We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Capital Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Capital Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 152: English reviews
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I chose the Capital Plaza Hotel because I was attending an event at the adjacent Frankfort Convention Center. I was disappointed when I arrived because the lobby and rooms looked aged and worn out. I had visited this hotel many times in the 1990's when it was a grand hotel and it was sad to see it having gone into... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori M
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you did not have a positive experience. I am sorry you could not utilize the pool. However, I can not recall a time our pool was closed for any extended amount of time other than to adjust chemicals as we have not had any pool issues. It is... More 

Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was built in the 80s and the rooms show its age. Despite the outdated look, the room was comfortable and the bathroom vanity was huge! It was raining the day of our stay so the garage parking was a plus. The breakfast buffet was limited but good and served in the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank RuralRoadRunners
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay! I am glad you found our rooms comfortable and found the covered parking so convenient. We are continuously making improvements and hope you will stay with us again very soon! More 

travelpro123
Level Contributor
402 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What must have been a proud symbol for downtown renewal is now an eyesore: The hotel and surrounding fountain plaza is underused, the neighboring (former) government office tower by Edward D. Stone Architects of NYC is empty, people talk of tearing it down. The hotel is a sad example of the 1960's, attractive only to aficionados of early (and bad)... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelpr0123
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations or that you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel is independently owned and is not in any danger of being torn down. The tower you speak of, is also not empty and there are viable shops and businesses on the plaza as well. In speaking for the hotel, we... More 

Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was booked online and we showed up to check in within about 10 minutes. The GREAT customer service began immediately!! Our vehicle was too tall to fit into the hotel's covered parking garage so we were allowed to park on the street directly in front of the hotel. Check in was quick and easy. We had a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank yvonne070216
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am always delighted to hear that the staff provided outstanding service! I am sharing your comments with them. I do hope you will keep us in mind next year or any time your travels bring you to the bluegrass. More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Filthy carpets; smells like cigarette smoke throughout the building; fabric of chairs, decorative pillow for the bead and bead covering all had stains; furniture had water damage. Had to leave and drive all the way to Lexington, where I normally stay, at 2:30 a.m. The photo show the carpet in the hallway on the floor where the rooms are. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank LuxuriousOnABudget
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. I apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations. We have been making many updates and improvements over the past few years and we continue to do so. The hallway carpet you mention is scheduled to be replaced in the next few weeks and we will have new room furniture in place by the end... More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Large hotel in the city centre. Impressive foyer and entrance. We have stayed here for the past 5 years on our way through Kentucky and have not been disappointed . The hotel is comfortable and spacious. Plenty of seating in public areas inside and out. The bedroom is large and comfortable. There are a good range of toiletries and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annie M
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feed back on your recent stay. I am always happy to hear great comments about the staff and the effort they put forth. I am also glad you noticed some of the changes we have made. I will do some checking on the reservation issue you mentioned. I am not aware of any problems with bookings,... More 

Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once again this summer we are bringing guests by jet boat from Madison Indiana for an overnight stay in Frankfort. We always stay at the Capital Plaza. After each trip we ask our guests for feedback and everyone has enjoyed the hotel. Every trip we notice new improvements being made. The music and food on the patio is awesome. Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank havefun668
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We love having the "Rockin Thunder" groups! We are making improvements and even more planned. Thanks for your business and we can't wait to see you again very soon. More 

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

We hoped to get a room in Lexington but everything was booked. Susan from the Super 8 asked whether we would be willing to drive 20 miles to Frankfort and called the Capital Plaza to make sure that they had a room with two beds. We were thrilled that we could stay at such a superior hotel for the same... More 

Helpful?
Thank M E
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that my staff made your stay enjoyable and I am sharing your comments with them. We are certainly glad that you are making us your hotel of choice when visiting the area. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!! More 

McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed one night and readily found the property. It was once a fine hotel, upgraded fairly recently, and very clean. I'd give it a 3.5 rating if possible. The desk clerks who checked us in (yes, it took two) were essentially overwhelmed and somewhat inattentive, though very polite. Making customers wait while you have a personal convo... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki A
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I do apologize for the less than professional way your check in was handled. This is not acceptable behavior and it will be addressed. I do appreciate your comments about your room and the amenities. We do hope to see you again very soon! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

You can tell this used to be a great place. Not so now. We reserve d a "river" view then was told as we checked in that we many not be able to see it. The bed should had been thrown out. We got a different room, still needing basic repairs- phone does not work, hair dryer does not work,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nelson W
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay. I am so sorry that you were not happy with your accommodations. We are constantly making improvements and I am so sorry you did not feel that during your stay. I will share your comments with the team and we will strive to do a better job. We do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 9 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#6 of 9 in Frankfort
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
12.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
23.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington University / Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Wilkinson Blvd, Frankfort, KY 40601-1849 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Price Range: $121 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfort
Frankfort Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay