We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Save
Share
1000 Export St, Lexington, KY 40504-2683
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$138
$117
View deal
SAVE $21
Free cancellation until 09/28/21
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$138
$117
View deal
SAVE $21
Free cancellation until 09/29/21
Hotels.com
Priceline
StayForLong$138
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (32)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 78 hotels in Lexington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
262Reviews6Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 106
  • 91
  • 38
  • 16
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kentuckywildcat84 wrote a review Mar 2021
Atlanta, Georgia64 contributions31 helpful votes
I enjoyed my two nights in the King Executive Suite. Spacious and with plenty of sockets to plug in multiple devices. There is a desk where you can sit and do serious work, a small table with four chairs, and a sofa with another TV which I also utilized. The bathroom was large and the shower had good water pressure. Right now the breakfast is limited but still adequate. Parking is easy, there are several carts for transporting baggage, and they will give you as many Keurig coffee pods as you need to keep things moving. I appreciated being recognized as an IHG Platinum level member.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
mrkwong wrote a review Oct 2020
Foster City, California25 contributions16 helpful votes
It's clean and everything worked. Every property that used to offer 'free breakfast' has been zapped to some extent by the WuFlu and so it is here, expect yogurt and milk and cereal at best. It's on a corner of the Uni K property kinda kitty-corner, nice 1 mile walk to downtown if you want, but distant if you don't.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Frustrated wrote a review Oct 2020
Saint Charles, Illinois1 contribution
Hotel room was booked through a third party site, on which there was zero information about guests needing to be age 21 to check in. My daughter (18) was refused check in and when I called to inquire where this information was on the hotel website, (I had not looked at it since I booked externally) the extremely rude “manager” said she didn’t know and stated that since I was looking at the site, I should be able to find it. I continued to ask for clarification and she continued to very rudely tell me she wasn’t going to help me find the information. And then she hung up on me. I called back and repeated my same question, and was hung up on at least three more times. I finally asked to speak to her manager which is when she told me she was the manager. I asked if my daughter came back with a 21-year-old to check them in, would she be allowed to check in, and she stated that she would. We organized someone to help them get checked in, and when I called the hotel back, “Kadree,” this apparent manager who had hung up on me repeatedly, Proceeded to tell me that our reservation had been canceled and my daughter was not welcome there. The exact opposite of what she had just told me 10 minutes earlier. When I asked for the reason, which I assumed would be because she was not 21, she stated that it was because I was rude to her on the phone. I’m not sure how her hanging up on me translates to me being rude to her on the phone, but that should not lead to a cancellation of a reservation. Absolutely unacceptable customer service behavior. Also, she stated that it was her manager who gave her the directive to cancel the reservation. Since she had previously not given me any other managers information, I have now obtained that person’s name and phone number and will be contacting them. You should not be in customer service if you cannot handle frustrated people asking you direct questions in a difficult situation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Responded Nov 7, 2020
Hi Stctraveler1234, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a candid review. I was very concerned to read about your daughter's experience and the canceled reservation. I understand your dismay, and I am sorry. This is not the frictionless experience that we wanted for all our guests. I will make sure to share your comments with our team for the necessary improvements needed on our end. I would also like to follow up on your concerns that is why I sent you a private message. I hope you get the time to read it and respond. Mike F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
John B wrote a review Aug 2020
Middlefield, Ohio103 contributions59 helpful votes
I travel 200 days out of the year, and expect changes/adjustments to services and amenities due to the current saturation. However, this hotel takes advantage of the situation more than any other hotel I have ever stayed at. I have stayed here more than 30 times in the last 4 years, (our daughter attended UK, and still lives in Lex). I noticed the change around April, but I had expected changes. However, I have stayed here 11 times since April 10, but never again. The dirtiness of the hallway (same wrappers in elevators for 2 days, pizza box sitting outside door for 2 days?), the lack of coffee, breakfast, or basic amenities are all being chalked up to "the epidemic". Holiday Inn: WAKE UP! There is still a pandemic, but other hotels have stepped up their services, not backed down! Most will have a buffet, but with staff serving. Others have more cleaning staff, not less. Your hotel has completely missed the boat on this, and in the process have lost me, my daughters frequent out of town visitors, and many others as faithful guests. Yes, you will still get the "one and done" UK suckers who won't know any better, but in this competitive day and age, it may not be enough to sustain your property. Shame on you for trying to capitalize on Covid by cutting back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Go somewhere else...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Responded Aug 30, 2020
Hello John B, Thanks for the stay and feedback. I am sad and sorry to hear about your experience, the limited service and the cleanliness issue of the property. I have taken note of your comments and shared them with management for review to take necessary actions to address these concerns. I hope you give us a chance to host you again in the future. Best Regards, John O Case Manager IHGService
Read more
medic1644 wrote a review May 2020
230 contributions54 helpful votes
We have stayed here several time. Very disappointed in how this hotel has changed. Granted there are somethings out of their control such has having to call the police for a group of contractors who got loud and out of control or the person in the room above ours that stomped across the floor most of the night then started again at 4 am. Again out of their control. How ever what they can control is how they maintain the rooms. The show in our room had something wrong with the spout because when we tried to turn the shower on only about half came out of the shower head the rest came out of the tube spout making a horrible noise. Then there is the breakfast. One reason we chose Holiday Inn Express is for the breakfast. Yes I know COVID 19 has changed everything but they could come up with something else other then offering oatmeal and breakfast bars. How about bringing back the staff that has been laid off and let guest call down and request the omelet, sausage, bacon, biscuits, etc. (that I know aren't made on site). Stay here was no better then staying at the competition and was more expensive. Will be hard to convince me to come back if this is going to be the new norm.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Responded May 27, 2020
Hello medic1644, Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Express and Suites. Hosting you is our joy. We always aim to make every stay comfortable and memorable. It is saddening to know that we fell short of our aim. Issues with noise, limited service due to the COVID crisis and issues with the shower head. I am sorry for the letdown. Our team has been looped about the details of your stay and I am certain that steps to address each area of concern will be carried out. I hope that you will give us another chance to make you stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel and suites lexington- downtown / university, holiday inn lexington, holiday inn express lexington, lexington holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyLexington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University?
Nearby attractions include The Red Mile (0.6 miles), University of Kentucky Art Museum (0.7 miles), and Pazzo's Pizza Pub (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gumbo Ya Ya, DV8 Kitchen, and Mellow Mushroom Lexington.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mary Todd Lincoln House (1.2 miles), Ashland: The Henry Clay Estate (1.9 miles), and Waveland State Historic Site (4.7 miles).
Is Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.