Edgewater Resort

Edgewater Resort

1238 Settlers Trace Rd, Taylorsville, KY 40071-9632
Traveler (22)
View from front door
Room & Suite (22)
Outdoor Pool
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Taylorsville
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
4.4
If you’re looking for a romantic place to stay in Taylorsville, look no further than Edgewater Resort. While staying at Edgewater Resort, visitors can check out Sanctuary Arts Center (3.0 mi), which is a popular Taylorsville attraction. You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, a kitchenette, and a refrigerator, and you can stay connected during your stay as Edgewater Hotel offers guests free wifi. Plus, Edgewater Resort offers a pool, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. While you’re here, be sure to check out Fiesta Brava Mexican Restaurant (1.2 mi), a popular restaurant that is within walking distance of Edgewater Hotel. Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a state park, such as Taylorsville Lake State Park. The staff at Edgewater Resort looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Hiking
Fishing
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
103Reviews3Q+A30Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 66
  • 23
  • 6
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Miranda G wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cottage 37 was absolutely perfect for our family getaway! Toni thought of any everything you could possibly need while away from home. The location is perfect, the pool and marina are directly around the corner! Toni even allowed us to drop our things off early so we could go out and about and start our getaway. We will most definitely be returning to Cottage 37 at Edgewater Resort again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If you are going to take advantage of the marina and rent a boat, definitely reserve online ahead...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
STKatty wrote a review Jun 2015
Pikeville, Kentucky
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This makes the second time I've stayed at Edgewater and the first time I've been with my family. On both occasions, I have found my stay to be very relaxing. The cottages are comfortable and clean, and I enjoy the quiet setting. The cottages are well-equipped, but I would recommend asking for additional pillows and towels. Unfortunately, on our most recent stay, the weather was not good enough for us to use our kayaks, but we still enjoyed sitting on the deck looking at the scenery/lake and enjoying the hot tub. I did not schedule a spa service on this visit but have previously and enjoyed that as well. We were able to find a grocery close by for any needs we might have, but there are not really any restaurants of note in Taylorsville itself. Still, the cottages come with a fully functional kitchen, and it is within an easy driving distance of Shelbyville, Louisville, etc., should you desire. My family would return again and are looking forward to doing so.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Pick a cottage that has a view of the lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grandmaof3boys wrote a review Sep 2013
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the best weekend getaway! We can't wait to go back!! And our hosts were just great! A hidden treasure in Kentucky! Jacuzzi on the deck, privacy, stars at night! You need to experience this for yourself..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rbrtalbright wrote a review Jul 2021
Kirtland, Ohio
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
the cottage was comfortable, and the grounds were peaceful. Overall our stay was just satisfactory. A few reasons we are going to rate our experience as a 2.5 out 5 are. 1) the water damage to the ceiling in the 1st floor master bedroom, 2) The ripped outdoor seating. 3) The malfuctioning hot tub. 4) The non working upstairs jacuzzi. 5) The non existent internet. These are some of the reasons we left on Wed 7/21 instead of staying thru the 25th
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melissa Johnson, Owner at Edgewater Resort
Responded Aug 5, 2021
We here at Edgewater pride our selves on hospitality. We are sorry for the they issues that you experienced. We want you to know these problems have been addressed. We appreciate your business and hope you return to see changes we have made. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allyson C wrote a review Sep 2014
Jeffersonville, Indiana, United States
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First we were given the wrong key card for the wrong cottage. We rented and paid for a 2 bedroom cottage. The keycard allowed us entry into a 2 bedroom, but one of the rooms was locked along with a note stating we had been upgraded but couldn't use the second bedroom or bathroom. It took an hour for the staff to show up to get us the correct keycard for the correct cottage. The "correct" cottage had the back door left open for who knows how long. There were bugs all over. I don't mean a few lake gnats...The ceiling was covered with them. They sent for a vacuum and sucked up as many as they could. We also could not use the front walk or steps because of the overgrown evergreen with poison ivy growing in it. There was only 1 garbage bag for a 2 night stay. The manager, Allison, was less than friendly when we spoke with her regarding our issues. She kindly explained "well you are staying at the lake". Yes, yes we were but we were also staying inside a cottage.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Just pack a tent and rough it...there will be less bugs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alison S, Manager at Edgewater Resort
Responded Sep 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were not pleased with your stay although we did try to resolve your issues in a quick, efficient, and polite manner. Yes, you were accidentally given keys to the wrong cottage, a cottage that had been prepared for another guest scheduled to arrive the following day. However our records show that from the time you called the emergency contact number to report the mix-up late Friday evening to the time our staff arrived to give you new keys, you had waited less than 15 minutes. During that time you and your party had let yourself into the cottage your reservation was scheduled for through the back patio door and were already inside the cottage. While you did report to our staff that the back door had been left unlocked allowing you to enter the cottage, at no time did you report to the staff or myself in your many interactions with us that the door had been found left open when you let yourself in. When our staff arrived to give you the correct keys, you did not report the presence of any bugs to her, even though you had already been inside the cottage for 15 minutes. According to our records, you then called an hour later to complain about the presence of bugs. Our staff again came to your cottage and did find that large number of lake gnats had entered the cottage. As we are surrounded by 300 acres of natural woodlands and are currently experiencing excessive numbers of late-season lake gnats, we have asked all guests to please keep the exterior doors to the cottage closed and the porch lights off as the lights draw the gnats and open doors allow them entrance to the cottage. While our staff was attempting to vacuum the gnats up for you, she reported that although she explained to you the need to keep the doors closed and outside lights off, you continued to leave the exterior doors of the cottage open and the lights on while she was there, allowing the gnats to continue to enter the cottage. While we offered to move you to another cottage several times, you refused. Thank you for pointing out the need to trim back the shrubbery surrounding the cottage. Trimming the shrubbery surrounding the cottage has been scheduled with our maintenance staff. Fortunately, upon inspection of the landscaping, no evidence of poison ivy was detected, but we will be sure to keep watch for its presence. The cottages are normally stocked with 2 additional trash bags for weekend stays; we will make sure to speak with our housekeeping staff to ensure each cottage is stocked appropriately. I am the manager and I am sorry you did not feel your issues were resolved properly. Staff was sent to your cottage promptly each time you called late Friday evening to attempt to resolve your issues. You were offered several opportunities that evening to move to another cottage that you refused. Additionally, when I spoke with you the following morning, I offered to send additional housekeeping and maintenance staff to your cottage to address any additional issues, which you also refused. I personally strive to handle all interactions with our guests in a friendly and helpful manner. Despite your party’s inconsiderate treatment of several of our staff members in their attempts to help you, I continued to handle my interactions with you politely and with professionalism.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laurie W wrote a review Jun 2013
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second time to stay at Edgewater over the past year and I plan to come again at the end of the month! We stayed in a lovely 2-bedroom condo. It was clean, spacious, and had a wonderful view of the lake. At the end of the day, we enjoyed relaxing in a warm (incredibly clean) jacuzzi on our private back porch. The service was the best!! We asked if it would be possible to check in a couple of hours early and they helped to make that happen for us (& let us checkout a little later:) Our internet was running slow and they immediately took care of it. After our stay, we received a groupon for an extra free night on a 2 night stay and our family is looking forward to taking advantage of that opportunity later this month. I would recommend this resort to family and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AngieV35 wrote a review Oct 2012
Avon, Indiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just spent another amazing weekend at Edgewater Resort. This was the second year in a row 5 couples got together to enjoy a "weekend getaway". We did some hiking, enjoyed a winery, played some cornhole, and just enjoyed relaxing by the fire. What a great place to unwind. The cottage was amazing, and clean. Before we even stepped out of the cottage to head home, someone in the group said, "we are coming back next year right". Thats when you know your weekend was a success. The staff at Edgewater is the best and they are always available to answer any questions. Its important to them to make sure your stay is completely enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Citygirl5240207 wrote a review Aug 2011
Louisville, Kentucky
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start by saying I am a city girl at heart! I like the little perks of staying in a city hotel that I cah sit back and relax. That having been said, I have a family filled with boys who would just as soon be throwing mud at each other. We have been to Edgewater now several times because for us it is the perfect distance to Louisville that we can get away if even for a weekend. I cannot disagree more with the review that said it was dirty !!!!! There has never been a time that the cabin was not neat with all the little perks of a big hotel. Soaps and shampoos, coffee for the coffee maker, clean towels and nicely appointed kitchens. Are there some outside bugs and critters?......sure .....IT IS A LAKE!!!! I have been able to relax at the pool, get a massage at the spa, enjoy wireless internet and relax in the hot tub......., all while my husband and boys go fishing or boating or down to the beach. The store is close to stock up on all you need for your stay and there are several family friendly options to eat in Taylorsville itself. Are you going to find 5 star restaurants?...no....again....IT IS A LAKE!!!!
