We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Carrollton

Traveler (35)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (8)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Carrollton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Red Roof Inn in Carrollton, Kentucky is just minutes from your needs! Families will enjoy lodging in Carrollton, KY because our hotel offers quick access to area attractions such as the Ark Encounter, Belterra Casino, the Louisville Slugger Museum and the famous Kentucky Speedway. If shopping is your preference, check out the Butler Outlet Mall, just a mile from our location. In addition, our Carrollton, KY hotel is near General Butler State Park, which offers plenty of biking, boating and hiking opportunities. Our hotel in Carrollton, KY also provides an ideal location near area businesses including NUCOR Steel, Dow Corning, Ohio Valley Asphalt, North American Stainless and PMC. Business travelers benefit from our fabulous hotel services, which include a convenient 24-hour business center as well as free high-speed, wireless Internet access. During your stay at our hotel in Carrollton, you can enjoy the complimentary breakfast bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
132Reviews
2Q+A
21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 60
  • 27
  • 20
  • 10
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is great place to stay. Low price, great service, rooms were very clean. The rooms were upgraded with new furnitues and washrooms. The breakfast was very good and fruits were fresh. The front desk gave great service. They did all the paperwork very fast.
Read more
Response from sam p, Owner at Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Responded Mar 13, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and it gives us another opportunity to use your comments to strive for the best stay possible for our guests. I hope that the next time you are in our area you will stop in again and see all of the changes we are doing to the property. Have a great traveling season!
Read more
We travel alot and stay almost exclusively at Red Roof Inns. This one is more expensive than most but definitely not worth the extra expense. Yes, the room was clean and comfortable with microwave and fridge, WiFi was good and breakfast looked good too. But.... we were kept awake during the night by noise above us that the staff couldn't help with, and the small TV kept freezing up no matter what channel it was on. Also, our key stopped working while I was trying to load up the truck, way before checkout time. We won't stay here again because there are better Red Roof Inns with cheaper prices.
Read more
I have never included a room picture. But couldn’t resist with this one. There’s a long black curly hair on toilet lid. It can’t be mine. 1) I’m on chemo and bald 2) when I have hair, it’s blonde. Also internet not working. They give you a code but tried two browsers. Screen to input code won’t come up, even after deleting all red roof cookies. I called front desk. It rang and rang and rang. No answer at 9:00 am. They’re trying to tell me it’s user error; it’s not. I’m loyal Redicard member and have stayed at LOTS of red roof inns because I travel with m dog. I know this place gets good reviews but between the hair on the toilet and the internet, I DO NOT recommend.
Read more
Response from sam p, Owner at Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Responded Jan 16, 2019
I do apologize that you were not happy with your stay. We always hope that our guests have a pleasant stay and do try to be as helpful as possible to make this happen. We do have available internet support numbers in each of the rooms just in case of such issues that cannot be corrected at hotel level. Usually if this issue occurs the Front Desk GSR will come to the room and call for you and help get this resolved. If they are denied access to the room/device to help you then we cannot fix the issue. I do apologize that the Front Desk was in a room helping another guest and did not answer the phone right away. I am glad that she was able to try to address your issues for you as soon as she finished with the other guest.
Read more
We checked in without a reservation and the service was excellent.The room is AWESOME. we have stayed at a few Red Roofs because we have pets and this one is the Best !! Very clean and nice rooms really don't understand the negative reviews. I usually don't write reviews I just didn't think that this one was getting a fair deal as far as reviews go. we were just going to pay for one night and hunt a different room in the morning but paid for the week once we saw the place. wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else if we where to come back .Carrollton Kentucky should be proud of this hotel!!
Read more
Response from sam p, Owner at Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Responded Dec 5, 2018
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay with us! I appreciate hearing that you were able to enjoy your stay and that you were able to see all of the updates we are doing at the property. I hope that if you are ever back in our area for any reason you will decide to stay with us, we would love to have you back! I do thank you again and hope you have a wonderful holiday season!
Read more
You get what you pay for. We were just staying a night on our way to Cincinnati, so it was fine. But this isn't a nice hotel. Despite the sign in the room stating that there would be a fine for smoking, the room reeked. But it had a bed and was relatively quiet, so it wasn't the worst cheap room I've stayed in this year!
Read more
Response from sam p, Owner at Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Responded Nov 28, 2018
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We do apologize that your room had an odor of smoke. We are currently in the process of doing room renovations on our hotel and do hope that this will encourage guests to not smoke in our hotel. Normally if we have an issue such as this come up we do our best to move the guest from that particular room so they do not have to be offended by the issue. I hope that the GSR on duty was able to help get you into a room that did not have this issue. And again, I do appreciate you letting us know about your stay with us. Have a great holiday season!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western carrolltoncarrollton best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Executive Inn
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyCarrollton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing