We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia

Save
Share
189 Trout Point Rd, East Kemptville, Nova Scotia B5A 5X9 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (139)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (19)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Updated 08/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Nestled in a UNESCO Southwest NovaBiosphere where every room has river views, Trout Point Lodge offers Nova Scotia's most unique vacation experiences including outdoor adventure, forest bathing, stargazing and culinary classes. Trout Point Lodge is Canada's only member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World and rated 5 stars by Canada Select. It is home to North America's Darkest Skies and the World's first Starlight hotel certified by UNESCO partner Starlight Foundation. Trout Point's kitchen was the first restaurant in Canada to receive international recognition for its sustainability, with the award of a Three Star rating from the UK-based Sustainable Restaurant Association (SRA) in 2013 (Michelin equivalent for sustainability). We have an outstanding kitchen team with our Executive Chef boasting Michelin-Starred experience from Europe. Trout Point Lodge welcomes well-behaved pets and children over 14 years of age.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot tub
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 2 more

Location

Full view
Contact
189 Trout Point Rd, East Kemptville, Nova Scotia B5A 5X9 Canada
Getting there
Halifax Stanfield Intl Airport121 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
222Reviews8Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 160
  • 28
  • 14
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Margit1721 wrote a review Sep 2020
Malagash, Canada8 contributions2 helpful votes
Very nice building, great personnel and super meal. Rooms are not so great. No tea or coffee machine there! Old carpets, windows were very dirty, no grab bar in the bath for older people like us very dangerous. Our toilet seat was loose, no phone to the reception. That is just average and not luxurious.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Oct 1, 2020
Thank you for sharing your comments. We do have suite options with grab bars in the bathroom and are so sorry we were not able to show you some of these which might have better suited your needs. For environmental reasons we have decided not to use single-pod coffee machines and to not put coffee makers into any suite. Our Jura Professional Grade machine in the Greqt Room is available any time, is complimentary, and makes the most exquisite espresso, cappuccino and coffee! Thank you again, Pamela & Patrick
Read more
frogwanderer wrote a review Sep 2020
6 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed at TPL for a weekend and cannot say enough wonderful things about it. I was kindly greeted by a staff member at the front desk who gave me a quick tour and showed me my lovely room (Treehouse North). I soon met the friendly and helpful co-owners, Pam and Patrick, who warmly welcomed me. Before dinner, I took some photos and watched the sunset (from Beaver Lodge). I’m vegetarian and was concerned that the meals, albeit pretty, might not be substantial. Wrong! The four-course dinners were beautiful, delicious, and just filling enough. Lunch and breakfast were equally scrumptious. I crammed as much in as I could in my short stay there but never felt rushed. Star-gazing with Alex was amazing, especially seeing the moon’s craters. I began my Saturday with forest-bathing, followed by my first (successful!) attempt at stand-up paddle-boarding, a lovely packed lunch, and then a nice hike along Billy’s Hill. I curled up with a good book in the great room and enjoyed the sounds of an Acadian musician while waiting for another divine dinner. Dessert was so good that I jokingly asked the server to bring me another. By this time, the light rain had become a downpour, which made my evening visit to the hot tub even more enjoyable. Sunday morning began with yet more delicious food and then guided kayaking, surrounded by gorgeous scenery. If you’re like me and see a visit to TPL as a big splurge, and therefore are wavering on whether to book, here’s my advice: GO FOR IT!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Sep 21, 2020
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! It was such a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to do so again! Thank you very much for sharing your comments. Pamela & Patrick
Read more
carolina f wrote a review Aug 2020
Porto Alegre, RS33 contributions10 helpful votes
Gorgeous resort! The staff are exceptional, very efficient and friendly! The food is fantastic, what a talented Chef!! They did a great job accommodating my Gluten free diet (Celiac Disease), almost everything could be made gluten-free and I did not get sick at all, I felt extremely safe eating there and everything was delicious. Really, the Chef is fantastic! Many options to explore the beautiful nature, the paddle board and kayak are the highlights, and you can also swim at the lake. We've been there twice in 2 months , we had a wonderful experience both times! And we are looking forward to going back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Sep 21, 2020
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back! Pamela & Patrick
Read more
tshep42 wrote a review Aug 2020
Halifax, Canada3,514 contributions480 helpful votes
+1
The positives here are the staff and the property. All staff we encountered were exceptional: friendly, efficient, and helpful. The rooms were cleaned twice a day and any complaints are very minor: a cleaning rag left behind, no conditioner one day, and dirty cutlery one meal. The property is gorgeous. The pictures don’t do it justice. The cedar lodge is great and it is so tranquil being along the river. There are lots of games to play in the lodge and nice sets, not just beat up ones bought from WalMart years ago. The rooms are a great size. We had a junior suite with fireplace in the main lodge and very much enjoyed the fireplace. The supplies for it were always refreshed. The furnishings are so unique and perfect for the “rustic” feel. The mattress is on the firm side. Some items may have been removed from the rooms because of COVID-19 (iron and ironing board) and other items because they’re going for the unplugged feel. For example, there was no TV. The lack of a mini-fridge is a big draw back for me. You can put stuff in their fridge but it’s just not the same. There wasn’t any place to get a snack or cold pop, not even a vending machine (COVID-19?). We asked for a pop and they happily got us some but they weren’t cold. We were offered a complimentary glass of wine when we arrived and there were squares out in the afternoons. It is an adults only resort so there were no kids running around. Another big plus was the food. All meals were superb. We are not foodies but if you are, the Michelin chef is fantastic. Dinner is an evening event and takes 2 - 3 hours. You book your dinner times when you arrive (6:30 - 8:30) and when you are finished dinner, you pick your breakfast for the next morning and select a time (8:00 - 10:00). There are a few activities to do. The wood stove heated hot tub was fun. There’s are nice swing chairs to sit and read. There’s a large fire pit by the main lodge they’ll light for you. You can just take a kayak, canoe or paddle board or they have someone who can take you kayaking, for example. There is organized nature walks or you can go on 4 different hiking trails on your own. The longest hike is 4 hours return; the shortest, 15 minutes. We did the blue trail which would have taken about an hour return but we made a loop of it and did part of the red trail. We did the short orange trail and tried the yellow trail but it is grown over. Other than the 4 hour hike, all other trails would be rated as easy. One of the coolest activities I was looking forward to was the stargazing, but unfortunately, it was clouded over both nights we were there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Thank you so much for your detailed comments and for your kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. For the benefit of future guests, we offer complimentary soft drinks any time and have a bar menu available all day. We were sorry to disappoint on the stargazing due to the cloudy skies, and hope to welcome you back for another attempt in the future! Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. Pamela & Patrick
Read more
Chantal wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Well over priced for a supposingly “luxury” resort. The setting is nice, log home and nature all around. Do not take the granite room, smells very mouldy and the owner just brought a de-humidifier and didn’t check back and was not at all caring had to empty the water for 2 days. Our room, the wood floor was buckled from water and very dangerous when coming out of the bed, this was the Acadian room. Our bed was very comfy but super squeaky. Didn’t get to have the stargazing, he said the astronomer could come ??? A lot of cobwebs everywhere in and outside. Also our toilet would wobble every time you used it. Also the lake water level was low which is not their fault but had all the kayaks on the side where there’s not much water so didn’t get to go on an adventure for too long, maybe 20 min. And the kayaks are pretty beaten up. The only thing that was worthwhile was the dinners, had great service from the waitresses and the food was exquisite!! It was also nice to have a local entertainer one evening. Also the trails could use a bit of cleaning up. All in all the place needs some maintenance done. It is 20 years old and has not had much done. Way overpriced for what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the your dinners. We apologize that stargazing was cancelled due to cloudy skies - we really hoped to be able to show you our amazing night skies as the experience is unforgettable! We take a very light touch with our trails in order to preserve the natural beauty of our forests to the maximum extend possible. Thank you as well for your mention of some aspects that did not meet with your satisfaction. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Pamela & Patrick
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$411 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
trout point lodge of nova scotia hotel kemptville
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaSouthwest Nova ScotiaMunicipality of ArgyleEast Kemptville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
What are some of the property amenities at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Chinese, and Korean.
Does Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.