Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club

Views of from our patio and property at the Yachtsman
Traveler (106)
Harborfront Bungalow
Room & Suite (38)
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 4 inns in Kennebunkport
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Choose the Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club for your Kennebunkport escape, and you're a short walk or bike ride from beaches, attractions and the eclectic, sophisticated galleries, boutiques and restaurants that make Dock Square the most alluring shopping and dining enclave on the Maine Coast.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Boating
Canoeing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German
134Reviews1Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 105
  • 12
  • 10
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Harris M wrote a review Aug 2020
Hoboken, New Jersey68 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can’t say enough about The Yachtsman.
I had never been to Maine and didn’t know what to expect. The Yachtsman exceeded all expectations!! Check in was a breeze. And while I don’t usually like one-story open-air rooms, this hotel has been renovated perfectly that it doesn’t feel like your grandmother’s motel. The rooms have all been impeccably designed and have the exterior patio in each room overlooking the marina was the perfect place to catch up on emails or have a cocktail. I loved the bagged breakfast left by your door each morning. Make sure to open your door by 8:30 as one day was warm blueberry scones and the next was warm blueberry muffins. Having them delivered warm was the perfect touch! Also I loved that it was walking distance into town, as well as the free bikes on site. Make sure to take advantage of these. I would also be remissed if I didn’t give a shoutout to Miranda! She was amazing with recommendations as well as making sure the hotel stays spotless! Already looking forward to a trip back!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri Terri, General Manager at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Hi HarrisM1315! Thank you very much for your review and selecting us to stay with! It is so nice to hear that we knocked it out of the park for your visit! Love to hear that you enjoyed the Daily Bakery bag drop! It has been a hit with guests this season for sure :) Miranda is pretty great and so are her tips and of course her cocktails! We hope to welcome you back to Kennebunkport soon! Thank you again! Terri
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dleyerle wrote a review Oct 2020
Arlington, Texas6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for an unsurpassed waterfront getaway this fall, or next year for that matter, look no further. You will not regret visiting Kennebunkport and staying at the Yachtsman. Our first stay at the Yachtsman was in 2001, and each year we eagerly await our next visit. The rooms and the entire property are exceptional. Check the pictures on their website. They are not staged….this is exactly how the rooms and property look. All rooms overlook the water, and your patio is probably less than 50 feet from water’s edge. The view is incredible, and the rising sun on the marina and sunsets are unforgettable. With all the restrictions due to COVID-19 we really did not know what to expect on our visit this year. Upon arrival thou, it was clear that management took great care to ensure safe practices by the staff in no way diminished the great experience we have always had. Although management is not currently on the property due to COVID, front office staff communicated via text on a regular basis. The entire staff, starting with the General Manager were not only friendly and professional, but they also provided superior customer service and were readily available if a need were to arise. If you check out a map, you will notice the Yachtsman is in a great location with a short walk to numerous restaurants and shops. Its also a great place to start your bike ride, run, or scenic waterfront walk. We already have made reservations for next year and can’t wait to come back. You will not be disappointed visiting the Yachtsman!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad view anyhere on the property
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri Terri, General Manager at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club
Responded Oct 4, 2020
Hi dleyerle, Thank you so much for your kind words and for staying with us. It is so so lovely to read that you appreciated the steps we have taken to keep guests and staff safe. We all love to hear that you once again enjoyed your time with us at the Yachtsman and in Kennebunkport and we all look forward to your return! Thank you again Terri
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Malex16 wrote a review May 2021
Potomac, Maryland92 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Have been going to The Yachtsman and Kennebunkport for years. Decided to take a friend up to introduce her to my happy place. She LOVED The Yachtsman and I was thrilled! It’s so clean and has great decor! COVID has changed It a bit as was expected. No “real” front desk people( which I miss). There’s a sign on the door to text a number and the text greets you and you’re directed to download an OpenKey app which opens your door for you. Loved the keyless entry, but I do miss the smiling desk staff!
No housekeeping everyday, but you can fill out a list of things you need and put It on your doorknob and they’ll get It for you.
A bag of pastries, yogurt, fruit, juice, etc. was left on your door every morning which was reminiscent of the original Yachtsman service. That was great!
During the day, you’d get nice texts asking if you needed anything which was also wonderful and personal.
The only drawback, and thus the 4 not 5 stars, was when I asked for a 1:00pm late checkout. Checkout was 11:00 and I knew It was a long shot, but we had a 5:00pm flight and wanted to have a bit longer at this home base. I was told we could stay til 12:00pm( fine!) with a $50 fee( not fine!). I was shocked and asked why the fee and was told It was company policy and It had to do with extra cleaning process, etc. Keep in mind It was off season and the motel is not even close to capacity! Ive never had a late check out fee…. Ever! The staff onsite are doing a great job so this is not a criticism on them, but CDC says surface transmission isn’t a thing and good products will do just fine. I just think from
A customer service standpoint a $50 fee to stay one more hour may need to be looked at.
The Yachtsman is our go to for sure and we appreciate all the staff who are working hard to adjust to this situation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri Terri, General Manager at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club
Responded May 27, 2021
HI Malex16, Thank you so much for staying and your review. We absolute appreciate you taking the time to post here and it really is a great soundboard for change. Thank you again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dsheridan95 wrote a review Jul 2021
East Greenwich, Rhode Island40 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Yachtsman did not disappoint. Great ease with check in. They use a texting system to let you know when your room is ready(we had 2 rooms, both ready before check in time) and to check in with you throughout your stay. Also you can download a key app to use your phone to open your door but they will provide you with keys if you need. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms and an adorable backyard outdoor space that is private and overlooks a marina. The rooms are very nicely decorated. A .4 mile walk to shops and restaurants. On Ocean Rd and opposite direction of town is a great walk or bike ride along the coast. They have bikes on premises to use. Each morning you get a paper bag breakfast that includes a baked item, orange juice and fruit. I read complaints about the breakfast but we thought it perfect for grab and go. When spending time in such a pretty location the last thing I’m interested in is an hour long breakfast at a restaurant. Coffee at the little bar area is complementary through the day. My only complaint was having to leave. I will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri Terri, General Manager at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club
Responded Jul 21, 2021
Hi dsheridan95 Thank you very much for your kind words! We are happy to hear you had a nice time with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brittany T wrote a review Oct 2020
Teaneck, New Jersey24 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I came here for our anniversary and we loved it here. The rooms were very clean and updated with an excellent view. They provided everything we could possibly need from hand sanitizer, masks, soaps, shampoo, and more. We will definitely be back next year for our anniversary.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri Terri, General Manager at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club
Responded Nov 2, 2020
HI G8849AKbrittanyt, Thank you for staying with us! It is awesome to hear that you had a great time! We hope you return for your anniversary!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kidfixer wrote a review Aug 2020
Jericho, New York23 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We love Kennebunkport and wanted to find a hotel with private entrances, to avoid a crowded lobby. The Yachtsman was perfect. It’s more of a motel than a hotel — you drive up to the door of your room — but the room was spacious, pretty and faced the harbor. Everything was very clean and hotel staff all wore masks. They have a cute little pool, right on the dock, and comfy cushioned chaises, which they keep 6 feet apart. A continental breakfast is hung on each door by 8:30.

By the way, when I booked the room, I mentioned that it was our anniversary, and they treated us to champagne and cookies.

Finally, this place has a terrific location; right on Ocean Avenue, a short walk from the center of town. We’ve visited KPT several times, usually staying at one of the old inns. This place was much better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim_D wrote a review Jan 2020
Maine11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The perfect combination of privacy and proximity with a gorgeous view of the Kennebunk River. We loved hanging out on our patio. Every room has one but the landscaping is so dense and well-placed, it feels like you’re all alone. Happy hour at the outdoor bar is awesome and when you’re ready to head out for the night, Dock Square is 5-minute walk so you don’t have to worry about driving. Our room was spacious, bright and beautiful and the bathroom was fantastic. Super friendly staff, too!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melissa Mitchell, Owner at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Hi RamblingJim! Thank you so much for staying with us! We love to hear that you dug the vibe and our Happy Hour is pretty rad :) We hope you come back again and enjoy Kennebunkport and the YHMC! Thanks again Terri
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flynmatt wrote a review Sep 2022
Key West, Florida61 contributions57 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First off let me start by saying this is not a luxury hotel/resort. In fact, the idea that they charge a resort fee is ridiculous. The only resort amenity is a pool that floats in the marina as its built on a small barge which is really cool, but that's it. What this is are a group of beautiful luxury bungalows each with its own veranda overlooking the river. So that sets the expectation which for many may make this the perfect spot but not what we were expecting. We were looking for more of the quintessential New England luxury hotel which this isn't. It's close to the center of town so a short walk to all the quaint shops and restaurants you expect in Kennebunkport.

Here is our take on the facility. Keep in mind these are balanced against the idea that we were visiting a luxury hotel and resort.

Pro's:
Location, a quarter mile to town so easy to get around

Good free parking with room assigned spaces

Spacious rooms very well appointed

Semi-private verandas out your rooms back door with covered bistro tables and
Adirondack chairs for relaxing and taking in the beautiful view that each room has

Ordered several extras ahead of time (Charcuterie, champagne, flowers, etc.) that were very nice and right there waiting when we got in

Daily room cleaning was on time and very good (unusual these days)

Con's:
No actual "hotel". No interior area to talk to staff, pick up information, sit at a bar or relax away from the room

Communication with "front desk" is via texts (don't know who they went to) and in our case were not readily responded to

No concierge to help with sights or restaurant reservations

No microwave in the room, many restaurants serve large portions so next day leftovers would have been nice to heat up.

No grounds to speak of so going for a walk around the property was out

Continental breakfast was okay but not up to "luxury hotel" level by any means

Rooms advertise gas fireplaces, but they are just lights with a heater blowing out the bottom. No big deal to most but disappointing for us. Being from Florida we don't see fireplaces very often and we were looking forward to it
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Derek Hunt, General Manager at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club
Responded Sep 9, 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay here with us! I'm certainly disappointed to read you didn't find our property to your liking or potentially not necessarily what you were looking for in a hotel. While, we don't have an interior space to relax or speak with staff, we have a beautiful outdoor patio overlooking the water which many of our guests utilize. Additionally, we offer a selection of alcoholic beverages at our front desk that our guests are more than welcome to enjoy on the patio. Lastly, in terms of communication, text messaging is simply one avenue for our guests to reach the front desk. We are always more than happy to speak with our guests over the phone, email, or in person! Again, I'm sincerely sorry you didn't find our property to your liking but truly hope you will visit Kennebunkport again soon and stay at one of our many great hotels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
allineirinckx wrote a review Sep 2020
North Scituate, Rhode Island6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed this past weekend at Yachtsman Hotel and we were pleasantly surprised and elated! The room was perfect but it's the outside space that makes this hotel worth every penny! To be able to sit out on the well maintained lawn and watch the boats go by - it's peaceful, quiet and perfect. The location to the town was also great. Not too far and not too close! It was a strange feeling to not see anyone during COVID but the line of communication was open through text messages so I felt great about the experience. I will recommend this to friends and we will be back again!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri Terri, General Manager at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club
Responded Oct 4, 2020
Hi allineirinckx, Thank you so so much for staying with us! We are all very happy to see that you had a lovely time at the hotel. These are strange days indeed. The Yachtsman really is a wonderfully special place and we each look forward to seeing you again! Thanks Terri
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cmarsig wrote a review Sep 2020
Westerly, Rhode Island79 contributions76 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
PROS: Check in process was easy and staff was friendly. The rooms are literally steps from the water, very clean and comfortable. There is a small bistro set off the slider which was great for sitting and enjoying a quiet breakfast as well as 2 Adirondack chairs in the grassy area. Very inviting! A bagged breakfast was delivered each morning due to COVID restrictions. Fruit and juice with a baked good. The hotel is within walking distance of town and we walked out to Walker’s Point and beyond each day. The scenery is gorgeous! It’s really a quaint hotel in a perfect spot.
CONS: As luck would have it we had a power outage one night. No explanation, apology or call to check on us.
Our WiFi for the TV didn’t work. We wanted to watch a movie one evening bc it was raining. I received a text with a number to call after 6pm, so called to have someone check it. The person at the number told me I had the wrong number. I had to explain to her about the text, etc. She reluctantly took my phone number to have someone come help. Nobody came or called us back ever.
If you are sitting outside and your next door neighbor is out there also, you can hear everything. The person next door was so loud outside on the phone that we had to go back into our room... twice!
The pool is not heated and is on a dock in the middle of the marina so that you’re in full view of everyone at the hotel and marina.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri Terri, General Manager at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club
Responded Sep 6, 2020
Hi cmarsig, Thank you for staying with us and for this candid review. We appreciate the feedforward on your experience. I do not believe anyone has an explanation as to why the power went out in Kennebunkport, I did see a report that it had something to do with transformers as the entire town was without power. These are all valid mentions and as we continue to operate in a pandemic, working remotely to maintain safety protocols and standards, we learn something new every day. We all are truly disappointed that we feel short on your stay. If you do decide to come back to Kennebunkport we hope you will reach out to us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim K asked a question Jun 2022
Austin, Texas40 contributions
Is there a Keurig or coffee maker in the room and a refrigerator?
Answer from bigjoe950
Berkley, Michigan563 contributions80 helpful votes
Yes, a small refrigerator. There is, I believe, a small coffee machine, but they put out coffee every morning near the front desk.
Erin G wrote a tip Dec 2023
Durham, New Hampshire12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is good. Car right in front of unit. Products used were great"
Read full review
Reina802 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Essex, Vermont61 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just know there is limited personnel on site to take care of unexpected issues if you go off season"
Read full review
MerriNotMere wrote a tip Nov 2023
Leicester, Massachusetts74 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is assigned & steps from your door. Unit includes hair dryer, toiletries, 2 complimentary bottles of water, a keurig, mini fridge"
Read full review
Tanner G. wrote a tip Dec 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms with fireplaces are a must this time of year!"
Read full review
Traveler9796 wrote a tip Nov 2022
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts129 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you bring a pet, there is a nice little park next door to walk in. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kennebunkport area.
PRICE RANGE
$340 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
yachtsman lodge & marina hotel kennebunkport, yachtsman lodge and marina
LOCATION
United StatesMaineKennebunksKennebunkport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

YACHTSMAN HOTEL & MARINA CLUB - Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club
Which popular attractions are close to Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club?
Nearby attractions include St. Anthony's Monastery (0.3 miles), Northlight Gallery (0.2 miles), and The Deep Blue (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Boathouse Restaurant, Rococo Ice Cream, and White Barn Inn Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Kennebunkport.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wallingford Farm (4.0 miles), Dock Square (1.1 miles), and Emmons Clock Farm (4.1 miles).
All Kennebunkport HotelsKennebunkport Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KennebunkportHotels near Yachtsman Hotel & Marina Club
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars