We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cliff House Maine

591 Shore Rd, Cape Neddick, York, ME 03902-7349
6 people are viewing this hotel
View Deal
View Deal
View Deal
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (834)
Room & Suite (207)
Dining (46)


Travelers' Choice
Cliff House Maine has re-opened after a landmark transformation, beckoning a new generation to the 145-year-old resort. This iconic resort inspires a new community of travelers today with remarkable sight lines, intuitive amenities, and emotionally rewarding encounters. Located minutes from sandy beach and just over an hour north of Boston. Cliff House stretches across 70 oceanfront acres atop Bald Head Cliff on the southern coast of Maine overlooking the oceans edge and Nubble Lighthouse. Each of its 226 inviting rooms and suites boast private terraces and incomparable oceanfront and water views. Custom designed with graceful coastal style and handcrafted elements, our serene accommodations are richly textured yet comfortably refined. A luxury spa and wellness center, oceanfront dining, year round programming, and thoughtful amenities, capture the best of New England for immersive experiences in every season.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Valet parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Board games / puzzles
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
2,445Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,607
  • 460
  • 222
  • 95
  • 61
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jclifford2021 wrote a review Jan 12
Dover, New Hampshire1 contribution1 helpful vote
My family and I stayed an evening at Cliff House to celebrate my daughters 7th birthday. The accommodations were amazing and the cleanliness and measures in place for COVID were outstanding. We felt safe and comfortable the entire stay. We were there to celebrate my daughters 7th birthday which was so special for her. The staff made sure she had cake and presents in the room when we arrived, they helped setup a wonderful dinner at The Tiller and consistently checked in with us to ensure she was having a great day. They made her feel like a princess and I cannot thank them enough. I would recommend anyone in the area stop by here, stay an evening or two, enjoy the outdoor hot tub over looking the Atlantic or just sit in your room and relax. Cliff House is an incredible place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
atenciore wrote a review Jan 11
Norwich, Connecticut1 contribution
Neil, the lead therapist is phenomenal! The entire resort is exceptional the team that they have, including the restaurant staff, valet, housekeeping team, EVERYONE IS helpful and friendly. The front desk team make every guest feel taken care of and understood! Thank you! We will be back for a third time, even if the pandemic is not over!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Sleep Quality
capific022 wrote a review Jan 11
1 contribution
Cliff House is the premier spot in southern Maine and is priced accordingly. You can't beat the views and generally the service is fantastic. Some minor upgrades to the restaurant would go a long way to making it a one stop shop.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Sleep Quality
Kate O wrote a review Jan 10
1 contribution
We visited the Cliff House with friends to have cocktails and take in the gorgeous view. We asked the bar tender where we could sit, Covid times afterall, and were told to sit anywhere in the lounge area. We took a table by the windows and settled in. About 10 minutes later, a worker came along and told us that we could not sit there since it was reserved. I explained that the bartender told us that we could sit anywhere, she replied that he was wrong. We got up and moved up into the lobby as there were no other seats in the lounge area. We had to move chairs and tables so that the 4 of us could sit together. The men went up to the bar to get cocktails and wine. One of them asked for a stemmed wine glass and the bartender replied " of I'll have to see about that, we usually save those for the dining room". This was a Saturday night but the restaurant was nearly empty. He did end up with a stemmed wine glass but what is with the poor staff attitude?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Mary S wrote a review Jan 5
Boston, Massachusetts4 contributions5 helpful votes
I typically do not write reviews about hotels but felt that I should share my experience. I’ll start by saying that the first time I stayed at cliff house in August 2020 it was really wonderful. The service, food, cleanliness with Covid, and rooms were all 5/5 stars. My family and I were suppose to go to FL for New Years but given the recent Covid situation, decided it was not safe. Instead we thought— why not go to cliff house! So we booked a stay over NYE weekend. I will say a few things: -Cleanliness I would rate very high again. Rooms are scrubbed and so comfortable, restaurant is so clean and I saw them wipe surfaces over and over. The one thing that my family noticed is that the hot tub (which we all only stayed in for 15 minutes) had WAY too many chemicals in to the point where our skin was peeling, eyes watering, and just felt weird afterward when we went up for bed. I get with Covid they were trying to be clean but I definitely felt very off after getting out of the hot tub and I know it was because of an extensive amount of chemicals -Communication / staff service I would rate very low. I am very displeased with the organization and how they treat guests who are paying a pretty penny to stay onsite. The staff would communicate different times we were allow to stay verse leave since the resort closes Tuesday and Wednesday in the winters. We were first told multiple times on the phone that it would be okay to stay until 3pm (as the hotel closes on Monday’s) then we were told 2 pm, then 1pm!! My family and I were frustrated since we planned a virtual meeting for me and my fiancé’s wedding, since we can not all get together all the time due to Covid and we were rushed to leave. Our meeting ended at 1:30pm and we were out of there. If we were told on the phone ahead of time of a confirmed time, we would have planned differently. Each staff member I talked to had a different answer! When booking, it would have been nice to know we only had until 1:30 pm on our last day to vacate as I felt that I didn’t get my money’s worth since we were kicked out and got a different answer to anyone we asked. Very disappointed as this is a 5 start resort, and typically service is higher quality. Beware! -Igloos were told they were booked all day on Sunday 1/3 but they were not even open for service. Maybe something changed, but just wish we knew they were closed ahead of time -Spa staff were not the nicest when one of my family members got a massage at 4:30pm while a few others of us wanted to pay to use amenities. We paid but could tell they were annoyed we entered the spa — maybe it was because we didn’t have appointments. Overall, I am not so pleased with my visit this time as last time. I really hope they change as I will not be spending my money somewhere that isn’t top notch service!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Cliff House Marketing, Owner at Cliff House Maine
Responded 1 week ago
Dear C3427FRmarys, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Cliff House Maine. I am sorry to read that your second stay with us did not meet expectations. The communication issues arose due to your departure day being the first day of the hotel having no afternoon arrivals. Our staff was figuring out how this process would work and I do apologize that you received miscommunications because of that. Regarding our hot tub, there are no recommendations to increase standardized levels of cleaning products for pools and hot tubs, as the current levels are enough to kill the virus that causes COVID-19 (according to the CDC). We test all bodies of water that are open three times a day and keep records as we need to for any health and safety reporting and inspections for our pool licenses. We can report no abnormalities during your stay, and our records show appropriate levels for proper phosphates and pH balances in our salt water hot tub. I apologize again that your stay did not meet expectations. Your review has been shared with appropriate managers.
Read more
$313 - $883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the cliff house hotel ogunquit, the cliff house resort and spa, cliff hotel ogunquit, cliff resort ogunquit, cliff house ogunquit, cliff house hotel maine, cliff house resort and spa
United StatesMaineYorkCape Neddick
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cliff House Maine
Which popular attractions are close to Cliff House Maine?
Nearby attractions include Marginal Way (1.8 miles), Cape Neddick Nubble Lighthouse (3.8 miles), and Ogunquit Beach (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cliff House Maine?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Cliff House Maine?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cliff House Maine?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cliff House Maine?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cliff House Maine?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beach Plum Lobster Farm Lobster and Clam Supplier, Scoop Deck, and Loveshack Juicery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cliff House Maine?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cliff House Maine?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Cliff House Maine offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Cliff House Maine?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Elizabeth Perkins House (7.2 miles), Founders Park (7.1 miles), and Storer Garrison State Historic Site (6.0 miles).
Does Cliff House Maine have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.