We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Kennebunkport is Calling!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
FindHotel
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (192)
Room & Suite (114)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast.
Read more
Room & Suite (114)114
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Facial treatments
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Kennebunkport is Calling!
409Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 215
  • 88
  • 51
  • 20
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sue K wrote a review Apr 2021
Scarborough, Maine36 contributions20 helpful votes
This is right on the edge of an inlet. Great views, rocky coast, cockles heaven. Our room was fine. We indulged in a spa experience, which was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Kennebunkport itself is delightful with lovely shops to explore.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Owner at The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing the Breakwater Inn and Spa on your recent trip to Kennebunkport, 648SueK! We are glad to see your enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
David M wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favorite Review
We had dined at their restaurant (Stripers) several times in the past.When we decided to stay there Stephanie made the reservation and check in process very pleasant and personable. All staff and I mean all, were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed their happy hour sitting outside in the adirondack chairs. This was a prelude to a great meal in the restaurant. Would have stayed a third night but our room was taken. Great service + great food+ great view +great room equals a fabulous time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Our room was in the old inn on the ground floor with private porch. Room 12
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karl Whipple, General Manager at The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Thank you for you warm and delightful comments about the property, service and our very own Stephanie. I will be sure to share your comments with her. We are gratified that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and only look forward to your return. Stay Safe and well. Kindly, Karl
Read more
Aby D wrote a review Apr 2021
18 contributions34 helpful votes
We recently (April 2021) enjoyed an overnight stay at The Breakwater Inn and Spa in Kennebunkport. I originally chose the inn because we were interested in its spa offerings, but the overall experience went beyond expectation. From our meal at Stripers to our room, it was quintessential Maine by the sea. Our spa experience (we got the seaweed wraps) was outstanding - Tracy did a fantastic job helping us relax from our hectic lives. We will certainly be recommending Breakwater in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Walking distance to town
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Owner at The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind words, Aby D. We are always happy to help create an escape from the hectic world, and are thrilled you were able to relax! We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
jennwheel wrote a review Apr 2021
Kennebunkport1 contribution
Beautiful location. Friendly staff. Loved our room. Pay the extra for the waterside room with deck! Only thing we would change is paying for the “grab and go” breakfast that they had to do instead of regular breakfast because of Covid. Was terrible.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Owner at The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing the Breakwater Inn on your recent trip to Kennebunkport! We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
msarhanis wrote a review Apr 2021
Westford, Massachusetts1 contribution
A bit disappointing after spending so much money on a special birthday celebration weekend with my husband. The room was nice, but not as nice as pictured on their website. Gym facility was closed due to Covid and it was too cold to exercise outside, they should have done timed reservations to use the equipment. Front desk staff was not knowledgeable nor helpful at all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Owner at The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your candid feedback, msharhanis. We are sorry to see your recent stay did not exceed your expectations, and apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We are continually striving to improve ourselves and always welcome feedback.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the breakwater hotel kennebunkport
LOCATION
United StatesMaineKennebunksKennebunkport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Breakwater Inn and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Saint Ann's Church (0.4 miles), Ocean Avenue (0.5 miles), and Walker's Point (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Breakwater Inn and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Breakwater Inn and Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Breakwater Inn and Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Breakwater Inn and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Breakwater Inn and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, White Barn Inn Restaurant, and 95 Ocean at The Nonantum Resort.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Breakwater Inn and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Breakwater Inn and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Breakwater Inn and Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wallingford Farm (4.4 miles) and Perkins Tide Mill (1.1 miles).
Does The Breakwater Inn and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is The Breakwater Inn and Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.