We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kennebec Inn

Save
Share
696 High St, Bath, ME 04530-1949
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (20)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (6)

About

#2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built in 1851 by Captain James B. Perkins, the Inn offers a park-like setting with vintage barn, easy parking, picnic area, large peaceful en-suites, and a gated in ground swimming pool. Among other things, guests enjoy a three-course breakfast served each morning on beautiful Blue Willow China, free wireless internet, easy access to town, shopping and beach. But the best part about The Kennebec Inn is its welcoming feel and the owner's attention to detail. Relax...You're at the Kennebec Inn.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
149Reviews0Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 138
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mary F wrote a review Oct 2020
Boston, Massachusetts3 contributions
My husband and I needed a change of scenery after a long 2020 and this was the perfect choice. The Inn is beautifully maintained and the cleanest hotel/motel/B&B/Inn we have ever stayed at. Rachel, the innkeeper, walked me through all the COVID protocols prior to our booking and obviously maintained them when we were there - limited number of guests, cleansing process, food prep/serving, masks, etc. The daily breakfast was delicious and creatively prepared. The homemade granola, fresh baked goods, and the blueberry pancakes were really well made with excellent portions. The baked apple however, is truly worth the cost of the visit!! Fantastic!! The room was large, well appointed and again spotless. We stayed in The America’s Cup Room. It is easily accessible in a quiet corner overlooking the pool. I was able to sit in a comfy chair and read while sipping my wine as my husband relaxed on the bed watching TV. It was perfect for the two of us. The Inn is nicely located near to Bath center and the Maine Maritime Museum. We were able to visit many locations including Georgetown, Fort Popham, Reid State Park and Boothbay Harbor in one day on a leisurely drive. My husband and I cannot recommend Rachel and the Inn any more highly. I can’t wait to go back with my daughter for a girl’s trip in the summer so we can sit by the pool and just relax. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
WillGen wrote a review Aug 2020
Brooklyn, NY12 contributions5 helpful votes
The best three reasons to stay at Kennebec Inn: -- Guests are in the care of a talented and experienced innkeeper who takes hospitality seriously. Every day begins with a different delicious breakfast created by Rachel, who obviously loves to cook/bake. Bring your sweet tooth. The entire Inn is immaculately clean. --The location is excellent. The center of Bath, a 10-15 minute walk from the Inn, has Central Maine charm and several good restaurants. There are two great sand beaches within a half-hour drive. Reid State Park is great. The coastline from Portland to Camden is accessible with an hour. Lots more good restaurants in picturesque nearby towns. -- The Inn itself is a great place to relax. The house and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The pool in back offers a refreshing swim and a great place to kick back with a book.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The front bedroom faces the street, and cars can be heard during daylight hours. We weren't...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
MJKonLBK wrote a review Oct 2019
Longboat Key, Florida78 contributions28 helpful votes
This is a very charming inn and the owner, Rachel, is more than accommodating. We had a very restful stay and a very good breakfast. The inn is beautifully maintained and very clean. We would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
ACauley wrote a review Oct 2019
Grand Bay, Alabama13 contributions1 helpful vote
Ms. Rachel and staff at Kennebec Inn are amazing! She makes you feel at home and accommodates your requests. She really gets to know her guests so she can provide the best experience. The home is very well maintained and extremely clean (yes I checked behind the bed and on top of surfaces to find zero dust). The breakfast is the best I ever had (better than a restaurant). A gem of Bath!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Thomas186336 wrote a review Oct 2019
Lincoln, United Kingdom18 contributions14 helpful votes
Clean rooms but no tea or coffee available even in common areas as said on the website. No choice of breakfast everyone was served the same food . I would have liked to see home made jams or at least some fruit made available.We were served one eggs Benedict with a little salad on the plate. Blueberry scones plus apple crisp was also available but no yoghurts. Only coffee was offered although we preferred tea. The cost of the accommodation was very high when all the added taxes were put on. Overall we were a little disappointed after reading all the good reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Only 4 rooms not much difference. It was very quiet
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from TheKennebecInn, Owner at Kennebec Inn
Responded Oct 8, 2019
Dear Thomas, so sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay and felt we didn't live up to our reviews. I do always have hot tea available along with decaf coffee, this is why before guest check in to their room I show them the dining room and ask what hot beverage they prefer at breakfast. . I did serve whipped cream in place of yogurt to go with the apple crisp. Perhaps I should have served both.. I did offer seconds on the Egg Benedict. Sorry if you didn't hear me ask. I do know I made afternoon coffee for some other guest. Again sorry you missed out. Sincerely. Rachel Parlin
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesMaineMid Coast MaineBath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kennebec Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Kennebec Inn?
Nearby attractions include Bath Farmers Market (0.4 miles), Seguin Island and Lighthouse (0.4 miles), and Maine's First Ship (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kennebec Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Kennebec Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kennebec Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kennebec Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mae's Cafe and Bakery, Cafe Creme, and Beale Street Barbeque and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kennebec Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Kennebec Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Bath.
Are there any historical sites close to Kennebec Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Joshua L. Chamberlain Museum (7.1 miles), Skolfield-Whittier House (7.1 miles), and Pejepscot History Center (7.1 miles).