Grey Havens Inn

Grey Havens Inn

Greyhavens Inn June 2016
Traveler (172)
Sunrise Suite; king bed, jacuzzi tub & shower, balcony, amazing views
Room & Suite (41)
Grey Havens Inn
Videos (3)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#2 of 3 B&Bs in Georgetown
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
This property has identified as Hispanic/Latinx-owned and Women-owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
Grey Havens Inn offers vacationers a quintessential Maine experience. Perched high on a bluff with spectacular ocean views, Grey Havens Inn is an historic inn built in 1904 that retains an authentic sense of place coupled with today’s modern conveniences and charm. Situated along the craggy Atlantic coast, our boutique inn features breathtaking ocean views from its wrap-around covered porch and throughout the inn. Our restaurant, BLUE, evokes the elegance and charm of historic, old Maine. Using only the finest, local ingredients, including fresh-caught fish and Maine lobster, Chef Esau Crosby will delight you with his clever take on New England cuisine. We are open seasonally May through October.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
Room features
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Charming
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles272 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled against a scenic ocean backdrop, Grey Havens Inn garners praise for its historic elegance and pristine cleanliness. The inn's rooms, celebrated for their comfort and unique appeal, boast captivating ocean views that many guests find unforgettable. The on-site restaurant, alongside the amenity offerings which include comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms, receives accolades for elevating the guest experience. Reviewers consistently commend the innkeepers for their warmth and impeccable service, which, along with the inn's charming atmosphere, ensures a stay that's as welcoming as it is picturesque.
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Exceptional
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
272Reviews4Q+A98Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 242
  • 22
  • 4
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Larry K wrote a review Sep 2023
Essex, Connecticut5 contributions3 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has become our absolute favorite hotel in Maine. It offers all the comforts of a turn of the century retreat with the absolutely stunning beauty of a small direct-on-the-water grand hotel. The hosts are wonderful, the rooms are comfortable and lovely, most with an ocean view, and the restaurant and continental breakfast are top notch. It is close enough to the amenities of Bath and Brunswick but far enough away out on a peninsula to offer tranquility and restfulness. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali Barrionuevo, Owner at Grey Havens Inn
Responded Oct 9, 2023
We are glad you had a great stay with us and that we are a favorite! We appreciate you taking the time to share a review and we look foward to seeing you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lgw313 wrote a review Aug 2020
Cromwell, Connecticut71 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Grey Havens in is a beautiful spot on the midcoast of Maine. The historic inn looks directly out onto the water. There is a beautiful big porch where can sit and enjoy the view and tranquility. The dining room is all windows so you can enjoy the sea breeze and view. The living room is large with several comfortable seating areas and views through a very large picture window. There is a great old stone fireplace which adds character to this charming setting.
The service was excellent. Our first night there was only one other couple and the second night only us. Eve and Dick, the owners couldn’t have been nicer.
The restaurant, Blue, is only open Wed.-Sunday but there are some local Maine establishments nearby. We dined in Blue and the food was excellent. Unlike some Bed and Breakfasts there is a full bar and they were serving drinks to those sitting on the wrap around porch.
Our room, other then being on the third floor, was lovely with a great view of the water.
Would recommend this for a quiet getaway to anyone who enjoys the ocean views and a peaceful quiet setting.
There are lots of stairs to get to the rooms. Ours was on the third floor so
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
everythingmustgo2018 wrote a review Jan 2020
Crescent City, California92 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful property right on the water with lovely, friendly hosts! The first floor has a grand entry, living room, and restaurant with an amazing wraparound deck to hang out with a book or watch the sunset. The second floor is guest rooms and a very cute library nook. The property is historic but not at all stuffy -- a good splurge for millennial travelers.

I stayed in the Ocean Room with the most perfect view of the water. I felt like I was sailing! I peeked into a room on the land side of the inn and it was very nice as well. My only con was that it was quite noisy upstairs in the hours leading up to and during dinner service (though I think my room happened to be right above the dining room).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lgw313 wrote a review May 2022
Cromwell, Connecticut71 contributions62 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our third visit to the Inn. The first two were wonderful and the owners couldn’t have been nicer and the attention to detail and service was great.
The Inn is under new ownership and you could see the difference when you walked through the door. The owners seemed to be a bit disorganized. The professional appearance of the owners and their ability to communicate general hospitality and helpfulness as one would expect in a high end Inn was absent Their inexperience in running an inn of this kind was apparent. The owner at times you feel like you were intruding or bothering her when asking for something as simple as ice.
The Inn was full and they did not seemed prepared for the number of people. They were hosting a series of workshops so there were more people than on an average day and this seemed to overwhelm them. Each day they ran out of many of the breakfast items, including silverware and napkins. When someone asked for something the owner was short and seemed annoyed. One morning she handed someone looking for a napkin for breakfast some cocktail napkins and ignored the request for a spoon. She complained loudly when someone requested more coffee saying she had already made 50 cups. She counted everything and became irritated when there wasn’t enough as if the guests had taken more than their allotted share of food or utensils.
The first night we were here we bought a bottle of wine. We asked to have the remainder of the wine put away to be kept cold until the next night. When I asked for it the next day the owner handed it to me in the paper bag it was in and I had to ask for a glass.
In an upscale, expensive Inn there is a certain atmosphere that visitors expect. The owner was always frazzled and seemed to have no sense of her role as the hostess
It is really too bad because it is such a lovely spot but the new owners have seem to be struggling with the managing.
Although we love the spot we will not be returning soon. At $400 a night for a room there is a certain expectation the quality of the hospitality overall atmosphere and unfortunately that quality no longer seems to exist here.
We did dine in the Blue restaurant which is part of the inn and the food was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Sunrise room is the only room with it’s own balcony overlooking the ocean.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali Barrionuevo, Owner at Grey Havens Inn
Responded May 28, 2022
Thank you for your feedback, it is most welcome and I am sorry you were disappointed. You stayed with us during our, and the Merrymeeting Adult Education's first retreat program, and we definitely were feeling the kinks as to attendance as not all attendees were inn guests eligible for all services and we will be working with them to refine our program in the future. The larger than expected program attendee count, many of whom were day students, led to some difficulties in planning that were not initially expected. Our comments were meant to be taken in jest but I can see that we struck the wrong tone with you. As an aside, the wine is kept in a bag per regulations and we always seek to share glassware and all goods willingly. I am sorry that you did not have a good experience; it appeared that the retreat program overall was not a good fit for your desired vacation. I wish you had shared your thoughts with us and the retreat program leaders so we could endeavor to make it right for you. We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you in the future. Warm regards, the Grey Havens Inn team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
reneehake wrote a review Aug 2022
Franklin, Massachusetts8 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I went for our 47 wedding anniversary. The facility seemed clean and adequately appointed. The views were lovely from the front porch looking over Harmon Harbor. We stayed two nights. We booked knowing they had an onsite restaurant. I called the day before arriving to book reservations. The dinner restaurant was closed due to the chef having covid. These days, these things happen. If I hadn't called them I wouldn't have known nor did they tell other guests ahead of time. This was quite an inconvenience and there were no compensations made except putting out one bottle of red and one bottle of white wine at 5:00. There were no niceties at all given toward the guests. No cheese and crackers, no afternoon tea or coffee, no cookies...nothing. There was no customer service! The innkeeper greeted us looking sloppy and disheveled. She had had covid previously and was still coughing a lot and most times without covering her mouth. She was running business on the front porch where we were trying to converse and relax and in the dining hall while we ate breakfast.
I asked for a cup of coffee one afternoon and I was told they didn't have any. The other innkeeper (he never introduced himself so I'm not sure who he was) told her she could serve the coffee from the morning. She brought out the coffee and said they don't like to waste coffee. I said it's a very cheap item that makes people happy.
Our door to our room was very difficult to close and lock and our bathroom door didn't close.
The breakfast was good although listening to the innkeeper cough and deal with business transactions on the phone could really ruin a meal.
We did meet many very nice people while there which made our stay bearable.
This Bed and Breakfast is pricey and not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali Barrionuevo, Owner at Grey Havens Inn
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Dear Renee, I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I wish you had shared your thoughts with us while you were here so that we might have had the chance to address your concerns. During the period that the restaurant was closed we contacted everyone who had a dinner reservation as our restaurant books out far in advance - we advise guests to make reservations at the time of booking...we didn't have reservation for you on the books so we were unaware of your interest in dining with us. There are a number of other local restaurants that are open in the area for the nights we were closed. Our guests have greatly enjoyed our restaurant’s fine wines that we offer when the restaurant is closed and the inn’s relaxed, informal atmosphere. Thank you for alerting us to the issue with the bathroom door. We are sorry that the ongoing covid pandemic affected our establishment and that your stay was impacted.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Regina H wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I booked Grey Havens Inn for two nights and greatly enjoyed our stay. The room was beautifully furnished with modern amenities and we also enjoyed the special breakfasts (a potato quiche and cake) on the second morning of our stay. The view is breathtaking and was easily one of the highlights of our visit to Maine. We didn't spend much time in the lounge, but it was also tastefully furnished, with many interesting books around the place. The innkeeper was also very friendly and helpful.

If you plan to have a meal at their onsite restaurant, call ahead to check when it is open. Our stay unfortunately did not coincide with the days the restaurant was open, which was a slight bummer. However, the innkeeper had a list of other restaurants we could head to.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali Barrionuevo, Owner at Grey Havens Inn
Responded Sep 14, 2022
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clifford D wrote a review Jun 2022
Tualatin42 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great place to see the beauty of Maine and get away from it all. Spectacular views from windows and veranda and sitting/dining area. Morning breakfast is much better than continental breakfast would imply. Restaurant on site is really good with wonderful wait staff and an excellent chef. Closed Monday and Tuesday but lots of great alternatives relatively close.

Beautiful and varied sites nearby including lighthouses, state parks and museums. We took one day to drive up to Acadia N.P. - about 2 to 3 hours each way. So we got just a taste of the park.

Wonderful place to escape from a turbulent world. Rates are very reasonable, rooms can be a bit small but are so comfortable, and the owners Ally (sp?) and Carlos are onsite and so gracious and helpful. A positive note for us was no TVs. We enjoyed the break so much! No elevators so travel light,

This is a great b&b and resort! We will definitely plan a return visit.

Mary and Cliff Davis
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: See notes regarding no tv and lack of elevator
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali Barrionuevo, Owner at Grey Havens Inn
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Mary & Cliff - it was such a pleasure to meet and host you! I am so glad you had a terrific time. Thank you for your sweet review! Look forward to seeing you in the future :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark P wrote a review Sep 2022
Fort Mill42 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family converged at The Grey Haven Inn for Tricia and Andrew’s wedding. Ali and Carlos the owners were very gracious hosts and made certain each of us felt welcome. The Inn is beautiful with spectacular ocean views from the rooms, spacious front porch and other spots in the property. We stayed in one of the turret rooms and were treated to a beautiful sunrise every morning. Their restaurant at the Inn, Blue, is excellent.

The property has a boat dock from where on Ali’s recommendation, we took a two hour tour with Five Island Boat Tours captained by Cal and Katrina (both honor graduates of the maritime academy). Cal is a fifth generation lobsterman and while we did not avail ourselves of the opportunity, they offer trips where clients can participate in harvesting lobsters from their traps.

The Inn easily accommodated Tricia’s and Andrew’s outside wedding. Ali and Carlos made certain that everything went seamlessly. The food catered from Blue was excellent: Floating appetizers of oysters on the half-shell, bacon-wrapped scallops, lamb meatballs, and out of this world hot spring rolls, followed by mains: green beans, pasta salad, wild rice, stuffed haddock and pork roast.

I highly recommend this treasure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali Barrionuevo, Owner at Grey Havens Inn
Responded Sep 14, 2022
Thank you for the kind words. The wedding was beautiful and you all were such lovely guests. We are so glad you had a terrific weekend! Look forward to seeing you in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
77Grumpy wrote a review Sep 2022
Fairfax, Vermont14 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Greyhavens was more than we had anticipated, a “10” on our personal rating chart. From the moment we walked onto the ocean facing porch and saw all the sitting options we knew we had made the perfect choice. Ali and Carlos are personable innkeepers, making us feel genuinely welcomed and relaxed. We had the Sunrise Suite which was exactly as the web page referenced. The private balcony was an added plus. I must say we were very grateful for the covered porch on the main level during the sunniest part of the day as the private balcony does get extremely hot, but that small discomfort was easily discounted as we enjoyed early morning and evening hours relaxing on the balcony.

Dinner at “Blue” was delicious, both the grilled pork from the menu as well as nightly special of lamb were a treat.

We are anxiously awaiting our next visit.

Thank you Ali and Carlos
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Sunrise Suite was perfect. The rooms are on the second and third floors with no elevator...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali Barrionuevo, Owner at Grey Havens Inn
Responded Nov 14, 2022
Thank you for the kind review - we are very glad that you had a terrific stay with us. The Sunrise Suite is indeed a special spot. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AKHenning wrote a review Oct 2020
Nashua, New Hampshire27 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Gorgeous location and view! Quiet area of the Maine coast. Attentive, friendly service. Well maintained. Charming old building with a large porch and a common room featuring a substantial fireplace made from rounded beach stones. Lovely restaurant. Highly recommend spending a sunny afternoon exploring the cliffs and walking the sandy beach at Reid State Park, which is close by to the inn.

We stayed in the Sunrise Room, which sports a private balcony that works equally well for morning coffee and evening cocktails. The mattress was very comfortable! The bathroom was clean. The only thing that wasn't perfect about this inn is in the Sunrise Room the shower is in a large spa tub and there are no grabber bars. While I move with the strength and agility of a jungle cat, I could see other folks struggling with the step over.

Yankee Magazine has twice named Grey Havens Inn Best of New England in the last 5 years. They earned it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Georgetown area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
grey havens hotel georgetown
LOCATION
United StatesMaineMid Coast MaineGeorgetown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREY HAVENS INN - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Grey Havens Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Grey Havens Inn?
Nearby attractions include Reid State Park (2.6 miles), Boothbay Region Land Trust (4.3 miles), and Maine State Aquarium (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grey Havens Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Grey Havens Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grey Havens Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grey Havens Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Five Islands Lobster Co, Robinson's Wharf, and BLUE Restaurant at Grey Havens Inn.
Are there any historical sites close to Grey Havens Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Popham State Historic Site (6.2 miles), The Wilson Memorial Chapel (5.8 miles), and Fort Baldwin State Historic Site (5.3 miles).
Does Grey Havens Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
All Georgetown HotelsGeorgetown Hotel DealsHotels near Grey Havens Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars