We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Black Point Inn Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Black Point Inn Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Hampton nh
Level Contributor
265 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Came about 4:45 for an early diner we were in that area and heard the restaurant was fantastic so we thought we would give it a try. Went to the hostess stand she said dinner did not begin until five but they were having a wine event on the porch and to help ourselves. The wine store it was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hollmark
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
246 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is lovely and set up on a hill. They have an Inn, dining and lively surroundings. Full bar and two restaurants. The view of the ocean is fabulous along with the grounds. Nice place to stay along the coast. Make reservations. Service is good.

Helpful?
Thank Judith484
Harpenden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent two nights here with our two adult daughters at end of a two week visit to the east coast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Both our rooms were huge and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and service was good. Breakfasts & lunch on the terrace were particularly enjoyable gazing at the lovely views of the bay & watching the golfers.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penny L
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

At only 20mins drive south from Portland you will find this fantastic place. The inn, it's gardens, pool, restaurants, outdoor seating & fabulous view make it a perfect destination. We only went for dinner but want to explore the possibility to go back to stay a few days. The service was very friendly & prompt. We had the onion soup... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ana C
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello Ana, Thank you so much for your kind review! You've described exactly the dining experience we aim to provide - friendly and efficient service, delicious food and a beautiful sunset to top it off. We look forward to having you back for a longer stay to enjoy the rest of the Inn's offerings and the surrounding area. More 

Portland, Maine
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've been to The Black Point Inn for events, dinner and drinks many times over the years. Last night we took out-of-state guests and it was embarrassing. Although we announced our early arrival and confirmed our reservation with the dining room hostess, and our location on the deck so she could get us when the table was ready - about... More 

Helpful?
Thank hurricanemtn
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello Hurricanemtn, Thank you for your review. We're disappointed that you felt our service was not up to par on your most recent visit. We certainly aim for a much higher standard than you have described and we will use your feedback to ensure we continue to improve our operations. We do hope your previous visits have proven that this... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying at the Blackpoint Inn is like stepping back in time. Winslow Homer painted from its front porch. For those looking for something different and truly New England, this is the place. Its quiet, its beautiful and relaxing. Not the place to go to party or shop. Bring a book, relax and walk the beaches.

Helpful?
Thank HappyKR
BPI-Guest-Services, Front Office Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review HappyKR. I'm glad to hear you found the Inn relaxing and quintessential New England; it's exactly what we strive for! While we are definitely not the place to party or shop, we think it is the perfect oasis that is close enough to Portland for those that want to while still being the place that... More 

Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
302 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Did not stay here, but had drinks on the patio, and dinner in the bar area. The view is beautiful even when the weather is grey and rainy. We had the Black Point Burger, and it was very good. Couldn't resist the desserts, the Strawberry Cake Trifle and the Chocolate dessert were both excellent. The staff are efficient and friendly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay S
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello Kay S, Thanks for sharing your experience as a diner here at the Inn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything, including the burger and our house made desserts! The roaring fire you mentioned is especially cozy as the fall evenings set in, so hopefully you can make it back for a visit again before we close at... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did not stay here but must compliment the staff on the time that was taken to show us around the property and individual rooms. We were very impressed about the friendly manner that was displayed despite the fact that at the time we were not even in house guests. The one room and one suite we were shown were... More 

Helpful?
Thank kportgirl
BPI-Guest-Services, Front Office Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

kportgirl, I am so happy hear how well you were treated by our Front Desk Team! If I remember correctly, I believe Halie showed you around; she is quite the gem! We consider everyone who walks through our door a guest so I'm very glad to know you were made to feel like one. We definitely hope to see you... More 

Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our 2nd year here and still amazing. Rooms are wonderful, food is very good and staff is friendly and helpful. Hope we can get the same room next year! Hate to leave. This resort is very relaxing. Off the beaten path, but everything you need!

Helpful?
Thank Susan L
BPI-Guest-Services, Front Office Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Susan for taking the time to review the Inn. It was lovely having you here again and we look forward to seeing you again next year! More 

Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The inn is nicely isolated and very picturesque in outward appearance. Unfortunately it is where all the charm ends. For such a high price per night, I expected considerably more amenities. Upon arrival room was not ready despite notification of early arrival. Once in the room, it was furnished in what appeared to be white spray-painted garage sale furnishings with... More 

Helpful?
Thank elmwood469
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello Elmwood, Thank you for your thoughts. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the personal care amenities during your recent stay with us. We offer dispensed bath amenities as part of our Green Leader Environmental Certification and have seen a wonderful reduction of waste through that program. However, we certainly understand that some guests may prefer bottled bath... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

647 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (569)
Viewed
Admirals Chamber Room 211 (80)
Viewed
Admirals Chamber Room 217 (66)
Viewed
Admirals Chamber Room 219 (83)
Viewed
Captain's Chamber (80)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Spinnaker Suite (89)
Viewed
The Hotel (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
8.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#10 of 13 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
14.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1878 and surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean on three sides, with 18 holes of links golf, hiking and running trails (including an Oceanside Cliff Walk past the studio of renowned Prouts Neck painter Winslow Homer), literally miles of sandy beaches, tennis, a swimming pool and beach club, Black Point Inn is legendary for its location, guest facilities, and unpretentious downeast hospitality. Prepare to be captivated by the unhurried pace, gracious charm, and attentive service of Maine's most beautiful and historic oceanfront Inn and restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Point Inn Resort

Address: 510 Black Point Rd, Scarborough, ME 04074-8624
Location: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Price Range: $307 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Point Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Black Point Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Point Hotel Scarborough
Black Point Scarborough
Black Point Inn Resort Maine/Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay