We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

American Inn of Bethesda

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
American Inn of Bethesda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for American Inn of Bethesda
See the most recent reviews
Showing 275: English reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stay here for a few weeks June-July and my experience has been very positive. I warn you that this is not your super luxury hotel to spend the corporate money or to show off to your girlfriend, however, if you want a convenient location and inexpensive place to stay in DC, I highly recommend this little charm in Washington...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BL168
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I glad that you found us to be the overall best value in Bethesda. I hope that our service was just as satisfying for you as our location and accommodations. Keep in mind that we always have packages and special rates available on our website and by calling the hotel directly. We appreciate your business.

Delaware
Reviewed June 19, 2014

June 10th to June 12th, 2014. Had to stay near NIH for test and biopsies and made reservations at the American Inn. All hotels in area were full which gives the hotel a captured audience. Very limited parking, but lady at front desk was very helpful in securing a handicap space for us. The elevator is small and dirty. Stacked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roadwarriors07
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not responding to your note. I'm not sure how you sent it to me. However, I was not aware of your observations of our hotel until reading them here on Trip Advisor. We are in the midst of a refresh of our guest rooms and public space in the hotel, which would...

Pelham, Alabama
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our grandson was selected from his school in Birmingham, AL to attend the Junior National Young Leaders Conference in Bethesda, MD from June 8-13, 2014. His parents and my wife and I made reservations at the American Inn of Bethesda through AAA while our grandson was attending the Conference with his peers from across the country. We took advantage of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerald C
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and hotel. We obviously achieved our goal of exceeding guest expectations with your stay. I glad to hear that you were able to take adavantage of our prime location and also our breakfast. Although on-premises parking is limited at the hotel, the public lot is very close to the hotel and...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I would not stay here again. The front desk clerk seemed shady and unprofessional. Yes, I just used the word shady because it is appropriate. Carpet in room was dirty, small stains on bed sheet... I can't say with confidence that everything had been changed. The staff at the front desk forgot about my wake-up call/didn't write it down and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diana A
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that we failed so miserably to provide you with adequate service and accommodations during your last stay with us. I have provided additonal service training to our staff since your last stay with us to address some of the issues you raised in this review. Obviously, unprofessional is not a characterization we strive for...

Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The staff is super friendly and the hotel and rooms are usually clean. Never had an issue her in dozen nights or so. The hotel is older but decent.They are cheaper than the newer nicer hotels and a good value. Some of the Queen rooms are small but not bad for one person, the King rooms are definitely larger. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your response Tom R. We appreciate your continued business and look forward to your next stay at the American Inn.

New York City, New York
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a great experience at the american inn. The room is small but decorated very nicely, nice bathroom and very hospitable and helpful staff. Definitely a great value for the money!! Close to Metro and all the Bethesda shopping and restaurants. The free parking worked out fine for us even though it is limited. The breakfast was very enjoyable with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks to taking the time to talk about your experience at the American Inn. I'm glad that you found our hotel to be a good balance of quality and value. We are working hard to create memorable experiences like yours for all of our guests. Your comments have helped us to move closer to this goal. I hope that you...

Haifa, Israel
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the American Inn for one night and had to give a talk at the NIH. The staff was extremely helpful (especially Adeline) and I used the courtesy hotel shuttle to the NIH where the driver was very instrumental in helping me going smoothly through the security check point.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amnon S
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your visit to Bethesda. We understand how daunting the security process can be when entering NIH. So, we make every effort to prepare our guests in advance and to help them through the process at the gate. I'm happy to hear that our efforts had a positive impact on your...

Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the America Inn a few weeks ago while on a business trip. It was not only rightly priced but the hospitality I received from the staff was amazing. Adeline was beyond helpful on my last day in ensuring I received items I had couriered to my room and was also kind to give us a few hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thank you for comments. I'm happy to hear that Adeline was so gracious and helpful. She exemplifies the level of service we strive for at the American Inn. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return!

Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night. Room had not been cleaned (towels were wet, bed not fully made, used glasses and water bottles in the room). Pillows were beyond useless. Sheets were itchy (I may now have lice/bed bugs), and the A/C in the room did not work properly. There were lots of loud mechanical noises at night. The parking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank matt02143
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm apologize for the difficulties you experienced during your last stay. I understand how frustrating it must have been for you to be checked into a room that did not meet basic standards of cleanliness and quality. There is no question that we missed the mark with your stay. Although you did not mention it...

Middleburg, FL
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I'm surprised by the reviews of this hotel, unless the hotel's owners are leaving them. This hotel is a no-frills, bare bones hotel. You can see from the rating that I am not trying to say they do nothing right, so they are two stars, not one. They have very little parking, so most must park off site across a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John J
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thank you, JordJB, for taking the time to give us your feedback on our hotel. I am glad to hear that you have given us a fair opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations . We are continuing to work on the quality of service and guest offerings. However, it is obvious that we missed the mark during your stay....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.0 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Price Range: $112 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — American Inn of Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from American Inn of Bethesda staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from American Inn of Bethesda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Top floor may have noise because of Heating/Cooling units... depends on which room you stay.”
 of 5 bubbles lhimelfarb, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“nice double - double beds can sleep 4”
 of 5 bubbles winnglen, Jan 29, 2017 | Read review
“My room was great”
 of 5 bubbles 899judyf, Jan 18, 2017 | Read review
“Can't suggest what you should do if you arrive to find that there are no rooms left in the modern version of this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles VaBookwriter, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Corner suite - quiet and restful”
 of 5 bubbles 531indranid, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question