We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Save
Share
88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$269
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/29/21
Priceline
$269
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/29/21
Lol.travel
$269
$214
View deal
SAVE $55
Hotels.com$269
Expedia.com$269
Hurb$269
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (255)
Room & Suite (72)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 24 hotels in Portland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
When you visit the historic and alluring waterfront city of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Steps past the Cross Insurance Arena, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants, and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's Arts District surrounds the Hotel with art museums, galleries and historic homes. Portland Jetport is 10 minutes away; with courtesy vans available. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Experience the pleasure of business in Maine, By The Bay. OUR HOTEL IS UNDERGOING A MULTI-MILLION DOLLAR PROPERTY MODERNIZATION. OUR GUEST ROOMS, MEETING SPACE, AND THE EXTERIOR OF THE BUILDING WILL BE COMPLETELY RENOVATED. CONSTRUCTION WILL OCCUR WEEKDAYS BETWEEN 9:30AM AND 7:00PM, AND YOU MAY EXPERIENCE NOISE DURING THESE HOURS. WE APPRECIATE YOUR UNDERSTANDING AND ARE EXCITED TO SHARE THE CHANGES WHEN THEY’RE COMPLETE!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking garage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English
1358Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 445
  • 571
  • 227
  • 73
  • 42
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
payochi wrote a review Jun 8
Land O Lakes, Florida147 contributions95 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The check in was quick and efficient. We got all the info we needed to make our stay comfortable. The rooms were comfortable for a family of 4. And we stayed on the top floor so we had a nice view of the white mountains...if it wasn't too foggy. Parking was a breeze. We also had access to complementary bikes..we opted not to use those...but it was nice to know we couldve done that. We got 2 drink vouchers and enjoyed a welcome drink at their bar. Very friendly service there too. Location is not bad. we were within 3 blocks of really good restaurants. And also we were fairly close to the water. I just wish I stayed a little longer to enjoy what Portland had to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
cstupack wrote a review May 2021
Boston, Massachusetts37 contributions4 helpful votes
Overall, this is a pretty standard Holiday Inn (not a bad thing) with good amenities, affordable pricing and the most perfect location. Whilst I always have some minor issues with IHG hotels (I am 6"3 so the showers often force me to bend down), there was only one problem on this trip - our check-in. I won't mention the person's name on TripAdvisor, but we arrived around 8:00pm and headed to the front desk. Now, whilst I am an IHG Spire Elite member and love the little perks (such as an additional 500 points or couple of drinks vouchers), the check-in experience was not pleasant. I gave my name, sign the form and then was given a room key. That was it - literally! No drinks voucher, no mention of check-out time or procedure, no WiFi information, no information about breakfast/bar/restaurant times - they didn't even tell me which room we were in!!!! (Luckily room 1000 was easy enough to find). The only interaction was "sign this form" - no please, thank you or anything else to make us feel welcome as we checked in :( Wow. Breakfast the next day was actually really good - at first it was difficult as we had no breakfast vouchers despite pre-paying for this on the booking. Our server was understanding and went to the front desk, returning with breakfast vouchers for our stay, along with 2 drinks vouchers for the inconvenience (we didn't use them so if you're reading this, feel free to drop me those extra 500 points!). I got the feeling that this person has had multiple complaints about their lack of customer service - ultimately they seemed like they were working there just for a paycheck and had no care about the quality of their service, guests or IHG's brand. The view was lovely, beds were comfortable, breakfast superb, but it's hard to give a 5 start review when you have a bad experience within 30 seconds of walking into the hotel... Assuming IHG retrains or replaces this individual, you should have no problem in having a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 1000 was HUGE - views of the whole bay and no noise from other guests.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Ritch wrote a review Apr 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Newly remodeled 11 Story hotel in the Hub of Portland, Maine. Nice new rooms. View of Casco Bay was okay...Bevin the manager, Alli the aerver and Maressa the bar tender all made this stay enjoyable and welcoming
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Zack W wrote a review Nov 2020
Bangor, Maine1 contribution
VERY UPSET LOYAL CUSTOMER. I will never return to this hotel after being charged a $270 smoking fee when I DID NOT smoke in the room. I have been visiting Portland area and this specific hotel multiple times this year spent thousands of dollars at this point, I am a Maine Medical Marijuana patient and roll my medicine often, which is obviously done in the hotel room on their desk, and obviously the smell is very noticeable to those who are not use to it, it lingers and is more pungent to those who are not use to it also. I have stayed there many times and rolled in the rooms everytime, never smoked in them in fear of getting this outrageous fee so I’d take it outside near their lobby in the designated smoking area and obviously come right back inside with it unlit but still smelling very fresh, I roll blunts and joints and near the end of them when they get too small we usually hang on to them and save them for later, I always brought back up the roaches when I was done so I probably had like 8-10 of them I accidentally left out, which after being burned have a strong intense smell for anybody use to it or not, and being burned up like a cigarette would and then put out theres going to be brittle pieces of ash on the ends of them that flakes off and breaks off. On weed cigarettes the risen builds up on them which smells horrible and I know I probably left a trace of the ash in the room because I stayed 3 nights and smoked a lot in those times and know I left a few roaches laying around because I was on vacation and having some beers aswell I left behind what apparently is being using against me as ‘evidence’ of beer cans and the ashes inside because I cleaned some of my mess up before I left and it was admittedly messy and all over the place there probably was a smell for whoever came to clean the room when they initially did and could have appeared differently than it actually was but now after calling and speaking to a very rude younger female manger and trying to explain what actually happened all she tells me is they found the ash and it smelt of Marijuana and that they don’t know if they’d like me to be a guest any longer?? Like are you kidding me? I have been staying there every couple months for a couple nights each time, since the beginning of the year even through Corona Virus, literally spent thousands here before and did the same similar things and never had an issue until this last mid November visit now and this one manager and whoever cleaned the room assumes I smoked inside it!? If I smoked my medicine in your hotel everyone on that floor would have known right there when I was staying there. Just because I left roaches and ashes behind from my stay and they wanna assume I smoked in the room and charge me this fee so quickly even after I reached out trying to explain myself? This hotel has lost a good costumer because I plan to keep coming to Portland and staying for a couple nights at a time. Good thing Portland has hundreds of hotels to choose from because I will never return to this cheap hotel trying to make itself seem all fancy If it wasn’t for the location I wouldn’t have ever tried a Holiday Inn in the first place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimble Rawcliffe, Sales at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Responded Dec 1, 2020
Hi Zwest23, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our team. As per our policy, if a room is left unrentable due to damage or smell after a guest's departure, we do charge a fee. I understand you are upset because you did not smoke inside the room. Unfortunately, the strong odors left by what you describe as very noticeable and pungent marijuana emitting from the mess you left consisting of ash and roaches caused us to put the room out of order for two days. This policy was created to be fair to our other guests, who may be traveling with infants or who might be extremely sensitive to smell. I apologize for any interaction with our staff that left you feeling unheard. Upper management has reviewed the case with the staff members you spoke with. We hope to learn from this experience, and wish you the best in finding accommodations that are a better match. Stay well, Holiday Inn By the Bay
Read more
robert k wrote a review Oct 2020
Brooklyn, New York7 contributions1 helpful vote
Without a doubt, Holiday Inn corporation(IHG) is very accommodating and they do their best to satisfy your requests. As an IHG member, I always email ahead and see if I could get a top floor and a room without a connecting guest room door(those doors are funnels for noise). Carrie responded very receptively and ensured my King size deluxe room was facing the bay(they had rooms facing the city also) along with no connecting door that my request for the highest floor would reserved on the day of. Thank you Carrie for the communique! We spent four nights during 3rd week of August 2020 The hotel is one of the largest hotels(11 floors) in the Portland, ME area but situated relatively far from the nightlife and attractions of Portland. The hotel does fill up because their prices are much cheaper compared to the other ones. People were willing to walk or drive into the main city area.( Use the front-facing building side to walk to the city as the backside aka Bayview facing is not as lighted well) Parking is 10 dollars a night. There are a few free street parking spots(no permit parking rules) behind the hotel(by the shady looking empty lot with street cleaning only done 2nd day of the month, etc.) but it is really limited and residents park there too.(There are a few homes by the shady looking empty lot and some warehouses) You can leave the car by the outside waiting area while you check in.(no app-check in) During summer, there was a line during check-in. The older gentleman that checked me in was professional but straight to the point. I was given two cards and informed of my total price. The lobby is relatively large and it connects with a popular restaurant that is now closed during covid. There were plenty of sofachairs in the waiting area but very looking forward to be replaced. Remember, the hotel is under going major renovation at this time. Their exterior facade was just finished. You need your hotel card in order to get in and out of parking. I went back to the car and went down the ramp. There are two levels of parking P1 and P2 , P2 being the lowest. Do not park between 1st floor and P1 - its reserved. As I went down the ramp and approached the swipe machine - I found out it was not easy to swipe. First, there are THREE different boxes 1) one for non-hotel paying customers 2) for hotel swipe and 3) an intercom box. I saw many people confused throughout the stay - some hovering the card like a contactless card - some trying to swipe at the intercom box. There are no clear instructions. Second - you need a perfect swipe! If you swipe too slow or too fast - the gate will not open. Third - Even if you swiped perfectly - there is a 3-5 second lag before the gates open. **if all else fails - just press the intercom button and asked to be let in** I had to do it the first time. The parking lot is quite cramped and you will see none will try to park by the foundation structures. So between the foundations - they try to squeeze in three spots. Also - EVERYONE wants to park at P1. Just go down to P2 where there are ample spots. But even during weekends all parking could get busy. Since they are renovating , you see dozens of toilets taking a few spots in P2. Fortunately, there are elevators that can bring you up to your floor. Proceed to the elevator(parking by the elevators will fill up quick) . There are three elevators. When you get in - make sure you SWIPE again Perfectly! This time you insert upwards to downwards - and you need a perfect in and out. Or else - the elevator won't move. Also, the elevator is really really old. There is a sign posted - do not jump up or down or you would be held liable for damage. But honestly, I never had to wait long for elevators and all 3 worked perfectly during my 4 night stay. Every floor has two cameras monitoring each side of the hallway. There is a indoor poor at level G1 - I took a look at it but the moment I walked in - I can smell it's not fresh. The water was dank and "heavy" meaning the water was sitting there for a long time and just re-cholorinated. When I booked I expected to use it but changed my mind after I visited. It doesn't look like it has been "filtered" for a while especially during covid. The hotel left a sign-in sheet(and based on the sign in sheet there was a lot of people using during afternoon to evening) but there is no one there to monitor. There are plenty of towels on the corner of the pool. There was no one at the pool when it opened at 10am. We were placed at the 9th floor (11th being the highest). I thought - maybe they couldn't honor my top floor request. Then I discovered that the 10th and 11th floor closed for renovation -making the 9th floor the highest floor. There are good things and bad things to that. Good thing was of course the nights were great. But.......during daytime ...not so much. Because they were still doing renovation in the interior(exterior was just finished - which I'm sure was even noiser)....when the kiddos took a nap during the afternoon - there was a decent amount of noise. However, we understood that construction was on-going and accepted the fact. But we did appreciate it that we were placed at the corner.