We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
510 Black Point Rd, Scarborough, ME 04074-8624
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$248
View deal
Booking.com$248
Priceline$248
Hotels.com$248
Orbitz.com$248
CheapTickets$248
Travelocity$248
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (118)
Room & Suite (421)
Dining (68)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 06/23/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Black Point Inn
Updated 06/23/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 13 hotels in Scarborough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Built in 1878 and surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean on three sides, with 18 holes of links golf, hiking and running trails (including an Oceanside Cliff Walk past the studio of renowned Prouts Neck painter Winslow Homer), literally miles of sandy beaches, tennis, a swimming pool and beach club, Black Point Inn is legendary for its location, guest facilities, and unpretentious downeast hospitality. Prepare to be captivated by the unhurried pace, gracious charm, and attentive service of Maine's most beautiful and historic oceanfront Inn and restaurant.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Hiking
Tennis court
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
257Reviews6Q+A51Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 147
  • 60
  • 24
  • 9
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rick M wrote a review Jul 23
Oneonta, New York667 contributions177 helpful votes
We had a cousin reunion at the Black Point Inn and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves - the food and service was exceptional! The staff was very friendly and accommodating, even to the pint of coming out to help us coordinate a group photo!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Ben M. wrote a review Jul 5
Boston, Massachusetts3 contributions3 helpful votes
Utter disaster for dinner. Hostess seated us 25 minutes after reservation time, despite the fact that the table at which we were seated remained empty the entire time. We were provided one menu for four people without explanation. Server asked us not to order entrees “for a little while until she returned” despite the fact that we pleaded to order ASAP as we were trying to eat before my 2 year old started to fade. Server recommended the entree special… but guess what? It was sold out by the time she allowed us to order (45 minutes after we were seated). We were never approached during this time to see if we were interested in a second round of drinks or possibly more bread (which would have been a nice gesture given that we were in some unexplained moratorium on ordering food?). We asked to speak to a manager… this was all so bizarre. The well-intended but harried manager eventually advised us that he “appreciated our critique of the experience” and that he’d comp us our drinks and an appetizer, which was appreciated. However we all would have likely paid a hefty sum just to break free from this experience. We left without ordering dinner. Unfortunate to have seen this place take such a turn for the worse.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Josh B, General Manager at Black Point Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and for bringing this experience to our attention. We work hard to hold ourselves to a higher standard of service, I apologize that we missed the mark during your visit. As our guests your insight is critical in training, execution, and delivery of our hospitality that we take so much pride in trying to create. I hope that when you are back in the area, you would be willing to give us another shot and understand that this experience falls well outside of the norm. If there is anything else I can do to be of assistance, if you have any questions, or more input please do not hesitate to contact me.
Read more
njoythejourney wrote a review Jun 2021
Bluffton, South Carolina73 contributions58 helpful votes
Lovely, serene, and scenic setting at this impressive inn to entertain friends for dinner in a quiet dining area. Friendly, thoughtful, and efficient service. Salmon was delicious. Nice to see a fire in the fireplace in June. $$$$
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
CarolDM1900 wrote a review Sep 2020
Montpelier, Vermont3037 contributions760 helpful votes
+1
The world has changed a lot since our last stay here (see my previous review, "Deeply Satisfying and Enjoyable," August 2019), which makes a place like the Black Point Inn even more tantalizing and delightful as a getaway. The views toward the Western Beach are as lovely as ever, the food and service still superb, the accommodations as comfortable and inviting as always, and the ambience of Prouts Neck for outdoor activities and explorations seems even more soothing than usual at a time of increased daily stress due to the pandemic. Like many people, we have spent every night of the last six months at home. The chance to change our environment, to pamper ourselves a bit, and to enjoy the late summer in such a splendid spot was irresistible. We telephoned for reservations on short notice and were pleased to find "room at the inn." Based on our previous experience here, we were confident that everything needed to cope with the pandemic would be in place for us. And it was. We had a beautiful room, #217, with a nice seating area right in front of a big window overlooking the Western Beach. The breezes kept us cool day and night without our ever needing to turn on the air conditioning. We had the option of full service or touch-free service, and found the latter to work very well. All staff wore masks, maintained social distancing, and assiduously attended to even the smallest details to protect guests from virus transmission. Dining options were somewhat reduced, with the fine Point Restaurant temporarily closed, although the interesting, more down-to-earth Chart Room Pub remains open. But the overwhelming dining preference at this time is definitely the outdoor seating. There are several options. You can have drinks and bites while pleasantly lounging in the Adirondack chairs that dot the spacious green lawn. Just order at the bar, and you'll carry this light fare down to the chairs yourself as a health safety measure. Or you can enjoy breakfast, lunch, drinks with light fare, and full dinner in two fresh-air locations with great views: deck-like seats fully in the open air or porch-like ones that have overhead protection but still offer fine views and refreshing breezes. The Chart Room Pub is always an option if the weather cools or turns inclement. If you'd enjoy exploring the surrounding community of Prouts Neck, bikes (and helmets) are available for you, free of charge, right at the entrance to the inn. There are two splendid walks right nearby. One is the famous Cliff Walk, which takes you on a rocky, scenic trail around the entire seaside promontory (see my review, "Stunning Views that Inspired Winslow Homer," August 2019) ; and trails associated with the lesser-known, private bird sanctuary donated "to the people of Prouts Neck" by the brother of artist Winslow Homer. This is a lush, green area where you can enjoy quiet walks or bird-watching. In my experience, Black Point Inn guests have been welcome to stroll here. Those who do so need to remain sensitive to the fact that the homes of residents surround this woodsy gem. There is little to advertise the sanctuary, so check at the desk for directions and a trail map if one is still available. Winslow Homer's seaside studio is also nearby, but access to that requires coordination with the Portland Museum of Art, and, in any case, it is closed until Spring 2021. If the beach is more to your liking, you can see it from the inn and easily find the short trail that will take you there. The Black Point Inn is a thoroughly relaxing and renewing destination that can provide a welcome antidote to the stresses of life of daily life in troubled days. To a person, the staff do their utmost to keep their guests safe and to make sure they have the best of times in the worst of times. Highly Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Landace Porta, General Manager at Black Point Inn
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Carol, Wow, thank you for this glowing review! We are so honored that you chose to come back to the Inn for your first getaway during the pandemic. We did work hard to ensure our guest's comfort and safety this season, so your words are a heartened validation of our team's efforts. You have painted such a lovely picture of all of the offerings of the Inn and Prouts Neck. We do hope that we will continue to be able to live up to your expectations year after year! Best regards,
Read more
Bostonian21 wrote a review Sep 2020
Cumberland Center, Maine80 contributions36 helpful votes
Like most Americans, we grappled with what to do for our traditional fall vacation. This year, we went 20 miles down the road but a million miles from reality. The Black Point Inn was picture perfect in every way. From the moment we arrived we felt safe and secure by the way we were treated, and by the actions of the staff. The Black Point Inn is situated on a point surrounded by ocean and a majestic 2-mile cliff walk. The private beach access on both sides of the Inn was lovely and offered different viewpoints each day for walks and sitting. The room was spacious, well-appointed, comfortable with newer bathrooms, and views for miles. The food was also fabulous and the waitstaff paid great attention to making us feel comfortable but also well served. Lastly, going back to the staff, the general manager of the hotel Kyle and the front desk staff were top notch. When we were moved mid-stay (as we knew we would be) to a different room and voiced concerns with the new room, Kyle made sure he found a room suitable to our liking. Really, this was a 5 star stay from start to finish from the amenities to the lovely old Inn and staff we could not have been happier!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We did not have rooms above us only the lobby below but it never bothered us at night. Sunset...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Black Point Inn
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Hi Bostonian21, Thank you so much for your kind words and the wonderful review, it means a lot, even more so this season! While I'm glad you enjoyed all that the Inn has to offer, from the Cliff Walk to the Chart Room, I was especially thrilled to read how safe and secure the staff made you feel and that our smiles and excellent service are still shining through our face masks. It was a pleasure hosting you, thank you so much for staying with us, and I hope to see you again next season, if not sooner. All the best, Kyle Guest Service Manager Black Point Inn
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$297 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
black point hotel scarborough, black point scarborough
LOCATION
United StatesMaineScarborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Black Point Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Black Point Inn?
Nearby attractions include Len Libby Chocolates (4.2 miles), Cliff Walk (5.0 miles), and Old Orchard Beach (3.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Black Point Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Black Point Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Black Point Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Black Point Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Black Point Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pier French Fries, Big Daddy's Bar & Grill, and Fielder's Choice Ice Cream.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Black Point Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Black Point Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Black Point Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Black Point Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wadsworth-Longfellow House (9.0 miles), Goddard Mansion (7.9 miles), and Stroudwater Burying Ground (8.6 miles).
Does Black Point Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.