We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Capital Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Capital Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 156: English reviews
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so upset with this hotel as we had seen it on Hotel Impossible. our room was clean but really dated. our bedding was very uncomfortable. When we were in the hallways by the meeting room there was a ramp outside the door with a rug thrown over the rail and a wood plank. lamp sitting on the floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane P
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We do know that our room furniture is dated and that is why we are making changes as we speak. The reason you saw the ramp by the meeting rooms is because that is how we are bringing new furniture in the building. It is temporary and will go away upon... More 

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Front desk staff was great. Very helpful and patient. Bed was comfortable. Towels were poor quality and very small. Food at breakfast ordinary. Had a conference rate so was not too bad, but had I paid more this would have been VERY dissatisfying. Location is good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were not happy with your towels. We buy do purchase domestic linen and it is usually of the highest quality. I will review your comments with our housekeeping manager and inspect our recent linen purchases. Breakfast is complimentary and we do try to serve a variety on... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here for a wedding in the Buffalo Trace Distillery and this was very convenient. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I love the old-fashioned feel of the hotel. The lobby was spacious with lots of chairs and a big, dramatic fountain. The room was great - very large, comfortable bed with modern-style bedding (light comforter with... More 

Helpful?
Thank M2481LOpamelab
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the hotel. I am sorry we didn't have grits on the buffet for you, but please know that we do serve it. We alternate between oatmeal and grits and it must have been oatmeal day. We do hope to... More 

New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Yes, I could review this hotel with some of the negatives which others have sited but having just stayed there this weekend for my daughters wedding, they came through over and over in accommodating our changing needs and were amazing. Every change I needed made met with 'let's see what we can do' and they did. I do understand that... More 

Helpful?
Thank ThrutheSky
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I'm very happy to hear that you were pleased with our service. I will share your wonderful comments with the staff. Hope you visit us again any time your travels bring you to Frankfort. More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I chose the Capital Plaza Hotel because I was attending an event at the adjacent Frankfort Convention Center. I was disappointed when I arrived because the lobby and rooms looked aged and worn out. I had visited this hotel many times in the 1990's when it was a grand hotel and it was sad to see it having gone into... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori M
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you did not have a positive experience. I am sorry you could not utilize the pool. However, I can not recall a time our pool was closed for any extended amount of time other than to adjust chemicals as we have not had any pool issues. It is... More 

Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was built in the 80s and the rooms show its age. Despite the outdated look, the room was comfortable and the bathroom vanity was huge! It was raining the day of our stay so the garage parking was a plus. The breakfast buffet was limited but good and served in the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank RuralRoadRunners
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay! I am glad you found our rooms comfortable and found the covered parking so convenient. We are continuously making improvements and hope you will stay with us again very soon! More 

travelpro123
Level Contributor
406 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

What must have been a proud symbol for downtown renewal is now an eyesore: The hotel and surrounding fountain plaza is underused, the neighboring (former) government office tower by Edward D. Stone Architects of NYC is empty, people talk of tearing it down. The hotel is a sad example of the 1960's, attractive only to aficionados of early (and bad)... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelpr0123
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations or that you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel is independently owned and is not in any danger of being torn down. The tower you speak of, is also not empty and there are viable shops and businesses on the plaza as well. In speaking for the hotel, we... More 

Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016

This hotel was booked online and we showed up to check in within about 10 minutes. The GREAT customer service began immediately!! Our vehicle was too tall to fit into the hotel's covered parking garage so we were allowed to park on the street directly in front of the hotel. Check in was quick and easy. We had a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank yvonne070216
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am always delighted to hear that the staff provided outstanding service! I am sharing your comments with them. I do hope you will keep us in mind next year or any time your travels bring you to the bluegrass. More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Filthy carpets; smells like cigarette smoke throughout the building; fabric of chairs, decorative pillow for the bead and bead covering all had stains; furniture had water damage. Had to leave and drive all the way to Lexington, where I normally stay, at 2:30 a.m. The photo show the carpet in the hallway on the floor where the rooms are. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank LuxuriousOnABudget
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. I apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations. We have been making many updates and improvements over the past few years and we continue to do so. The hallway carpet you mention is scheduled to be replaced in the next few weeks and we will have new room furniture in place by the end... More 

Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

Large hotel in the city centre. Impressive foyer and entrance. We have stayed here for the past 5 years on our way through Kentucky and have not been disappointed . The hotel is comfortable and spacious. Plenty of seating in public areas inside and out. The bedroom is large and comfortable. There are a good range of toiletries and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annie M
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feed back on your recent stay. I am always happy to hear great comments about the staff and the effort they put forth. I am also glad you noticed some of the changes we have made. I will do some checking on the reservation issue you mentioned. I am not aware of any problems with bookings,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 9 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#6 of 9 in Frankfort
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
12.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
22.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Wilkinson Blvd, Frankfort, KY 40601-1849 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Price Range: $119 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfort
Frankfort Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay