We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
123 Long Beach Ave 4 Morningside Dr, York Beach, York, ME 03909
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$269
View deal
Booking.com
$269
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Only 1 left at
$269
View deal
Hotels.com$269
Priceline$269
eDreams$269
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (50)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (8)

About

#1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in York Beach
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.1
Value
3.9
Open seasonally, Stones Throw offers the perfect Maine beach vacation. Located on Long Sands Beach in York, Maine, Stones is your one-stop vacation destination.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
103Reviews1Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 21
  • 9
  • 5
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kmegsmom wrote a review Jul 2022
Boston17 contributions4 helpful votes
I loved this hotel. We had an ocean front double queen room. The view was amazing! Going to sleep listening to the waves crashing is the best! The room was larger than I expected and very comfortable. They have contactless check in that was very efficient. There is no daily housekeeping because of covid safety measures but were very responsive when you needed anything. Text messages were always answered immediately. The staff at the hotel and restaurant were super friendly. I look forward to staying there again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ahtram56 wrote a review Oct 2021
Dubuque, Iowa232 contributions83 helpful votes
They tried but seriously not a good experience. The room was tiny and crowded. Noisy like no other. We heard every word, move, unpleasant sounds like luggage on the wood deck, beds moving, people urinating , toilets flushing , showers constantly running etc. The location is ideal but the accommodations grim. Felt like we were camping. Not our thing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Only for the young.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Valerie Fedorchak, Other at Stones Throw Hotel
Responded Oct 4, 2021
Thank you for the review and for the feedback! We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have a variety of different rooms, some smaller than others, but all are listed on our website with vital information including unit size. We're always happy to work with our guests to find the right fit for them. We're sorry you found the unit noisy - while we do expect a certian degree of "neighborhood" sound to travel, we would definitely like to hear more about your experience and to know which room you were in so we could address any issues that could be fixed. We encourage you to reach out to us directly at any time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
meyerinc wrote a review Sep 2021
Chicago, Illinois328 contributions152 helpful votes
Everything about this place is fantastic! I had booked months prior to our trip and forgot what I selected. When we walked into our room (#6 in the main building) and saw the sliding glass doors to a balcony facing the ocean, we literally gasped. Everything was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We arrived at dinner time. The restaurant downstairs had a 20-minute wait; so they made up our order to go, and we ate on our balcony. Couldn’t have asked for a better way to cap off a long day on the road. The next morning, we watched the sunrise and took a walk to the Nubble Lighthouse (~a mile each way) before getting back on the road. Can’t wait to return to spend some more time in York.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Chris06052 wrote a review Sep 2021
New Britain, Connecticut36 contributions32 helpful votes
I think it’s my 6 yr going and already booked for next sept. Best view you can ask for. Hotel is clean and staff is quick to help with any questions . Easy check in . Restaurants right there to grab a nice meal.Look forward to next yrs trip and enjoying the time there
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: I go for first floor above restaraunt since balcony is covered
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
EmilyGK wrote a review Sep 2021
Essex, Vermont30 contributions14 helpful votes
Beautiful, clean, new rooms right on the water! Each room has a private balcony facing the ocean. Great amenities-- recycling, composting, environmentally-friendly products. Very comfortable bed. Contactless check in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Kintasays wrote a review Sep 2020
Quakertown, Pennsylvania243 contributions85 helpful votes
I really enjoyed how close I was to the beach. The room was clean and simple, and the sound of the ocean at night was priceless. I stopped here for the night on my way to Bar Harbor and I'm glad I made this choice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: if you want a beach view you have to book in the main house
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey O'Brien, Owner at Stones Throw Hotel
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Thank you for the review and the kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
catsmeow05 wrote a review Sep 2020
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts60 contributions39 helpful votes
My daughter and I spent one night on September 8, 2020. Fabulous room with a perfect view! The "contactless" check-in was seamless, easy and smart. We are visitors to Long Sands Beach since 1989. Stone's Throw is among the best accommodations in York.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We were in room 15. Third floor, ocean view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey O'Brien, Owner at Stones Throw Hotel
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Thank you for the review and the kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
susanrL1721ZD wrote a review Sep 2019
Keene, New Hampshire66 contributions42 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights and loved it! We had an oceanfront room with a balcony overlooking Long Sands Beach in York, Maine. The room was small but extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. Everyone we met who worked there was very pleasant and helpful. The general store next door had a number of breakfast items available so we purchased pastries and coffee and enjoyed them on our patio while watching the surfers and the folks walking the beach across the road. Just a quick walk downstairs and across the road and you were on the beach! Would definitely recommend a stay at Stones Throw to anyone looking for a place to stay at Long Sands Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from vfedorchak, Front Office Manager at Stones Throw Hotel
Responded Sep 25, 2019
Thank you for the review and the kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fellowsx3 wrote a review Sep 2019
Lebanon, New Hampshire41 contributions33 helpful votes
What a great relaxing time! My husband and I were just there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we wanted some down time with quiet. We were there during the off season and that was just fine with us. The view from room 3 was FANTASTIC! This is right across the street from Long Sands which was the relaxation we were looking for. The room was clean and I liked they were a "green" company with their recycling nd the products they chose to use. The staff was very nice from check in to housekeeping. There is no microwave which would have been nice and the balconies were individual with an attempt at privacy. It would have been nice to have the privacy glass up a little higher as it was a little strange if you were standing at the edge and the ones next to you were sitting. It felt a little uncomfortable. It was just my husband and I but the bathroom door doesn't latch and this was a room with double beds. Good for a family but could be a little strange if you were staying with friends. Hope to stay again as the fantastic view cannot get any better, so if you are an ocean girl like I am you will be very happy with the ocean front rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: room 3 had an amazing view!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from vfedorchak, Front Office Manager at Stones Throw Hotel
Responded Sep 20, 2019
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback so we can continue to improve on the things that are important to our guests! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LISA G wrote a review Sep 2019
MASHPEE3 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed here for 1 week in an oceanfront room. The room itself was cute and clean. Although the location across from the beach was nice to look at ocean and access the beach, the noise from restaurant and street was excruciating. I wanted to leave after the first night... the hotel was all booked so we couldn’t switch rooms to the back of property where it might be quieter. The walls are paper thin. We could here every single move from neighbors and patrons of restaurant. The room was directly over the restaurant so there was no peace until closing time. The curtains on sliding glass door do not keep bright sunlight out so plan to wake up at crack of dawn. Horrible if you want to sleep. Plus you have to walk through the back of restaurant to get to the room... it felt like a rooming house. I give it a 1/2 star. and that is only because the housekeeping was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Valerie F, Front Office Manager at Stones Throw Hotel
Responded Sep 11, 2019
Thank you for the review. We are so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay and appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We'd like to hear more about your experience - please feel free to contact us directly with the dates of your stay and the name your reservation was under so we may look into this!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$162 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMaineYorkYork Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stones Throw Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Stones Throw Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Long Sands Beach (0.3 miles), Short Sands Beach (0.7 miles), and York's Wild Kingdom Zoo and Fun Park (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Stones Throw Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Stones Throw Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Stones Throw Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Stones Throw Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stones Throw Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Goldenrod Restaurant, The Union Grill and Pub, and Stones Throw Restaurant.
Is Stones Throw Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of York Beach.
Are there any historical sites close to Stones Throw Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting First Parish Church Congregational (2.4 miles) and Elizabeth Perkins House (3.2 miles).
Does Stones Throw Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.