We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Shurdington road, Shurdington, Cheltenham GL51 4UG England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$198
Hotels.com
Booking.com$198
Travelocity$198
Priceline
Algotels$261
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (617)
360
Panoramas (20)
Room & Suite (301)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
The Greenway Hotel & Spa (part of the Eden Hotel Collection) located in the heart of the countryside yet minutes from Cheltenham, offers more than the other luxury Cotswold hotels because of the unique setting and stylish approach. A favorite with the Cheltenham cognoscenti, if you wish to experience elegance and luxury then visit this gorgeous Elizabethan manor and Elan Spa. Upon arrival to this style retreat, you will enjoy award winning fine dining in the Garden Restaurant, relax in the Elan spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, alfresco hot tub and treatment rooms, (access is available at an additional charge subject to availability) or just enjoy the beautifully appointed bedrooms and landscaped grounds. All delivered with the attention to detail and level of service that you would expect from an Eden Hotel Collection property yet with the individuality and personality for which the hotels are renowned.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Room service
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
1093Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 643
  • 244
  • 113
  • 57
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jacqueline C wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
We stayed for 1 night for a 90th birthday party in November. We booked 4 bedrooms and the Panel private dining room for 18 people for the party. From the first contact with Louise, the event planner, to our check out process with Laura we experienced excellent service throughout. The rooms were all newly refurbished very tastefully. We stayed in Willow which had wonderful dual aspect windows and lots of sunlight. It was spacious and well equipped. The food was wonderful and the Panel room was warm and elegant. We were really taken care of throughout the night. The breakfast next morning was excellent too. The outside space looked beautiful. If we’d stayed longer and it had been summer I’m sure a walk around the grounds would be lovely. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful experience. (Apologies for not remembering everyone’s names)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 10 were really special.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Routledge, General Manager at The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Jacqueline C Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review following your recent celebratory stay. It is lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed and that Louise was on hand to assist throughout, I'll be sure to share your kind words. Kind Regards Craig Routledge General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
poroger wrote a review Oct 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom207 contributions179 helpful votes
Chosen as we like this group if hotels. Perfect location to explore the area. We had a fabulous room with Netflix and Amazon on tv. Great car parking and great WiFi. Breakfast was ok if they had everything. Two dishes at breakfast feature smoked salmon but no smoked salmon. We had to look for service each morning for breakfast and it was constantly slow or forgetful. Call me a coffee snob but I’ve had nespresso machines in other hotels not to the standard of this hotel so Nescafé instant coffee in the room was a bit of a surprise. Tea and water were also provided but never enough I always had to ask for more. No turn down service either. It’s a lovely hotel and nothing too awful is wrong here, but in comparison to other hotels in the group, the service lets it down.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Routledge, General Manager at The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear poroger Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay. I have recently joined the team here at The Greenway moving from one of our sister properties, I have noted your feedback and wanted to make you aware that we are currently undergoing a full rooms refurbishment and I can assure you that upon completion of the works early 2023 all the little elements that you and I feel make a stay that we do have in place in other properties will be introduced. I very much hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Craig Routledge General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jet535573 wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
I recently arranged a night away for my sons 21st birthday as a special night away for him and his partner at the greenway. They were very excited and do not often get moments of luxury such as this and had taken time from their work off to go on the date arranged. A week before there booking I was contacted by greenway to say apologies we shouldn’t of taken your reservation as we have maintenance work going on. It was quite upsetting for us as they couldn’t find an affordable option at short notice to go somewhere else. To make matters worse and what is the most disappointing about this is that greenway have still not responded to any of my emails about this to try and resolve it, reschedule and find a solution. It really is a shocking level of customer service to completely ignore me after their own mistake. I can understand mistakes happen but they have made zero attempt to sort out the booking after a short notice cancellation. The date has passed now for their trip and the moment has gone, however I felt it necessary to inform people of the shocking care and service given.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Routledge, General Manager at The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Jet535573 Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent celebratory stay. I'm sorry to learn of your disappointment and having only taken my position a couple of weeks ago I'm unaware of the specifics but wanted to offer apologies for the challenges faced and assurances that lessons have been learnt. Kind Regards Craig Routledge General Managered and assurances that we
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra D wrote a review Sep 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
Things started off ok. Nice place. Nice room. But no shower. There was a hand held shower but no shower screen and no way of securing it to the wall! Its the 21st century- we didn't think we would have to specify that we wanted a room with a shower! The following morning the scalding hot tap jammed on. The plumber was not on the premises and we couldn't use the bathroom on the day of the wedding! No one made any effort to give us another room until we demanded that they did. Guess what? ALSO NO SHOWER! Again a 'hand shower '. We were told that was all they had! We were beside the bridal suite and the bride kindly let us use hers! Disgraceful . The attitude of the staff was arrogant and I would NOT recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Routledge, General Manager at The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear sandradC2836HH Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay. I'm sorry to learn of you're disappoint with the stay, I have recently taken up my role here at The Greenway and wanted to make you aware that we are currently in the process of a full rooms refurbishment programme of which all issues highlighted are being addressed to prevent no reoccurrence in the future. I appreciate this cannot make up for your stay, but hopefully should you visit again in the future you'll find the rooms more to your requirements. Kind Regards Craig Routledge General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil25 wrote a review Aug 2022
Hampshire, United Kingdom487 contributions440 helpful votes