We will continue to go to this resort. It is perfect for all of the members of our family !!! We have never been disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EBDesn wrote a review Apr 2007
Atlanta, GA
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I went for our anniversary and loved it. When we weren't out on the canoes, they let us use at no extra cost, we were hiking or using the trail bikes they provided for us. It was great relaxing in the hot tub, overlooking the lake, while the sun was setting. The hot stone massage was the best I've ever had!!! Went into Louisville, which was a short drive, and had dinner at Napa River, great food. We will definitely go back. Edgewater's Romanctic Anniv. Package was extra nice.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2007
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DayleneAshley wrote a review Sep 2017
Indianapolis, Indiana
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second family trip staying at Edgewater Resort and again I was disappointed with the accommodations. First of all, what is the point of having a gated premises if you leave one gate open 24/7? I am happy to say that the change in management has improved several things. Such as, a coffee maker in the cottage, cushions on the deck chairs and an umbrella on the deck. However, my biggest concern still lies with cleaning. A cobweb here or there is one thing, but our cottage looked like it had not been cleaned in months! I slept fully clothed every night because I found TWO pairs of DIRTY socks in the bed. Speaking of beds, they are all awful and the couch is no better. Everything just seemed warn down and at over $200/night you'd think they could clean, buy two ply toilet paper and get some decent beds. All of those things aside, the bath and beach towels provided were very plush and nice, the marina is great and the lake is so calm and peaceful. I highly recommend boating on the lake, but I would suggest finding another place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Edgewater R
Taylorsville, Kentucky2 contributions
No, the extra bedroom(s) and bathroom(s) are locked off and not shared by anyone else.
Kristen J asked a question Feb 2015
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania23 contributions21 helpful votes
Is a small dog permitted in the cabin?
Answer from Alison S
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Hi! Thank you for your question. Yes, we have several cottages that permit up to 2 medium size dogs. Pet reservations must be made through the office and approved before arrival so your reservation can be booked into a pet-friendly cottage. There is a $50/ per pet fee for 2-bedroom cottages and a $75/ per pet fee for 3-bedroom cottages. Please see our FAQs for more information. Thank you!
Miranda G wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are going to take advantage of the marina and rent a boat, definitely reserve online ahead of time. They go quick! "
Read full review
Roseann M wrote a tip Jun 2015
Bloomingdale, Illinois10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful views."
Read full review
STKatty wrote a tip Jun 2015
Pikeville, Kentucky244 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pick a cottage that has a view of the lake"
Read full review
dmc-cmr2000 wrote a tip Apr 2015
Indianapolis, Indiana39 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is not a hotel. It is a resort with individual houses/condos. April is off-season so there were not many units occupied during the Monday thru Wednesday we were there."
Read full review
Jessica B wrote a tip Nov 2014
Indianapolis, Indiana1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cabin 16 has an amazing view!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Taylorsville area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
edgewater hotel taylorsville
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyTaylorsville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EDGEWATER RESORT

Frequently Asked Questions about Edgewater Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Edgewater Resort?
Nearby attractions include Taylorsville Lake State Park (2.4 miles), The Red Scooter (2.8 miles), and Pyrite Illusions (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Edgewater Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Edgewater Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Edgewater Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Edgewater Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Edgewater Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fiesta Brava Mexican Restaurant, Lynda's Grill, and Hometown Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Edgewater Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Edgewater Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Edgewater Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Edgewater Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars