We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Butler Greenwood Plantation

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Francisville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Start your review of Butler Greenwood Plantation
 Click to rate
Reviewed December 18, 2016

Best place for a getaway. Wonderful place to stay. We stayed in the Cooks Cottage, which was very clean and had the old feel to it. I highly recommend to stay here. The grounds where well taken care of, nice view of pond, many old oak trees with moss gave an old but beautiful look.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan-Danielle S
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

We so much appreciate your kind review and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!

Lake Charles, Louisiana
Reviewed December 15, 2016

If you're looking for a getaway to relieve some built up stress, Butler Greenwood Plantation is definitely the place to stay. Our cabin, the Old Kitchen, was perfect in every way and included 2 beds, 2 baths, a jacuzzi, a kitchenette, and tons of historic feel. Additionally, the beds were comfortable, and the water pressure was great, I have absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LATraveler26
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

We're so pleased that you enjoy your stay. We try SO HARD to see that all of our guests have a pleasant relaxing stay. Thank you so much for your review, and come back soon!

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed November 22, 2016

We wanted a B&B in St. Francisville at an historic plantation with moss-covered oak, deer, peace and quiet, and affordable rates. We needed two bedrooms with two baths. We hoped for a kitchenette and a fireplace. We got all that along wiith distinctive character in a choice of cabins/cottages and a charming, helpful hostess. A canister of Clorox wipes came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthernLad1952
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon!

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed November 17, 2016

I've given this place several chances - because the beauty of it's location, it's rich history and the privacy of the cottages are so promising. Although the condition of some cottages is lacking, and the "breakfast" is laughable, nothing compares to the absolutely RUDE behavior of the owner, Anne Butler. Each and every time she was even more rude than...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Neeley1123
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

Since your stay was in June and it is being posted the end of November, it is hard to recall just what the issue was or why you did not enjoy your stay as do most of our guests, so we'll just offer a generic apology and perhaps mention that we are in the midst of a big renewal and...

Friendswood, Texas
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We had an incredible stay at the Plantation. Ms. Butler is an incredible hostess and made accommodations for our late arrival (car broke down). The staff is very polite and gives you plenty of space so you can relax. The breakfast is provided in your cottage kitchen so you can dine at your leisure. Henry the peacock will visit you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrModu
Reviewed October 13, 2016

A truly enjoyable experience! I had an opportunity to discuss some of the history of the area with the host, who was extremely knowledgeable about local businesses, places of interest, and history of the region. The grounds are peaceful, and the accommodations comfortable - the Jacuzzi was great. I stayed in the Old Kitchen, which was built in 1796. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cowboy_Liam
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

We hope you DO come back! We love having repeat visitors who enjoy what we offer here...peace, quiet, privacy, history. Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review.

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We visit as often as we can. Years ago we tried many B&Bs in St. Francisville; once we went to Butler Greenwood we never went anywhere else. Great value. The grounds alone are worth the price of lodging. Centuries-old oaks, sunken gardens, fields to watch sunrise or sunset, deer, and then there is the lovely pond and Humphrey the peacock....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

Yes!

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewed September 27, 2016

We chose to stay 2 nights in Cooks cottage which is the oldest historic cottage on the property. The setting is very attractive by the pond and the interior has rustic character and is well appointed with full kitchen facilities and a large bathroom with jacuzzi tub. However the housekeeping is not good. The oven was really dirty inside and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwichickAuckland
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

Since the sets of pots and pans provided in kitchen cabinets for guest use in this cottage are BRAND NEW, we can only assume this guest is referring to the artistic display of antique cookware nailed to the wall and not intended for anything other than historic interest; yes, they are rusted, they are over 100 years old, pieces like...

DeRidder, Louisiana
Reviewed August 16, 2016

My 7th trip to Butler Greenwood did not disappoint. This is a magical, relaxing place to go. Louisiana is such an awesome state to live in. We have everything only hours apart. Spent the weekend in the Gazebo cabin and loved it. So cozy. So simple. Many guests were on the grounds, but no one bothered us. The fridge was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SPerkins2015
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind comments. We try to provide a peaceful respite, especially this week as we are full of victims of the Great Flood of 2016, and we certainly don't price gouge during emergencies (in fact we LOWER our rates for evacuees). Come back soon!

Colonial Heights, Virginia
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Just spent a wonderful, peaceful week with my husband and 2 sons at the Butler Greenwood Plantation in St. Francisville, Louisiana visiting my brother. We rented the Pond House cottage (we give it a 5 star ***** rating!) There are several cottages to pick from and each one has its own special amenities). However, if you are expecting someplace like...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank flowerchildoldie1957
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Hotel
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
212 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hotel Francis
The Hotel Francis
#3 of 3 in Saint Francisville
163 reviews
18.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Zachary Inn
1.1 mi away
The Myrtles Plantation
The Myrtles Plantation
#1 of 9 in Saint Francisville
672 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cypress Inn - New Roads
Cypress Inn - New Roads
#1 of 2 in New Roads
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Butler Greenwood Plantation

Address: 8345 US Highway 61, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-6671
Location: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Price Range: $80 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Butler Greenwood Plantation Hotel Saint Francisville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Butler Greenwood Plantation staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Butler Greenwood Plantation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“3 story dove Côte was memorable. Cottages by pond offered great view. The kitchen cottage is most historic.”
 of 5 bubbles SouthernLad1952, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps choose 1 of the newer cottages”
 of 5 bubbles KiwichickAuckland, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“Check out the rooms on the website. Each one differs.”
 of 5 bubbles SPerkins2015, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“If you like lots of privacy, check out the Treehouse!”
 of 5 bubbles AbrahamPotappel, Jun 23, 2016 | Read review
“The cottages provide various options of adequate space according to the number of people in your party”
 of 5 bubbles 472marcieh, Jun 16, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question