We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery

Save
33 Birch Ave, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1806
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ellsworth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery, opened for business in August 2016, is a recently renovated inn / bed & breakfast / boutique hotel. Most rooms provide a fridge, microwave, Cable TV, free WiFi, writing desk, one bed, a private bathroom, and a free breakfast. We are located in downtown Ellsworth, Maine, about a half hour from Acadia National Park. Room sizes, bed sizes, and availability vary.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
25Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 12
  • 7
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is a decently affordable option on your way to/from Acadia, but if you’re not interested in sleeping in a converted rehab/medical facility, I would stay away. There has been a clear effort to spruce up the place with smart TVs and new showers. However, unpainted wood trim and ongoing work makes it clear that this place is very much a work in progress. Furthermore, the harsh lights, huge hallways, and medical sinks make it hard to shake the feeling that you’re sleeping in the same bed as old Aunt Sylvia. We appreciated that a basic breakfast was included, WiFi was good, and the room was clean. However, if you’re looking for a cute/homey B&B, we would not recommend staying here.
Read more
Response from Kevin B, Owner at The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery
Responded Aug 24, 2019
We appreciate reading that you recognized that we were "a decently affordable option" and that you appreciated our breakfast, WiFi, and cleanliness. While we "could" narrow the wide hallways you complained about, we find that the hallways are more conducive to our art displays than a more standard hallway width. Thank you for the feedback.
Read more
Writing this review is a little difficult as there were things we really liked and things we really didn't about The Sanctuary. Pros: good location to visit Acadia National Park; very reasonable price; comfortable bed; great WiFi signal; very clean room with what appeared to be all new bathroom fixtures; plentiful breakfast offerings although none of the staff mentioned to us that there were hot items in crock pots on the coffee bar so we missed them. (We are not coffee drinkers so we never visited the bar to discover them for ourselves.) We also really appreciate the creative repurposing on an old building. Cons: no storage space for anything - no closet (hooks on wall with a handful of hangers were provided), no chest of drawers or armoire, no towel racks or shelves in bathroom; fluorescent overhead light made the room feel clinical; hair dryer not provided - I overlooked this fact when researching for our reservation so it was not promised but it's a hospitality offering that's become pretty standard. All in all our experience felt more like we were staying in a hostel than what we normally find at a B&B. We understand that the owners are still in the process of renovating so maybe the storage and lighting problems will improve.
Read more
Response from Kevin B, Owner at The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery
Responded Jul 22, 2019
We are pleased that you really liked some things about our place, like our location, price, bed, cleanliness, etc. As to the lack of storage space, each room is different and some have more storage than others. Unfortunately, due to the repurposing of an old building, we had to sacrifice closet space in exchange for shower space (showers are all new). We may yet find a way to reincorporate more in-room storage, but "one thing at a time", as the saying goes. Hair dryers are also available in some rooms and available at the front desk for other rooms. If you don't find a hair dryer, but need one, please ask.
Read more
(first comment - I was not happy to read about someone giving their daughter a difficult time. their daughter is pleasant, talk to the owners if you have issues.) The owners are offering the best that they can. Major renovations are being done. I won't mention renovations that I wish were done, for the major ones might still be being paid for. I picked this location because it cost less than other options that I saw online at the time of booking. I think other locations wanted twice as much due to the season. Next, my wife has opinions, and she never complained. I knew the background of the B&B, she did not. She never mentioned anything odd. Neither of us notice bad smells. We did not have an uncomfortable bed. Yes, it is obviously a medical building. The doors are large. Our room had a sink that you would see in a doctor office. Noise does travel. However, my wife slept well (I had a few minor renovation issues that I won't mention). Our TV had Netflix and Hulu, but it required an account. That is okay, there is satelite TV and you don't need Netflix and Hulu. We must have stayed "in season". There were eggs and sausage for breakfast. Other than that, there was a large selection of pastries, breads, cereals, fruit, yogurt, juices, creamers and milk. Excellent breakfast. The location is good. Use a GPS, as it will offer better routes to Acadia. On that note, it does take a while to make a left onto the major road to Acadia.
Read more
Response from Kevin B, Owner at The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery
Responded Aug 24, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes, renovations to date are still being paid for and there are still things we want to get done. We are pleased to read that you found the bed comfortable. All of our room TVs are either smart TVs or have a streaming device attached. Our TV service is cable, rather than satellite. While many of the smart TV apps are subscription based, not all are. We are also pleased to read that you appreciated the wide variety at breakfast. Regarding traffic issues: please feel free to inquire as to best route to take. Both left and right turns at the intersection you refer to can take quite some time, especially in peak season, but there are other options we could have guided you to.
Read more
It was a terrible experence. Bed thin uncomfortable sheets did not fit the bed. Room not made up, during the day, no clean towels. When I asked for clean towels, I was accused of attacking their child...(woman in her 20's) Than the owner (wife) came out and attacked me, told me if I was not happy to leave. When I suggested that they tell the guests to put a sign out if they want clean towels they threatened to call the police .
Read more
I booked this lodging while spending a few days exploring Acadia. The room was large, clean, and the bed was comfortable. The owners were incredibly warm and kind, going above and beyond to create a truly home-like feel. Breakfast was a large selection of offerings -- both healthy and "less healthy". It was a 30-60 minute drive to Acadia, but nice to be in a small, quiet spot at the end of a day. I would definitely go back.
Read more
Response from Kevin B, Owner at The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery
Responded Aug 13, 2018
Thanks for the comments. Glad to read that you found the room large and clean and that the bed was comfortable. Sounds like you had a great and relaxing time at our place and at Acadia. Here's hoping we see you again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMaineDownEast and Acadia MaineEllsworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery
Which popular attractions are close to The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery?
Nearby attractions include Rooster Brother Coffee Roasters (0.4 miles), The Grand (0.3 miles), and Union River Book & Toy Company (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery?
Conveniently located restaurants include Morton's Moo Homemade Ice Cream, Union River Lobster Pot, and Airline Brewing Company.
Is The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Ellsworth.
Are there any historical sites close to The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Woodlawn (0.8 miles).
Is The Sanctuary Inn and Art Gallery accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.