(Although there is a service elevator by the corner for housekeeping) It was very peaceful during nights and even most parts of the day. So - the only gripe was the cleanliness of the room which my spouse had to complain to corporate about. It was already an old room - the carpet still retained cigarette smell from the 80s to 90s(smoking was allowed back then). The carpet was worn out and threads were coming loose. Cables were patched on the outside everywhere. Some areas of the wallpaper were brown and bubbly. Bathroom didn't look it was wiped down at all. Toilet had an urine smell(later I found out the toilet under had a mild leak). So ok - it's an old room and the place need renovation - we were ready to accept the fact. Then, we discovered a dirty sock by the corner of the bed, gum wrappers on the other side. Worse - there was hair on the pillows and sheet - which made us think if the sheets were ever changed when the previous person(s) left. I took a sniff on the pillow and it smelled like a women's fragrance. The blanket was all wrinkly. I quickly went down and ask reception to send someone to change the sheets. Fortunately, a nice housekeeper did come in in about 20 min. She was very friendly. We told her we were going to downtown and she said no problem and definitely be ready by then. We came back and everything was changed. You can smell the freshness of the sheets and pillow cases. The bed was surprising comfortable, not too firm or soft. So more about the room - the sofa was really really old. Although it was a sofa bed I dared not to open it. However, the sofa was quite firm and comfortable! It also made a great sleeping sofa. So, we had a view of the bay BUT because they replaced the facade (you can tell the are trying to extend the room by a few square feet) there was TWO sets of windows - the oldest one being super dirty because they will remove it one day. This really brought down the "great" view as it was so cloudy and only visible at night. The AC was ok(new) although I thought there was a minor leak. The deluxe room basically extends about 20 sq. feet where there is an additional vintage chair(pretty comfy) and a cabinet with fridge(really old and dank) , a old microwave and a coffee machine. There was also a simple brown desk with large mirror and a lamp. By the AC (middle of room) was another table where they put an ice box. We would move that table to use to eat. The office desk also had an old leather chair which was also comfy . The curtains were really old and dirty. Some areas were broken too. I advised my kiddos not to hide behind curtains. The bathroom sink "table" looks like it was replaced not too long ago - offering a modern marble finish. Although the sink basin was old. The mirror looked like it was replaced before - but definitely not the toilet (which they were replacing on the 10th and 11th floors) and the shower. The shower was old and tedious. Water pressure was mediocre and hot water would fluctuate. The curtains were not perfectly aligned and would water would leak out. The toilet had a horrible flush and the few days went by, a minor leak was under the toilet (we saw it leaked out). It got smellier (urine smell) as the days went by. Also, the bathroom floor was not clean, we winded up wiping it down with out cleaning wipes. I highly recommend you bring slippers until renovation is finished. Overall, the bathroom was in bad shape - the wall was starting to peel off by the shower and the fan vent can not handle the heat. I highly recommend you to use the heat lamp(which will dry up the room). The heat lamp turns on when you click the old turn-dial button. I also used it to dry some of our towels by handing it on the shower curtain bar. Nothing remarkable about the hair/soap products. The closet(has a safe) was messy(by the door) and I noticed there was a white electronic box bolted by the top closet door area. Not sure if it was a bug/rodent scare-off device or motion sensor device. It shouldn't have been a smoke/co2 detector because there was one by the bed. I couldn't even find it online. Overall, if you are to stay here , you will have to be patient. Great things should be coming to the hotel( you see a demo poster downstairs). The staff were very accommodating and pleasant. Right now, they just want guests to make the best of the situation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Page, Sales at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Responded Oct 19, 2020
Dear J5378MGrobertk , Thank you so very much for your thorough review! Overall, we feel you enjoyed your visit with us. You are correct that renovations are underway, and rooms will be remodeled. Items of note, such as the pool, will certainly be addressed for future. Again, thank you for your complete outline of all of the items. We hope you will be back at a future date, and hopefully be able to stay in one of our newly renovated rooms.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$135 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn portland by the bay hotel portland, portland holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesMainePortland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
239
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay?
Nearby attractions include Portland Museum of Art (0.09 miles), Victoria Mansion (0.1 miles), and Wadsworth-Longfellow House (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Emilitsa, The Green Elephant, and Empire Chinese Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Portland.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.