We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
61 South Rd, Chebeague Island, ME 04017-3002
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Island Getaway? Yes, Please!
Expedia.com
$329
View deal
Booking.com
$329
View deal
Official Hotel
$280
View deal
Hotels.com$329
Travelocity$329
Priceline$329
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (156)
Room & Suite (43)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.1
Value
3.5
Chebeague (pron: shuh-Beeg) is one of Maine's most beautiful islands, currently home to 400 year-round residents, many whose families have been here for generations and many summer families. One of the few remaining inns that once dotted the coast and played an important part in Maine summers, Chebeague Island Inn has been thoughtfully restored to recapture its classic beauty and special place in the island community. Originally built in the 1880s, Chebeague Island Inn has been a landmark and destination for well over 100 years. Just 1.5 hours north of Boston and 25 minutes from the Portland International Jetport, getting to Chebeague Island Inn is easy; and once here you'll feel like you're a million miles away. Dining at Chebeague Island Inn is its own unique and memorable experience, marked by exquisite cuisine, delicious drinks and impeccable service. Featuring seasonal, local ingredients served in creative ways that enable the natural flavors to shine, there's sure to be a dish for everyone.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Golf course
Free shuttle or taxi services
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Bulgarian, Romanian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Island Getaway? Yes, Please!
167Reviews1Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 77
  • 43
  • 19
  • 14
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
fichter wrote a review Jun 10
Putney, Vermont25 contributions4 helpful votes
My sister and I just spent three nights at the Chebeague Island Inn with our 90 year old parents. We loved the rustic nature of the Inn, and we utilized the porch and living room areas daily. The view is lovely and being in the Inn is a step back in time. They were just opening for the season, so there were a few minor glitches. Morning coffee and tea options didn't materialize until 8 a.m. our first morning, and we had risen at 5:30. That was ameliorated our next two mornings with a Kerig put out the night before. The bathtub in my parents room was extremely slippery, but there was no bathmat to be bought on the island. My room had a less slippery tub, so we made it work. Dinner was delicious, and the portions were generous. I want guests to remember that they are on an island, so all provisions have to come from the mainland. That is perhaps why some people think the prices are high: It costs money to live on an island. Breakfasts were fine. and the blueberry pancakes fantastic, but there was a real portion-size discrepancy issue. We were aware of this, as we ate three breakfasts in a row, ordering many of the same items. The yogurt I ordered from the menu was a small dish the first day with a few pieces of fruit on it. I shared pancakes with my mother, so I ordered it again the second morning. The second day I was served a lovely, large bowl of yogurt, much more fruit, granola, and honey! Both days I had it, I just said "yogurt." It was so good the second day, I ordered it the third day - but, no, back to the small bowl and very little fruit. I was happy each meal, but the cooks have to discuss what each item on the menu should contain. My mother's pancakes were plate-sized the first two days and then 1/2 that size the last breakfast. I have worked in restaurants over the years, so I know these minor glitches can be ironed out. We are also hopeful that the Inn will purchase a higher quality break. the toast, though called whole-wheat, was very low quality, grocery store bread. We know Portland has great bakeries, so there are ways to bring artisan breads to the island. The maple syrup was delicious and the orange juice scrumptious. We will return with more family members and friends. What a welcoming place to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We loved the ocean view, though we spent very little time on our rooms.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Marlene O wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favorite Review
The staff were friendly and super helpful. I stayed for one night. My dinner was very good and breakfast was excellent. I liked my room on the second floor with the beautiful water views. The many places to sit both indoors and outside were comfortable and I could relax on the porch even when it was raining. I loved the fact that the Inn continues the charm of its past. There were no televisions or laptops so I found it easy to start friendly conversations yet it was quiet enough to read a book downstairs with a good cup of coffee that they provided. I also enjoyed taking one of their bicycles to go exploring.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I recommend the water view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Owner at Chebeague Island Inn
Responded Dec 29, 2021
Thank you for your kind words, marleneo521-- it sounds like you enjoyed the best of island life! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
warren wilson wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions4 helpful votes
We arrived at the Inn about 3:00. We were very hungry. The bar area was closed until 4:30. They had no snack room, so we were left sitting there starving. The rooms we terrible. they were 10x12. No chairs, no closet. More like a monks room. The sink had rust marks. And, their ocean view, was almost no view. If one wanted to view the water, they had to sit in the bed. I cannt understand why they would charge extra for ocean view when there is not a real view. It was like a lumber camp. WE needed our phone charged. but there only could I not android. A charger for android costs about $30. We were so frustrated, we left the Inn and drove home, and had to swallow the cost of the room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Owner at Chebeague Island Inn
Responded Dec 29, 2021
Thank you for your feedback 31tutherly, and our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay with us. While it is true that our historic building does have cozy rooms, we hope it did not overshadow your experience of the beautiful grounds and island activities. We would welcome a second chance to exceed your expectations-- which is always what we strive for-- the next time you return to the Casco Bay area.
