We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
62 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2129
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (77)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (5)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Atlantic Ark Inn
Updated 08/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
A quaint and very scenic Inn located across from the newly created waterfront Eastside park. For travelers visiting Boothbay Harbor, Atlantic Ark Inn is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its romantic environment and proximity to great restaurants, Atlantic Ark Inn makes it easy to enjoy the best of Boothbay Harbor. Rooms at Atlantic Ark Inn offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, keurig coffee makers, refrigerators and microwaves. The Inn has a beautiful porch for all guests to enjoy which looks out to the waterfront. Guests may enjoy a lovely breakfast offered on Saturday and Sunday Mornings. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available. While staying at Atlantic Ark Inn, visitors can check out Opera House at Boothbay Harbor (0.4 mi) and Burnt Island Lighthouse (1.8 mi), some of Boothbay Harbor's top attractions. While in Boothbay Harbor be sure to experience local shrimp favorites at Brown's Wharf Restaurant, The Thistle Inn Restaurant, or Ports of Italy. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Abacus Gallery, Ed Brown's Wharfside Gallery, or Booth Bay Region Art Foundation, which are popular art galleries amongst tourists. Atlantic Ark Inn is sure to make your visit to Boothbay Harbor one worth remembering.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
378Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 325
  • 36
  • 9
  • 7
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
BESnow wrote a review Sep 2022
Nashua, New Hampshire104 contributions81 helpful votes
We recently stayed at the Atlantic Ark Inn. We really enjoyed our stay. Donna is a wonderful host. Our room was really nice. The breakfast both days was great. It was a very easy walk over to the center of town. Would highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paula J wrote a review Aug 2022
9 contributions
We had the top room called Sweetness very cozy --- however we didn't mind because we weren't in the room much but to sleep. Room was clean and comfortable with a mini fridge, microwave a Keurig coffee machine. Donna, the host, was very nice and always made sure we had what we needed. Fresh flowers in our room were lovely. This Inn is within walking distant of anything you need, really. The food in the bay area was fabulous! We would go back again in a heartbeat and highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PamelaLowell wrote a review Aug 2022
19 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Nice view. Comfortable room. Quiet stay despite being on road. Convenient and clean! We did the Puffin cruise out of New Harbor. And the Maine botanical gardens are not to be missed! Donna was a lovely host. Friendly and accessible. Great time!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris C wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
This was our first stay in a B&B. Donna certainly delivered! My wife and I had a splendid time at this historic location. We stayed in Room #2. Donna has upgraded the house just enough to have all the amenities necessary, but to also keep the historic charm that we were looking for. The breakfasts were delicious on the weekend and we also met some other wonderful couples. We had a private entrance and a porch which was beautiful. Convenient walking distance to everything in Boothbay Harbor. Seriously, we were there 5 days and walked literally everywhere - it was awesome. Couldn't recommend this Inn more, great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Piggott, Owner at Atlantic Ark Inn
Responded Jul 10, 2022
Thank you so very much for this lovely review, Chris. It was wonderful to have you both as guests: please come back soon and stay Great!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HANS K wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions
We stayed in the room called Sweetness. Located right at the top of the first stairway. Room was pleasant , albeit a bit crowded with a king size bed ( which BTW ws quite comfortable). We had access to a dedicated fridge downstairs, which was fine. Breakfast on the weekends was fabulous - out on the porch - giving guests a chance to chat and get to know one another. Keurig in the room was stocked with a nice assortment of coffees. Although we did not eat breakfast out, there seemed to be a number of places within a 10 minute walk. Our host - Donna- was very pleasant , chatty and accomodating. Location is fabulous. Right across street from a harborside park (currently under construction). Nice open view of the harbor from the porch. Inn is walking distance to a park on the other side of the peninsula. We did not swim but saw others. It's a bit rocky. Walk to downtown area via the footbridge was under 10 minutes. Ate at some very fine seafood establishments on both sides of the harbor.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Donna wrote a review Sep 2021
West Deptford, New Jersey181 contributions34 helpful votes
We stayed in the room aptly named 'Bliss'. Donna was an excellent, thoughtful, caring hostess. We will happily stay here any time we return to Boothbay Harbor. I don't understand the quibbling complaints made in some of the reviews I've seen. Our stay was better even than expected. We had a wonderful time and already look forward to returning. The room was wonderful, especially the tub. I think my husband loved the tub best of all. I was completely touched by the thoughtful to-go breakfast for check-out day. I already look forward to returning, hopefully next year.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Piggott, Owner at Atlantic Ark Inn
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Thank you for your thoughtful review and for your appreciation of our Inn. I so enjoyed your visit with us. Please come back soon and stay well. Many Good Wishes, Donna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RWG48 wrote a review Sep 2021
Bedford, Texas39 contributions40 helpful votes
We stayed at the Atlantic Ark Inn B&B a number of years ago and it was nice. However they now only offer breakfast on the weekends. We have stayed at other B&B’s during Covid and they either provide breakfast with tables set up in a social distance manner, deliver breakfast to the room or give you a voucher to use at a near by restaurant. Not so at ATLANTIC ARK INN B&B. The owner Donna is very nice, but when we approached the housekeeper for clean towels she acted like we were bothering her. Also the lock to our door did not work so we had to leave it unlocked during our 3 night stay. The Inn is basically a Boarding House that rents out rooms. Good location. Definitely not a 5 star anymore and on our next trip to Boothbay Harbor we will look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dana G wrote a review Aug 2021
Rockwall, Texas17 contributions2 helpful votes
Donna was the perfect hostess! She went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. The rooms were charming , freshly painted, and very very clean. The linens and pillows were perfect, towels were plush.These were the nicest rooms we stayed in on our trip across Maine. I would highly recommend the Atlantic Ark Inn
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Not handicap assessable!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
herbieswartz11 wrote a review Aug 2021
Boston2 contributions1 helpful vote
Our room was up a steep flight of stairs, though mostly comfortable and clean, if outdated. We were disappointed that the common areas inside the house were all roped off, unlike all the other B & B's we have stayed at, and our allocated front porch area next to the entry door was very small. We paid for two nights but decided not to stay for breakfast or the second night, as my lungs were acting up for some reason (fine on return to MA). We didn't ask for our money back, nor was it offered. I will say that the Innkeeper, Donna, seemed to be a nice person, and the location was walkable, with a decent view from the front porch. John
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Orchard wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
How do you earn a listing as a Bed & Breakfast when you only serve breakfast on weekends? To be fair, we see that this was stated on the website, but we overlooked it, assuming we were booking B&B. We enjoy meeting other travelers at B&Bs. This was not to be. The first floor areas were blocked, supposedly due to COVID, but this made little sense to us since all establishments in the area were open. The front porch could have been utilized for the advertised afternoon cookies or cheese, but that was not to be either. We never met any of our fellow boarders. We liked the location just across the footbridge from town with a harbor view from the front porch. We knew we were booking the smallest room (the only one available) so we have no quarrel with the size of our room or top floor location. It was clean and well-appointed. We're reading rave reviews about the proprietor which we don't quite understand. It began when she said she never heard of Pittsburgh (our home). We knew then that we were dealing with a strange situation. She couldn't even recommend a place for breakfast. Her brochure advertised the Maine Aquarium as a local attraction. When we told her we went there only to find that it was closed for the entire year of 2021, she responded with, "Oh, what Aquarium?" Come on. She seemed to be in another dimension. The location was near the Lobster Wharf which was great. As highly promoted, this Inn is very clean, but hard to say much more. We wouldn't stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Donna Piggott, Owner at Atlantic Ark Inn
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Dear Jane, I am sorry your experience was as stated. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We have altered the operation of the Inn resulting from the insurgence of Covid. I will work on making our policies more clear next year; I do want people to be completely aware of what we offer. We take great pride in serving our guests and trying to have everyone feel comfortable. There was definitely some miscommunication at play and I sincerely apologize for that. Best Wishes on your future travels, Donna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$228 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMaineMid Coast MaineBoothbay Harbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Atlantic Ark Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Atlantic Ark Inn?
Nearby attractions include Ed Brown's Wharfside Gallery (0.3 miles), The Smiling Cow (0.3 miles), and Boothbay Harbor Artisans (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Atlantic Ark Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Atlantic Ark Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Atlantic Ark Inn?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Atlantic Ark Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Downeast Ice Cream Factory, Red Cup Coffee House, and Blue Moon Café.
Is Atlantic Ark Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Boothbay Harbor.
Are there any historical sites close to Atlantic Ark Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Wilson Memorial Chapel (2.5 miles).
Does Atlantic Ark Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.