We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Yelm, Washington
Reviewed June 8, 2016

Blood stains on sheets. Dirty/filthy furniture. We were only there about 15 minutes when I called the front desk to tell them we were checking out and wanted a refund. They refused refund so I called a couple days later and talked to general manager, Crystal. She too refused to refund. She said we stayed, I told her no we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robinjean1963
Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

I'm in town for the weekend and booked my hotel through hotels.com and from the pictures everything looked good. When I got there I was totally wrong. Walked into the room and there were stains visible major stains on the bedskirt and stains on the couch that was in the room. The maid service clearly dropped the ball on this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
Britt T, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Thank you for your response; however, after reading your description of the room I am certain this is not a Magnuson Baton Rouge room. The reason for my statement is that we do not have bedskirts, nor do we have sofas in our rooms. Please review your receipt from your stay. If in fact it states Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge,...

Gladewater, Texas
Reviewed June 15, 2015

Had no phone for wake up call, asked for one said they would get another one for the room never recieved a phone, bed was terrible, toilet seat was broke, shower curtain would slide open by itself, front door only had one lock, just bad bad bad never again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shand50194
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewed April 8, 2015

Pictures does not look like it is now! There was 3 of us that stay there, there was only 2 towels and face cloths We ask if we could have 1 more and We was told No! The Toilet was nasty, It said free Wifi that didn't work! saw a Bug on the toilet, coffee pot didn't look like it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. I’m very sorry we couldn’t meet your needs or expectations. We take great pride in being a pleasant, friendly and accommodating place to stay, and we obviously let you down. We’re already working to make the hotel better than ever before. I hope when you visit the area again you will give us another...

Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

We booked a room here on our way back to Texas from Tennessee, and I can't even say why I chose this hotel out of all of the other choices! It was the worst! Had two ten year olds begging to leave the minute we opened the door! The room smelled horrible, was filthy, and had holes in the wall!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CourtDelafuente
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re already working to make the...

Wisconsin
Reviewed November 9, 2014

This was the worst not disgusting hotel I have ever seen. Of the 3 rooms we tried to inhabit they were filthy and stunk like cat pee!!!! The locks were broke, the toilet seat gone, water coming from bottom of toilet and the bathtubs were black. Appeared to be a very dangerous place. Do NOT even consider this place. Run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry we failed to meet your needs. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience, and I regret that we let you down. Since the time of your comments, we have made changes and improvements to the hotel in many ways. We’re now meeting expectations better than ever before. I...

Alexandria, Louisiana
Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

The outside appearance is terrible. But we were going to give it the benefit of the doubt. So when we went in to check in they had lost our reservation. Again were going to give it the benefit of the doubt. I can really only give this hotel one plus and that is that the staff was ok. But once...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank fhenry201013
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that you chose not to stay with us. I assume any billing issues have long ago been resolved. Since your visit, we have improved many aspects of the hotel and now meeting the needs of most guests. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you soon, and you’ll...

Monroe
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The room was dirty. Pee on the toilet and bath tub was very nasty. The beds looked dirty too!!! I ask for toilet to be cleaned and a guy came with a nasty rag and a spray bottle and it took him all of 3 seconds to clean it. Horrible place. Will never stay here again!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleandpaul5
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that there was a housekeeping issue that detracted from your stay. We satisfy many guests each week but obviously let you down in this case. I hope you will reconsider and stay with us again. You’ll find that this small misstep is not an indication of how we usually do business,...

Liberty, Texas
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for 1 night. Holes in the bed spread, asked for extra towels and when they brought them, the maintenance/housekeeping person just walked right intot he room without knocking. One of the clerks was very rude. Broken appliances thrown in the grass, trashy looking on the sides and in the back. Very nice looking in front. Doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us despite the failings you mentioned. I’m terribly sorry if we fell short of your expectations in any way. You caught us at a time when several maintenance tasks around the hotel were undone, but we’re involved in a continual improvement process and have already addressed most of those. You will be most welcome...

Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here for business. Found the staff to be very helpful. Housekeeping was fantastic. The property is an exterior corridor property but I really enjoyed the stay. Rooms were very clean. The property is a good price and also provides a simple breakfast! Thanks for the great customer service!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Car31525
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Baton Rouge South
Days Inn Baton Rouge South
#55 of 72 in Baton Rouge
114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Baton Rouge
Red Roof Inn Baton Rouge
#45 of 72 in Baton Rouge
188 reviews
3.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Baton Rouge / Seigen Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn South
Sleep Inn South
#22 of 72 in Baton Rouge
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel
4.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#33 of 72 in Baton Rouge
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge offers guests an outdoor pool, free hot breakfast served from 6 am to 9 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, fax/copy service, wakeup service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities. Small pets are accepted with additional charges. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge

Address: 9999 Gwenadele Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70816-8143 (Formerly Days Inn Baton Rouge)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Price Range: $66 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I would tell travelers to stay a t Drury Inn”
 of 5 bubbles R1283OWdianem, Apr 8, 2015 | Read review
“Don't take any room at this establishment”
 of 5 bubbles 155edj, Dec 11, 2013 | Read review
“Go about 10 miles east on highway 12 and get a room. Much better place.”
 of 5 bubbles Moe92136, Oct 9, 2013 | Read review
“Pay the extra 10-20 bucks. It will be worth it.”
  • Stained bed skirt
 of 5 bubbles CinthiaA66, Aug 16, 2013 | Read review
“You might like to ask for a view of the pool and its mature palm trees.”
 of 5 bubbles steve_blacksmith, Feb 28, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay