We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 218: English reviews
Norwood, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Breakwater Inn and Spa is the perfect place to stay in Kennebunkport. It is 1 mile from the small town. The location allows visitors to watch the boats as they come in from the ocean into the waterway. The room was clean and quiet. The porch was a relaxing way to experience the New England coast, a perfect picture... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chriscoggs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overpriced. noisy air conditioning, stains on carpet, torn lampshade, no in-room coffee, plastic drinking cups, peculiar smell in hallway and room, dirty tile grout in shower, cold water faucet turns backwards, view of water compromised by very large parking lot. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone. There are much nicer lodgings in Kennebunkport at lower prices. This was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy R
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I were traveling with another couple, long time friends. We booked our accommodations at the same four locations in Maine. The biggest obstacle's were the stairs. In order to get to a king size bed room, we had to climb 4 levels each with 18 steps. We asked for some more accessible and were given a postage... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karl H
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Karl H., We are sorry about the inconvenience of getting to your guest room. Our team works hard to provide whatever assistance is needed to our guests and ensure they are comfortable. It sounds like we fell a bit short during your visit, and we apologize. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and help us... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was here for a wedding. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are nicely done. They feel like home. However. The beds and pillows wrecked my neck and back. Too soft for me. There are no elevators so you have to carry your luggage up and down yourself. The food at Stripers is very good. The staff is super... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodi R
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jodi R, Thank you for joining us at the Breakwater Inn and Spa! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations to the new couple! Naz Jenulevich Director of Operations More 

Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
371 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first visit to The Breakwater Inn and we enjoyed it very much. The room had a really great view and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We requested a second floor, but when we arrived, they gave us a first floor which was okay. We actually like that better as when it rained, we had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob J
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bob J Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us! Our team works hard to provide memorable experiences for our guests and will appreciate knowing their efforts were noticed! The next time you are ready for a peaceful escape, we hope that you will visit us again at The Breakwater Inn and Spa. Naz Jenulevich... More 

North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a 24-hour getaway at the Breakwater Inn and Spa. Quaint, quintessential New England facility ... drinks on the back patio, comfortable rooms overlooking the water, and a wonderful restaurant - where we dined with all the doors open and the night breeze blowing through. The spa was perfect ... and I'm still feeling the afterglow. A definite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine L
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christine L, Thank you for sharing such a detailed description of your stay with us! It is an honor to know that The Breakwater Inn and Spa created such vivid memories of New England for you. I am so excited that you are planning to return and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Naz Jenulevich Director of Operations More 

Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Breakwayer in Kennebunport is all about hospitality. With the complimentary breakfast, kind and helpful staff and comfortable room, and acces to the dos and fitness center, they didn't miss a beat. We even used a complimentary beach pass as well. A great place to stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Susan B, It is an honor to hear that you noticed our commitment to providing excellent hospitality to our guests at The Breakwater Inn & Spa. Thank you for letting us know. I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Kennebunkport and hope to see you again soon. Naz Jenulevich Director of Operations More 

Bearsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a New England tour. The location was good as was the size of the King Room in the Spa building. The free breakfast was excellent and served as a comprehensive continental buffet. 2 downsides, the air con was so noisy had to be switched off to sleep. A major problem was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom L
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tom L, Thank you for taking the time share your experience with us. Feedback is extremely important to my team and myself. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Reservations and walk in guests are assisted in the order in which they contact us, and we are disappointed that you were led to... More 

Fridley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They state complementary wifi which is not the case not even in the common areas which really disappointed us . We were not the only room complaining to the front deck ... Rooms were very spacious and clean . The hotel itself is very nice . They have a restaurant attached that if you stay at the hotel you get... More 

Helpful?
Thank kwidman
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operatiions at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kwidman, I am sorry about the challenges you encountered with the wireless connection during your stay. We did have some difficulties with our connection during your visit, and are disappointed that they caused a negative experience for you. The team will work to improve so we can put a better foot forward in the future. Thanks for letting us... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called and made a same day appointment for two 80 minute massages. Showed up and were told that a mistake had been made and that our appointment was for the following day. Even though we were inconvenienced, we rescheduled some things and looked forward to a massage. Several hours before our massage, we received a call offering to cancel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bruce H., I am sorry to hear about your experience in our spa, and understand how frustrating it must have been. While there was initial confusion with the date of your services, our attempt to reschedule the next day was a completely separate. One of our staff, who was scheduled for your service, had a slight mishap and wasn’t... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

239 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Spa King (19)
Viewed
Spa King Suite (24)
Viewed
Spa Queen (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.9 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Price Range: $139 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
The Breakwater Inn And Spa Kennebunkport, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay