We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Brewster Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Brewster Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Brewster Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 425: English reviews
Asheville
Reviewed July 29, 2016

How in the world does this B&B get 4 1/2 stars? This is the 2nd time I've been disappointed with the reviews on Trip Adviser. I would never stay at this B&B again, my wife and I truly found it terrible. Entry/common area is beautiful Room - musty/damp with shag carpet and windows sealed over with plastic. The AC put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review. While it's true that our entry way and common areas are beautiful, we beg to differ and strongly disagree with the experience you supposedly had in the guest room you were in. While any home, or building, may occasionally get a bug fly in. We can be 100% confident there was, and is, no bug...

Akron, Ohio
Reviewed July 17, 2016

If you are looking to stay at a very clean and quiet location for a few days in central Maine, you MUST stay at this location! Mark does everything in his power to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. The room was perfectly clean-nothing was out of place or dirty, and it was so quiet. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela W
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. Your experience is the one that we strive for all first time B&B guests to have! A first time B&B guest who leaves with a positive experience and the desire to choose B&Bs in the future, helps reinforce to us that we are doing things well. We are...

Reviewed July 4, 2016

This was our first visit to the Brewster Inn and we loved it! Mark and Tina went out of there way to make our vacation one to remember. We stayed in the Truman room, fantastic, the breakfasts where delicious and the Inn is decorated beautifully. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Maine. Kirby & Doris...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank destates
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here and vacation in Maine. The Truman is one of the most special rooms, after all - how often can one get the chance to say they've slept not only the same house, but the same exact room, as a former President. It...

Acton, Massachusetts
Reviewed June 28, 2016

My wife, adult daughter and I stayed at the Brewster Inn over a Friday / Saturday weekend. We were in the area for the Maine Whoopee Pie festival and a White Water Rafting trip down the Kennebec river. We had the Honeymoon Suite and a little room down the hall. It worked out perfect for us. The hotel is darling....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Actondad
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Brewster Inn and for your review. We love being able to support local festivals and activities by hosting attendees. We hope you had a great time at the festival and a wonderful experience on your white water rafting trip. We apologize if Mark came across as blunt at any time. It's important for us to...

Stockton, California
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Spent the weekend here while attending our daughters wedding. The place is beautiful and Mark the host/owner was superb. He was more than accommodating to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We were arriving late and he waited up to welcome us and get us settled. We stayed in the Game Room and it was all that you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 364lawrencef
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was great to have you here while you were attending such a special event. The game room is very large and other guests have shared they also felt like they were in a lodge or cabin. We're also glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We strive to always accommodate dietary restrictions and try to make...

Gilford, New Hampshire
Reviewed June 15, 2016

We stayed at the Brewster Inn June 5 and 6 it was like going home. Mark has finished all of the renovations that he was doing and the place looks more amazing than usual. The breakfast was delightful as it always is, the flowers are in bloom and the garden is so inviting. Mark greeted us in the driveway just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It always makes us feel good to know that guests have enjoyed their time here. It's especially rewarding when return guests are able to see all the positive changes we've worked hard to accomplish. Sometimes the British humor throws people off so it's good to know you all recognize and enjoy the interaction....

Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Brought my Husband to the Brewster, this was was his first visit and my second. We stayed in The Truman room and found it to be a beautiful room. Very comfortable bed, clean room, and Mark's French Toast Casserole is awesome! Grounds are well taken care of and for a historic home, it's quite comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traci R
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you were able to stay again and have your husband with you. We work hard to keep the grounds as beautiful and accessible as possible so that guests can enjoy them. Glad you enjoyed breakfast and hope if your family travels this way again that you'll be staying here again.

Reviewed June 5, 2016

This inn was recommended by the local Goat School we attended, and our 4-night stay was fabulous. The owner, Mark, was very helpful providing sites to take in and guiding us to wonderful restaurants. The inn is beautiful and the big window seat in the main gathering room was our favorite spot to enjoy coffee and tea in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diannes586
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. The experience you describe is one we hope all guests will have. It's very rewarding to us when guests use our outdoor areas as well as inside. If we say so ourselves, that window seat beckons for people to relax, enjoy a beverage while interacting with friends, or other guests. Other guests have also...

Reviewed June 5, 2016

This B&B is in a beautifully restored mansion on a quiet street. Mark, who owns and operates the Inn, truly cares about the experience of his guests and achieves the perfect balance of friendliness without intrusiveness. My husband and I stayed three nights and by the end of the stay we felt so welcome and comfortable that I would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliette P
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's good to know you had no issues with your allergies. We strive very hard to ensure the guestrooms, and all areas, are as clean as possible. It's nice to interact with guests and help with any information they...

Waretown, New Jersey
Reviewed June 5, 2016

My husband and I had an amazing time. Mark was a gracious host and met our needs wonderfully. We loved the history of the inn and Mark (our host) was patient answering all of our curious questions. He was extremely knowledgable about the area and was able to recommend delicious places for dinner. All in all, we had a warm,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Bill and Diane. We're always happy to answer questions as we love sharing the history of the Inn. Providing information on the local area attractions and restaurants is just another way we try to help guests have the best possible experience. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dexter
17.2 mi away
Pittsfield Motor Inn
Pittsfield Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Pittsfield
20 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Mill Inn and Cafe
The Mill Inn and Cafe
#1 of 4 in Dover Foxcroft
11 reviews
14.8 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Canaan Motel
Canaan Motel
#1 of 1 in Canaan
23 reviews
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
“A touch of England brought to Maine” courtesy of your English host Mark Stephens. A romantic, friendly, incredibly comfortable National Register bed and breakfast located in Dexter, Maine which is just 15 minutes off I95 and 45 minute drive to the Maine coastline, Bangor and the beautiful, scenic Moosehead Lake and Mount Katahdin region of Maine. My knowledge of the area and things to do and see is excellent. Whether you want to go moose watching, white water rafting, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, fishing, wildlife watching, snowmobiling, ATV’s, ski-ing, apple picking, antiquing, whatever you want to do, just tell me and I will know the best places to be, things to see and the right people to contact. It’s all about giving my guests the best experience possible in my part of Maine. Stay for a night or maybe a few nights, unpack, treat the Brewster Inn like home, come and go as you please and have a great time. Room prices inc breakfast, Wi-Fi, really comfortable beds, flat panel TV’s. Each guestroom has its own bathroom; some guestrooms have a fridge, microwave or fireplace. The Honeymoon Suite has a large 2 person whirlpool. The Brewster Inn is a former Maine Governor and Government Senators family home and it’s a great place to stay. Have a read of the reviews to see what other guests say. I always try incredibly hard to give every guest that walks through my door, the best stay ever ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Brewster Inn

Address: 37 Zions Hill Rd, Dexter, ME 04930
Location: United States > Maine > Dexter
Price Range: $116 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Brewster Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Brewster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brewster Inn Dexter, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Brewster Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Brewster Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All the rooms have awesome views of the gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles cjd740, Feb 3, 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Heatherly room which had a sitting area.”
 of 5 bubbles rchecket, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great but our preference is the Hartherley room”
 of 5 bubbles bwatts143, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“The Harry Truman room has a view of the garden. It was quiet, and there was an extra single bed.”
 of 5 bubbles bawb97, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are roomy and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles elizbarraza9, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question