use the kitchen(no cups, plates, silverware,absolutely nothing) needed to be requested. no sheets or blanket for the pull out couch. only 2 towels. this would have been fine if they were staffed properly which they were not, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauliepatch
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will make sure we are responding to guest needs in a timely manner as well as ensuring that rooms are cleaned to our company’s high standards. I am grateful for the feedback...

Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

We had 18 days from when we sold our house until we could move into our new one. We decided to stay the 18 days at the Columbia extended stay because of the price. What a mistake that was...the place had bugs in the rooms. The bathrooms were dirty and had a horrible smell that never went away even if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
Pasadena, Maryland
Reviewed October 18, 2015

My fiancé and I stay at many extended stay America locations. This time we decided to go a little farther than usual and stay at the Columbia location. When arriving we were greeted with the utmost open arms and energetic smile ever. During our night of stay, we enjoyed a respectfully peaceful atmosphere. The next morning around 9 AM we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darlecia U
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewed September 21, 2015

My stay here was comfortable, quiet and peaceful. The location is ideal. Interstate 95 is less than 5 minutes away and the mall is very close, as well. However, the memorable part of my stay was Alethea. She is professional, knowledgeable and courteous. My few concerns were addressed quickly to my satisfaction. Although the facility seems to have a small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gopreston2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Columbia Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Columbia Corporate Park
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive

Address: 6620 Eli Whitney Dr, Columbia, MD 21046-1701
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Price Range: $95 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Columbia
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Columbia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get the king size bed if you have someone with you!”
ZEEKREWARDS, Feb 6, 2017 | Read review
“There are no good rooms. In back, the work pickup crowd was parked, and it was quite loud, even after requesting a QUIET room.”
derring_do, Apr 20, 2016 | Read review
“Affordable Convenient Perfect for an extended stay as well”
darleciau, Oct 18, 2015 | Read review
“great parking”
gopreston2, Sep 21, 2015 | Read review
“Need a room stay here with a bed living area kitchen area bathroom free Wi-Fi breakfast to grab and go”
jenniferwA1589MA, Sep 13, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
ExtendedStay
$100* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$100
Orbitz.com$100
Hotwire.com$100
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates