We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
368 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (47)
Room & Suite (18)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 02/25/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/25/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 5 in Greenville
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine Inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with jetted tubs, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens. Sit back on our deck with a cocktail and enjoy the stunning sunset or spend some time relaxing in the game room. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a AAA 4 Diamond property for over 25 years.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Game room
Hiking
Skiing
Billiards
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
322Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 256
  • 36
  • 14
  • 6
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rachel wrote a review May 17
11 contributions
+1
If you are looking for a romantic getaway, this is the place. From the moment my boyfriend and I arrived until the day we left, everything was amazing. We stayed in the Katahdin Suute which is beautifully decorated and cozy. The bed was comfy and the private patio was so serene. The breakfast in the mornings was very delicious. We love to travel and this was on the top of our list as one of the most beautiful places we've visited. The weather in Maine was unseasonably warm ( 80's) and that made it so much more enjoyable. Unfortunately we had to leave abruptly on the morning we were departing due to the airline changing our flight so we didn't get the opportunity to thank the wonderful staff for making our stay very relaxing. I can't wait go visit this place again!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bev and Larry Burgess, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Responded 4 days ago
We are so glad you were able to stay with us and so glad you love the new look in the Katahdin Suite. Please do come visit us again!
Read more
Rhonda C wrote a review May 17
1 contribution
What a wonderful experience! From the time we pulled into the lodge until we left, the stay was perfect! The rooms are beautifully done and very comfortable. The owners and staff couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. Breakfast was amazing and we really enjoyed cocktails by the fire pit. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bev and Larry Burgess, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Responded 4 days ago
Rhonda-it was such a pleasure hosting your family. We are so pleased you were all able to join us and glad you enjoyed the new decor and fire pit. Please do bring the family back to stay with us and we'll have the Mount Kineo Suite ready for you next time!
Read more
Vincent S wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Beautiful scenic lodge in the Northwoods of Maine. Great hospitality and food. They help you find activities in the area. Worth every penny. Nice fireplaces in the rooms. Dress in layers because the weather changes quickly. A very warming atmosphere. Skiing snowmobiling and many other activities close by.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: view of Moosehead lake
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bev and Larry Burgess, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Responded Mar 30, 2022
Vincent it was so nice having you stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you can come visit us again.
Read more
janrbenefield wrote a review Feb 2022
Sandy Springs, Georgia2 contributions
We just returned from a 4 night stay at this amazing lodge.My husband and I have never been snowmobiling and a friend suggested this area. My husband did the research for places to stay and found the Lodge at Moosehead Lake. I did further research on the room that I thought we would like and ended up renting the Baxter which is in the cottage on the lower floor in the middle. WHAT A VIEW!!! I couldn't get enough of looking at the water and mountains. The room was well appointed and we had everything we needed. We loved the gas fireplace and used it every day. The bed is comfortable and includes a heated pad if you need it. The owners, Larry and Beverly have owned this lodge a little less than a year but you would never know it. It appears they have been doing this for years. I'm guessing they were in the hospitality industry before they bought this place or they are very quick learners! Communication was stellar. We were given suggestions on activities to do in the area and restaurant recommendations before we arrived. A BIG plus is the breakfast which is included in your stay. What a great way to start the day. They have so many options and the portions are HUGE! You can relax and enjoy the view from the dining area which we did every day. Larry and Beverly talked to us each day and wanted to make sure we were enjoying out stay. This lodge has so much charm and is EXACTLY what we were looking for during our stay in Greenville. We have already talked about returning next winter and possibly even this summer to enjoy the variety of activities the area offers in the warmer months. Amber has been with the lodge for a few years and helps with breakfast and getting you anything you need. She has lived in the area for a few years and was fun to talk to as well. If you are staying in the Greenville or surrounding area, and you want to have a relaxing, care free vacation, definitely check out the Lodge at Moosehead Lake.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bev and Larry Burgess, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Responded Feb 27, 2022
Jan, It was such a pleasure having you and Shane stay with us. We are so glad you noticed our attentive staff, outstanding breakfast and amazing views! Do come back and see us in warmer weather. A cocktail on the back deck while watching the sunset is just what everyone needs!
Read more
Allen M wrote a review Feb 2022
Belchertown, Massachusetts16 contributions2 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed for an extended weekend through Valentines day. We experienced a wonderful time and an amazing staff. The lodge has been renovated and yet still retains the charm of its originality. We stayed in the moose room which has incredible views of the lake and a nice gas fireplace to enjoy. Within the suite there is a beautiful bathroom with all the modern touches. Breakfast is an excellent start to the day with many options, all prepared fresh to order and very generous. We were treated to an amazing fine dining experience on Valentines Day and the 4 course meal was delightful. Larry and Bev are truly welcoming as hosts to this B&B they have put their love and mark on. Amber and Kendall are wonderful and at the inn as well! We look forward to returning soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Moose room had amazing views which was the room we had. however the inn offers many rooms with a...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bev and Larry Burgess, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Responded Feb 24, 2022
Allen, Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review. It was lovely having you and Cecile here. We hope you can come visit again when the rest of the renovations in the Carriage House are complete. Spring and summer are a fantastic time to sit on the deck and sip a Mooseapolitan cocktail. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Travelingfool34 wrote a review Feb 2022
Boston, Massachusetts20 contributions37 helpful votes
The Lodge at Moosehead Lake in Greenville (or Shirley Mills as the GPS likes to call it) Maine is a gem! We booked in advance on line with a very responsive agent (who turned out to be one of the owners) for the Valentine’s Day weekend of 2022. The lodge sits just outside of town on the hillside overlooking the lake and the mountains beyond. For those who may be concerned, you are not “out in the middle of nowhere” as there are private residences on either side of the lodge’s property that you can see thru the trees. There is the 3 story, main lodge with basically two carriage houses, one off to either side of the main building. One of those belongs to the owners and the other has three suites on the first floor and a large suite spanning the entire second floor. There is not a bad view from anywhere on or in the property as far as we could tell. We stayed in the Allagash Suite which was in the carriage house on the first floor which included a walk-out, ground level private deck and chairs (didn’t use it because it was February in Maine). Parking was in an upper lot not too far away but situated in such a way as to not have headlights shining in the windows. The lodge is on a main road but sits down below it. We never heard any traffic noise the whole time we were there. A main road often implies a lot of cars but we hardly saw any during our stay. The room was amazing, cozy and just perfect. The decorations were rustic with a lot of local furniture and antiques. Whether it was the owners or an actual interior decorator – they nailed it without going overboard and becoming overpowering or tacky. The gas fireplace really took off the chill and the views from our room were fantastic. We have stayed at Five Star resorts but we found the suite here EMACULATE! Almost like nobody had used it before it was that clean. No dust, no soap scum or mildew in the bathroom, nothing – just clean! During our stay, there was one other couple on the property so we had the place all to ourselves. We could hear the footsteps of people above us in the late afternoon or early evening but it was not a problem. If you are super sensitive, you might want to book the Mt. Keno suite (that’s the one directly above) so there isn’t anyone above you. The water pressure and temperature in the shower and Jacuzzi was perfect and we wanted for nothing while we were there. The main lodge was decorated tastefully and gave you the feel of “old Maine” (having spent summers in a farmhouse in Maine, it was like being home). (No, I’m not comparing the lodge to a farmhouse). There was a working fireplace in the main room and a library close by with a large array of books for leisure reading. Windows in every room looked out at the vista. Breakfast was made by the owners themselves and they even came out to visit and chat briefly. I’m sure when the place is full, they don’t have time to do that but we enjoyed speaking with them very much. We happened to have dinner in town and not at the lodge but I’m sure if it was anything like breakfast, it must have been delicious. While not a negative at all, the decorations in the dining room did not seem in keeping with the rest of the place as there were some paper balls hanging from the ceiling which gave it the feel of a special-themed party or something. But nothing could detract from the food, service or views. On the first floor (under the dining room area) was a bar and game room complete with pool table, darts, tv, a variety of board and card games as well as a healthy supply of outdoor, summertime lawn games – we had a blast, all the while taking in the views from this area too. The fire pit was under 6’ of snow drifts so we didn’t get to sit next to that which would have been fun but the working fireplace upstairs made up for it with ease. We were taken with the serenity and beauty of the area, even in winter but we bet it’s AMAZING there in the summer and particularly the fall when the leaves change. There are a number of outside decks that during warmer months must be wonderful to sit and enjoy the scenery. On Saturday evening, a weather front moved in thru the mountains and across the lake towards the lodge. The mix of dark storm clouds with long rays of golden orange sun hitting the ice-covered lake along with wind-driven bursts of snow was a wonderful display of nature to watch (from the comfort of the lodge). The drive into little Greenville is about 10 minutes with nice shops and restaurants right on the lake edge. “Dockside” was great with good food and fast service. In the summer, boaters can dock in front of the place and during winter, fleets of snow mobiles can be seen lined up out front on the ice. 15-20 minutes up the road in the other direction was Lily Bay State Park, right on the shores of Moosehead Lake. We snow shoed there for several hours and only saw one other couple. The solitude and the absolute quiet were remarkable, and we highly recommend doing that. The trails were well marked and at no time did we feel like we were going to become lost in the Maine wilderness. Try as we might, we never saw any animals (just tracks in the deep, newly fallen snow) but we did see a Bald Eagle gliding over the trees in front of the lodge. This is a small lodge so even when all the rooms are booked, I think this property would not feel overcrowded, unlike an actual resort that’s bursting at the seams with people. Not a complaint in anyway, merely an observation about the lighting outside and inside the property. While there were some soft lights, most seemed like they might be the eco-friendly, LED lights as they were very stark and bright, almost hospital-like. We applaud them for being energy conscious but these bright, white lights took away a little bit from the comfy, cozy feel, both inside and outside. Given just how dark it is in Maine at night, I’m sure they chose those lights for safety and liability issues. The exterior doors had push button combination locks to ensure only guests could get in and while we were there, they changed the codes and sent us a text. We felt incredibly safe during our stay. The two staff we met in the dining room both days at breakfast were very kind and quick with our orders. Side note, prior to our arrival, the staff inquired about food allergies and preferences and they made sure to have Gluten-free items for my girlfriend who was most appreciative. The owners, Larry and Bev, retired from the rat race of corporate life and are now working on their new life and dream together, and we wish them many happy and prosperous years ahead. Whether you stay for an overnight or a week, we know you will love it as we did.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: All would be equally impressive.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bev and Larry Burgess, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Responded Feb 16, 2022
WOW! You captured the essence of the lodge, it's surroundings, and our hospitality in one post. Thank you so much for this stellar review! We agree on the exterior lighting but will be working on exterior improvements throughout the spring and summer! The carriage house suites are also being updated so we hope you will come back and see us. Spring and summer are spectacular at Moosehead Lake. We do hope you can visit with us again!
Read more
Travis C wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
This place is a total scam. Where do I start?! It’s really not as nice as it looks in the photos, and is in desperate need of a rehab. The rooms are much smaller than they look online. The couch was so old and dingy we had to lay a towel down before we sat down. The coffee maker looked like it had never been cleaned, it was brown in the back reservoir and barely worked. The rug in the bathroom was stained… something that could be so easily replaced. We tried to watch the super bowl and the reception on the tv was so bad you couldn’t make out which player was which. When we arrived it was very cold in the room and took quite some time to warm up. The exterior was extremely icy, they didn’t do a good job at all maintaining the parking lot. The staff was rude when we were simply an hour before check in, the restaurant is closed, and they charged us $150 for a smoking fee and we don’t smoke. There’s a lot of other options in the area, I’d look elsewhere!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bev and Larry Burgess, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Responded Feb 15, 2022
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. However, you arrived almost 2 hours prior to check in time and we showed you to your suite and accommodated your 22 foot trailer. None of staff was rude at all on your one night stay and in fact when you checked out, you stated to our assistant innkeeper that everything was fantastic. The only time we saw you was on check in when I gave you a personal tour of your suite. Our staff never met or saw your fiance' and you didn't come for breakfast the next morning. This review is in retaliation to being charged an extra cleaning fee for the marijuana use. You stated you don't smoke but sent me an email stating you put the joints in the garbage can and that you would post a poor review if the charge was not removed. Our housekeeping staff reported the odor in the room and two guests witnessed you smoking. Our property is clearly marked in your email confirmation that this is a nonsmoking facility. It is posted on the guest information sheet in the room and on a card on the night table. Our cleaning fees are also clearly stated. Housekeeping had to deodorize and air out the room after your departure and therefore you were charged for the extra cleaning fees. Be well.
Read more
Rachel G wrote a review Jan 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina1 contribution
The Lodge at Moosehead Lake is a total gem. It's rustic and charming. It is beyond cozy with 2 fireplaces and a big sleigh bed with a heated blanket. The sitting area has floor to ceiling windows and French doors that overlook the huge back "yard" area and has a lovely view of Moosehead Lake. The QUIETNESS and CALMNESS are unmatched compared to anywhere else we've been. I love cold weather and snow (which is why we went to northern ME in Jan) and I was literally in heaven. I could have stayed here forever. We got a winter storm while we were there that briefly knocked out the electricity, but thanks to the fireplaces, we never had to worry about being cold. I could open one of the French doors and try to hear a sound but it was completely quiet. Exactly what we needed. There is a big jacuzzi tub in the bathroom and a shower with a rain head that has great water pressure and was fantastic. Beverly and the staff were friendly, welcoming, and would have done anything to make us comfortable...but because the lodge is so well managed and comfortable, we never needed anything. Breakfast in the mornings is a short, 30 second walk from the suites (where we stayed) and it was absolutely delicious each time. Beneath the main lodge is a big game room with a TV, comfy couch, pool table, movies, and microwave. The town of Greenville is very small but right on the water (frozen when we were there) and has everything you need. No big stores but a big, well stocked grocery store, a gas station. Other small towns are close by. We would like to come back when its warm to see the lake when its not frozen. We highly recommend this lodge and will definitely be back❤
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bev and Larry Burgess, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Responded Jan 26, 2022
Rachel Wow! What a stellar review! We are so pleased you were able to join us on our first winter open in many years. It heartens us to have guests as joyful and appreciative as you both were. Breakfast is the highlight of many of our guests day with homemade pastries, and breakfast cooked how our guests desire it! We agree, peace & quiet, spectacular views, warm hospitality...it doesn't get better than this. Thank you for joining us and we hope you can visit again!
Read more
WongSuzi wrote a review Jan 2022
Naples, Florida12 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed for a brief overnight in Moosehead area. Beautiful views off private deck! Amazing service! They know what they are doing! Great yummy breakfast. Jacuzzi and electric blanket on bed...equals heaven. Thank you! Well definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bev and Larry Burgess, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Responded Jan 4, 2022
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can visit us again.
Read more
Bobbie wrote a review Dec 2021
41 contributions35 helpful votes
We stayed three nights at this gem of a place. The owners were on-site and so friendly. They made each day a lovely experience, always asking if we needed anything. Breakfast was lovely, the views breathtaking and the room was beautiful. We did see the northern lights on this visit, no moose, but did see deer!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bev and Larry Burgess, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Responded Dec 31, 2021
We're so glad you enjoyed your snowy stay with us and hope you can come visit us again.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$337 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lodge at moosehead lake hotel greenville, moosehead lake hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMaineGreenville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Which popular attractions are close to Lodge at Moosehead Lake?
Nearby attractions include Moosehead Lake (0.2 miles), Katahdin Cruises and Moosehead Marine Museum (2.4 miles), and Moosehead Lake Indian Store at Kamp Kamp (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lodge at Moosehead Lake?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Lodge at Moosehead Lake?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lodge at Moosehead Lake?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Lodge at Moosehead Lake?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lodge at Moosehead Lake?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stress Free Moose Pub, Kelly's Landing, and Blair Hill Inn.
Does Lodge at Moosehead Lake have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Lodge at Moosehead Lake accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.