We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4160 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732-5116
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$187
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/25/22
Booking.com
$188
View deal
Chesapeake Beach
Only 1 left at
$179
View deal
Priceline$188
Travelocity$187
Trip.com$199
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (261)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (16)

About

Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
Since 1946, the award-winning Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa has been a waterfront destination cherished by boaters and vacationers seeking the quintessential Chesapeake Bay experience. Blending resort-style amenities and warm, boutique-inspired intimacy, our charming, 72-room hotel is located directly on the Maryland shoreline of the Chesapeake Bay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking garage
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Canoeing
Casino and Gambling
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Water park offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
748Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 283
  • 220
  • 127
  • 58
  • 60
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Malia wrote a review Jun 2022
Odenton, Maryland84 contributions29 helpful votes
the first clue there’s a problem is you can’t even find the front door to the hotel. there are several doors as you approach the premises. you don’t know which is the proper entrance. so, they don’t know anything about hospitality. the front desk staff were too young males dressed in a T-shirt. they didn’t seem to know how to check a guest in. lobby is cluttered with big furniture in the way. The GOOD: it’s on the water. The restaurant food was rather decent but overpriced for the quantity I received. I bought a meal that cost 30 and I was still hungry so I bought another meal totaling paying $60. my rockfish was a ti y piece flat end piece. dining area was empty during the early afternoon. yet, the hostess had to go to the kitchen to get someone to seat me. the server seemed very inexperienced as well. The BAD: there's a resort fee. the rooms are very outdated and old rundown needs maintenance. I had a balcony charged extra for it. it wasn’t worth the extra charge couldn’t really see the water and all I could see was construction of a new building and tops of air conditioning units. and there was a lot of noise. The UGLY: the casino slots is very very dark and all the lights were turned off and the window shades were down. the layout was poorly designed. It was hot inside and poor air ventilation. the slot machines kept turning off and needed to be reset but you couldn’t find a worker to reset the machines. it was very annoying and distracting. no one wore a mask, and the machines were filthy and had tape holding parts in place. The elevator to the upper floor slots area was very jumpy and made a lot of noise. it felt unsafe, and the stairs are very very steep. I recommend you to stay on the first floor. overall. I did not feel welcomed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Glenn Spanier, General Manager at Rod 'N' Reel Resort
Responded Jun 4, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your most recent visit to our property. Sorry that we did not meet your expectations in such areas as the confusion upon entering the property and overall customer service. Our front desk uniforms polo shirts and we check the staff daily to ensure they are wearing the proper shirt. Again, thank you for sharing your comments and appreciate the time sharing your experience. All the best, Glenn Spanier General Manager Rod 'N' Reel Resort Where Hospitality Meets The Bay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheryl F wrote a review Feb 2022
Hollywood, Maryland5 contributions
I am a travel agent and booked this hotel for Birthday weekend getaway for my sister in law We had great time and staff was welcoming. Clean rooms but could use little upgrades. Breakfast was good …staff in restaurant was friendly
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glenn Spanier, General Manager at Rod 'N' Reel Resort
Responded Feb 28, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to both rate your stay and share comments about your stay. Many times we only hear the negative aspects of one's stay so your posting was refreshing. Again, thank you for both your business and sharing your experience. Have a great week. All the best, Glenn Spanier General Manager Rod 'N' Reel Resort Where Hospitality Meets The Bay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Passenger505080 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
First time visited on this place and it will be the last time. My reservation stated it was a water-view room. Well it wasn't. The first thing I saw when opening the window was a view of the their little snack bar roof. if I leaned all the way to the left and put my face to the window, I did catch a glimpse of the marina and water. Also, they told us we would get a discount on the room and that never happened, Moral of the story; don't advertise a room with a water view when it is NOT. Customer service on this issue was not very welcoming. Not very happy with the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Glenn Spanier, General Manager at Rod 'N' Reel Resort
Responded Jan 8, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your most recent stay with us. It is from individuals such as you who share their comments that enable us to correct our shortfalls for future guests. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in such areas as room view and overall customer service. It would be helpful if you could share with whom you spoke to regarding a discount so that I may research. Again, thank you for both your business and sharing your sharing your experience. All the best, Glenn Spanier General Manager Rod 'N' Reel Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaysT wrote a review Jan 2022
28 contributions1 helpful vote
We went yesterday evening between 7-8 on New Year’s Eve to the bar of slotting machine we do that every year to drink the Strawberries daiquiri me n my husband n we enjoyed it but this year they put that annoying unprofessional young girl who kept talking with one of the costumer n ignored it for half an hour n we’re sitting on bar waiting so finally she came n said what you want n another 15 minutes she did the disgusting strawberry daiquiri with two cups each cup $10 for that so if it’s that pricy do it we’ll right ? At least treat us better n she kept talking to that man with out her even turn to us to see if we need something else we heard saying I’m just here untill 9 n leave I don’t know what I’m doing , what ? N stupid us gave you tip ? To encourage you doing your job any how we decided not to go again, they used to have that old lady that she was so much fun but I guess with Covid everything change
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Give your stuff more training ohow to keep thier job with out involving in personal conversations...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ja Dor wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I have been visiting Chesapeake Beach for a while and decided to splurge on this hotel. I stayed during the week to get a better price. Even so, my room ended up costing $500 for two nights because I wanted a water view. Warning: This is NOT a luxury hotel. It's a 3.5-star hotel at best in a small resort town where there are no other options. The Good: Spacious room. I chose the superior junior suite on the top floor. Nice view of the bay. Housekeeping folks were nice as was the young lady who checked me in. There was a jacuzzi. There was small refrigerator, desk and huge TV. The not -so-great: The entire room smelled like bleach for at least one of the 2 days I stayed there. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. It took me a long time to fall asleep with the smell of bleach wafting through the air. I was looking forward to the jacuzzi tub because I don't have one at home. I'm pretty OCD so I brought my own Chlorox wipes. Jacuzzis are tough to clean but when I went to clean the nozzles, all I got was dirt and hair. Ewwww. I decided to skip the bath. The breakfast. I got conflicting information about when the breakfast was. Upon check in, I was told I would have access to breakfast until 11. When I came down at 10:15, I was told that the free breakfast was only good until 10. Okay. Whatever. But then the guy at the front desk said I should still go to the restaurant making me think they would make an exception. The girl in the restaurant was very rigid and was not going to allow me to have that breakfast. She instead told me I'd have to pay. When I asked to speak to the manager, she told me she was the manager and offered for me to speak to the owner. The owner called me back and she was nice enough but the only thing she offered me was an explanation that they open breakfast at 10 so locals could eat there. Okay whatever. It was a Monday morning and there was barely anyone in the restaurant. And also don't run a resort that depends on out-of-town guests and then treat the out of town guests as if their money doesn't matter. The owner told me to come back the next morning before 10 for breakfast. No true hospitality or effort to make me feel like a welcomed and valued guest. To be honest, I was turned off and wasn't interested in eating there anyway. I've eaten there before and it was just okay and not worth the calories. In any case, I explained to the owner that I was disappointed that as a guest no one made an effort to even accommodate me or even offer me a drink or something. And true to the spirit of the place, neither did she. I wish I had just saved my $500. Vacations are optional. I wish I had stayed in my own very nice home instead of wasting time there. I was trying to support a local business. And had I been treated better, I may have gotten a massage or gone to the restaurant a couple more times just because I was too lazy to go out to local restaurants. I ended up going out to eat several times. The food was average at these other places but the service was better and I tipped generously because I knew that the past year has been tough for business. And when I checked out the guy at the front desk was NOT friendly. Probably because I spoke to his boss about the fact that he purposely sent me to the restaurant after the free breakfast was over. From now on, I'll be staying at an Airbnb or just coming for a day trip to the area. The experience at this hotel was underwhelming.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Glenn Spanier, General Manager at Rod 'N' Reel Resort
Responded Oct 29, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share both the good aspects of your stay, and those areas in which we did not meet your expectations. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations in such areas as overall room cleanliness/freshness and comfort of the bed. It is from individuals such as you who share their experience that enable us to correct our shortfalls for future guests. Again, thank you for both your business and sharing your experience and have a great weekend. All the best, Glenn Spanier General Manager Rod 'N' Reel Resort Where Hospitality Meets The Bay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie S wrote a review Oct 2021
College Park, Maryland110 contributions29 helpful votes
We spent two nights in a "King accessible" room on the fourth floor. The room smelled like wet carpet. It's possible the carpet was wet because the bathroom was certainly damp for the entire time. There was not much circulation. It almost felt moldy the air was so humid. It was unpleasant. The restaurant was so terrible we did not use our breakfast vouchers either morning. Friday night, I had the baked stuff shrimp- literally three shrimp stuffed with some crab meat and peppers (did not like the peppers) and soaked in butter, mashed potatoes, and green beans drenched in olive oil. I could not eat the green beans. It was $38 for that- 3 shrimp! My boyfriend got the fish tacos which were abismal; tasted like there were sitting out and microwaved. They at least removed that from the bill since they were inedible. It still cost $40 for a soda and a few shrimp- terrible. The waiter was nice, but would never eat there again. We did not go to the game room or pool, so cannot comment on those. I tried to book the spa earlier in the week, but they were very rude on the phone. There is not much to do in Chesapeake Beach- we would up driving south for food or to North Beach. Would not recommend anyone to stay here- it should get a remake from Ramsey.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: You can park for free in the garage (in October anyway). There are breakfast vouchers - ask for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Glenn Spanier, General Manager at Rod 'N' Reel Resort
Responded Oct 18, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your most recent stay with us. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectation in both your hotel accommodations and your experience at the Rod 'N' Reel Restaurant. Again, thank you and we hope you have a great week. All the best, Glenn Spanier General Manager Rod 'N' Reel Resort Where Hospitality Meets The Bay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don W wrote a review Sep 2021
Millsboro, Delaware35 contributions5 helpful votes
What a neat hidden gem in Southern Maryland. Stayed here for two nights, just the wife and I. Well appointed hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. We loved spending time on our balcony relaxing. Very serene. Resort amenities were very welcoming. Resort staff were very friendly and attentive to all our needs.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glenn Spanier, General Manager at Rod 'N' Reel Resort
Responded Sep 21, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your most recent stay with us. Many times we only hear the negative aspects of one's stay so your posting was refreshing. Again, thank you for both your business and sharing your experience and enjoy the balance of your week. All the best, Glenn Spanier General Manager Rod 'N' Reel Resort Where Hospitality Meets The Bay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mandy21236 wrote a review Sep 2021
Nottingham, Maryland1 contribution
I don’t even know where to start, so I will just list each grievance separately. Washcloth on sink had a wad of long hair, which looked more like a weave. A hand towel on the rack had a long black hair. The mini fridge had the same long black hair. The inside of the toilet looked filthy. When we got back to our room after housekeeping “cleaned it,” which was a joke, the comforter looked like it was barely shoved under the mattress. The sheets had stains. The bathtub was not cleaned because shampoo was still in there. The miniature shampoo and cream rinse was replaced and no new bar of soap. There was mold underneath the soap dish in the tub. Not all of the towels were replaced. The toilet on the first floor hadn’t been flushed or cleaned. There was no water in either water fountain on the first floor. I have NEVER, EVER left a bad review, so it must be really disgusting for me to do so. I was physically ill from the wads of hair and dirty toilet in our room. The whole point of staying in a hotel is to feel like you’re being pampered, away from home. Extremely disappointing!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay here unless you have extremely low standards
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glenn Spanier, General Manager at Rod 'N' Reel Resort
Responded Sep 21, 2021
thank you for taking the time to share comments about your most recent stay with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in various areas and enjoy the balance of your week. All the best, Glenn Spanier General Manager Rod 'N' Reel Resort Where Hospitality Meets The Bay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gabrielle G wrote a review Sep 2021
North Beach, Maryland4 contributions
We rented kayaks and had a fantastic time! Staff was very helpful and courteous. Would recommend to anyone trying to stay in the beach and have a water experience. Thank you for everyone. Very much appreciated. It was a beautiful day to be in the creek.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glenn Spanier, General Manager at Rod 'N' Reel Resort
Responded Sep 21, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your most recent stay with us. Many times we only hear the negative aspects of one's stay so your posting was refreshing. Again, thank you for both your business and sharing your experience and enjoy the balance of your week. All the best, Glenn Spanier General Manager Rod 'N' Reel Resort Where Hospitality Meets The Bay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
VERY POOR experience. Captain was not friendly and wasn't interested in trying to locate any fish. Stayed in his cabin, and finally moved the boat when we complained. No one caught anything! Do not go
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lorin Johnson, Other at Rod 'N' Reel Resort
Responded Sep 1, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Miss Lizzy Head Boat. Sorry that you did not have a positive experience with them and will share your comments with the owner. Again, thank you for sharing and have a great rest of your week.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$170 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chesapeake beach hotel chesapeake beach, chesapeake beach hotel and spa
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandCalvert CountyChesapeake Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rod 'N' Reel Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Rod 'N' Reel Resort?
Nearby attractions include Chesapeake Beach Railway Trail (0.3 miles), The Chesapeake Beach Railway Museum (0.08 miles), and Chesapeake Beach Water Park (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rod 'N' Reel Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rod 'N' Reel Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Rod 'N' Reel Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rod 'N' Reel Resort?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rod 'N' Reel Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Traders Seafood Steak and Ale, Rod 'N' Reel, and Boardwalk Cafe at the Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rod 'N' Reel Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Rod 'N' Reel Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Chesapeake Beach.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rod 'N' Reel Resort?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Does Rod 'N' Reel Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Rod 'N' Reel Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.