We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Charles Inn

20 Broad St, Bangor, ME 04401-6302 See on map
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Meeting Rooms
Golf course
2.5 Star accommodation
Come grow with us! Under new management! Enjoy a unique lodging experience in the heart of downtown Bangor. Walk to area restaurants, pubs, museums, and shopping. Large attractive rooms with cable TV, clock More radios, irons, hairdryers, and free deluxe continental breakfast. View the historic city from our fourth floor conference room. Just 15 minutes to airport and major shopping malls. Less than an one hour drive to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Improving daily to serve our guests and the local community even better. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Electric Vehicle Charging Station
Golf course
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room Service
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Number of rooms
Price range
$115 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
The Phenix Inn
Also Known As
The Charles Hotel Bangor
Charles Hotel Bangor
The Charles Inn Bangor, Maine
United States > Maine > Bangor
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 nearby hotels
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
403 reviews
.88 miles away
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
164 reviews
1.02 miles away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
211 reviews
1.03 miles away
Riverside Inn Bangor
46 reviews
1.27 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 198 nearby restaurants
Bagel Central
211 reviews
.09 miles away
11 Central
245 reviews
.05 miles away
415 reviews
.00 miles away
Paddy Murphy's
260 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 52 nearby attractions
Stephen King's House
116 reviews
.68 miles away
the rock & art shop
69 reviews
.11 miles away
Penobscot Theatre Company
151 reviews
.13 miles away
Paul Bunyan Statue
427 reviews
.94 miles away
Reviews & more
31Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 39
  • 66
  • 44
  • 27
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Kristen, the concierge at front desk was friendly and above and beyond accompanying. She really made our trip special. Highly recommend! The rooms are very unique, ours had an old safe that’s been turned into a library. It has an old antique feel with modern comfortable beds.
Read more
Manager friendly and helpful. Cleaning people were nice. Prompt response to request for new towels. Great location. Walkable to area restaurants. Nice lobby area and access to cafe through lobby.

Mattress very soft and with divot in the middle. Filthy worn out carpet
Read more
There are some serious pros and cons to consider with this place.

We enjoyed our stay here. Check in and out was a breeze. Bangor wasn't super busy when we checked in, and it was a weekend, so we were able to secure street parking overnight. It may have been a bit more of a hass
Read more
Great location right in the downtown centre. That makes it a bit noisy through the night especially out the back. 4am street cleaning, trains sounding off at 5am and we w unfortunately timed our visit with roadworks from 7am, but we were awake by then anyway. Loads of character i
Read more
Response from Leeanne H, Owner at The Charles Inn
Responded Oct 15, 2018
Hi Douglas, This was a fantastic review! Not only do we appreciate what you had to say, and the way you said it. But we also greatly appreciate the fact that you did take the time out of your day to explain exactly how your time here with us went. It's very important for the this Inns future that our guests give us as much advice as they'd like and really explain how their stay with us turned out for them. Our goal is any other Inns goal i suppose, and that's to meet everyone's needs. We want our guests to leave here excited for their next return. Not only to enjoy the Inn but also the employees that maintain it. I am sorry about all of the different noises that had gone on around us. It just happens to be one of the things about the location that's not very enjoyable. If that noise impacts your stay though we do have quieter rooms that we could put you in. All of the rooms are very different and it makes it perfect because everyone likes different things. We have a little something for everyone! We do thank you for coming and joining our family. We also hope that you'll come back in the near future and give us another try. If you book with us directly over the phone i will give you a generous rate :) I look forward to seeing you guys again and have a wonderful evening. -Sandy D.- Manager.
Read more
We spent two nights here, on our way on a driving trip and back from Cape Breton. We had a small room on the way there, which was comfortable but basic. On the way back, Sandy kindly upgraded us to the beautiful room with the green four-poster and the old safe, and also reduced o
Read more
Response from Leeanne H, Owner at The Charles Inn
Responded Oct 13, 2018
Dear Foobie, Thank you so much for such an awesome review! I try to do what i can to make our guests as happy as possible and i knew you guy's were just going to love the switch. One of the things that i love about working here is the many different people i get to meet, From all over the world and all walks of life. It makes it even better when i develop a friendly relationship. It was so great having you guy's be apart of our family even if it just was for a few nights. If you ever find yourself back in the area i hope you'll come back! We have even more new rooms that were just finished that i think you guys will enjoy greatly :) Thank you again. -Sandy D.- Manager
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementThe Charles Inn
Sound Proofing on windows Minimal traffic noise
Photo provided by managementThe Charles Inn
Guest room
It does have fire sprinklers. This is a good thing as this building is wood frame.
Pull chain on the exhaust fan. I works but I've never seen this setup.
Missing drain stopper
do you have the address for free parking Thanks
It's pickering square off broad street
0 votes
Show all answers
what about parking and do you have elevators
Yes there's an elevator. We found a spot to park down the street. They also have parking nearby for a charge.
1 vote
Show all answers
Oh, may want to watch some of the Olympics Or Red Sox, Is there a TV in the room?
Yes we did have a tv in the room
0 votes
Show all answers
, just wanted to know if this hotel is near the Darling's waterfront pavillion. You mentioned it was near the waterfront.
Yes it is. We walked to the Pavillion for a concert and is only maybe 10-15 minute walk...uphill. Not a hard walk though.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hey! I live over in New Brunswick. I did not even know about your place. The last time I was looking for something in Bangor, I ended up at a huge inn out of town (it was nice but not convenient). Honestly cannot recall the name but I think it was in either Hampden or Holden. Anyway, I will consider you next time I'm in Bangor. Question: do you have any knowledge of somewhere I could store my car while I'm away in winter? That is a main concern. Thanks. Mel
Use a parking garage in Bangor. $57 a month not bad price call me directly for further questions.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Talk to the staff, maybe they can help choosing a room."
"maybe try a room on the front or back of the hotel"
"Find another place to stay. See the review."
"Ask if you have a window"
"Ask for a room overlooking the downtown square."
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing