We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,279: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a typical Hampton Inn experience. This is meant as a compliment. The hotel is convenient to the Portland Waterfront and downtown shopping areas. The hotel is clean and well laid out. Our room was clean (felt almost new). The only issue was parking. The hotel offers valet parking but if you chose to self park then you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Global-Bivouac
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice rooms, very nice staff. Great downtown location. Good restaurant. Easy for whole family, including pool. I would recommend for folks looking to enjoy Portland any time of year, and any of the downtown offerings.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank washsenators
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for staying with us during your visit to Portland we truly appreciate it. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. until we see you again we wish you and your family a happy holiday season! My best, Lindsey struck General Manager

Washington, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room itself was comfortable (after the chemical air freshener aroma subsided hours after check-in). We disliked being near the elevator, as it was noisy when we were trying to go to sleep. (My husband and I stayed with our two kids, ages 9 and 3.) Also disliked the vacuuming into the walls at 9 pm. The fan was extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emilygO6608IF
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for providing your feedback. I am truly saddened that you did not enjoy your stay. We can make simple edits to our operation to ensure this does not happen again. I assure you better in the future. Once again thank you for taking he time to let me know...

Mansfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here multiple times this year and never disappoints! Staff is super friendly and helpful. Had a spacious room with a great view. Beds are very comfortable and the room was spotless. Lobby is very modern and offers plenty of seating for relaxing and enjoying take out from one of the fine eateries in the Portland area or the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle O
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Michelle, Thank you so mcuh for taking time out of your day to write about your stay with us. I am elated you enjoy your stays and cannot wait to welcome you again. until then, have a wonderful holiday season. My best, Lindsey Struck General Manager

Vermont, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Downtown Waterfront for a girls weekend because of the location in the Old Port. We were able to walk to everything - good shopping and a great selection of restaurants. I would definitely stay again. The rooms are clean and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The valet staff was the best...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie B
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Julie, Girls weekend!! I need one of those soon. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we hope to be your #1 choice for the next girls weekend! I wish you and your family and amazing holiday season! My best, Lindsey Struck General Manager

Southwest Harbor, Maine
Reviewed 1 week ago

We choose Hampton Inn because they have a standard of excellence, rooms are always clean, beds are comfortable and staff is very accommodating. This particular Hampton has an excellent restaurant attached.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Memebj
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Memebj, I am so happy you found the accomodations to your liking. We truyly appreciate your continued business and look forward to seeing you again soon! My best, Lindsey Struck General Manager

Boston suburbs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Could not find better location to explore Portland. Near the best restaurants, shops and waterfront. Staff was very friendly; valets were so helpful. Definitely recommend it. Reasonable price too! I will absolutely return for another stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PTlady
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to do so. We appreciate you staying with us and cannot wait to see you again soon. Happy holidays to you and you family. My best, Lindsey Struck General Manager

Exeter, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Management living on another planet while trying to run what was a nice Portland hotel .confusion at front desk over a reservation made a month & 1/2 in advance tied up 40 minutes of our time with trips up to a room that was not what we reserved and implying we reserved the wrong room which was incorrect they had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mtnjam3
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am saddened to hear of your frustrations. My Assistant did alert me to the situation that happened and it seems we were indeed not sent the appropriate booking information for your specific reservation. Though we do try to accommodate all the requirements of our guests reservations...

Canberra
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found the Hampton Inn a great base for exploring the city, delighting in great restaurants, and resting after long drives, tiring visits, and a disappointing election. Perhaps the people of Portland were the stand-out memory. The hotel breakfast is suited to American tastes, but for overseas visitors some of the choices were too sweet, too refined and lacking in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TerryCanberra
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Terry, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. What an election it was! I appreciate you noting that Portland was a standout we do try very hard. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon! My best, Lindsey Struck

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was clean and staff was accommodating. Be prepared to use the valet service for your car but the valets are GREAT! There is even a book exchange near the front door. Nice lobby and breakfast are for lounging. Will be happy to visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedCat01
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi RedCat! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. thank you for staying and we hope to see you again soon. My best, Lindsey Struck

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

513 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (347)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
King Studio Suite With View (62)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Standard King Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two Queen Beds (58)
Viewed
Two Queen Beds With View Room (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,208 reviews
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: $123 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get forth floor with the bay biew”
 of 5 bubbles Niveabona, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles jayh424, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Higher floors for less noise”
 of 5 bubbles smilinice, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Top Floor, Harbor Views”
 of 5 bubbles charlesbC9954KV, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“Our room was located across from the ice machine, and we could hear it all night”
 of 5 bubbles SanDiego, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay