We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rock Cabin Camping

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Rock Cabin Camping
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016

Our family of 5 stayed in cabin 2 over a long weekend, driving out to Oklahoma from DC. It was perfect for us. It was quiet, clean and great for our 8,7 and 4 year olds. They loved roasting hot dogs, playing with the pets, and exploring the very safe grounds. Ralph (owner) is a true host and perfect mayor... More 

Helpful?
Thank RRF
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

You're welcome! Shadow and Harvey say "Hi!". Hopefully you can stop on the way back to DC. As you know there are plenty of things to see and do in the area. Ralph More 

Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

After reading the reviews and checking out the website, we booked Cabin 2 for our family of 4 to visit Mammoth Cave / Cave City for a long weekend. Cabin 2 was perfect amount of space for us, with a small kitchen area, living room (roll out bed) and bedroom - providing the convenience of staying in a motel/hotel mixed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah. I'm happy the weather cooperated. I love showing off Saturn. Shadow (Mittens) has been hanging out in front of cabin 2 awaiting your return. Ralph More 

Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

This is a perfect place to stay to explore Cave City and the Mammoth Caves. Cabins are cute, cozy, clean, quaint, and quirky. Owners are in the process of making updates to the cabins. It has a small community-feel so you will get to know your neighbors - having campfires and relaxing outdoors. Cabins includes a/c, fridge, microwave and cable... More 

Helpful?
Thank CanadianTexan99
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thank you, We love it when the sky is clear. You'll have to come back In October or November when it's cooler. Ralph More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

On first impression was a little surprised how close the cabins were on the street. But that never was an issue, very conveniently located to the national park entrance and to Cave City. We stayed in cabin one which is basically a one bedroom house. Old but clean on the inside, newer pullout couch bed, all the utensils you need... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharita E
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thank you Sharita. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. You'll have to come back again when it's cooler out. The skies are much clearer then. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

A great place -- simple and clean accommodations, at a good price. The owners live on site and you can see their personality in how the have maintained the property and how they care for their guests. Hard to find places like this anymore, so this is one to be treasured. You won't find all the modern conveniences that you... More 

Helpful?
Thank John T
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thanks John. We do what we can. Hope you can stop by again. More 

Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

We stayed two nights in one of their little cabins. Cute (meaning small) and clean enough. No creepy crawlies. It's just outdated. Like stepping back into 1950s, but with satellite TV. Ralph is in the process of updating each cabin. It was a step up from tent camping. At least we had a bed, indoor plumbing, shower. Microwave and small... More 

Helpful?
Thank calamitylori2016
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

You hit it right on the head! It's "Camping" without "CAMPING"! And our brochure says "Step Back in Time and Relax" We're working on the insides. It's a labor of lone and a work in progress. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

I've been wanting to go to Mammoth Cave for years, so when we found Rock Cabins online I was thrilled. We booked 4 nights for our anniversary. Upon arrival, we were not disappointed. Our cabin was adorable, with a mini fridge and microwave, we brought along our travel coffee maker. Ralph is the greatest host, gave us a little history... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thank you. We're happy you enjoyed your anniversary stay. Maybe you can make it an annual thing! More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

It did not looked bad, until we got inside, It had a really bad humidity smell. Thats only complain i had. Staff was nice , the smell was the only reason we did not spend the night. I guess cabin 6,7 are the ones with humidity problems.

Helpful?
Thank Joaquin R
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not like the cabin. If you had said something while you were here, I may have been able to put you in a different cabin. If one was available. If you're in the area again, give us a call and we can place you in a different cabin, on us. More 

EVERYWHERE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

This was by far the best possible,place we could have stayed to go to Mammoth Cave National Park! The location is less than a 5 min drive down the road to the park and five minutes down the road the opposite way to other attractions. We camped in our rv and Ralph was an amazing host. He had his telescope... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tat2girl88
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thank you. We love our location too! More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

I took a group of 26 people to Rock Cabin Camping this past weekend. We rented the entire place and it turned out perfect! The owner is Ralph. You could not ask for a better host. He took care of everything that we needed and I was able to purchase a huge load of firewood from him at a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank John W
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay. I like good campfires too! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 12 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
3.4 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#2 of 12 in Cave City
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
9 cozy stone cabins and a campground just outside Mmammoth Cave National Park. Built in 1928, these historic cabins have been restored to offer a comfortable place to stay on your visit to the Mammoth Cave area. If you're driving an RV, we can also accommodate you with full hookups in our campground. We have many tent sites as well. Our campsites have 50 amp service and access to full restroom/Shower facilities. Our cabins range in size from three rooms, complete with kitchen and room for 6 adults to a cozy one double bed cabin, prefect for a couple. All cabins have air conditioning, microwave, refrigerator and DISH Network TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rock Cabin Camping

Address: 5091 Mammoth Cave Rd, Cave City, KY 42127-9213 (Formerly The Oakes Motel & Camp Ground)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Price Range: $45 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Cabin Camping 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing