We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sanctuary B&B

{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible9%
The Sanctuary B&B, opened for business in August 2016, is a recently renovated bed & breakfast. Most rooms provide a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, Cable TV, free WiFi, writing desk, one bed, a private bathroom, and a free breakfast. We are located in downtown Ellsworth, Maine, about a half hour from Acadia National Park. Room sizes, bed sizes, and availability vary.
Read more
Property amenities
Breakfast included
Wheelchair access
Public Wifi
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Accessible rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Bar Harbor Airport7 mi
Bangor Intl Airport27 mi
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
11
5
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
11
5
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nursing home exploring acadia b bs minute drive bar harbor kevin netflix noise sleep shower accommodations motel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 20 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2018

(first comment - I was not happy to read about someone giving their daughter a difficult time. their daughter is pleasant, talk to the owners if you have issues.) The owners are offering the best that they can. Major renovations are being done. I won't...More

1  Thank Joseph M
Reviewed October 7, 2018

It was a terrible experence. Bed thin uncomfortable sheets did not fit the bed. Room not made up, during the day, no clean towels. When I asked for clean towels, I was accused of attacking their child...(woman in her 20's) Than the owner (wife) came...More

Thank GrandTour168111
Reviewed August 12, 2018

I booked this lodging while spending a few days exploring Acadia. The room was large, clean, and the bed was comfortable. The owners were incredibly warm and kind, going above and beyond to create a truly home-like feel. Breakfast was a large selection of offerings...More

1  Thank Katie S
Response from Kevin B, Owner at The Sanctuary B&BResponded August 14, 2018

Thanks for the comments. Glad to read that you found the room large and clean and that the bed was comfortable. Sounds like you had a great and relaxing time at our place and at Acadia. Here's hoping we see you again soon.

Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Room is nothing as shown in photos. No bed frame, no headboard, thin bedding, missing nightstand table, no table lamps, harsh fluorescent lights, no vanity mirror in room. Impossible to get ready or put on make up without being in the bathroom with the tiny...More

Thank thao w
Response from Kevin B, Owner at The Sanctuary B&BResponded July 24, 2018

Unfortunately, we did have an outdated photo in our Airbnb listing for this room, which has prompted a review of our many listings. We have updated the room photo in the Airbnb listing. The outdated photo showed a double bed, which has been upgraded to...More

Reviewed July 18, 2018

We booked a trip to see Acadia NP on July 4th, and didn't book too far in advance, so most (affordable :-)) accommodations were full in Bar Harbor. However, I was happy to find this little place available, in nearby Ellsworth, so we booked two...More

Thank wendyjc80
Response from Kevin B, Owner at The Sanctuary B&BResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We were very happy to be able to give you that free upgrade. FYI, the two rooms your group stayed in are the only two rooms with showers in a separate space from...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
traveler7832015
May 12, 2017|
Answer
Response from Brenda B | Reviewed this property |
Sorry -- I didn't see your question until today. We were there almost a year ago with our Mom. She did well with her walker and we did use a transfer chair with her, which is smaller than a wheelchair. We had no problems... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All rooms are about the same"
382SteveK
Oct 15, 2017
Read review
"ask if there is anyone above you!"
73annl
Dec 28, 2016
Read review
"Great service, wonderful family, nice decorations"
167christinaq
Nov 27, 2016
Read review
PRICE RANGE
$103 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMaineDownEast and Acadia MaineEllsworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing