We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Acres of Wildlife Campground

Save
60 Acres of Wildlife Road, Steep Falls, ME 04085
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (25)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
57Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 28
  • 6
  • 7
  • 7
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We've been going there for years. at least once or twice a year plenty of things for the kids to do and adults too the themed weekends are the best always a good time. we always make it to Halloween weekend we bring the whole family about 20 of us I have never had a bad weekend there even when the weather was bad we love being at Acres
Read more
We arrived at the campground after a 3 mile muddy/dusty road. (What a mess) Drove In to a run down mess of broken down parts, wood pile and a long storage trailer and looks to be a parking lot of golf carts. To the left an over grown mini golf course. We set up our chairs ect on a Un-mowed lawn (like 8 inches or so tall) and found little pieces of trash and food from the other campers that were there before. (Gross) The site was also not level. Our teens rented a canoe on what we thought was a lake from there campground map..nope it was a small pond. Chub Pond is a swamp and Rainbow lake is a small pond. We tried to take a walk but almost got run over several times by golf carts whizzing every which way. But who wants to walk when you see cigarette butts everywhere on the road. (Gross) Well after being at our campsite listening to dogs barking the entire day/ nights we had to go in to escape from it. We went down to grab a soda at the camp store. When you walk in it’s overwhelming and everything there selling is covered in dust and dirt. So after all this we left a day and half early. What a run down campground, party central, dogs barking, golf carts almost hitting us. And everything is covered in dust! Don’t waste your money.
Read more
Response from Elaine B, Owner at Acres of Wildlife Campground
Responded Mar 30, 2020
Your feedback helps us learn where we can improve. We're sorry you didn't have a great experience, but we hope you'll give us another try.
Read more
My boyfriend has gone here the last 20 years with his family and when we started our own family there was no discussion about where we'd take our boys it was already decided Acres of Wildlife!! This year was different and did not match up with previous years, they messed up our reservation, we paid an extra day and had to switch sites after 1 night because of their mistake the site we switched too was already reserved we found out later because they put the people who's site we moved onto onto the site we had reserved, so now where in the middle of 2 sites who reserved side by side sites to be together!! I could have dealt with all that but acres didn't follow through with their list of activities they had printed out and circulated my son is 5 and got a taste of drumming the first night wished to start a band and the next morning on there line up activities was band practice for a big show for the campground it was the hhighlight of his trip he was so proud and did so good!! The show never happened and my boy was distraught and ran off crying!! There was 1 amazing lady who genuinely seemed to care and got our camping neighbor who came to watch the show to play his guitar and sing a couple songs with him, which don't get me wrong I'm incredibly grateful for but they never would have without me being upset, it only happened because I complained, the venue for the event wasn't even aware of the event when my son went in boasting he's with the band!! I hoped it was a glitch and some sort of oversight but I messaged acres when I came home about our trip with no response thought maybe it was because I messaged the website maybe they didn't get it so I went through my email messaged again inquiring if they had received my message,the only response I've gotten was a response saying they had received my message and I sent another message stating my dissatisfaction they never answered again and could seem to care less!! I would have been happy with any encouragement that this was not their new style but I don't believe they care too much anymore if at all!!
Read more
Response from Elaine B, Owner at Acres of Wildlife Campground
Responded Mar 30, 2020
Hi there - We pride ourselves on the quality of our service and it sounds like we failed here. We're really sorry to hear about your poor experience. We hope you'll give us another chance to serve you.
Read more
The three mile dirt road just to get to the camp ground from the main rd was enough of a hassle, and kept us from leaving the camp ground all weekend (what a mess). The seasonal renters definitely ran the show there. Between speeding in the cars in and out, and speeding in the gold carts all around, I'd definitely keep my children close when walking around. I was more than disappointed! You can't control the heat and it was the hottest weekend of the season so far, but the parking lot we were given as a campsite had absolutely no shade what so ever, we weren't even asked if we preferred shade when booking our site, and we would have said yes for sure. The pond was good and refreshing, and the store was the most well stocked store I've even seen at a campground. Staff was ok, when I checked in they didn't ask about gate key or my dog, when when friends checked in they were asked about both. There is a huge abandoned junk car lot around the corner from the pond, it makes it look so run down. I wouldn't hurry back!
Read more
Response from Elaine B, Owner at Acres of Wildlife Campground
Responded Mar 30, 2020
We're sorry to hear that you had a less than stellar experience! Your feedback is important to us, and so is your satisfaction.
Read more
We went up for a three day weekend I had called before and made a reservation and asked for a site on the water, well they said none were available . We got there they gave us site W23 it was way too small and in a crowded area. So we asked for another one which they found us one we asked for one on the water once again seeing if there might have been one open they said no . Well we sat there and watched all weekend and there were at least 4-5 sites empty all the time we were there on the water. I was not happy . The price you pay you should have better service as far as what you request I am not sure who does the reservations but not a good job . Another thing they do not say there is a 3 mile ride into the campground all dirt dust everywhere, we had a motorcycle if you plan to bring one good luck. People drive fast. It is a beautiful place as far as location but disappointed. The showers also need an upgrade . Hot water is good but in rough shape.
Read more
Response from Elaine B, Owner at Acres of Wildlife Campground
Responded Mar 30, 2020
Hello Carol, we're sorry to hear about your experience, but we appreciate you taking time to give us feedback. We hope you'll consider giving us another chance to serve you.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesMaineSteep Falls
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Acres of Wildlife Campground
Which popular attractions are close to Acres of Wildlife Campground?
Nearby attractions include Sebago Lake (4.0 miles) and Douglas Mountain (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Acres of Wildlife Campground?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Acres of Wildlife Campground?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Acres of Wildlife Campground?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Acres of Wildlife Campground?
Conveniently located restaurants include Runway Restaurant, Sportsman’s Kitchen and Keg, and Sweeties.
Are pets allowed at Acres of Wildlife Campground?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.