Stayed one night as part of our anniversary break. Booked the "Romantic Package" in a feature suite which was perfect. Superb, large room in the main house with dual aspect views over the gardens, grounds and countryside beyond. Four poster bed and sitting area, good tea making facilities with coffee/pod machine, biscuits and two bottles of water. Bathroom was huge with a lovely roll-top bath, separate shower and his'n'hers basins and excellent quality toiletries. The only thing we would have liked was a mini fridge with some real milk (and to keep the water cold!) but milk was brought up to the room on request. Our included bottle of champagne was on ice waiting along with some fruit and a card and some chocolates for our anniversary which was appreciated. Dinner in the garden room restaurant was excellent with an amuse bouche, homemade bread and three great courses. We did have a couple of minor issues but these were dealt with superbly by the staff. Breakfast was very good too with nice fruit salad and great full English. All staff were friendly and helpful. At checkout I got a bigger bill than expected and was told they had recently changed the system to add 7.5% service charge to everything rather than 10% to dinner. However when I pointed out that this was fine (and deserved) in theory it shouldn't be applied to bookings made before the change where it wasn't advised in advance and this was agreed and removed without issue. But the minor issues didn't detract in any way from what was a really great stay and we would happily return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from colleen Young, Other at The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Dear Phil25 Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the team. I very much hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon N wrote a review Aug 2022
52 contributions49 helpful votes
Lovely hotel, staff very attentive. £25 to use the spa is outragous as paid nearly a £1000 for 2 nights for stay here. Food and service is excellent. Comfy room. Lovely grounds and good location. Bath was a bit odd with full shower scree, so it felt as if you were climbing through a window to get in the bath!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from colleen Young, Other at The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Responded Aug 20, 2022
Dear SimonN2190, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were not made aware of the charge for using the spa facilities. I am delighted to hear that you did enjoy other aspects of your stay with us. I very much hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Colleen Young Deputy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dale P wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
We had Dinner here, as a gift from one of our Sons, and it really was fabulous. The building is full of character, the staff were very friendly and attentive and the service was excellent. The food was superb and my compliments go the the kitchen team. We have visited a few Hotels within this group and they have all been excellent - personally, I think one of the best hotel groups around. Although they are on the higher price scale, the experience they offer is so good, nothing else really compares to them!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from colleen Young, Other at The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Dear G594BFdalep Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I very much hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Colleen Young
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew D wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Just had a great 4 night stay at the Greenway Hotel and Spa, lovely staff, fantastic food, all in an idyllic setting. Can't recommend the Greenway enough, although, make sure you book your treatments in advance, as it can get busy.........................................
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from colleen Young, Other at The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Dear andrewdl9627QI Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent time with us, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the team directly. I very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Colleen Young
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nigel B wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom21 contributions52 helpful votes
I wasn’t expecting much as I tried to phone 3 days before arrival to check the three rooms I booked were available and I was expected, unfortunately I couldn’t speak to the appropriate person. On arrival we were greeted immediately, were expected and the hotel could not have done more to help us, the rooms were fantastic (note they are not air conditioned but kept relatively cool). Breakfast was lovely. Check in and out were as they should be, quick, I never I understand why most of the chains take 10 minutes to check out. I would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Free parking, but bear in mind no ac so I suspect in really hot weather the rooms would be warm
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from colleen Young, Other at The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Responded Aug 20, 2022
Dear 680nigelb, Thank you for your review on your stay with us. I am sorry to hear you had difficulties trying to reach us. I am delighted that you did enjoy your stay with us and I do hope we can welcome you back for a future visit. Kind Regards Colleen Young Deputy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy wrote a review Jul 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom6 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed for one night and had the afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast. We expected the food to be good, but it was absolutely amazing, everything we had was fantastic. The afternoon tea felt so fresh and every single item was delicious and well balanced. Dinner was beautiful, fresh and perfectly cooked, the surprise amuse bouche and petit fours with coffee after were an added delight. We also used the spa which was nice, there was a bit of confusion at the beginning as our booking was listed as something different, but that quickly got rectified. The hotel room was huge, beautiful and very clean, each staff member we met were very pleasant and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from colleen Young, Other at The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Responded Aug 20, 2022
Dear Lucyh387, Thank you for your review on your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I shall pass on your comments to the team. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Colleen Young Deputy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$179 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
greenway hotel cheltenham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsCheltenhamShurdington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GREENWAY HOTEL AND SPA $163 ($̶2̶4̶8̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Shurdington, England

Frequently Asked Questions about The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Greenway Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Walks With Hawks (3.8 miles), SimAir737 (2.9 miles), and Houdini's Escape Room Experience - Gloucester (3.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Greenway Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Greenway Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Greenway Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Greenway Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include MUSE Brasserie, Memsahib's Lounge, and The Mahal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Greenway Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Greenway Hotel and Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Shurdington.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Greenway Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Greenway Hotel and Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Greenway Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Greenway Hotel and Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cheltenham Town Hall (3.1 miles) and Boer War Memorial (4.9 miles).