We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Brooklin Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Brooklin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Berkeley, California
Reviewed October 18, 2016

I feel like the inn was a bit misrepresented. The host was lovely. But for the cost of $150 a night I expected A REALLY NICE inn. Its more like a hostel. No locks on the bedroom door. Our room was not clean, nor was the bathroom. There were old towels, a weird toilet. No downstair area except restaurant to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickichardak
emmett, Owner at Brooklin Inn, responded to this review

Misrepresented? ...the cost was $135 not 150 and included a full breakfast for two, the room was clean, the door does have a lock, we have lots of tea pots, towels were not old, and its a $1000 French toilet! But thanks for the nice comments on the food.

Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

The menu is lovely with so many excellent wine pairings! Locally sourced, exquisitely fresh ingredients particularly the seafood, try the scallops. Deserts are outstanding and it has such an easy, relaxed charm. We dine here several times a summer and Chip is always the ideal host.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seasideannie1
Perth, Australia
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Airbnb. My booking was accepted, it was labour day weekend and we were driving down from Quebec. Then I received a message to say the hotel was full. We were obviously disappointed but to get your money returned the hotel must cancel the booking. This is a very simple exercise which the owner could not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janeya235
emmett, Owner at Brooklin Inn, responded to this review

We responded almost right away to tell them about availablility, but through some glitch at air bnb, their reservation went through. There is no way we could stop the fund transfer after trying hard to get someone at air bnb to respond. The issue is the fee Air bnb charges a guest. We offered to immediately refund the funds we...

Rockville Centre, New York
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

You feel like your dining in someone's home. Elegant but friendly. All our food choices were perfectly done and creative. Great dinner. I was surprised this great restaurant was out in the country. I wish I could have stopped in the pub it looked fun

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
Reviewed May 26, 2016

Several years ago, I imagine, this was a nice relaxed slightly funky place with a jovial innkeeper and a good restaurant. By now, though, the innkeeper is tired and the chef from back then has opened a superb restaurant in nearby Stonington (by the way, try that restaurant!). The replacement chef, in May 2016, was wildly inconsistent - meals prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katherine L
emmett, Owner at Brooklin Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry Katherine didn't enjoy her stay here as they were here on the two days of the week our restaurant was closed. On Tuesday she may have eaten in our pub where our assistant chef cooks our Taco night...not exactly fine dining, but good! By the way, Devin was a sous here, not the chef, but her restaurant,...

Reviewed November 3, 2015

This is an old timey inn built in 1922 with an amazing restaurant/pub in the building. It's not fancy but very comfortable. The restaurant has an astounding wine list that goes with the fabulous chef who cheerfully accommodates us (dreaded) vegetarians. It's worth it to get a room for the night so as to make the most of the pub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sattvala
South China, Maine
Reviewed October 28, 2015

My wife and I past by this inn while touring around that area this last summer. Needing a weekend getaway this fall, we booked two nights at the Brooklin Inn. We were so glad we did. This 1920's inn was charming. Our room was large and clean. We ate in the dining room the first night where the food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Having recently visited the Brooklin area, as part of a wedding for old college friends, they purposely and thankfully put us up at the Brooklin Inn. I think we were overly warned and prepared for the ruralness of the Coastal Maine experience, I fear of us “Urbanites” freaking out. The Inn was lovely and quaint, with the feeling that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed September 1, 2015

We went to Brooklin for a wedding and for the first half we stayed at a friend of the families house, and after the wedding we were going to have some time to relax to ourselves but when we arrived at the Brooklin Inn our room was so dirty!! There were weird stains on the walls, hair in the tub...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VenCatC
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed July 15, 2015

While we rarely ever write a review, we felt this particular experience needed one for two reasons. First, we hope to warn others of the potential for an unpleasant dining experience. And two, we wish to share our thoughts with the owner/manager of the inn so that he understands that his actions and behavior were totally unacceptable. We did not...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sophie M
emmett, Owner at Brooklin Inn, responded to this review

Quite a disappointing evening and we are very sorry for it. The purpose of a manager being on the floor is to take care of difficult situations likw the writer describes. He or she can't help if they don't know about it. As for business, its been very strong. We have seen a steady increase in our business. This we...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklin
14.1 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
540 reviews
10.4 mi away
Wave Walker Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Brooklin Inn

Address: 22 Reach Rd, PO Box 25, Brooklin, ME 04616-3556
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Brooklin
Price Range: $105 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Brooklin Inn Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Brooklin Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Brooklin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“we had a bath, most rooms shared”
 of 5 bubbles vickichardak, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms use a shared bath. Book one of the kings that have their own.”
 of 5 bubbles M5433UTjohnk, Oct 28, 2015 | Read review
“There re a few choices of rooms, some with shared bathrooms. No bad rooms, just choices to make...”
 of 5 bubbles frankmF3024DC, Sep 15, 2015 | Read review
“There are a few rooms with shared baths, if that is not to your liking, make sure you find out what is available.”
 of 5 bubbles mpcliff, Feb 11, 2014 | Read review
“check out the bathrooms before selecting a room”
 of 5 bubbles Discriminating_8, Nov 4, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question