We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Louise, Texas
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked this room from the lobby through our IHG app and received an excellent rate. Kenny checked us in and was very friendly and helpful when we asked for a good eating place. He suggested Drusilla Seafood and gave us a coupon for a free cup of gumbo or étouffée which was a great suggestion! Our room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is easily accessible from I-12 and Airline Highway making it convenient to most attractions in the Baton Rouge area. The rooms are all fairly clean but the maintenance and upkeep has fallen off over the last few years. I've been staying at this hotel at least 4 times a year for the last nine years. The tower rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James T
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James T, Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business with us. I am glad to read that you found the location of the hotel convenient to your needs. However, we regret to read that the maintenance of the hotel...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here while coming to the LSU game, hotel has a tower and a separate building of motel-type rooms. We were unfortunately in the separate bulding with the motel type feel. The room was clean, and even though our doors were to the outside, it was quiet. Not in the best part of town so not the type of place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MDallas09
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MDallas09, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found our rooms to be clean and quiet. However, we would like to apologize for the issues you had with our cleaning staff and the door of the room you were given. Reviews like yours are...

Rayne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here two nights for an event held at this hotel from Friday until Sunday! Everyone was friendly and courteous from the hotel desk staff through the restaurant, and even the housekeepers! Our room was clean & air conditioning was great! As for our event they always had drinks and ice and condiments ready and set up nicely throughout the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
Pfafftown, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beware of Travelocity. I was traveling alone and put in a room that unknown beforehand to me was an exterior room in the back of the hotel. The room had an awful odor with mold in the bathroom. I was scared.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rockytho
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rockytho, Thank you for writing us a review about your recent stay at our hotel. It is very troubling that you were not satisfied with the room you have received, and that the overall cleanliness of the room prevented you from enjoying your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this has caused. We would love the...

West Monroe
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had stayed here before about 3 years ago, but it was in the tower part. Rooms where just wonderful. But on this stay we were placed in some outside rooms that are in desperate need of attention. Dirty carpet and curtains, an ac that would just stop working, the world's smallest bathroom with a door you had to slam...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SKAT23
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SKAT23, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding the condition of the room you were...

Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

We spent three nights here over a weekend when we were attending a wedding. It was a convenient location. The room was spacious enough, the bed was comfortable, the staff pleasant. We ate lunch at the bar/grill and it was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri F
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed October 19, 2016

The front looks nice until you check in and they send you around to the Motel 6 in the back. Premium rate charge for a room that is no better than any budget hotel on any strip in Louisiana. You carry your bags up the stairs and then you walk down the hallway past all the smokers hanging over the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tuktuk1
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tuktuk1, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are very sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the room you received and we also apologize for the overall experience you had during your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services...

usa
Reviewed October 15, 2016

You walk in to a full atrium, fancy spaces, contemporary lobby and then end up in late 20th century outside entrance rooms straight out of the Midwest. And after schlepping your bags forever and hiking up the stairs with your luggage because the elevator does not serve that part of the building. Noisy HVAC and little floor space/no closets finish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank knittermom
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear knittermom, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and...

Gulfport, Ms
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We stayed at this hotel with a sports team. It was a big tournament and a busy weekend in town. I believe that the staff was overwhelmed or the hotel was not properly staffed for this weekend. At check in we were told that our reservation had been cancelled. We never found out what happened. Fortunately Leslie was able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denticeguy
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review

Dear denticeguy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are happy to know that you liked our beds and we certainly appreciate your nice feedback on our breakfast selection. On the other hand, we regret to know that you found our hotel to be understaffed during your visit. We would also...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn South
Sleep Inn South
#21 of 72 in Baton Rouge
161 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 72 in Baton Rouge
302 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
#20 of 72 in Baton Rouge
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge
7.1 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#11 of 72 in Baton Rouge
453 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Baton Rouge East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Baton Rouge-South!The Holiday Inn Baton Rouge-South is the largest full-service hotel near the city, located less than 6 miles from downtown Baton Rouge, LA and 13 miles from Baton Rouge Metro (BTR). Our prime Baton Rouge location, near Louisiana plantation homes, puts you near Blue Bayou Water Park and Dixie Landin Theme Park as well as Baton Rouge Town Center shopping. Our hotel s recent renovation of 334 well-appointed guestrooms and suites includes a state-of-the-art fitness facility, indoor and outdoor pools, Business Center with complimentary High Speed Internet access and complimentary wireless Internet access in the atrium areas. On-site is the full-service Cafe Galvez Restaurant & Bar, and the Alamo Lounge for after dinner cordials. Room service is available from 6am until 11pm.Our location near downtown Baton Rouge puts us close to: LSU, Louisiana Arts & Sciences Museum/Planetarium, Southern University, the Louisiana State Capital, the Mall of Louisiana, the USS Kidd, the Greater Baton Rouge Zoo, and Casino Rouge.Holiday Inn South features more than 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space with a special reception capacity for up to 500. Our experienced staff is more than happy to help with all arrangements for your conference, wedding, exhibit or special event we are your first choice in Baton Rouge! Relax, it s Holiday Inn! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel

Address: 9940 Airline Hwy, Baton Rouge, LA 70816-8100
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Price Range: $95 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get tower rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 897jayt, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The rooms in the tower area may be better.”
 of 5 bubbles SKAT23, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms with 700 or 800 prefix are in outside entrance wings”
 of 5 bubbles knittermom, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the pool seem older. Perhaps the rooms in the higher building may be newer.”
 of 5 bubbles Jmbbroad1, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“Always book the TOWER ROOMS”
 of 5 bubbles 555AmandaH, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay