We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pomegranate Inn

Save
Share
49 Neal St, Portland, ME 04102-3506
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (142)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (15)

About

#7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Arty and eclectic boutique Portland Maine inn. An exceptional art collection blends with thoughtful, gourmet, small-plates breakfasts and a truly unique vibe. Housed in a three-story Italianate mansion dating from 1889, Pomegranate Inn is like no other Bed & Breakfast you've experienced. Contemporary mixes with traditional in the inspired setting of Portland's lovely West End. Close to this vibrant New England city's Arts District and bustling Old Port, yet quietly set among lovely homes.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Seating area
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
420Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 307
  • 67
  • 24
  • 14
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Voyage520917 wrote a review Jul 2020
Beverly, West Virginia7 contributions1 helpful vote
We have apparently lost over $500 of our deposit for a stay cancelled by the pandemic. We were told our deposit would be refunded when Maine closed due to the pandemic. Despite repeated calls and emails the promised refund has not arrived. It’s now been months. We had numerous trips and bookings cancelled throughout these months but Lark Hotel chain and Pomegranate Inn is the only hotel we’ve had a problem with. They claim to be reopening in August but DO NOT prepay if you book. It looks like a charming property. Q
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AbbeyHybl, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn
Responded Jul 13, 2020
While we do understand your frustration regarding any delay in a stay refund, we do want to make it clear that you will absolutely receive your refund. We apologize if there has been any miscommunication or delay in communication and we can assure you, that is no commonplace. If you are still waiting to hear from the property, we encourage you to send you information to stay@larkhotels.com so that we may have the opportunity to escalate the issue and ensure that you're taken care of and your refund gets to you.
Read more
susan a wrote a review Feb 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia8 contributions8 helpful votes
I stayed at The Pomegranate twice, once fifteen years ago and ten years ago, and I was so thrilled to take my husband back. It's a beautiful Victorian home in Portland's West End, know for it's wonderful art collection and quirky, artistic decor and personal service. It still has echoes of what I remember, the art is still amazing, the comfy vibe, our king size room (8) with plenty of space and a sitting room. BUT, the private owner sold to a hotel management company, Lark, and guest checking in should know that it has become more shabby than chic. Literally every room had peeling paint in areas, the powder room in the lobby had beautiful silk half curtain that were in tatters now, and our bathroom had a bathtub that needed serious reglazing and a beautiful antique sink that needed similar repairs (the sink basin was now brown). Clearly you don't stay in a historic B&B and expect perfection, but this had fallen so far I feel I should tell other guests. I even felt that the furniture in my mind had diminished, there used to be lovely antiques that seem to have been replaced by more inexpensive flea market finds, and maybe this is just the years of service. Breakfast and coffee were tasty, but like breakfast tapas--indeed they were small servings. Even the bagels were mini. But the coffee was delicious and the other guests were pleasant. I felt like the people staying there had sought out the artistic qualities of the inn. We had a good night's rest, our room had a fireplace and a king bed. But someone needs to seriously walk around with a clipboard and a checklist and get some maintenance done. The things that are glaring are not hard to fix, so it is a little puzzling. And then an overall facelift of the decor. (Maybe time to replace the leopard carpet on stairs?)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms all have pictures. If you want a large room, Room 8 had a sitting area and fireplace.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbey Hybl, Marketing at Pomegranate Inn
Responded Feb 26, 2020
While we're certainly glad that you still found our hotel to provide that cozy vibe and that you enjoyed both the great art, your spacious room, and the delicious coffee, we're disappointed to hear that certain aspects did not live up to your past experiences with us. We hear your feedback loud and clear and do understand your disappointment with anything that felt worn down to the point of taking away from your overall experience. We do have a handful of items that we're working on to elevate the space and we're hopeful that you might join us again for a visit to Portland, as we're sure we can provide the experience you once remember having.
Read more
ms_cynthia_regina wrote a review Jan 2020
Seekonk10 contributions2 helpful votes
Had a recent 3 night stay at this Inn with another couple. Our rooms were spacious with fireplaces and comfy beds. The Inn has great sitting areas to relax, sit by a fire, and enjoy the ambiance of an old Inn with lots of interesting artwork and decor. The breakfast food was good and served tapas style with various types of yummy items. The downside to the Inn during our stay was that the parking area and sidewalk were not cleared well and in our estimation it was icy and treacherous. They need to hire an outside service to clear the walkways, stairs, and parking area. My husband who is in his 70’s shoveled the areas so that we could pass more safely. All in all we did enjoy our stay and found it fun and relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from AbbeyHybl, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn
Responded Jan 13, 2020
We're so glad to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your time with us! From your spacious room with its cozy fireplace and bed to our inn's relaxing sitting areas and overall ambiance, it sounds like the Pomegrante was the perfect home base for a getaway in Portland. We do apologize for any difficulty with the ice and sidewalks and we certainly appreciate your feedback there–we would never want guests to feel unsafe! That being said, we do hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to Portland sometime soon!
Read more
Clara79 wrote a review Nov 2019
Newcastle,UK90 contributions53 helpful votes
This B and B is located in a quiet residential street in a fabulous house packed full of period features and quirky artefacts. We stayed in Room Six which had the tallest bed I have ever slept in, in fact there was a stool provided to help you climb in! The Inn sells itself on it’s shabby chicness which is lovely but the beautiful hydrangea wallpaper was peeling slightly and the bathroom door wouldn’t close. The breakfast was fabulous with lots of little dishes of delicious goodness, we could have stayed all day just grazing. A lovely place to stay in a lovely city
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sherylbaltimore wrote a review Nov 2019
Baltimore48 contributions25 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay at this B and B a couple of weekends ago. We stayed in "room 1" which was painted like a matisse paiinting. It had a nice bathroom, and a separate sitting area. The downstairs areas were lovely, and we enjoyed sitting in front of the fire when we returned from our day out. The staff was very welcoming, and held our bags both at the beginning and the end of our stay so we could explore the city. Breakfast was a bunch of small plates, which we found more than adequate, and enjoyed. In fact, I loved one their almond cake, and they were happy to share the recipe, which I plan on making over Thanksgiving weekend. The Inn is a good 25 minutes walk from downtown, but Ubers are easy as well. We liked the neighborhood location, and felt safe even at night walking back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$162 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pomegranate hotel portland
LOCATION
United StatesMainePortland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pomegranate Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Pomegranate Inn?
Nearby attractions include Hadlock Field (0.6 miles), Portland Museum of Art (0.6 miles), and Victoria Mansion (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pomegranate Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Pomegranate Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Pomegranate Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pomegranate Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pomegranate Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Emilitsa, The Green Elephant, and Empire Chinese Kitchen.
Are there any historical sites close to Pomegranate Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wadsworth-Longfellow House (0.8 miles), Goddard Mansion (3.3 miles), and Fort Gorges (2.7 miles).