We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Rhumb Line Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rhumb Line Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 245: English reviews
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On the pro side, this place had clean, comfortable beds and a low price point comparable to neighboring properties. But the old wallcoverings, furniture and especially the bad carpet makes it depressing and unattractive. NOT quaint, but tired. Location was out of town, but was OK. We would not go there again. I would rather spend more and stay in... More 

Helpful?
Thank backontheroadagain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I just turned 30 this year and have been vacationing to the Rhumb Line since I was 7 years old. Vacationing with my grandparents a few times each summer up to this resort has always been such a fond memory of my time spent with them. After reading some of the negative reviews I really had to give my two... More 

Helpful?
Thank irishxstine
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I believe I was in the area that was redone, but the entire place is a little threadbare. It seems like it was a great place in the past. Our room was not cleaned (dust on the headboard, tv, corners of the sinks, etc) with the exception of changing the linens and emptying the garbage. The pools were nice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SquireMatt
SMBull, Manager at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review

We are continually updating the hotel, taking sections at a time. Next year our plan is to take care of common areas. By the end of this year, all poolside rooms will have been given "facelifts" with new carpeting, lighting, curtains and bed dressings, and the new look of oversized headboards. As far as the Admiral's Table goes, all sea... More 

Montvale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a very disappointing experience at this so-called "resort." While we didn't know it, our negative experience started when we called from home to ask a few questions prior to making our reservation. We were told we would have a view of the water from our room. Anyone who has stayed at the Rhumb Line knows that's impossible. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank cvs9
SMBull, Manager at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I can't imagine anyone on my desk staff saying that we have a water view. Might you have confused your phone call to us with a conversation with another hotel? We are in the middle of our summer season and every room is filled almost nightly. I get many positive comments... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kennebunkport hotels

Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We rented for one night and enjoyed every minute! The pools and jacuzzi are well maintained and the staff is very friendly. The food looked very good although we only had the continental breakfast which was well stocked. The room is very outdated but nice and clean, the bed was exceptionally comfortable! We would definitely go back! There was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michele K
SMBull, General Manager at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you with your grandkids!!!! More 

Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Have you seen the movie Dirty Dancing? Well, this is the mini-version. The pool is immaculate. The young people running the outdoor restaurant and bar are welcoming. The food and drinks are cheap! The food is okay! Breakfast is unexciting, but plentiful. The all-day trolley stops at this hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beninati1
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

We just had a perfect trip to the Rhumb Line. The rooms were clean, new rugs, new towels and beds were comfortable. Very convenient if you want to head to Dock Square or Goose Rocks Beach. The service, food, and drinks at the pool grill bar were excellent! We'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank dcslapshot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

I think this is a great place for people with children. There is lots of room for them to run around, the pool is nice, the breakfast has lots of choices, the bar and food is very affordable and there seem to be lots of other children and families. We walked along ocean ave into Kennebunkport which took about an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leon W
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

We were in Maine for a week, stayed at four different motels and wouldn't stay here again even if it were free! We stayed one night and the carpets are old, filthy, stained and smelly! The outdoor pool looked fine and the children seemed to enjoy it but the place is old, run down and needs an overhaul! Stay away!

Helpful?
Thank Vicky G
SMBull, Manager at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review

We have been booked all summer long with people who have had wonderful experiences. I'm sorry we didn't work for you. More 

Selden, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

The dates of our visit were from 7/10/2016 to 7/12/2016. The individual at check in was pleasant and friendly but unfortunately gave our party of 4 a hard time about accepting a coupon of theirs that we found in a local paper, after some give and take they finally accepted the coupon but for only one room and not the... More 

Helpful?
Thank John-G_LongIsland
SMBull, Manager at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this review

The coupon booklet is intended to be used on a "walk-in" basis only. It is quite a savings from our posted rates because it is meant to fill last minute vacancies. During the height of the summer months, we often do not have empty rooms to offer walk-in business. The fact that you reserved your room in advance should have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
4:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
1.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kennebunkport's Affordable Resort and only resort with indoor & outdoor heated pools, hot tubs and fitness center. Deluxe accommodations in a quiet wooded setting, short walk to ocean. On Ocean Ave, 1 mile to Walker's Point. Rooms with 2 queens or 1 king, AC/Heat, CCTV, mini fridge, coffee maker, deck or patio. Rooms include Continental Breakfast. On the Trolley Route. Kids 16 & Under Stay Free. Groups Welcome. Open Year Round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rhumb Line Resort

Address: 41 Turbats Creek Rd, Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6502
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Price Range: $103 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rhumb Line Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rhumb Line Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhumb Line Hotel Kennebunkport
Rhumb Line Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay