We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia

189 Trout Point Rd, East Kemptville, Nova Scotia B5A 5X9 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (142)
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in East Kemptville
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Nestled in a UNESCO Southwest NovaBiosphere where every room has river views, Trout Point Lodge offers Nova Scotia's most unique vacation experiences including outdoor adventure, forest bathing, stargazing and culinary classes. Trout Point Lodge is Canada's only member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World and rated 5 stars by Canada Select. It is home to North America's Darkest Skies and the World's first Starlight hotel certified by UNESCO partner Starlight Foundation. Trout Point's kitchen was the first restaurant in Canada to receive international recognition for its sustainability, with the award of a Three Star rating from the UK-based Sustainable Restaurant Association (SRA) in 2013 (Michelin equivalent for sustainability). We have an outstanding kitchen team with our Executive Chef boasting Michelin-Starred experience from Europe. Trout Point Lodge welcomes well-behaved pets and children over 14 years of age.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Hiking
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 2 more

Location

189 Trout Point Rd, East Kemptville, Nova Scotia B5A 5X9 Canada
Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
238Reviews11Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 172
  • 29
  • 15
  • 13
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Char A wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions
We ended our exploration of Nova Scotia and a week long bike ride on the Cabot Trail, Cape Breton with a two night stay here and it couldn't have been a better ending to celebrating our 49th wedding anniversary. Overall the hospitality was fabulous and the room we stayed in beautifully decorated and timeless. The food was exquisite with the chefs lamb shanks melting in our mouths and the daily pastries by Wendy having us suggest a cook book should be forthcoming! We would rush to purchase! The wait staff were also so engaging and we loved having an opportunity to talk with them a bit in-between courses. We took a 7 mile hike up to Billy's cabin in the Tobeatic Wilderness area, on a trail that was sometimes delightfully overgrown, learning about the history of the area and its flora and fauna . Our personable and informative guide, Nicola made this part of our stay extra special! We couldn't have done this hike without her! The outdoor hot tub and sauna by the river was a magical night time experience. After breakfast our last morning, we took out a canoe and explored the upper part of the river for about an hour, wishing we had more time. It was so quiet and we noticed that both on the hike and on the river we heard very few birds. Maybe concrete evidence that world wide, birds are disappearing at a rate that is beginning to be noticeable. Finally, thank you for accommodating a change in our reservations at the last minute due to a flight snafu. If we weren't so far away ( Washington State) we would return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We were here in the fall when only 6 rooms were being occupied. We loved the fact it wasn't that...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Oct 26, 2023
Thank you so much for your kind words, and our team was thrilled to receive such lovely feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, Pamela & Patrick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa S wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
This place employs friendly staff and it is built in a beautiful setting. But it feels like it used to be a luxury lodge that has now fallen on tough times. The mattress has peaks and valleys in it, the pillows are lumpy, the shower needs re-caulking, the bathroom fixtures and light fixtures are outdated, much of the artwork is tired and tacky, the trails need work, there are weeds growing up through the deck. For $1500/night (CAD). The food is good, but dinners are long and slow. And drinks are expensive. Wine and beer should be included with dinner at $1500/night. Shout out to Wendy the baker for her wonderful dinner rolls, breakfast scones and multigrain bread. The place is filled with Americans - apparently TPL advertises hard south of the border. Canadians either can’t afford to stay here or know it’s not worth the money. We did complete a feedback survey and provided all of this information to management. Interestingly, there were no questions about value for money on the survey. Management did follow up with a phone call to us, and did offer us a complimentary one-night stay at the lodge. However, we felt this offer to be a little insincere given the time and expense it would take us to travel to the lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Sep 21, 2023
Thank you for your kind words about our baked goods - Wendy and team were thrilled to hear such lovely feedback! We are sorry to hear about the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Your feedback was at odds with the vast majority of positive comments we receive, and we are very appreciative that you took the time to share it. We welcome guests from all over the world, including many guests from our home province. We feel honored to share the beauty of our wilderness setting with new and returning guests from far away and from nearby. Thank you again, Pamela & Patrick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
retract_mai wrote a review Sep 2023
Charlotte, North Carolina28 contributions4 helpful votes
This well-appointed lodge is perfect for those who want to be far, far, far away from it all. The staff is efficient and solicitous in the best way possible. We didn't do the hot tub which seemed to be the big hit of many other guests but had a very nice time walking the property and enjoyed very well prepared breakfast and dinner. Our favorite was the star gazing walk. Due to its remoteness, the lodge has a nearly pollution free The rooms are spacious, well furnished and tidy. Wifi is good in the main lodge but absent otherwise. No cellular either. This is a cut-the-cord type of place. It's also a good 25-minute drive to the nearest gas station so fill up before you arrive. The road from Shelburne, NS requires good shock absorbers and I wouldn't want to drive it at night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Leave plenty of time to get to the lodge. Can't underscore how remote this location is.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Sep 6, 2023
Thank you for your feedback and our team was thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed remote, and hope you enjoyed the opportunity to disconnect while you were here. We are also very glad you enjoyed stargazing and that you had the opportunity to experience our pristine dark skies. We hope to welcome you back! Pamela & Patrick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
EAL1948 wrote a review Sep 2023
Chapel Hill, North Carolina37 contributions9 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at the lodge for our tenth anniversary. We had a wonderful time! The room (we were in the Wildflower Room) was large, comfortable and very clean. The lodge common areas and outdoor facilities were great. Staff and owners were super friendly and helpful. We ate two dinners, a lunch, and two breakfasts there and all were delicious. We had the five course meal with wine pairings for our anniversary dinner and it was just plain wonderful! Ocean, the sommeliere, was very good both in the wines she chose for us and in explaining why she chose each wine to go with each dish. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Sep 6, 2023
Thank you so much for your kind words, and our team was thrilled to receive such positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back! Pamela & Patrick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sixonthego_50 wrote a review Aug 2023
Winnetka, Illinois501 contributions400 helpful votes
Could have been an amazing place. First the positives, the meals were to die for. Loved each one. Also the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We have stayed at several inclusive high end luxury resorts in Europe, Peru, Chile and recently Costa Rica. The TPL was among the most expensive ($2000 a night for 4 people sharing one room) but for the experience we felt it would be worth it. The excursions were our main focus. We were there two nights. I called ahead to try to book Spa appointments and guided fishing. We were told that nothing needed to be booked in advance. We would be able to book from all the excursions the lodge had to offer upon arrival. We also wanted to do a cooking class. We love hiking and were also looking forward to the guided sunrise kayak guided trip. When we arrived there was the board of activities which was basically empty. It was identical for both the days we stayed. They had 4 activities, bird watching, forest bathing, tea hike and stargazing. All low end activities. To a person the staff said there weren't many birds to see so we didn't do it. There might have been one other. No Spa options on our days, no fishing, no cooking lesson, no sunrise guided kayak excursion. The hiking was not guided and it was bad. I was shown a map. I had to take a picture of it with my cell phone. No maps to hand out. The Blue trail (the longest and a complete loop) ended in the middle of the forest. It was supposed to be a big circle and it ended in a big blue X on the path and piles of trees blocking the path. I had to back track to get back. I did no excursions. My wife and daughter did the tree bathing (a walk barefoot in the woods and meditation) and the tea hike. Another walk in the woods to gather pine needles to make tea. Both really weak for what we were paying. No guided hiking. No guided kayaking. Room was average. If you go to the web site it shows many activities. We paid a huge premium for excursions and were incredibly disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Sep 6, 2023
Thank you for your review and for your feedback, and we are glad that you enjoyed your meals during your stay. We are sorry you did not enjoy the outdoor activities and guided experiences, which many guests note as a highlight of a stay with us. We have shared your feedback with our guiding team and thank you again for taking the time to share it. Pamela & Patrick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MNoble wrote a review Aug 2023
Brazil3 contributions
Arranged a reunion with a group of old friends and couldn't have chosen a better place. The facilities, the activities and especially the food were stellar. What a gem of place. Will be returning for sure. Thank you Trout Point team for making us feel so welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Aug 14, 2023
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your review. We look forward to welcoming you back! Pamela & Patrick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alan_Irene wrote a review Aug 2023
Melbourne, Australia277 contributions101 helpful votes
The location of this accommodation is stunning. The rooms are spacious with good amenities and comfortable bedding. Our review has more to do the value for money than comfort levels. It is a splurge stay to begin with, costing in excess of $1000 per night (Australian dollars) for our accommodation - no meals, with that comes an expectation. The breakfasts were lovely and varied, although when a neighbouring table was informed they would have to pay extra to have bacon with their breakfast, we just about fell off our chairs! All of the servers are friendly and helpful. Although at one stage I was left with my newly delivered meal and no fork, which I had to ask for twice while my meal sat there. Lunches are very limited - it is cheese & charcuterie or a packed lunch - the sandwiches were average we thought. Cheese & charcuterie is ok for one day but tiresome for 3 days. If you prefer a cooked lunch you will not get it here. The dinners were nice although the menu is short. The wine list is excellent! We were surprised to discover the hot tub experience was an added cost. And disappointed we were advised on arrival our fishing experience was no longer available. Due to unforeseen circumstances but they could have advised us in advance and given us an alternative then rather than at check in. At this stage we were advised of an alternative one hours drive away! After we had driven over an hour to get there. One highlight was enjoying live music on the deck.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Aug 5, 2023
Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite, and our Wine List. Pam keeps telling me that working on the Wine List does not counts as actual work, but that is a too long a discussion for this forum!! Thank you as well for your feedback on our lunches and dinners. We have shared this with our culinary team. For the benefit of future guests, our hot tub is available to all guests at no additional charge and is mentioned as a highlight in much of the feedback we receive. We also offer a special Hot Tub Experience including a Cheese Board and two glasses of wine and this does involve an additional charge. We appreciate the opportunity to clarify this point. Many thanks again, Pamela & Patrick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chuck N wrote a review Jul 2023
Fort Worth, Texas915 contributions526 helpful votes
Elegantly rustic but was it worth $4,000 for 2 nights? The $4k includes a 12% resort fee hidden charge. Patrick the owner was 5 star nice. Ocean the sommelier from France and other young staff were superb. Most of the guests were in their twilight years, bit we got lucky and hiked with an ex NFL football player and his doctor wife. Hence the importance of Ocean at dinner as we drank the night away until the 10:30 pm star gazing that was well attended. Our picnic lunch was 6 bento boxes of amazing and included in our package along with a very nice bottle of champagne, that we drank in the hot tub. There is no AC or TV. Of our 14 nights in Nova Scotia the Trout Point were our 2 most exclusive and expensive. $$$$$ Wilderness
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded Aug 5, 2023
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your feedback. For the benefit of future guests please allow us to clarify that our 12% Resort Fee is stated on our website, our booking path and on all reservation confirmations as well. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your Nova Scotia vacation and thank you again, Pamela & Patrick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tanya M wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
This place is so hard to describe but words that come to mind - beautiful, unbelievable service, fine dining, relaxing, super clean. It is a rustic lodge setting in the middle of the woods and I have no idea how they keep it so clean. Most people are there for a romantic weekend and I suspect this is also fab. My girlfriends and I have gone the past two years for Mother’s Day weekend and would all agree - this is a one of a kind experience. It has a high price tag but we obviously felt the price was worth it because we returned and have every intention of returning again. Thank you Trout Point for an amazing and relaxing girls weekend. Also a shout out to Gerard LeBlanc - for a wonderful evening of music on Friday :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Get ready for unbelievably atmosphere, service, and fine dining in a casual and beautiful...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded May 19, 2023
Thank you so much for your kind words and it was such a pleasure to welcome you back! We're so glad you enjoyed Gerard's music and we'll be sure to let him know. Our Housekeeping team was thrilled with your feedback too! We look forward to welcoming you back, Pamela & Patrick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cindy H wrote a review May 2023
4 contributions
Our experience was one of disappointment. We were so very much looking forward to all the wonderful aspects noted on the website. The biggest disappointment was the food, overall the experience simply did not meet the expectations created by the website claims
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Wallace, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Responded May 19, 2023
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments, and we are most dismayed that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Thank you as well for responding to our e-mail follow up, and we will be sure to share this information with our Executive Chef and culinary team. We hope the other aspects of your stay were enjoyable, and thank you again for your feedback. Pamela & Patrick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the East Kemptville area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
trout point lodge of nova scotia hotel kemptville
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaSouthwest Nova ScotiaMunicipality of ArgyleEast Kemptville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TROUT POINT LODGE OF NOVA SCOTIA - Prices & Hotel Reviews (East Kemptville)

Frequently Asked Questions about Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
What are some of the property amenities at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Chinese, and Korean.
Does Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.