Read more
pbl1111 wrote a review Aug 2021
Farmington, CT28 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for 2 nights recently. We love inns and B&B's so feel like we have a lot of experience. This inn is pricey but not because of the inn itself but rather the location. It's the only place to stay on the island and the views are beautiful and very 'Maine'. Every beach is unique and quiet. The inn boasts free bikes for touring the island but all 5 were always being used while we were there. We were lucky to have friends nearby who took is on a little tour of the island, so at least we saw the other end. The food was excellent and the waitstaff/bartenders were all pros and delightful. Shout out to Ben from Alabama! We usually stay at places that include a breakfast at that price point but CII does not. There is also really only 2 other small places to eat on the island. One was closed Monday and Tuesday when we were there so we at at the Inn exclusively. The porch was a lovely place to read and relax and get to know the other guests who felt like friends by the time we left (best part of traveling, I think). We paid premium $$$ for an ocean view with private bath not wanting to have to share a bath. Bed and linens were very comfortable but the bathroom and towels (some of which had stains that should have eliminated them from guest room rotation!) left a lot to be desired. Toilet was not clean! Shower and sink were very old and the shower floor creaked ominously while in it. There appeared to be only one woman cleaning up. The common areas got dirty after a days use and she could not keep up. Sticky tables and used napkins in the chair cushions were disconcerting. Covid messed everyone up so I will give them the chance to recover having missed and entire (short) season in 2020.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Owner at Chebeague Island Inn
Responded Dec 29, 2021
Thank you for choosing the Chebeague Island Inn for your trip to Casco Bay, pbl1111. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and will take your feedback to our management staff as we plan for an even more successful 2022 season. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Rumpolean wrote a review Aug 2021
Fairfax County, Virginia17 contributions15 helpful votes
I had a second-floor room facing the bay for two nights and was shocked that the room was never cleaned, the sheets and towels never changed, etc. And the floor was dirty on my first night: I noticed some sort of crud or grit collecting on my feet as I walked around the room without shoes and socks on for a bit. And then there was the overpriced food in the restaurant: I paid an average of $43 per meal for one breakfast, one lunch, and one dinner. That's outrageous to me, a former resident of large city on the east coast where such prices are common, but easily avoided by savvy locals. And then there was the service: Heaven help you if you're alone, as I was. You'll probably be invisible to much of the staff. Want a second cup of coffee? Good luck with that. Some of the staff is good (attentive, friendly), but an equal number is bad (borderline rude). One night when I went to the front desk to report a ceiling leak in the staircase, the person working at a computer at the desk ignored me for several minutes until I finally had to speak in a loud voice. Instead of thanking me for reporting this problem, she merely said, "We know." Oh, and, did I mention that there's no phone and no TV and precious few electrical outlets in the rooms? Sure, everyone has a cell phone these days, you shouldn't be watching much TV anyway, and an ancient inn that appears to have never been remodeled or upgraded probably wouldn't have many outlets in its rooms, but still. All of that just added to the overall bad time. You want a nice inn where you're treated well? This ain't it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Owner at Chebeague Island Inn
Responded Dec 29, 2021
Thank you for your feedback, Rumpolean. We are sorry to hear that our stay was less than exceptional (which is what we always strive for), but hope your experience did not overshadow your enjoyment of all the property and island have to offer. While it is true that we prefer a no-TV approach to our island getaways and are currently only offering stayover service upon request due to the pandemic and wanting to be mindful of the comfort level and health and safety of our guests and staff, it seems that there were opportunities where missed the mark-- for that, we are truly sorry. We would welcome a second chance to exceed your expectations on your next visit to Casco Bay.
Read more
Moosevilleco wrote a review Jul 2021
Littleton, Colorado297 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Chebeague Island Inn. This was our first time to the Portland area and to the islands in Casco Bay. I was very glad we chose to leave Portland and stay at Chebeague for a few days as you will get a better feel for the lifestyle (we are from Colorado). The Inn itself is beautiful and historic. There is no better hotel front porch as the seating and the views are amazing! I really enjoyed the seating area/fireplace/game room atmosphere next to the lobby where you check in as well as the dining areas. All well decorated and lovely. The rooms were comfortable but not big. There really isn't much in the rooms - bed/ chair and dresser. The dresser did not work very well but the bed was good. Bathroom was good as well. Part of staying here is also the dining and island experience. They do have bikes to ride - no charge, part of your stay. However. it is first come first serve, and most were taken early on Saturday morning the day we tried to ride. The island is easy to bike around and you will have a beautiful, mountain like atmosphere to ride in plus the ocean views. You can't beat that! We also stopped at the Slow Bell Cafe and had lunch - hamburgers - which were very good. We made a stop at the Niblic general store and picked up some bottled water and snacks. Again - just part of the Chebeague experience. We had dinner twice and breakfast once at the Inn and the food is amazing! Yes, it's pricey but no more than any other of the nicer restaurants in the Portland area and of course it's convenient staying at the Inn. We had a mussels appetizer that was out of this world good. The staff is great and always ready to assist. The Inn had a small hitch when we were there. They lost their water supply about 9 PM. They worked on the problem tirelessly and handed out bottled water to the guests. This fell on Father's Day Weekend and tons of folks were coming for brunch on Sunday and I was amazed that they were able to recover and washed dishes at 2 am when the water was back on so they were prepared. This really is a crew that works hard to keep things moving and on track. Finally, I have one small tip on pick up. We came over on the Casco Line from Portland. I did call and let them know which time slot we had and she explained someone would be there in a van to pick us up. I believe the Portland ferry dock was about a 3 mile walk to the Inn. We also let them know the day we left the time we needed to be back and they are very glad and prepared to drive you to the dock. Do be prepared - when we were there, the temps were in the mid to upper 70's, and the bedroom was quite toasty. They have a floor fan, but no AC and there wasn't much breeze when we stayed. Even with the warm room, I still would not have missed this experience - it is unique and magical. Thanks for the great memories!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Owner at Chebeague Island Inn
Responded Dec 29, 2021
Thank you for choosing the Chebeague Island Inn for your visit to Casco Bay, Moosevilleco! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy all the best things about island life-- including our front porch which, we agree, is one of the best. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Maine!
Read more
Corrie wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
2 night stay for a family wedding.....staff were all super nice and very accommodating, fixing a reservation issue promptly with superior customer service. Bedrooms are typical for a rustic inn, small but very clean and quaintly decorated. Only small issue was that the sink in both our rooms continually dripped, which could became slightly annoying at night if you need to sleep in silence- but the fan in the room took care of that for me. Food was great (small portions but tasty), and Tyrone the bartender was EXCEPTIONAL!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ensure you have PRIVATE bathroom - some room do not and require you to use a shared bathroom in...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Owner at Chebeague Island Inn
Responded Dec 29, 2021
Thank you for your kind words, chow9687. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
DonnaMarie wrote a review Oct 2020
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
It is one week ago today that we experienced the most magical vow renewal event at the Chebeague Island Inn! This would have never happened if it wasn't for Caitlyn, Glen, Matt, and Jess at the Inn. Every detail, every morsel of food, to the timing and atmosphere was simply superb!! The rooms are beautifully quaint and cozy. The views were magnificent. And, ohhhh the sunset!!! The precision in all the details was key because it was a surprise kept for a very long time. I can not express in words how grateful we are. Our weekend could not have been more perfect! We are still talking about it and how your staff made us feel like family. They really went above and beyond my expectations!! And did I mention the views!!??
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Owner at Chebeague Island Inn
Responded May 4, 2021
Thank you for your kind words, dmp1966, and congratulations on your vow renewal! Our talented and dedicated staff were happy to host you, and thrilled it was exactly what you were hoping for. The Inn opens for the 2021 season in a few weeks, and we hope you see you again soon!
Read more
debrag55 wrote a review Mar 2020
17 contributions4 helpful votes
Fantastic service, rustic but modern and neat as a pin. Staff very helpful at all times and many choices of where to relax or walk or get exercise by golfing or bike riding. Beautiful natural flowers even though there in Oct. a few remained and were fantastic. Loved the lack of TV and media in general!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All seem quiet and serene.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen S, General Manager at Chebeague Island Inn
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Greetings! What a wonderful review!! We're glad you enjoyed the Inn the way it's meant to be...."unplugged," so you could relax and celebrate a wedding with family and friends. We truly value our diligent and thoughtful staff and love to hear when their hard work is noticed by our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review and we hope you come stay with us again soon.
Read more
halfmoonguides wrote a review Oct 2019
Brooklyn, New York38 contributions13 helpful votes
We spent two nights at this lovely inn. We had requested a room with an en suite bathroom, which also had an incredible view of the water. Be aware when booking that there are rooms with shared bathrooms in the hallway. The food is slightly pricey but delicious, and hey, it's an island and they're the only game in town, so I get it! Loved the communal living room and fireplace, a perfect place to read and relax after exploring the island. Highly recommend borrowing their bikes to check it all out - their staff are wonderful and gave us a map to follow. It's a gorgeous Maine camp - so do not expect anything luxuriously modern and pristine, but if you're into quiet, rustic Victorian inns, do it!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Select a room with an en suite bathroom if a private bathroom is important to you.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen S, General Manager at Chebeague Island Inn
Responded Mar 13, 2020
We thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you again to our little island paradise!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$272 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chebeague island hotel chebeague island
LOCATION
United StatesMaineChebeague Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chebeague Island Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Chebeague Island Inn?
Nearby attractions include Coastal Highway U.S. 1 (4.9 miles), Eartha, the World's Largest Revolving and Rotating Globe (4.9 miles), and Winslow Memorial Park Camping and Public Beach (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chebeague Island Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Chebeague Island Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chebeague Island Inn?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chebeague Island Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Erica's Seafood, Dolphin Marina & Restaurant, and Royal River Grill House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chebeague Island Inn?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Does Chebeague Island Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Chebeague Island Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chebeague Island Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Romanian, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Chebeague Island Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Gorges (8.5 miles).
Does Chebeague Island Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.