We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
601 E Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1150
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Only 5 left at
$89
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/07/22
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$139
View deal
Hotels.com
Only 2 left at
$139
View deal
Booking.com$89
Travelocity$139
Agoda.com$89
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (17)
Room & Suite (69)

About

#2 of 19 Specialty lodging in Louisville
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
4.5
Originally built in 1865 as the home of Herman Schroeder’s Grocery, Hancock House is a fresh, authentic guest house that’s fit for business or leisure travelers. We are an escape from the traditional hotel experience; offering stylish accommodations in one of Louisville’s hippest neighborhoods. Our sixteen spacious lofts are appointed with unique furnishings, modern tech and full kitchens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
48Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 24
  • 8
  • 8
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Terry B wrote a review Jul 2022
Chicago, Illinois21 contributions13 helpful votes
This was our first time staying at the Hancock House and it won't be our last. Our room was clean, spacious and within walking distance of restaurants and bars. Check-in with the code was a breeze, and we appreciated the bottles of water and cookies left for us in the kitchen. Parking was plentiful in the back lot, and it was nice to have a living area with the tv separate from the bedroom. Next time we are in Louisville we will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lindsay Scott wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Hancock House is always so convenient and easy for me. I stay here a lot when I visit Louisville and have never had any issues. Checking in is smooth, the bars and restaurants in NULU are my favorite, there’s a kitchen/living space, and the place is always so clean. Any time I’ve had to reach out with any questions or concerns, I’ve always gotten an immediate and positive response.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Sturgis, General Manager at Hancock House Louisville
Responded Jul 5, 2022
Hi lscott0017, thank you so much for sharing your positive experience! Our new lock system makes getting access codes a breeze and our support team is always nearby if you need us. We love the NULU area too and are glad you stay with us when visiting! Hope to host you again soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mikeyj80 wrote a review Jun 2022
Toledo, Ohio4 contributions3 helpful votes
We arrived on a Thursday in early evening, no issues with access to the building. The codes were supplied very early in the morning. The room was spacious and as described, adequate for our family of four. Kids slept on a pullout and we took the bed. Our room was one large room (like a loft apartment), but again was what we were expecting. We enjoyed walking to dinner and ice cream on Market street. While it is well advertised, do know there is no housekeeping / no front desk. You get a code and go to your room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sally Sturgis, General Manager at Hancock House Louisville
Responded Jun 29, 2022
Hi mikeyj80, thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are operating under a new access system that has made issuing and receiving codes a breeze, as you mentioned. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed the Guesthouse and the Nulu area. Come see us again the next time you're in town!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
suitcaseshopper wrote a review Apr 2022
Imperial, Missouri96 contributions15 helpful votes
The amount of space for the price is unreal. It's a real bargain and overall our stay there was pretty good. We just experienced a few issues: First, our confirmation email said we would be receiving a code on check in day. Which we never received. We called and they gave us a code over the phone, but there didn't seem to be any real reservation desk. The hotel across the street manages it. Our room was enormous in size but the bed has seen better days. The mattress was hard as a rock and lumpy. The unit we were in did not have a door to the bedroom. You walked in the front door right into the bedroom. So, there was no way to muffle the noise from the street. I went to hang clothes in the closet and was greeted with a terrible sewer gas smell that never went away the whole weekend. We went to the hotel across the street to tell them about it, but there was very little concern. We had to keep the door closed the entire time, constantly flush the toilet and couldn't hang anything in the closet. Overall this is a good location in a neighborhood that will probably be even better in the next five years. Some really good restaurants within walking distance, too. The amount of space you get is unreal for the price. It truly is a good value.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the street. The street noise was unreal.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deveenier Brooks, General Manager at Hancock House Louisville
Responded May 16, 2022
Suitcaseshopper, Thank you for your candid review. We love to see our guest's honest feedback about their experience at Hancock House Louisville. Our contactless experience, which we like to call Touchless Hospitality, makes the experience seamless from start to finish. However, we do have 24-hour team available to assist. Your Personal Access codes are emailed to you on the day of arrival, however the website you booked through had a generic email address attached to your reservation. We have contacted the city to look into the issue you experienced. We are truly happy to see you enjoyed our guesthouse room and look forward to hosting you again the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tasha K wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Had a great stay will stay again an recommended to stay anytime you visit Louisville ky the room was great an location was great staff very friendly and helpful will stay again no problem can't wait to come back
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deveenier Brooks, General Manager at Hancock House Louisville
Responded May 16, 2022
42tashakey, Thank you so much for staying with us at the Hancock House Louisville. We hope you and your family enjoyed the easy arrival experience, the quiet accommodations and all that NuLu has to offer. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chris k wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
An absolute gem tucked in the city. The space was clean and beautifully decorated. Check-in and out was seamless. Highly recommend a stay here! Street parking. There’s parking all around the hotel so it wasn’t a big deal. Multiple spaces by the front and back entrance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clayton Cadarette, General Manager at Hancock House Louisville
Responded Feb 25, 2022
Thank you for sharing your Uniquely Louisvillian Lodging experience. I am glad you enjoyed your escape from the traditional hotel experience. I am always happy to hear when our guests feel at home in Hancock House. We hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vikingx51 wrote a review Dec 2021
Stuart, Florida13 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed at The Hancock House for a second time and this visit was very very good. To start - the room is not actually a room - it is a small aprtment with a bedroom, living dining area and a fully eqipped kitchen . The remote entry process was perfect and we had no issues enterin g and reurtning to the building. The space was very neat and clean and held all the things neededd to make a stay pleasant. that The location, in NULU , can not be beat . Market street , and all the great eating and drinking venues, was right around the corner - well within walking distance from the Hancock House. There are many choices for breakfast , lunch and dinner - and ( being a dual citizen of Ireland and the US) I especially enjoyed O'Sheas Irish Pub (very much a real Irish establisment) where the drink and food were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Look up the rooms before booking - there are a fair amount of choices!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clayton Cadarette, General Manager at Hancock House Louisville
Responded Dec 26, 2021
vikingx51, Wow, I am blown away with this response, thank you for sharing your Uniquely Louisvillian Lodging experience. This is exactly the type of experience we strive to curate for all of our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your escape from the traditional hotel experience. I am always happy to hear when our guests feel at home in Hancock House. We hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deidre H wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Hancock House is beautiful, quiet, clean, and located in a great part of town. It scored extra points for the kitchenette, the ultra-comfortable bed, and the waterfall shower. This was by far the best value we found in the neighborhood. I only wish we could have stayed longer!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clayton Cadarette, General Manager at Hancock House Louisville
Responded Dec 26, 2021
271deidreh, Thank you for sharing your Uniquely Louisvillian Lodging experience. I am glad you enjoyed your escape from the traditional hotel experience. I am always happy to hear when our guests feel at home in Hancock House. We hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FrequentTraveler wrote a review Dec 2021
San Francisco, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
Large room with cozy feel on the top floor. Productive work area with view from three tall windows. Well designed kitchen space and comfortable bathroom with large shower. King-size bed with excellent bedside lighting. Front entrance has stairs and through the back entrance off the (free) guest parking lot there is a large, new elevator. The building is historic and the upgrades and rooms are 21st century
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on the parking lot side of hotel might be quieter than those on the front.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Clayton Cadarette, General Manager at Hancock House Louisville
Responded Dec 17, 2021
Bonvoyagein2019, Thank you for staying with us, I am glad you found your guestroom to be the perfect fit for your stay. We hope you will join us again when your travels bring you back to Louisville.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Might wrote a review Dec 2021
Indianapolis, Indiana3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Wow this is such a nice place to stay -they even leave you some snacks and water and the lights magically are on when you need them. You just check yourself in with an email you go through a secure door and then also another door to get into where you're staying. There's pots and pans and utensils anything that you would need and I will be back. There's also a great little restaurant I think it's connected to this building -smells wonderful. It has a industrial modern vibe has nice big windows and the air conditioning and heating is spot on. And they have free parking which is hard to fine in Louisville. There are also cameras everywhere so I feel pretty safe about my car. Keep up the good work it's clean and I love the nice touches.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Clayton Cadarette, General Manager at Hancock House Louisville
Responded Dec 26, 2021
Thank you for sharing your Uniquely Louisvillian Lodging experience. I am glad you enjoyed your escape from the traditional hotel experience. I am always happy to hear when our guests feel at home in Hancock House. We hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$135 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyLouisvillePhoenix Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HANCOCK HOUSE LOUISVILLE $116 ($̶1̶2̶9̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Condominium Reviews - KY

Frequently Asked Questions about Hancock House Louisville
Which popular attractions are close to Hancock House Louisville?
Nearby attractions include Louisville Slugger Field (0.3 miles), Muth's Candies (0.08 miles), and Thomas Edison Butchertown House (0.3 miles).
Which room amenities are available at Hancock House Louisville?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Hancock House Louisville?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hancock House Louisville?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mayan Cafe, Against the Grain Brewery & Smokehouse, and Royals Hot Chicken.
Is Hancock House Louisville located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Louisville.
Are pets allowed at Hancock House Louisville?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hancock House Louisville?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Conrad-Caldwell House Museum (Conrad's Castle) (2.0 miles), Churchill Downs (3.6 miles), and Locust Grove (5.0 miles).